MEDIA RELEASE - Did former Deputy Chairman of the Integrity Commission Justice Sebastian Ventour break the law?
Section 35. (1) of the Integrity in Public Life Act (the Act which governs the operations of the Integrity Commission) clearly states - “The records of the Commission and any information revealed by a witness or by the production of documents, shall not be disclosed other than to such extent as may be necessary for the purpose of proceedings in any Court relating to a charge under this Act, the Prevention of Corruption Act or any other written law.”
There are no court proceedings and no charges brought against any person in this matter or under the IPLA, the Prevention of Corruption Act or any other written law so the question needs to be asked, did former deputy chairman of the Integrity Commission Justice Sebastian Ventour run afoul of this in his interview with the media broadcast this evening? Further, did the media, by broadcasting his words, aid and abet any such offense?
Section 35. (2) of the same Integrity in Public Life Act further states - “Any member of the Commission and any person in the service of the Commission who discloses or attempts to disclose to any person other than a person to whom he is authorized under the Act, any information or evidence received by the Commission under this Part, shall be guilty of an offence and liable on summary conviction to a fine of two hundred and fifty thousand dollars and to imprisonment for five years.”
In the above-mentioned media interview the former Commissioner appears to have delved into matters about what might and might not have been discussed and other matters that seemed to contravene Section 35 (1) and (2), and the media, by the broadcast of that interview, may have aided and abetted the commission of the offense under (2).
All of that said, at this point perhaps it is best that the Director of Public Prosecutions takes a look at what was said and done to determine if any offense has been committed under the above-mentioned Act, and if yes, to begin action against those who may be guilty under Section 35 (1) and (2), and I respectfully call on the Director of Public Prosecutions to so do.
Philip Edward Alexander
Social & Political Activist
Independent Candidate
Diego Martin West
682 2110
SENIOR COUNSEL CALLS FOR DEPUTY DPP TO RECUSE HERSELF ON EMAILGATE PROBE
Last Updated on 23.05.2015
Published Date
Attorney at Law, Senior Counsel Israel Khan, is demanding that Deputy Director of Public Prosecutions, Joan Honore-Paul, immediately recuse herself from any involvement in the emailgate investigation.
He also called on her to step aside from any prosecutorial advice of the allegations in order to preserve the integrity of the Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions and the administration of criminal justice and to ensure that the Prime Minister's Constitutional rights are not further prejudiced in any manner.
In a six-page letter to the Deputy DPP, Mr. Khan, who is representing the Prime Minister in this matter, noted that with regard to the contents of a media release by Deputy DPP Honore-Paul and the timing of its publication during the period of an imminent General Election, Mrs. Persad-Bissessar was advised that the fair-minded observer would come to the inescapable conclusion that the Deputy DPP appears to be biased against her and/or that she has taken into account irrelevant political and other considerations in the release of the statement.
Mr. Khan said one would expect that statements emanating from the Deputy DPP's independent Constitutional office would, by their timing and tenor, be fair and politically neutral to avoid any perception of partiality in this politically sensitive manner.
The Senior Counsel further stated that the Deputy DPP has apparently crossed the line and has entered the political arena.
Among the concerns raised in his 30-point letter are:
- The role and the responsibility of the Police Service of Trinidad and Tobago with respect to investigating allegations of criminal conduct versus the Constitutional powers of the Director of Public Prosecutions which does not extend to investigating crimes.
- That the Deputy DPP's statements have been made outside of her Constitutional remit, since to date no charges have been laid and there are no pending criminal proceedings.
- The Office of the DPP having no remit over the activities of the independent Integrity Commission, saying it is a matter of grave concern that she arrogated unto herself the right to speak for an independent commission established under the Constitution over which she has no jurisdiction.
- The Deputy DPP trespassed on the Constitutional and/or lawful remit of the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service and the Integrity Commission and, under the thin guise of public interest, had arrogated unto herself the right to comment publicly on their investigations.
http://www.ctntworld.com/cnews2/index.p ... Itemid=707
UML wrote:
UML wrote:THANK GOD WE STILL HAVE THE PRIVY COUNCIL
No wonder they didnt want any indians in the CCJ![]()
#controlandrule LITERALLY
#sleepercells
rfari wrote:Cliffs on this letter uml
Rory Phoulorie wrote:rfari wrote:Cliffs on this letter uml
Ventour is PNM. LATT is PNM. Media is PNM. Charlies Black Pudding is, what else, PNM. Black Friday is PNM. PNM is PNM.
