Postby redmanjp » July 22nd, 2011, 2:22 pm

some serious weather imminent?
NHC.gif

Re: The official tropical weather thread: image updates on p

Postby toyolink » July 22nd, 2011, 10:22 pm

Is really amazing how these thing just swinging north at the last moment is almost like a circuit making a right hand turn at the wall.
Really hope our luck holds because again most houses just not ready.

Postby redmanjp » July 22nd, 2011, 10:44 pm

there's probably some invisible ridge or something that guides it North

but i cud b wrong so Hook could explain

Postby 1691 » July 24th, 2011, 2:45 pm

:D
Bump

Postby nervewrecker » July 24th, 2011, 2:48 pm

tuh hell with de weather, tell me more bout your sig:

HU alpine
DBX 260
1 VR804 on 4 2" drivers
2 VR1202 on 4 10"
5K ATOMIC LOOKING FOR 7K
1-15" FOR BASS

:drinking:

Postby cinco » July 25th, 2011, 6:58 am

that rain was epic yesterday

Postby bluefete » July 25th, 2011, 10:15 am

toyolink wrote:Is really amazing how these thing just swinging north at the last moment is almost like a circuit making a right hand turn at the wall.

And God is a Trini???????

How many times must my people doubt???????
How many times must my people fail to realize how many chances we are being given?
Thank God there are still many prayerful and believing people in T&T!!

Postby S_2NR » July 25th, 2011, 10:17 am

oh good grief :roll:

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 25th, 2011, 10:39 am

bluefete wrote:
toyolink wrote:Is really amazing how these thing just swinging north at the last moment is almost like a circuit making a right hand turn at the wall.

How many times must my people fail to realize how many chances we are being given?

lol don't count ya chickens before they hatch... this hurricane season is going to be BUSY

Postby bluefete » July 25th, 2011, 11:14 am

Bezman wrote:
bluefete wrote:

lol don't count ya chickens before they hatch... this hurricane season is going to be BUSY

That's why we have to be thankful with everyone that turns away.

Did you notice how close to T&T some of these things are forming and then dissipating?

They are not coming off the coast of Africa again. They are forming right on our doorstep.

Postby S_2NR » July 25th, 2011, 11:19 am

its gods plan..ent bluefete :lol:

Postby bluefete » July 25th, 2011, 11:27 am

S_2NR wrote:its gods plan..ent bluefete :lol:

Well, when we ignore it and we get lash (definitely not wishing for that), we cannot say that we were not warned ... MANY TIMES!!!!

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 25th, 2011, 6:01 pm

bluefete wrote:

Well, when we ignore it and we get lash (definitely not wishing for that), we cannot say that we were not warned ... MANY TIMES!!!!

when we get lash can we then say God isn't a trini??

Postby bluefete » July 25th, 2011, 6:04 pm

Bezman wrote:
bluefete wrote:

when we get lash can we then say God isn't a trini??

Well, even our earhtly parents used to drop a lash on us now and then. I do not think that we came out worse for the licks.

Postby bluefete » July 25th, 2011, 6:06 pm

redmanjp wrote:there's probably some invisible ridge or something that guides it North

but i cud b wrong so Hook could explain

Yup. Definitely an "invisible ridge". Nothing to do with God. :roll: :roll:

Postby S_2NR » July 25th, 2011, 6:07 pm

scientific explanation >> religious assumptions

Postby bluefete » July 25th, 2011, 6:43 pm

S_2NR wrote:scientific explanation >> religious assumptions

Until science cannot explain then they make up an assumption - Like the theory of evolution and its missing link.

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » July 25th, 2011, 9:52 pm

nuff rain up in diego,,glad it stopped

Postby rollingstock » July 25th, 2011, 9:55 pm

pioneer wrote:Anyone can explain what this is?

Taken today around 6:30pm in Trincity

simple you hadda buy a better camera :?

Postby bluefete » July 25th, 2011, 10:25 pm

Yuh want de natural explanation or the supernatural explanation?

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » July 25th, 2011, 10:40 pm

ever read the dark tower series by stephen king? that's the path of the beam

Postby bluefete » July 25th, 2011, 10:43 pm

Well the natural explanation is that the light of the setting sun simply bisected the clouds that were present at that time. Something like:

The supernatural explanation is that the rays are touching the ground. That is either a blessing or a warning.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 26th, 2011, 2:00 am

bluefete wrote:
so why does God make the hurricanes pass Trinidad and batter other islands like Grenada and Barbados instead?

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » July 26th, 2011, 4:31 am

^ God is a trini not a bajan :|

Postby janfar » July 26th, 2011, 4:46 am

God is trini and he vex with bdos because the firetruckin up Machel...

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 26th, 2011, 5:03 am

bluefete wrote:
so why does God make the hurricanes pass Trinidad and batter other islands like Grenada and Barbados instead?

Our politicians have already answered this question.

They have stated in the past that it is because god is a Trini and he eh really like outsiders

The owner of SAM has also stated that he does talk to Jesus and ask him to leave trinidad alone whenever there is a storm warning.

Postby bluefete » July 26th, 2011, 6:49 am

bluefete wrote:

Would you prefer if we got battered instead?

The natural world would say that because we are so far south we are technically outside the hurricane belt. However more and more storms are forming on our doorstep. Statistically, it may just be a matter of time before we get "sampatted".

I remember when Brett was supposed to hit us in 1993. Many people prayed for the country and some were even told not to worry. The end result we all know. Ditto for Ivan and even last year (2010) when we were again spared and the Bajans got a slight hit.

I cannot speak for any other country but I have never heard citizens of other countries claim God like we do. I have never heard an American say that God is a Yankee. For them that may not be politically correct. Nor a Brit say that God is a European within the framework and context that we do.

The downside to all this of course is that if/when we do get hit (our wake up call like the 1990 coup) the consequences are usually severe.

Go talk to surviving Tobagonians about Hurricane Flora in 1963.

Postby S_2NR » July 26th, 2011, 8:00 am

bluefete wrote:Well the natural explanation is that the light of the setting sun simply bisected the clouds that were present at that time. Something like:

The supernatural explanation is that the rays are touching the ground. That is either a blessing or a warning.

BAHAHAHAHHAHA.

U need physics..it will change your life!

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » July 26th, 2011, 1:54 pm

Anticrepuscular rays

i think...

source

Anticrepuscular rays are similar to crepuscular rays, but seen opposite the sun in the sky. Anticrepuscular rays are near-parallel, but appear to converge at the antisolar point because of linear perspective. Anticrepuscular rays are most frequently visible near sunrise or sunset. Crepuscular rays are usually much brighter than anticrepuscular rays. This is because for crepuscular rays, seen on the same side of the sky as the sun, the atmospheric light scattering and making them visible is taking place at small angles (see Mie theory).
Although anticrepuscular rays appear to converge onto a point opposite the sun, the convergence is actually an illusion. The rays are in fact (almost) parallel, and the apparent convergence is to the vanishing point at infinity.

Anticrepuscular rays are visible in the right of this panoramic photo of Chandler, Arizona