Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby Ted_v2 » March 26th, 2014, 7:18 pm

thats for a home setup?

LAWD. bess

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » March 26th, 2014, 9:28 pm

[X]~Outlaw wrote:This is my new CNC lathe doing single point threading...
... Image...

Nice!...
When are you getting your "dream" mill?...
Sanctifier wrote:Image
Tormach PCNC 1100 Series 3

Postby 3stagevtec » March 27th, 2014, 1:33 am

Did you know...

Postby X_Factor » March 27th, 2014, 7:48 am

^ i have about 3 of those and the dewalt works best for the price
hooked it up to a corded drill to take off some nuts and bolts and it handled it pretty well

get a set of these one time, they are sooo handy!!

http://www.amazon.com/Titan-12082-Socke ... et+adapter

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » March 27th, 2014, 8:32 pm

Sanctifier

That's a few years of. I have however been looking at other options. A used Bridgeport will be considerably cheaper even with a CNC conversion, it will be more rigid and have a bigger work envelope. Right now I'm leaning towards that but when the time comes we'll see.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » March 27th, 2014, 9:24 pm

[X]~Outlaw wrote:...A used Bridgeport with a CNC conversion...

If you're serious I'm also interested in getting something similar in decent condition.
If you can find two such mills, I wouldn't mind splitting shipping costs with you if it's feasible.
A 'group buy' might save a few bucks with discount and consolidated shipping.

Let me know if you're interested... (684-4552)

Postby X_Factor » March 27th, 2014, 10:36 pm

anyone knows if these can be repaired locally?

partner has the exact one in their shop but it stopped working, he said it started spinning in reverse and then stopped altogether

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 27th, 2014, 10:49 pm

Where Sanctifier?

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » March 28th, 2014, 4:35 am

^ ^ ^ Right here. :)
X_Factor wrote:anyone knows if these can be repaired locally?

... it started spinning in reverse and then stopped altogether.

^ ^ ^ What is the Model Number? There is a 'Name Tag' riveted to the column in the picture.
it started spinning in reverse... A RAS of that size may use a capacitor start motor.

REPAIR TECHNICIAN & ADVICE:
IMHO 1st check the capacitors of the electric motor. Take the motor to a competent repair/rewinding shop for diagnosis.

AFAIK F.T. Farfan & Co, Ltd. were the local agents. They may still employ/know of an older Technician who can help.

Go to the DeWalt RAS (Radial Arm Saw) Forum on Delphi. Free Registration. VERY informative.
Repair advice should be available there... http://people.delphiforums.com/snotzalot/sawdust/

PARTS SUPPLIERS:
I bought all my parts for my RAS restoration project on eBay.

The Original Saw Company stocks parts for many older DeWalt Radial Arm Saw models... http://www.originalsaw.com/index.html

DeWalt Tool Company have also started manufacturing RAS once again. They may have parts as well.

My $0.02¢

star23

Postby star23 » April 3rd, 2014, 9:35 am

can someone recommend somewhere to buy the router bits used to make raised panel doors , been checking bhags and roopnarine but all they have it those 1/4 inch light duty bit for small routers

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 3rd, 2014, 3:00 pm

William H Scott in POS has good selection of large bits, you may get lucky.

Amazon otherwise.

Postby X_Factor » April 3rd, 2014, 4:12 pm

farfan in san juan has some decent freud bits as well....make sure n ask for discounts
they give easily on those stuff since its not really hot sellers

you might be better off ordering off amazon as well

Postby X_Factor » April 8th, 2014, 5:50 pm

in the process of making a vise for the drill press....
hoping that it goes as planned....

just need to get someone to weld up some stuff......

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » April 8th, 2014, 8:56 pm

^ ^ ^ Pix please.

Postby pugboy » April 8th, 2014, 9:04 pm

if it is straight forward stuff and everything cut already I can mig it easy.

Postby X_Factor » April 8th, 2014, 9:40 pm

yeah, its a pretty simple idea and just 8" square.....goin tmr to see what size threaded rods are available
will take some pics

here it is, just to weld up and cut and attach the rod

i got 1/2" hardened steel threaded rods with nuts to match
the nuts will be going on the outer plate that has the guide hole and welded there

the next end will go on to the "jaw"
so i can easily adjust any side to accommodate the work that i am doing
if u get the idea...

just need to clean it up and paint it when its finished.....
total cost thus far --40.00 just for the rod and bolts....i found the steel at home
will this ever break.....i think not

Postby X_Factor » April 9th, 2014, 12:49 pm

pugboy wrote:if it is straight forward stuff and everything cut already I can mig it easy.

how ur timing looking?

i will get the steel plates stick welded
but i may need the bolts mig welded...

Postby 3stagevtec » April 9th, 2014, 2:23 pm

How thick is the steel plates? You can do flux core welding with a MIG plant on that.. but from what i see in the pics, you will need a 180A plant.

I have a 180A, but i'm from Gasparillo.. long way off..

Postby X_Factor » April 9th, 2014, 2:40 pm

its 1/4" flat steel

Postby 3stagevtec » April 9th, 2014, 3:47 pm

That could be MIG welded (flux core) easy.. i welded winch mounts out of 1/4" steel with my plant. Willing to help if needed.

Postby pugboy » April 9th, 2014, 3:57 pm

Friday afternoon

Postby X_Factor » April 9th, 2014, 10:10 pm

http://www.amazon.com/MAXCRAFT-60601-Fl ... _hi_text_z

used this today, its one sweet lil tool to have!

Postby supercharged turbo » April 11th, 2014, 8:48 pm

Looking to buy some tools tomorrow like 1/2" drive power handle,ratchet,sockets etc.Has to be reasonably priced more or less Stanley.So far the only places i could think of is SWS,SSL and Bhagwansingh's(don't know which branch might have the widest variety).Any suggeations?

Postby Ted_v2 » April 11th, 2014, 9:29 pm

I paid 110$ for a rachet and 115$ for a powerhandle. Bought retail impact sockets for what I needed.

gas brainz

Postby gas brainz » April 11th, 2014, 10:11 pm

The hardware on the caroni savannah road n the road in particular have a lot if tool stores
There is tool zone in elsocorro u can check their website toolzone.com an there is tool time an aphzal hardware

gas brainz

Postby gas brainz » April 11th, 2014, 10:12 pm

Its roopnarine on d caroni sav rd ent oh an a1 tools hav rell ting

Postby X_Factor » April 11th, 2014, 11:35 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:Looking to buy some tools tomorrow like 1/2" drive power handle,ratchet,sockets etc.Has to be reasonably priced more or less Stanley.So far the only places i could think of is SWS,SSL and Bhagwansingh's(don't know which branch might have the widest variety).Any suggeations?

kelvin ghany has a decent line of products and the prices are reasonable as well

you could always include farfan on ur list....they have the crescent kits that are cheaper than bhags
and you also get a discount....

Postby 3stagevtec » April 11th, 2014, 11:45 pm

Allied Industrial (or now Allied Home Center) has a wide range of tools, bits, drivers etc etc.. Enough goodies to make my wife blow a fuse every time she finds out I went there..

yeah, pretty much..

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » April 12th, 2014, 6:26 am

^ ^ ^ :lol: