Building a house in Trinidad

eitech

Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby eitech » June 4th, 2018, 4:32 pm

Anyone has any recent or past experience with kitchen surface countertops? I am at that stage of the kitchen reno and tryjng to decide which option to choose

Postby rspann » June 4th, 2018, 5:54 pm

There was a discussion recently about this. Long story short, granite seems to be a good choice, given the cheap prices on pre-fab countertops. Solid surface expensive and porcelain 24x24 tiles is an economical choice.

Postby *KRONIK* » June 4th, 2018, 6:21 pm

eitech wrote:Anyone has any recent or past experience with kitchen surface countertops? I am at that stage of the kitchen reno and tryjng to decide which option to choose
rspann wrote:There was a discussion recently about this. Long story short, granite seems to be a good choice, given the cheap prices on pre-fab countertops. Solid surface expensive and porcelain 24x24 tiles is an economical choice.
Agreed.
But the granite will only work out cheap if you doing it with prefab. Once you need to buy/custom cut a big slab, prepare to jump out money.
The big porcelain tile working nice too.
We did a 34ft counter in a kitchen and it came out really nice... u just need good working surfaces and a good tileman.

gtiracer

Postby gtiracer » June 4th, 2018, 6:46 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
eitech wrote:Anyone has any recent or past experience with kitchen surface countertops? I am at that stage of the kitchen reno and tryjng to decide which option to choose
rspann wrote:There was a discussion recently about this. Long story short, granite seems to be a good choice, given the cheap prices on pre-fab countertops. Solid surface expensive and porcelain 24x24 tiles is an economical choice.
Agreed.
But the granite will only work out cheap if you doing it with prefab. Once you need to buy/custom cut a big slab, prepare to jump out money.
The big porcelain tile working nice too.
We did a 34ft counter in a kitchen and it came out really nice... u just need good working surfaces and a good tileman.
Careful with the light/white tone granite if u go that route.. Counter area next to my stove is stained (oil splatter) from lack of sealant and clean up.. Looking for someone to grind and polish if that's even possible . Like Kronik said.. The prefab are an affordable option if the size works for you. Be sure to seal!

Galvatron

Postby Galvatron » June 5th, 2018, 6:19 am

I recently plastered some holes in an existing wall. What grade of sandpaper should I use to 'rub it down", to achieve a smooth surface which can be primed and painted, so it matches the surrounding painted surface?

Thanks

Postby pugboy » June 5th, 2018, 6:41 am

many use a piece of concrete brick on a complete new wall

buy one of them knife sharpening stone it will cut it down faster

Galvatron wrote:I recently plastered some holes in an existing wall. What grade of sandp
aper should I use to 'rub it down", to achieve a smooth surface which can be primed and painted, so it matches the surrounding painted surface?

Thanks

Postby De Dragon » June 5th, 2018, 7:42 am

Galvatron wrote:I recently plastered some holes in an existing wall. What grade of sandpaper should I use to 'rub it down", to achieve a smooth surface which can be primed and painted, so it matches the surrounding painted surface?

Thanks

Rubbing/sharpening stone available in most hardwares.

Postby adnj » June 9th, 2018, 9:45 pm

gtiracer wrote:Careful with the light/white tone granite if u go that route.. Counter area next to my stove is stained (oil splatter) from lack of sealant and clean up.. Looking for someone to grind and polish if that's even possible . Like Kronik said.. The prefab are an affordable option if the size works for you. Be sure to seal!

You can clean grease stains from granite with sodium metasilicate, xylene or acetone. Pour it on the stain, cover it with a few layers of paper towel and then keep it from drying out. You can do the same thing with engine oil stains on a garage floor.

mantis

Postby mantis » June 10th, 2018, 6:23 am

Need help people looking for lighting for a gallery any ideas concrete floor as roof and where in Trinidad have the lowest price thanks

Postby pugboy » June 10th, 2018, 6:51 am

concrete floor as roof liable to leak if slab was not poured/done properly
AND will likely crack in time as moisture will eventually penetrate the concrete and cause the rebar to rust and expand and crack.
Check movietown and long circular mall under parking

jsr

Postby jsr » June 11th, 2018, 12:38 pm

looking to get concrete pavers and artificial grass.... used or new to complete a renovation

