Kronik

Re: TSTT WiMax 4G/Hotspot and HSPA+ Thread

Postby Kronik » January 28th, 2013, 5:23 pm

achillies wrote:
Kronik wrote:
S_2NR wrote:Signed up for 4g on an s3 and all I seeing is E. No H. Called bmobile, they confused. Its an at&t s3

pete wrote:Is is set to GSM/WDCDA(auto) mode or is it on GSM alone?

Settings > More > Mobile Network Settings > Network Mode

go to Settings > More > Mobile Networks > Access Point Names > go into your APN and down to the bottom, put your bearer to unspecified.

Remember if you postpaid the APN is internet, if you prepaid it is bconnected

try that and see. btw, on that phone you will see either E or 4G, no H+. certain areas i only get E (chaguanas surprisingly, 4G in pt lisas)

What phone do you have

The S3 displays E,
uploadfromtaptalk1359407764157.jpg
H or H+

i have an AT&T S3 which is the 4G LTE version, model i747. when on edge it displays E, when on '4G' it shows a 4G logo

achillies

Postby achillies » January 28th, 2013, 5:38 pm

Kronik wrote:
achillies wrote:
Kronik wrote:
S_2NR wrote:Signed up for 4g on an s3 and all I seeing is E. No H. Called bmobile, they confused. Its an at&t s3

pete wrote:Is is set to GSM/WDCDA(auto) mode or is it on GSM alone?

Settings > More > Mobile Network Settings > Network Mode

go to Settings > More > Mobile Networks > Access Point Names > go into your APN and down to the bottom, put your bearer to unspecified.

Remember if you postpaid the APN is internet, if you prepaid it is bconnected

try that and see. btw, on that phone you will see either E or 4G, no H+. certain areas i only get E (chaguanas surprisingly, 4G in pt lisas)

What phone do you have

The S3 displays E,
uploadfromtaptalk1359407764157.jpg
H or H+

i have an AT&T S3 which is the 4G LTE version, model i747. when on edge it displays E, when on '4G' it shows a 4G logo

Figures, that model's framework was designed for At&t, displaying 4G although it's connected to a HSDPA network

Postby S_2NR » January 29th, 2013, 12:31 am

had to go into the engineering service menu to activate it manually. wcdma mode.

ilove3

Postby ilove3 » February 3rd, 2013, 9:32 pm

This is FIRE!!!
uploadfromtaptalk1359941316889.jpg

Postby hustla_ambition101 » February 3rd, 2013, 9:44 pm

sure you not in a bzone?

Postby Stephon. » February 3rd, 2013, 9:54 pm

Look the H+ on top of the screenshot. What location is this?

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » February 3rd, 2013, 9:57 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:now keep in mind that all post paid bmobile customers have automatically been updated to 4G service. So unless your phone is only capable of 2G speeds, you are using the 4G service whether you like it or not.

since when? im on the iphone plan from last year and i only get E on my device, i spoke to the reps in bmobile and they said its because im on a 2g plan. -_- have to wait for the billing cycle to change my plan

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » February 3rd, 2013, 10:34 pm

Stephon. wrote:
turbotusty wrote:a standard $100/month for unlimited 4g sounds good too lol

Not in this lifetime

Why not? Used them when I was in the UK, and they not even that popular, but GREAT service!! And the prices okay too. This is no contract btw... Would love to see Digi/bMobile rival these prices, or at least get close. :(

http://giffgaff.com/goodybags

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » February 4th, 2013, 1:17 am

shottah_crew wrote:
Stephon. wrote:

Not in this lifetime

Why not? Used them when I was in the UK, and they not even that popular, but GREAT service!! And the prices okay too. This is no contract btw... Would love to see Digi/bMobile rival these prices, or at least get close. :(

that kinda rate would have me signing up in the morning and recommending it to everyone i know like if tstt paying me to market their mobile internet.

£12 for unlimited is like $120 a month. wouldnt mind switching to post paid for that. but in my opinion the bmobile 4g service is very poor and sub-standard. is level E, begging for H/H+ and like they only have 2 3g hotspots zones in the whole country. and one in maloney on the bus route of all places. they have any plans for proper national coverage of 3g zones? and im calling it by it's proper name.. it's 3g. a rose by any other name.

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » February 4th, 2013, 8:01 am

turbotusty wrote:
shottah_crew wrote:
Stephon. wrote:

Not in this lifetime

that kinda rate would have me signing up in the morning and recommending it to everyone i know like if tstt paying me to market their mobile internet.

£12 for unlimited is like $120 a month. wouldnt mind switching to post paid for that. but in my opinion the bmobile 4g service is very poor and sub-standard. is level E, begging for H/H+ and like they only have 2 3g hotspots zones in the whole country. and one in maloney on the bus route of all places. they have any plans for proper national coverage of 3g zones? and im calling it by it's proper name.. it's 3g. a rose by any other name.

Ikr...sold my Android fone when I was leaving and resigned myself to a BB, cuz I couldn't pay for a "4G plan" after experiencing unlimited 4G.

