"State of Emergency" Thread

Re: "State of Emergency" Thread

Postby 16 cycles » September 12th, 2011, 7:12 pm

if those reprisals are violent - would it justify them being locked up in the first instance?

Postby sMASH » September 12th, 2011, 7:18 pm

it is unfair to lock up somebody because of how they look, that is stereotyping. time we elevate our collective ethics structure and teach that lesson.

lawyers of tnt come forth.

Postby Habit7 » September 12th, 2011, 8:03 pm

sMASH wrote:it is unfair to lock up somebody because of how they look, that is stereotyping. time we elevate our collective ethics structure and teach that lesson.

lawyers of tnt come forth.

Yeah good human rights lawyers like Anand Ramlogan, I hear he is good. He get some big post somewhere but I'm sure cases like this would see him come out and fight for justice...

...as Basdeo Panday has

kevcam

Postby kevcam » September 12th, 2011, 8:38 pm

CNC3 reporting that they looking to detain those 21 guys again. So the freedom may be short lived. Interesting to see how this plays out.

Postby toyolink » September 12th, 2011, 8:48 pm

A SOE brings with it certain realities and the detention and release of this group is part of it.History has shown that what comes next normally causes a ramping up of severity of police treatment of those they get their hands on.
In a way agressiveness with which individuals respond to percieved unfairness in some ways is met with more brutality.I have always wondered if its because the members of militia feel they are whipping boys whether they do good or bad.
...We getting blame for ill-treatment anyways so to hell with it!......

Postby sMASH » September 12th, 2011, 9:37 pm

we would not need to enact antigang legislation if our police could actually do policing. plain simple fore thought would tell u that a judge would have to release most of the arrested under these laws. the only thing i could not figure out was what would happen after. they would be disgruntled, so i thought they would just lock them up again.
the problem is that they cannot be locking them up repeatedly, i.e. enacting anti gang on them as soon as they get released by the courts, to remain behind bars. if this foolish route is taken, look to see some human rights people swooping down on tnt.

if they do just let them be now, what clean up has been done? then it was really just about averting the big cartel shennannegans. then all that talk about cleaning up the streets was just pandering, utilizing stereotyping, and human rights violations.

all this up to now, just serves to anger, frustrate and engender feelings of contempt for the governing parties and arms of this country, in a sector of society already targeted for operating outside of the laws, with some actually doing so.

i do not support this SoE because i do not see any reason for it. the only general benefit to the country would be obtained if we have properly functioning policing service, and justice system.

Re: OFFICIAL "State of Emergency" Thread

Postby shogun » September 12th, 2011, 11:36 pm

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:i miss the quiet surroundings from 9 pm, the moving party cars started back their ignorance, please bring the curfew back from 9pm.

oh please

people so brainwashed, they're begging for their rights, to be encroached upon, oui!...gotta love this place

kevcam wrote:CNC3 reporting that they looking to detain those 21 guys again. So the freedom may be short lived. Interesting to see how this plays out.

Looking for them?...maybe they should just follow CNC3/TV6'S camera crew ..they had no prob locating them.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » September 13th, 2011, 5:05 am

i do not support this SoE because i do not see any reason for it. the only general benefit to the country would be obtained if we have properly functioning policing service, and justice system.

well said!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 13th, 2011, 1:08 pm

DSM_05 wrote:

well said!
the SoE allowed for joint operations of the army and police that would otherwise not be possible, no red tape with warrants, curfew ensures that there are no civilians getting in the way of operations.

Lets say they raid a place the police just got tipped off on, that would have needed a warrant that could take some time to process. The SoE means no warrant is needed. The curfew ensures the streets are clear incase a shootout ensues and ensures there are no civilians injured.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » September 13th, 2011, 2:29 pm

and how do we maintain our "newfound peace" once the SoE comes to an end?

By extending it further? Or by having a less corrupt, and more efficient, police force?

