Energy Sector Thread - Operators, Engineers, Technicians Et Al

car

Energy Sector Thread - Operators, Engineers, Technicians Et Al

Postby car » July 29th, 2017, 4:58 pm

wtf wrote:
lalloboy101 wrote:Start small. Stretch your self by doing things you would have overlooked. There is a young lady I work with, has her bsc in environmental but works as a clerk. Being qualified doesn't necessarily guarantee a job.

I dont mind starting small but it is very hard...I dont mind working as a clerk but thats not even happening...

I started as a trainee tech working for $42 a day for 1 year. Just enough $ to travel and eat food. And I used to work on a Saturday for free to show my dedication to the work in hopes that they will employee me after my 1 year training. It was hard but I did what I had to do.
There was some trainee clerks that was working for $23 a day. I couldn't comprehend how they made out.

widdyphuck

Re: Energy Sector Thread - Operators, Engineers, Technicians Et Al

Postby widdyphuck » July 29th, 2017, 11:04 pm

car wrote:
wtf wrote:
lalloboy101 wrote:Start small. Stretch your self by doing things you would have overlooked. There is a young lady I work with, has her bsc in environmental but works as a clerk. Being qualified doesn't necessarily guarantee a job.

I dont mind starting small but it is very hard...I dont mind working as a clerk but thats not even happening...

I started as a trainee tech working for $42 a day for 1 year. Just enough $ to travel and eat food. And I used to work on a Saturday for free to show my dedication to the work in hopes that they will employee me after my 1 year training. It was hard but I did what I had to do.
There was some trainee clerks that was working for $23 a day. I couldn't comprehend how they made out.

I could understand the $42 but $23...thats. over doing it..

Postby sMASH » July 30th, 2017, 8:05 am

I went sams for their 'computing' degree. The programing teacher told us he took an IT job at a grocery to get experience. The money wasn't enough to cover the basic livin, but there he got to talk to customers and meet people,and was able to network to get contacts to move around and move up.
Now I pm seeing him doing rock concerts in germany.

I know people running maxi and renting out apartments, and pulling in cash.
I know men doing straightening, and garage never have place.
Mechanic garage doing ac and tire shop. And linked with men with wreckers, machine shop, and straightening.

I know a youth man, both parents deceased, took a job in a car parts place to open his own. And running game a bar to make up the funds to jump out.

I know a man buying market whole sale to resell wholesale. Probably making about a500 to a 1000 on each, but doing about 3 sales person week.

I know engineers renting out land to gardeners and pulling in a tidy sum.

I know a man awaiting phd, and home scratching. But he is doing all those small courses in order to start up his own research laboratory. While they are free and low cost, he is doing them.

Education and qualifications are no guarantee of safety or success. U Haddad get up and try sumting.

Granted somethings will have more demand than others, and some things will be within or outside I purchased capability bit plenty people who thought their job was lock, and are experts in thier profession got fired. They had success and lost it.

U Haddad try sumting.

Postby sMASH » July 30th, 2017, 8:08 am

About rowlers and his plant being sold

I believe he meant mhtl. And as it sounds like a plant, he made a oilfield plantation again, and called mhtl a plant.
Becsuse proman also has ipsl.

The government, as I remeber, didn't get down specifically into three plants, just remained at the clico energy level.

But again, I assume.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » July 30th, 2017, 12:38 pm

sMASH wrote:I went sams for their 'computing' degree. The programing teacher told us he took an IT job at a grocery to get experience. The money wasn't enough to cover the basic livin, but there he got to talk to customers and meet people,and was able to network to get contacts to move around and move up.
Now I pm seeing him doing rock concerts in germany.

I know people running maxi and renting out apartments, and pulling in cash.
I know men doing straightening, and garage never have place.
Mechanic garage doing ac and tire shop. And linked with men with wreckers, machine shop, and straightening.

I know a youth man, both parents deceased, took a job in a car parts place to open his own. And running game a bar to make up the funds to jump out.

I know a man buying market whole sale to resell wholesale. Probably making about a500 to a 1000 on each, but doing about 3 sales person week.

I know engineers renting out land to gardeners and pulling in a tidy sum.

I know a man awaiting phd, and home scratching. But he is doing all those small courses in order to start up his own research laboratory. While they are free and low cost, he is doing them.

Education and qualifications are no guarantee of safety or success. U Haddad get up and try sumting.

Granted somethings will have more demand than others, and some things will be within or outside I purchased capability bit plenty people who thought their job was lock, and are experts in thier profession got fired. They had success and lost it.

U Haddad try sumting.

Yuh make real down to earth sense here....Man to man...