Postby Stephon. » February 4th, 2013, 8:17 am

Oh wow nice place, but how much of allyuh gonna use up more than 5GB of 4G data per month? lol

Postby nemisis » February 4th, 2013, 8:40 am

shottah_crew wrote:
turbotusty wrote:
shottah_crew wrote:
Stephon. wrote:

Not in this lifetime

Ikr...sold my Android fone when I was leaving and resigned myself to a BB, cuz I couldn't pay for a "4G plan" after experiencing unlimited 4G.

sure u from the shotta crew?

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » February 4th, 2013, 9:34 am

Stephon. wrote:Oh wow nice place, but how much of allyuh gonna use up more than 5GB of 4G data per month? lol

that aint it u know. but in the event i decide to use more than 5g i dont want to have to pay extra for it. plus as i understand it, tstt reception is hinged to how much data is being used.. meaning if reception is poor, more data gets used to complete any task. that is how they making they money double up if u ask me. and any complaints they say 'maybe is bad reception'. but them set it up so to do just that.

how u could call it mobile internet and u have to stand still to use it lol. ppl does be on the move, in public transport etc. reception drops and reconnects etc. from what i see facebook could use that 5g up by itself with enough jacked up data usage due to poor and inconsistent connectivity.

the greatest mistake i think was to remove the 2g system and pricing. it was workin good for ppl who just want to do browsing on the go or send email and keep in touch on facebook. i dont know how many more ppl like me have stopped using the data service. so i gone from $40 average a month to $0. and that aint changing till their rates get reasonable for their half cocked service.

Postby S_2NR » February 4th, 2013, 10:09 am

Bmobile still offers 2G plans :-?

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » February 4th, 2013, 11:52 am

yeah but i read somewhere it being phased out. im on prepaid so i actually dont have a choice, it will bill me just the same. tstt gave me dataphobia lol

Postby M_2NR » February 4th, 2013, 12:03 pm

Doubt they would anytime soon. I think voice still runs on it. At least it happens with Digicel. Try browsing while on a call.

Postby pete » February 4th, 2013, 1:13 pm

Can't you just turn off "3G/4G" on your phone and let it run on 2G?

I know that's what is sometimes suggested to improve battery life, only use "3G/4G" when you want to download something fast and all other times have the data connection running on edge alone.

Postby ismithx » February 4th, 2013, 1:21 pm

^^ yeah that's what i do...

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » February 6th, 2013, 9:59 am

pete wrote:Can't you just turn off "3G/4G" on your phone and let it run on 2G?

I know that's what is sometimes suggested to improve battery life, only use "3G/4G" when you want to download something fast and all other times have the data connection running on edge alone.

Tried this.. but Siri takes way too long on Edge :|

Postby S_2NR » February 6th, 2013, 2:30 pm

I find it hard to use edge after I paying for 4g. Let the battery dead. Thats wa charger is for lol

Postby pete » February 6th, 2013, 2:37 pm

Battery is one thing.. but I once had a problem with my e-mail and the phone kept downloading messages constantly for some reason. In a couple hours (maybe less) it used up 400MB of data and my data ran out for the month. Luckily after that, with the plan I was on (digi), it just switched to edge. Would hate for something like that to happen and run up a huge 4G data bill.

Postby M_2NR » February 6th, 2013, 2:44 pm

pete wrote:Battery is one thing.. but I once had a problem with my e-mail and the phone kept downloading messages constantly for some reason. In a couple hours (maybe less) it used up 400MB of data and my data ran out for the month. Luckily after that, with the plan I was on (digi), it just switched to edge. Would hate for something like that to happen and run up a huge 4G data bill.

Something is def wrong with your sync options. I am catching my tail to use 1GB for the month.

Wrt edge though, I have it only when I'm home. As S_2NR say, it have chargers fi dem.

Postby pete » February 6th, 2013, 2:54 pm

Nah it wasn't the sync options. I hadn't cleared my mail for a couple years and I think there was some glitch server side. Think it happened to some other people at my company as well. I deleted all my mail off the server and after that never gave trouble again.

Postby S_2NR » February 6th, 2013, 3:09 pm

I use about 4 out of my 5gb because I'm always on my phone. Tethering is the only thing that uses substantial amounts.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » February 7th, 2013, 5:52 am

S_2NR wrote:I find it hard to use edge after I paying for 4g. Let the battery dead. Thats wa charger is for lol

Spent 20usd and bought three backup batteries for my s3. Phone Life sweet.

Postby Stephon. » February 7th, 2013, 7:03 am

I only have one extended battery, one of those batteries that does make your phone thicker. 36 hrs without charging on two batteries with constant use ftw. 12 hrs on orifinal battery and 24 hrs on thick battery. removal battery non shitty basic backward still playing catch up paper weight boring lame repetitive toyota iphone life sweet

my cycle restarts on the 10th

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » February 7th, 2013, 12:30 pm

Southern Sales wrote:removal battery non shitty basic backward still playing catch up paper weight boring lame repetitive toyota iphone life sweet

Google could not translate :|

Postby Stephon. » February 7th, 2013, 1:11 pm

Lemme guess. You using an iPhone na? :lol: poor dat

scarcasm

Postby scarcasm » February 7th, 2013, 8:00 pm

Used the 'bconnected' APN on my prepaid phone. That was all it took, no setup from Bmobile required. Really kills the battery though. It's nice but I try to stay in wifi range.

brickman

Postby brickman » February 8th, 2013, 1:09 am

Anybody sign up for a brewards card yet?