I'm going to assume that someone will take me to task for these comments.....

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 13th, 2011, 3:55 pm

^ correct - the SoE is needed to go after the lions share of the criminals - once they are out of the picture, policing will be easier and if the criminal element is removed then corrupt officers have no one to be corrupt with

I too hope the SoE also finds these corrupt officers rather than leaving them in the force

xtech

Postby xtech » September 13th, 2011, 6:52 pm

Curfew areas extended. New areas: DOW VILLAGE, CLAXTON BAY, MORUGA, CEDROS, TOCO, AROUCA , LA HORQUETTA, CHASE VILLAGE.

Postby redmanjp » September 13th, 2011, 7:22 pm

DSM_05 wrote:

well said!
the SoE allowed for joint operations of the army and police that would otherwise not be possible, no red tape with warrants, curfew ensures that there are no civilians getting in the way of operations.

Lets say they raid a place the police just got tipped off on, that would have needed a warrant that could take some time to process. The SoE means no warrant is needed. The curfew ensures the streets are clear incase a shootout ensues and ensures there are no civilians injured.

yeah & also it minimizes movement- anyone out who maybe trying to escape during a raid between 11pm-4am would be seen easily

Postby toyolink » September 14th, 2011, 12:17 pm

Hotspots/Curfew areas have now become to confusing to me and I wonder if it might not be better to just impose this thing upon the whole country.
I would admit that maybe the authorities are using this zonal approach as a ploy to push those they are looking for into "catch-baskets" whilst keeping other corraled for easy apprehension.
As far as the Couva area is concerned I believe the last straw was the death of the "Singh" gentleman last week-end (family to the reg. corp. ch/man).

Postby sMASH » September 14th, 2011, 9:36 pm

so arrest them, send them to court, magistrate frees them due to lack of evidence... whats the point?

silver

Postby silver » September 15th, 2011, 1:26 pm

Laventille man shot dead by police
Thursday 15th September, 2011

The first killing by police since the start of the State of Emergency took place in Laventille around 10:30pm on Wednesday.

The victim has been identified as 24 year old Shemell Henry of Erica Street, Rock City in Laventille. He was chasing after Calil Melville in the Eastern Quarry area.

Mr Henry is reported to have fired several shots at Mr Melville when Inter Agency Task Force officers on patrol came upon the chase, and were fired upon.

The officers returned fire and Mr Henry was shot.

He was taken to the Port of Spain General Hospital but died. Mr Melville was treated at hospital for gunshot wounds sustained while running from Henry.

Postby toyolink » September 15th, 2011, 2:21 pm

Assuming facts of report are true,I continue to contend that where we have reached is madness and urgent action across the nation is necessary.
These incidents will tend to allow those in favour of the SOE to keep their resolve.
---The height of stupidity must be a man running down another man during a SOE just before curfew when the security forces mobilised pelting bullets (and expecting to survive).

Postby S_2NR » September 15th, 2011, 7:42 pm

silver wrote:Laventille man shot dead by police

stopped reading here.
moar please.

Postby rfari » September 16th, 2011, 4:07 pm

Don't take the curfew lightly
Chief magistrate:

