Tuner Cooking Thread.

matix

Re: Tuner Cooking Thread.

Postby matix » March 8th, 2020, 10:51 pm

eliteauto wrote:Anything above 15 you wear no underwear, siddong in front of the ac set on 18 with a woman misting water on your testicles with a spray bottle

viedcht

Postby viedcht » March 10th, 2020, 7:36 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Question. Do I need to wear hugo boss or polo jockey shorts while drinking this? Will it improve the taste that I get when wearing my usual fruit of the bloom or hanes?
I have ah 15y.o. Zoom juzzy I does pull out when I chugging my lil 70%abv

viedcht

Postby viedcht » March 10th, 2020, 7:38 pm

A lil rubbing alco in the mist will make it tickle better
eliteauto wrote:Anything above 15 you wear no underwear, siddong in front of the ac set on 18 with a woman misting water on your testicles with a spray bottle

viedcht

Postby viedcht » March 10th, 2020, 7:43 pm

Try some jalapeno in the mix, slight roast on the sevenpot or whatever. I use absolute instead of vinegar and like a half of a lime. Will hold in kitchen cupboard for month or more no problems. Don't know about the bubbles thing
rollingstock wrote:Da phoq going on in here?

Anyway made some pepper sauce, seeing some fine bubbles developing. I'm assuming that it is fermenting.
Is it still good to use? Or relegate it to throwing in prisoner's eyes?

I'll list the process and ingredients in case this is relevant.
Scotch bonnet, a few scorpion and pimento peppers, juice from one lime, salt, culantro, white vinegar. All blended together.

Postby rollingstock » March 10th, 2020, 7:46 pm

I usually place mines in the sun for a two days and then in a dark cupboard. So never saw the bubbles before. Wasn't sure if that was a good thing or sign of something going wrong in the process.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » March 10th, 2020, 7:46 pm

Taste just like beef. Peppercorns have one also, Gardein.
pugboy wrote:i see hilo selling them beyond meat fake beef in a big way
anybody tried it ?

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 10th, 2020, 8:50 pm

rollingstock wrote:I usually place mines in the sun for a two days and then in a dark cupboard. So never saw the bubbles before. Wasn't sure if that was a good thing or sign of something going wrong in the process.

Do you add salt?
that fermented pepper ting is wuk belly sah. Salt helps when I make - but then again my peppersauce finishes in about a couple weeks

I usually add 2-3 tbsp of salt per liter of peppersauce.

Postby rollingstock » March 10th, 2020, 10:53 pm

Yep salt was added, I usually use garlic also, just not in this set.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 10th, 2020, 11:09 pm

Straight vinegar, or vinegar/water mix?

Postby rollingstock » March 10th, 2020, 11:48 pm

Straight vinegar

Postby maj. tom » March 11th, 2020, 5:56 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:
rollingstock wrote:I usually place mines in the sun for a two days and then in a dark cupboard. So never saw the bubbles before. Wasn't sure if that was a good thing or sign of something going wrong in the process.

Do you add salt?
that fermented pepper ting is wuk belly sah. Salt helps when I make - but then again my peppersauce finishes in about a couple weeks

Fermented foods are best for your belly. Heals the gut flora and restores balance. They are the natural probiotics. Fermented cabbage (Sauerkraut) and pickled cucumber or kimchi or fermented dahee are great after a bout of food poisoning or stomach illness. The pepper though, makes some people roil up. If you getting problems after eating properly fermented foods, it's likely your gut bacteria real off and your body is seeping with inflammation due to a high carb diet.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 11th, 2020, 8:55 am

maj. tom wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:

Do you add salt?

Fermented foods are best for your belly. Heals the gut flora and restores balance. They are the natural probiotics. Fermented cabbage (Sauerkraut) and pickled cucumber or kimchi or fermented dahee are great after a bout of food poisoning or stomach illness. The pepper though, makes some people roil up. If you getting problems after eating properly fermented foods, it's likely your gut bacteria real off and your body is seeping with inflammation due to a high carb diet.

Nah, I could handle kimchi and other fermented foods.
With peppersauce there is a fine line between fermented and spoiled.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 11th, 2020, 9:13 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:
maj. tom wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:

Do you add salt?

When (if) you try your hand at Kimchi I'm willing to buy.
Love that stuff but so hard to get.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 11th, 2020, 9:28 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:
maj. tom wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:

Do you add salt?

hahahaha, if I ever try it I'll give you some.

The main thing is the fish paste, and that's where the main stumbling block is. dunno if we can get the proper stuff here.

If pugboy knows then maybe.

I know they use the napa cabbage, not the hardhead banga cabbage we have easily available, so I suspect we can have close variations, but it's hard to get to the real thing if you make many substitutions

Postby Dizzy28 » March 11th, 2020, 9:42 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:
maj. tom wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:

Do you add salt?

hahahaha, if I ever try it I'll give you some.

The main thing is the fish paste, and that's where the main stumbling block is. dunno if we can get the proper stuff here.

If pugboy knows then maybe.

I know they use the napa cabbage, not the hardhead banga cabbage we have easily available, so I suspect we can have close variations, but it's hard to get to the real thing if you make many substitutions

Yea when I up read up on the ingredients list I realize we actually naturally lacking almost all.