#sleepercells
kjaglal76v2 wrote:all thrash talk aside, this election gonna be very bloody
Rory Phoulorie wrote:UML wrote:THANK GOD WE STILL HAVE THE PRIVY COUNCIL
#sleepercells
Keep your racism out of this.
If the persons of east indian ethnicity were not more qualified/experienced over those picked for the CCJ, then so be it, east indian people have to accept that fact. If you have information to indicate otherwise, please do share.
I prefer that we have the best people doing the job, rather than have an ethnically balanced panel just to try and please everyone.
UML wrote:Rory Phoulorie wrote:UML wrote:THANK GOD WE STILL HAVE THE PRIVY COUNCIL
#sleepercells
If the persons of east indian ethnicity were not more qualified/experienced over those picked for the CCJ, then so be it, east indian people have to accept that fact. If you have information to indicate otherwise, please do share.
I prefer that we have the best people doing the job, rather than have an ethnically balanced panel just to try and please everyone.
Ent Rowley address this issue in COSTAATT?
Llike yuh cinveniently forget bai
rfari wrote:UML wrote:Rory Phoulorie wrote:UML wrote:THANK GOD WE STILL HAVE THE PRIVY COUNCIL
#sleepercells
Ent Rowley address this issue in COSTAATT?
Llike yuh cinveniently forget bai
What he said?
UML wrote:Interesting
RASC wrote:They're illegal immigrants from Guyana... Of course they want to see violence, especially racial-this is all they know during elections.
"This election gonna be bloody"
Like where the fuckyou come out from?!?
KELVIN RAMKISSOON Wrote:
We seem to be missing the point. The Integrity Commission( IC) made its decision to discontinue and terminate the investigation with a duly constituted quorum. The decision therefore stands as valid and effectual in law. The law has known to it the maxim of the presumption of regularity -that is to say, that decisions and documents emanating from public bodies must be presumed to be valid ,unless otherwise vitiated.
It matters not that one or even two commissioners may have expressed a different view. The fact is that at the time that the decision was made, the IC was quorate and hence the deliberations made quoram judice.
Members of boards and commissions are free to disagree. It is not infrequent that members express contrary and differing views. At the end of the day, the majority decision prevails.
The IC is statutorily hamstrung by compelling and towering obligations of confidentiality ,breach of which carries severe penalties.
It is practically impossible , a serious dereliction and even an egregious breach of duty for any member of the IC or its officers to disclose information relating to the work of the Commission. To assume that its chairman can now come forward and make public the deliberations of the commission is fallacious.
At the end of the day dissenting voices may have done more harm than good to the larger society. The very body which was created to "regulate" integrity now has its name mired in controversy ,not for the first time .
The IC's principal function of receiving and examining declarations of income, assets and liabilities carries with it sweeping coercive powers. The IC is viewed by politicians as the reporting body to examine certain classes of misconduct in public life. In so doing it has become a political instrumentality where peccadilloes are used to generate and perpetuate public mistrust in a gullible public ,highly politically charged with a seemingly insatiable appetite for "more".
The IC for now, remains on the statue books. It is regrettable that its integrity has been publicly assassinated by those within its bowels.
What is pellucid is that it has made an unassailable pronouncement in favour of the Prime Minister and the former AG which stands.
goalpost wrote:all of UML's posts are quotes from other well-read persons whose opinion lines up with him.
i don't think I've ever seen an original educated opinion from him. Usually we are barraged with and some of
jussayin
Redman wrote:He doesn't have an opinion unless his handler give it to him.
3 hunred and a cell phone.
shotta 20 wrote:Guys, I received a couple emails stating where I inherited a huge sum of money, ,won lottery jackpots etc
All along I thought they were fake emails. But with all this talk of 'forgetting the sender and investigating the substance', I wonder if Ramesh Maharaj, Ventour or even
Rowley would take up my case on the same grounds??
De Dragon wrote:shotta 20 wrote:Guys, I received a couple emails stating where I inherited a huge sum of money, ,won lottery jackpots etc
All along I thought they were fake emails. But with all this talk of 'forgetting the sender and investigating the substance', I wonder if Ramesh Maharaj, Ventour or even
Rowley would take up my case on the same grounds??
Seriously, I really can't see how in good conscience people could still be pushing this look beyond the fake email head still nah. What are we going to investigate? Based on what? What we are opening is a Pandora's box where anybody bringing any allegation to Parliament and demanding that it be investigated.