By Jensen LaVende
Story Created: Sep 15, 2011 at 11:49 PM ECT
Story Updated: Sep 15, 2011 at 11:49 PM ECT
"PEOPLE are taking this curfew thing too lightly!"
So said Chief Magistrate Marcia Ayers-Caesar yesterday after she fined a San Juan man $1,000 for breaching the curfew because he was "kinda high".
Bernard John was arrested on Real Street, San Juan after he was found sitting on the pavement around 12.45 yesterday morning. John told the magistrate he went to a wake in El Socorro where he had a few drinks and walked back home and was waiting for transport to get to his Santa Cruz Old Road home.
"People are taking this too lightly and some are coming with frivolous excuses. You know you have to be in by a certain time...You have to be more responsible... You should have stayed in your house or left the people wake earlier," Ayers-Caesar said.
The Chief Magistrate then ordered John to pay the fine within one week or face six weeks simple imprisonment.
Earlier, a 50-year-old Laventille man was sentenced to 30 days in prison after he pleaded guilty to breaching the curfew, while a homeless man was ordered to pay $1,000 forthwith or spend six weeks in prison.
Sherland Cox of Mentor Alley, Laventille, told the magistrate he left for his home "a little late" from Cipriani Boulevard where he washes cars. Cox, who was also charged with possession of an apparatus used for smoking cocaine, told the magistrate he had planned to sleep on St Vincent Street near the Port of Spain Magistrates' Court where he was held.
"Boss, I ain't know the time pass already," Cox reportedly told arresting officer PC Myers when confronted at 11.15 p.m. on Wednesday night.
Cox, who admitted to having the device for smoking cocaine was sentenced to 182 days for possession of the device as well as 30 days for breaching the curfew, while the homeless man David Abraham was ordered to pay $1,000 forthwith or spend six weeks in prison.
Abraham was stopped by WPC Whitney Charles of the Woodbrook Police Station on Wednesday after he was spotted on Ariapita Avenue at 11.25 p.m.
When told he would have to pay the monies by the end of the day, Abraham begged the magistrate for some time, saying he would have some of the money in two days or so.
"Just give me a few days to pay," Abraham begged before he was told by the Chief that his lack of a permanent address is the reason for the sentence.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Don ... 31198.html

Postby rfari » September 16th, 2011, 4:09 pm

Offshore curfew breakers could face $50,000 fine
By Joel Julien joel.julien@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Sep 15, 2011 at 11:49 PM ECT
Story Updated: Sep 15, 2011 at 11:49 PM ECT
ANYONE who breaches the curfew while offshore faces the possibility of a $50,000 fine, the Office of the Attorney General has said.
Persons found in breach of curfew on land face a $3,000 fine.
The statement was made on Wednesday in a release from the Attorney General's Office outlining the new curfew areas.
Eleven areas in addition to the country's maritime boundary have been deemed "hot spots".
As such the 11 areas, including 3 nautical miles off the country's coastline, will be subject to the 11 p.m. to 4 a.m. curfew.
An amendment was made the Emergency Powers (Curfew) Order, 2011 on Wednesday to include the new areas. The curfew came into effect on Wednesday night.
The 11 new "hot spots" are: Carli Bay, Maloney, Moruga, Cedros, Claxton Bay, Toco, Dow Village in California, La Horquetta, Windy Hill in Arouca, McBean in Couva and Chase Village in Carapichaima.
These areas and the maritime boundary join the areas which were designated "hot spots" when the State of Emergency was declared. Those areas are the cities of San Fernando and Port of Spain; the boroughs of Arima and Chaguanas and two regional corporations—San Juan and Diego Martin.
Coastal Zones, including the Carrera Island prison, are also restricted by the curfew.
"The coastal zone extends three nautical miles seaward from the coastlines of the islands of Trinidad, Monos, Huevos, Chacachacare, Gaspar Grande, Carrera and Crondstadt and the Five Islands and falling within the territorial sea, archipelagic waters and internal waters of Trinidad and Tobago," the release from the Attorney General's Office stated.
"No person is allowed to pilot a vessel between 11 p.m. and 4 a.m. in the coastal zone unless that person has received a permit in writing from the Chief of Defence Staff," the release stated.
Vessels anchored in the coastal zone are exempted.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Off ... 31173.html

Postby Stephon. » September 16th, 2011, 5:02 pm

:rofl: things hard when you need a day or two to find 1000 dollars yes, :lol: :lol:
Probably one of those people that spend money every time they have it in their possession :lol:

Postby Damien » September 16th, 2011, 5:06 pm

Stephon. wrote::rofl: things hard when you need a day or two to find 1000 dollars yes, :lol: :lol:
Probably one of those people that spend money every time they have it in their possession :lol:

you ent see the man homeless :|

Postby Stephon. » September 16th, 2011, 5:08 pm

Oh, I missed that. :( now I feel bad.

