PNM in Gov't (2020-2025)

daring dragoon

Re: PNM in Gov't

Postby daring dragoon » February 22nd, 2021, 9:29 am

time to look at non oil revenues, such as taxes from prostitution and pot shops and casinos. tourism would increase for TT if all mentioned is made legal. legal farms for weed, "wild" meat and setup trini made cocoa an olive oils.

Postby timelapse » February 22nd, 2021, 10:32 am

Thats a good start.While we at it, Venezuelan s need to pay income tax and nis else gtfo,start investing in solar energy in a more serious way, invest in more non traditional fields.Who knows, Trinidad could host an international Heavy metal festival, we done have jazz in tobago so why not.Will bring in revenue in the Carnival off season.Focus more on motorsports and other sports that we actually good at and winning instead of giving it away to loser football and cricket teams.
Plenty other things that could be done, but as I said before, I feel the goal is to crash the economy so that property values fall
daring dragoon wrote:time to look at non oil revenues, such as taxes from prostitution and pot shops and casinos. tourism would increase for TT if all mentioned is made legal. legal farms for weed, "wild" meat and setup trini made cocoa an olive oils.

Re: Re: PNM in Gov't

Postby Habit7 » February 22nd, 2021, 10:54 am

Habit7 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:"Over the past fifty years, T&T has increased its national income fifty-fold. In 1956 its GDP amounted to $273.7 million. In per capita income terms, the average income of a Trinbagonian was about $380 (US). Several tactical investments in the hydrocarbon sector, together with the fortuitous rise in energy prices, allowed the country's GDP to grow to $14.4 billion (US). In 2006 a Trinbagonian enjoyed an average annual income of approximately US $11,091 and a much higher standard of living than the generation that existed when PNM came into power"
daxt0r wrote:Jus like how since 1962 d whole ah trinidad turn lawless, lazy, corrupt, gimme-gimme freeness attitude, low productivity, all things the PNM leaders did and inspired our citizenry to become na. Well ah guess UNC teach we to drink rum an doh business.

What's the debt ratio to that GDP now btw?
Pointless to be speak of 1962, and 2006 when we've absolutely nothing to show for it today.

You are a liar and ignorant of most of the things you talk about. Make your point and stop trying to bluff and embellish.
I made a factual post, either refute it with fact or keep quiet. I care little for your opinion which is just full of insults and unintelligible abbreviations.

We currently owe 120 Billion dollars, up from 84 Billion when the LFDRFD PNM took over
we were downgraded by Standard and Poor's and this was cited as being a direct cause
Factual enough for you? :roll:

No not factual.
This is what S&P said,
"The rationale for the downgrade, which places T&T on the lowest investment grade above ‘junk’ status, is that S&P expects “lower oil and gas prices over the next several years will weaken Trinidad and Tobago’s government revenues and lead to larger increases in net general government debt.

S&P said T&T’s debt outlook is stable outlook as “this balances the risk that lower hydrocarbon prices may lead to greater deterioration in the country’s growth, external finances, or interest burden, with our expectation that the government’s financial assets will provide a safeguard for economic volatility.”

In assessing the risk that T&T’s sovereign debt rating could be further downgraded in the next 12 to 24 months, S&P said it could lower the rating in that period “should lower oil and gas prices, or the effects of COVID-19 on demand, contribute to a larger economic contraction; a deterioration of external liquidity or debt beyond our current expectation, should balance of payments outflows be larger than expected; or a weaker fiscal position; and if we believe that the government will take longer to unwind the deterioration in public finances expected this year, causing larger increases in the net general government debt or interest burden.”

Reflecting on a possible upside scenario, the rating agency said: “On the other hand, although we view this scenario as unlikely, we could raise the rating over the next 12-24 months should the government manage to limit the deterioration of public finances and stabilise the debt and interest burden, and should stronger-than-expected growth in the energy sector lead to significantly above-average economic growth, stemming balance of payments outflows.”

https://trinidadexpress.com/business/lo ... 7d998.html

You would like to see the reason for this as "when the LFDRFD PNM took over" but S&P were downgrading us since 2015. Not because of PNM but because of falling oil and gas prices. Even when O&G prices were high, UNC was growing our debt. Even more so, although PNM cut spending, O&G prices tumbled and just when we started growing, a global pandemic occurred, have you heard about it?