QuietGiant

Postby QuietGiant » June 11th, 2018, 7:53 pm

Anyone know where i can get two used 40ft containers to buy? I have to build a house soon and can't really afford much, i trying my best to work on a budget of under $200, 000 and willing to include myself in the labour. I gonna put the 2 containers on both ends as half bedroom/bathroom each and leave the middle open as a kitchen/living room, but surrounded by steel walls & steel roof (kinda like a shed). It's for only 3 people so nothing too fancy, just a basic house. Can anyone give me advice on how to arrange something like this? Anybody knows where i can get good material for this reasonable? My land is located in freeport.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » June 11th, 2018, 8:12 pm

QuietGiant wrote:Anyone know where i can get two used 40ft containers to buy? I have to build a house soon and can't really afford much, i trying my best to work on a budget of under $200, 000 and willing to include myself in the labour. I gonna put the 2 containers on both ends as half bedroom/bathroom each and leave the middle open as a kitchen/living room, but surrounded by steel walls & steel roof (kinda like a shed). It's for only 3 people so nothing too fancy, just a basic house. Can anyone give me advice on how to arrange something like this? Anybody knows where i can get good material for this reasonable? My land is located in freeport.

What does the topography of the land look like?
Flat, inclining/declining from road?

If is one thing to never do, is skimp on the foundation. I think i see people advertising on facebook. 40ft for 23k or something, cant find it now sadly.

Idk if that even bad or good

Postby rspann » June 11th, 2018, 8:18 pm

It will cost more to do that. You still have to do a floor and a roof over it. You still need windows, doors ,electrical ,plumbing etc. Plus blocks cheaper than two containers.

To get through with what you have is not hard. It might not be a palace but will be habitable and comfortable.
Do a basic floor / foundation , block up with concrete blocks, rub out the inside, no plastering, groove point the outside . Electrical is easy because of the vertical core blocks. Do the plumbing inside to outside directly without cutting horizontally. Do a steel roof ,suspended ceiling , plaster the floor. Use pine panel doors inside, one steel panel door each front and back.steel windows, later on when more money becomes available you can tile and do better finishings.

The money you save every month from rent can go back into completion.

Remember, just go basic.

eitech

Postby eitech » June 11th, 2018, 9:33 pm

Any ttmf home owners can give an estimate how long the attorneys took to get the registered deed to you?
Ttec/wasa sayin i need this deed for change of name on utility.

Postby rspann » June 11th, 2018, 9:45 pm

Right now it's taking a longer time to get the certified copy. The registration is a few days once the stamp duty is adjudged and paid.

eitech

Postby eitech » June 11th, 2018, 9:49 pm

rspann wrote:Right now it's taking a longer time to get the certified copy. The registration is a few days once the stamp duty is adjudged and paid.

I have the stamp duty copy but utilities folks not accepting that. Thought the registered would be ready by now

Postby rspann » June 11th, 2018, 9:59 pm

Common sense would tell them that the transaction has already taken place and you're just waiting on the new copy, but, you know how it is with public servants and their red tape.

eitech

Postby eitech » June 11th, 2018, 10:15 pm

rspann wrote:Common sense would tell them that the transaction has already taken place and you're just waiting on the new copy, but, you know how it is with public servants and their red tape.

Boy tell me bout it. I gone ttec with d copy. D lady say i forget a piece. I say my bad will bring it back tomorrow. Gone back d next day in d same place, different teller. U know the lady tell me i cannot use that copy. I say but d lady yesterday was prepared to take it. She aint mention it cudnt be used. Waste my dam time. Steups.

djruncrowd

Postby djruncrowd » June 11th, 2018, 11:02 pm

Kronik wrote:Guys, I looking for someone to do a kitchen counter with the cupboards and sink, about 20ft of counter in total. Preferably someone in central.

What's the best way to go, cast with concrete and then do the countertop and wood framing?