Postby Stephon. » September 16th, 2011, 11:58 pm

'Citizens still have rights'
...even those held under SoE

By Julien Neaves

Story Created: Sep 16, 2011 at 10:54 PM ECT

Story Updated: Sep 16, 2011 at 10:54 PM ECT

THE Criminal Bar Association (CBA) has reminded citizens that during the current State of Emergency their constitutional rights have not been suspended, notably those rights upon being arrested.

The association, in a media release yesterday, echoed a statement by Chief Justice Ivor Archie during the opening of the new law term yesterday that constitutional rights still obtained under the State of Emergency. The CBA noted a number of these constitutional rights:

• each arrested or detained citizen still has the right to remain silent upon arrest. He is not obligated to answer police questions or consent to be interviewed;

• he is not required/cannot be compelled to answer any questions by the police during an interview;

• he can refuse to sign any documents, including written statements, handwritten and/or typewritten notes. He can also refuse to participate in video recordings of interviews.

The association also noted that every citizen has the right "to have an attorney visit him at the police station or any other place of detention or arrest and each arrestee/detainee is to be advised that he or she has the right to speak to an attorney-at-law upon arrest/detention".

The CBA stressed: "The right of access to an attorney-at-law and the right to communicate upon arrest are fundamental rights and are essential during this State of Emergency to ensure that arrestees/detainees are treated fairly and in accordance with the rule of law."

The association noted that all juveniles should have access to a parent, guardian or another responsible adult "who can assist and act responsibly on their behalf as soon as possible".

CBA also reminded the public that each citizen charged with a criminal offence can apply to the Legal Aid and Advisory Authority for legal aid, if unable to pay for legal assistance. Non-national arrestees/ detainees are entitled to communicate with their respective embassy and/or consulate as soon as possible.

xpress

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 17th, 2011, 11:08 am

Stephon. wrote:Oh, I missed that. :( now I feel bad.

:agrue:

Postby redmanjp » September 17th, 2011, 6:23 pm

Stephon. wrote::rofl: things hard when you need a day or two to find 1000 dollars yes, :lol: :lol:

probably unemployed as he homeless

i mihself 'between jobs' and doh have $1000 in mih account :oops:

i definitely findin mihself inside b4 11pm ah doh have any Vaseline

Postby bluefete » September 18th, 2011, 9:05 pm

So lemme unnerstan dis:

De popo and customs and coast guard seize $30million or $7million (depending on who you believe) of marijuana from a container and de person de container assigned to still walking around.

And everybordy mekkin excuses as to why dey cyah arrest de consignee.

Do I smell ah big fish???

I suppose if de container was heading for Beetham dey woulda arrest de consignee long, long time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

What a waste of a state of emergency and of our time.

Postby bluefete » September 18th, 2011, 9:08 pm

By the way - the Police Public Affairs unit stated in a release that if you are in YOUR YARD after 11 p.m. the police could pass and tell you to get inside because you are technically "out of doors".

What de hell?

suffocate69

Postby suffocate69 » September 18th, 2011, 9:13 pm

bluefete wrote:So lemme unnerstan dis:

De popo and customs and coast guard seize $30million or $7million (depending on who you believe) of marijuana from a container and de person de container assigned to still walking around.

I suppose if de container was heading for Beetham dey woulda arrest de consignee long, long time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Just like the Monos Island Drug House was never revealed and the owner gets away scott free.

Postby bluefete » September 18th, 2011, 9:22 pm

suffocate69 wrote:
bluefete wrote:So lemme unnerstan dis:

Just like the Monos Island Drug House was never revealed and the owner gets away scott free.

Well dat was not a big fish. Dat was a great white shark. No pun intended!!!