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » July 30th, 2017, 2:46 pm

Fuh real..

PapaC

Postby PapaC » August 2nd, 2017, 1:37 pm

Today should be a lesson that Operator life eh just A/c office and fancy computers.
Hope if anyone here is/ was on the Atlantic facility this morning, you guys are safe.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » August 2nd, 2017, 1:45 pm

Allyuh hear about ALNG?

mbr

Postby mbr » August 2nd, 2017, 1:50 pm

What happened

Postby tr1ad » August 2nd, 2017, 2:23 pm

packing on one of the valves leaking - it's either propane or refrigerant

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » August 2nd, 2017, 2:30 pm

Ok. I just saw the video

Postby tr1ad » August 7th, 2017, 11:31 am

Engineering Graduate students for an initial 2 year period starting in October. We are seeking suitably qualified graduates to fill 4-5 trainee positions with a Bachelor’s of Science in Engineering in 2017 in the areas of either Mechanical, Electrical, Instrument or Process. Graduates must have a minimum of 3.3 GPA in these areas outlined. Shortlisted candidates will be screened by a panel to determine final selection.

Pm me for graduates that interested so I can forward the info

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » August 7th, 2017, 11:32 am

What company is this?

Postby K74T » August 7th, 2017, 2:51 pm

Drea

Postby Drea » August 7th, 2017, 3:33 pm

Looks like a similar listing they had some months ago, is it that these are contract positions that the readvertise?

Postby hydroep » August 7th, 2017, 4:06 pm

Can Foreign Nationals (who are fluent in English) apply?... :|

Helena_Victor

Postby Helena_Victor » August 8th, 2017, 9:40 am

tr1ad wrote:Engineering Graduate students for an initial 2 year period starting in October. We are seeking suitably qualified graduates to fill 4-5 trainee positions with a Bachelor’s of Science in Engineering in 2017 in the areas of either Mechanical, Electrical, Instrument or Process. Graduates must have a minimum of 3.3 GPA in these areas outlined. Shortlisted candidates will be screened by a panel to determine final selection.

Pm me for graduates that interested so I can forward the info

What about those who currently pursuing postgraduate studies? Which company is this tho? Email address?

Postby tr1ad » August 8th, 2017, 9:43 am

As stated, for graduate students not those currently pursuing

Helena_Victor

Postby Helena_Victor » August 8th, 2017, 9:45 am

tr1ad wrote:As stated, for graduate students not those currently pursuing

OK I see...

gencon

Postby gencon » August 12th, 2017, 2:59 pm

anybody could help me get an entry level position anywhere? tried everything i could. I may need a new start in a new career. Don't want to resign myself to working taxi part time.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » August 12th, 2017, 5:57 pm

Things are genuinely tight.

Tough out there, seriously, business just dropped off from July to now.....

People are really feeling the pinch I guess....

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » August 14th, 2017, 11:18 am

screw ya pride, forget yuh dreams.

i do not believe anymore that you can "make it big" working 9-5. if you hav it keep it, but branch out and do something on the side.

people still spending money out here, why not provide what they pay for and get a piece of the pie, as small at it is.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » August 14th, 2017, 1:52 pm

I agree

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » August 14th, 2017, 7:21 pm

Diversify your skill set by ANY means necessary....Monkey Man is right this is the time for action.

Try selling house wares or such, not clothes tend to go out of style and you may have dead stock, small utilitarian things....

If you live in a safe area consider bar and/or grill, food and food prep is big these days, also these are things that can be opened after 5-6pm in the day allowing you to work a steady job and then come home and run it.

Postby sMASH » August 14th, 2017, 8:44 pm

150 more persons are going on the job market.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » August 14th, 2017, 8:46 pm

From where now?

Postby sMASH » August 14th, 2017, 9:31 pm

Sry, should have been specific to not cause cornfusion.
I was referring to the TDC employees.
And I meant to emphasise that it is getting tougher out there.

Less people to buy, and more people trying to hustle. ..

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » August 14th, 2017, 9:34 pm

This country becoming a hustle or die state. The more I hear what is going on the more I believe communism is the answer

Postby nervewrecker » August 14th, 2017, 9:36 pm

I cant understand how so many people loosing jobs and so many people dont have money but place like steel ram out on a weekend. Ain't even have place to sit and people buying all kinda expensive drinks I wont even think to purchase.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » August 14th, 2017, 9:52 pm

One must keep up appearances, it may also highlight the growing income, wealth and class inequality that exists, either that or Trinbagonians are just bad with money.

Wine, women and song I guess.

They are probably the folks who got "easy money" or have or were specially appointed by one administration or the other.