Anyone ever do countertops using concrete board and then put a surface on it (looking at doing epoxy)?

http://www.cretesprayart.com/

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » June 12th, 2018, 4:47 am

eitech wrote:Any ttmf home owners can give an estimate how long the attorneys took to get the registered deed to you?
Ttec/wasa sayin i need this deed for change of name on utility.
I'm not with ttmf but I'm In the same scenario....just waiting to get the deed to start the drawings,estimates and utilities approvals

QuietGiant

Postby QuietGiant » June 14th, 2018, 7:08 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:
QuietGiant wrote:Anyone know where i can get two used 40ft containers to buy? I have to build a house soon and can't really afford much, i trying my best to work on a budget of under $200, 000 and willing to include myself in the labour. I gonna put the 2 containers on both ends as half bedroom/bathroom each and leave the middle open as a kitchen/living room, but surrounded by steel walls & steel roof (kinda like a shed). It's for only 3 people so nothing too fancy, just a basic house. Can anyone give me advice on how to arrange something like this? Anybody knows where i can get good material for this reasonable? My land is located in freeport.

What does the topography of the land look like?
Flat, inclining/declining from road?

If is one thing to never do, is skimp on the foundation. I think i see people advertising on facebook. 40ft for 23k or something, cant find it now sadly.

Idk if that even bad or good

My land is located on top of a hill, there are 2 lots on the top of the hill and 2 lots down flat, level with the road. From what i heard someone say here, blocks are a lot cheaper than containers so i may have to use that instead. The chinese containers much cheaper but idk anyone selling them, companies calling too much for used ones.
Currently not on fb so i just looking for reasonable labour and links.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » June 14th, 2018, 7:49 pm

QuietGiant wrote:My land is located on top of a hill, there are 2 lots on the top of the hill and 2 lots down flat, level with the road. From what i heard someone say here, blocks are a lot cheaper than containers so i may have to use that instead. The chinese containers much cheaper but idk anyone selling them, companies calling too much for used ones.
Currently not on fb so i just looking for reasonable labour and links.

If you on a hill, then pile deep.
If is princes town kinda hill then pile deeper. Soil in Trinidad eh nothing to laugh at yes, I was heading down Lengua side the other day and see house where the floors visibly sloping, and even one house where it quite literally split in the middle. Is not uncommon to see people back porch separate from the rest of the house by 2-3" when they dont use proper wall stiffeners also.

eitech

Postby eitech » June 17th, 2018, 9:39 pm

Hey guys need some advice.
If u zoom u will see a wood strip on the inside at the top, middle and bottom. It already have nails from an air gun installed. About 4 on top middle and bottom. However another guy sayin we need to put added reinforcements so the cupboard wont come off the wall when when put weight in there. What u tink?

Postby rspann » June 17th, 2018, 9:54 pm

Nails were used long ago, some people still believe in them, but weight can pull the cupboard off the wall sometimes. If you pull out one of the nails you will realize the cement from the mortar formed a coating on the nail, that is what bonds it tight in the wall. It is an easy fix though. Just drill some 1/4 " holes through the wood into the wall and use some hit-its (metal hit anchors),that will hold very secure.

eitech

Postby eitech » June 17th, 2018, 9:59 pm

rspann wrote:Nails were used long ago, some people still believe in them, but weight can pull the cupboard off the wall sometimes. If you pull out one of the nails you will realize the cement from the mortar formed a coating on the nail, that is what bonds it tight in the wall. It is an easy fix though. Just drill some 1/4 " holes through the wood into the wall and use some hit-its (metal hit anchors),that will hold very secure.

How many anchors for each section? Would concrete screws work as well?

Postby rspann » June 17th, 2018, 10:04 pm

The screws could work , but the anchors never come out unless you grind off the heads. I use them in every cupboard and they have never gailef yet. Also its just one hit with a hammer. Seeing that the cupboards are already in place it will be easier. If you are building from scratch, the screws might be an option.the

Postby rspann » June 17th, 2018, 10:08 pm

Two feet apart works for me.
IMG_20180617_220616.jpg

eitech

Postby eitech » June 17th, 2018, 10:14 pm

rspann wrote:Two feet apart works for me.
IMG_20180617_220616.jpg

Kool man. Tnx. In terms of size of the anchor, what am i asking for in the hardware? I see u mentioned drilling a 1/4” hole though...

Postby pugboy » June 17th, 2018, 10:25 pm

They are usually 1/4" thick but the come in different lengths

You need to make sure the part which expands when the nail is hit in will be in solid mortar or the brick itself ideally. So buy length to accommodate the thickness of the wood and the plastering over the brick also
Would guess about 1 3/4 or 2" long.