Postby eliteauto » March 11th, 2020, 10:27 am

Kimchi has many variants there's no hard and fast recipe. A quick search online and I'm sure there are easy adaptations based on what's available locally. I'll try it this weekend and give feedback

Postby pugboy » March 11th, 2020, 10:30 am

them fermented fish and shrimp pastes hard to get
closest place might be surinam
wing sing have a shrimp paste but not good

i got some shrimp paste in france last year
yet to use it with a green curry

golden bell in royal palm does have kimchi and the gochujang hot sauce
dunno where they get

Postby pugboy » March 11th, 2020, 10:34 am

correct

https://www.seriouseats.com/2017/11/gui ... imchi.html

there is also a chinese pickled mustard greens you can get in wingsing
stewed with pork makes a nice dish

eliteauto wrote:Kimchi has many variants there's no hard and fast recipe. A quick search online and I'm sure there are easy adaptations based on what's available locally. I'll try it this weekend and give feedback

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 11th, 2020, 11:38 am

Trying to make the cocktail sauce that Oyster men make locally.
So I used ketchup, soy sauce, lime, minced garlic, bandanya, salt, black pepper, vinegar, a little worcestershire sauce and scotch bonnet pepper - got it kinda right but like something still missing.
I missed something or I put too many things?

Postby *KRONIK* » March 11th, 2020, 12:06 pm

Looking proper there

Maybe you just need to tweak the ratios
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Trying to make the cocktail sauce that Oyster men make locally.
So I used ketchup, soy sauce, lime, minced garlic, bandanya, salt, black pepper, vinegar, a little worcestershire sauce and scotch bonnet pepper - got it kinda right but like something still missing.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 11th, 2020, 12:14 pm

^ Soy Sauce is a usual ingredient?
Everything else looks like stuff you expect.

For context I can't drink the stuff. I ended up getting food poisoning twice within one year from drinking oysters (once from the man outside GateBoys and once from the man who used to be outside the bar on El Socorro Main Road opposite Bhim Bhim Trace). So even without the raw stuff I still automatically gag and can't keep down those oyster cocktail sauces.

I do eat sashimi with no issues though. Its just limited to the oysters and oyster sauce.

Postby meccalli » March 11th, 2020, 12:18 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Trying to make the cocktail sauce that Oyster men make locally.

Too much things, I find that limejuice, garlic, chadon beni and ketchup alone is pretty legit.

Postby pugboy » March 11th, 2020, 12:27 pm

use a touch of fish sauce
just barely to taste

Postby *KRONIK* » March 11th, 2020, 12:47 pm

You can put a little bit, not like big amounts.
Its basically "mix to taste"

I dont eat/drink oysters outside
I buy them whole, shuck them and make my own sauce home.
Dizzy28 wrote:^ Soy Sauce is a usual ingredient?
Everything else looks like stuff you expect.

For context I can't drink the stuff. I ended up getting food poisoning twice within one year from drinking oysters (once from the man outside GateBoys and once from the man who used to be outside the bar on El Socorro Main Road opposite Bhim Bhim Trace). So even without the raw stuff I still automatically gag and can't keep down those oyster cocktail sauces.

I do eat sashimi with no issues though. Its just limited to the oysters and oyster sauce.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 11th, 2020, 1:28 pm

I start with a basic limejuice, then build on that. And I've had good reviews :)

3-4 yellow limes to about 2 liters of water.
Add brown sugar to just kill the sour, but not be overly sweet. About 1/3 cup but adjust as needed
Add ketchup, not too much start with - perhaps about 1/2 - 3/4 cup and adjust to your taste. Use matouk's here - you won't regret it.
Grate a bit of fresh ginger, maybe 1/2 tsp for the whole shebang
Finely mince chadon beni and garlic. For this quantity I'd say about 3-4 large leaves and 3 cloves of garlic.
A splash of worchestershire. Maybe a tbsp max
Add your salt and black peper to taste.
Smash (light crack to break skin) 1-2 habanero and add. Stir properly

Let it sit for a few minutes before tucking in.

Postby pugboy » March 11th, 2020, 10:48 pm

https://www.davidlebovitz.com/a-kimchi-recipe/

This guy has kimchi recipe without the ferment shrimp pastes
One of my favorite recipe sites

Postby Rovin » March 14th, 2020, 7:01 pm

my dinner this evening , chicken breast that was seasoned a couple days ago with both jerk & home made fresh local seasoning

i throw it in a pot with jes oil & low fire slow cooked with a gentle drizle of heinz ketchup that has mustard , bbq sauce & a tiny amt of scorpion pepper , it get slight burn cause i was reading here on tuner :oops:

on a hilo coconut bake i melted a few slices of cheese & spread a lil mayo .... very tasty - i like meh self , if i had some lettuce it wuda been perfect

2 pics here b4 allyuh say i making up ting ... half a currant roll for dessert & gonna wash it down with a swepps gignger ale seejink

Last edited by Rovin on March 14th, 2020, 7:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » March 14th, 2020, 7:03 pm

anybody try cooking crab with shell on ?
heard the juice inside tasty

C01DB537-3D6F-4563-B02D-56B34C89A222.jpeg

Postby rspann » March 14th, 2020, 7:23 pm

Is not normal to cook crab in the shell? That is the only way I ever see it.

Postby pugboy » March 14th, 2020, 7:25 pm

nah the main shell with all the funky stuff inside
i curious to how it taste