Nearly every country in the world has a growing debt to GDP as a result of this. But in the UNC's supporters book, Imbert is the cause of this. And in some fantasy world where their party didn't suck and they actually win elections, they believe that although their party didn't manage debt when we making record earnings, they could manage debt in an earning crisis. Just like how the govt did nearly everything opposite to their covid 19 recommendations and the result is one of the best in the world, they believe their economic recommendations are superior.

The Manning admin dropped our debt to GDP to 30%, PP with more money than Manning rose it to 47% and now with low oil prices and a pandemic it is at 81%. If you expected any better you need a magician, not a finance minister. But I would love to know where the debt we took on in 2010-2014 was spent on to earn us more money.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » February 22nd, 2021, 10:57 am

It was spent on laptops for the children. And look at the results. Tnt leading the caribbean neigh the world when it comes to competent university graduates.

Postby Habit7 » February 22nd, 2021, 11:22 am

elec2020 wrote:It was spent on laptops for the children. And look at the results. Tnt leading the caribbean neigh the world when it comes to competent university graduates.

According to who?

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » February 22nd, 2021, 1:01 pm

I am being sarcastic lol

Postby Habit7 » February 22nd, 2021, 1:39 pm

hadda be lol

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » February 22nd, 2021, 2:27 pm

Lol of course. I have sense. Unlike these anti pnm psycopaths.

Postby timelapse » February 22nd, 2021, 3:38 pm

PNM has been in power the longest,yet it takes UNC to have any sort of progress...But you would know that since you have sense.Earn that paycheck buddy...
PNM greatest education plan was the junior sec system, how's that working out for you?
elec2020 wrote:Lol of course. I have sense. Unlike these anti pnm psycopaths.

AlliDr

Postby AlliDr » February 22nd, 2021, 3:42 pm

rbl.JPG

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » February 22nd, 2021, 4:16 pm

timelapse wrote:PNM has been in power the longest,yet it takes UNC to have any sort of progress...But you would know that since you have sense.Earn that paycheck buddy...
PNM greatest education plan was the junior sec system, how's that working out for you?

you have sense or you like to tell yourself da?
anti-pnm is having sense... 1962, 11 elections they won by promising diversification (among so much many other things like some semblance of national security, good roads, a functioning health system, etc) and what we get nothing, zilch delivered yet they bray. and continually bray, spending billions on goals never achieved.

I'm not an economist so enlighten me, which economic model shows the creation of fake jobs with low productivity activities such as CEPEP/URP/Gimme-Gimme programmes that have been the brainchild of the PNM from its inception to support and lock-in its voter base is the way to a better and more productive economy?
How does spending billions to build low cost housing in our capital POS and surrounding areas then gifting it to gangsters (when it even good/safe to giveaway see Las Alturas) who don't pay rent and who then further exacerbate the already terrifying crime situation help our nation develop?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » February 22nd, 2021, 4:25 pm

AlliDr wrote:rbl.JPG

Damn this is already more than Scotia and RBC (I think).

Postby Habit7 » February 22nd, 2021, 5:23 pm

daxt0r wrote:
timelapse wrote:PNM has been in power the longest,yet it takes UNC to have any sort of progress...But you would know that since you have sense.Earn that paycheck buddy...

anti-pnm is having sense... 1962, 11 elections they won by promising diversification (among so much many other things like some semblance of national security, good roads, a functioning health system, etc) and what we get nothing, zilch delivered yet they bray. and continually bray, spending billions on goals never achieved.

I'm not an economist so enlighten me, which economic model shows the creation of fake jobs with low productivity activities such as CEPEP/URP/Gimme-Gimme programmes that have been the brainchild of the PNM from its inception to support and lock-in its voter base is the way to a better and more productive economy?
How does spending billions to build low cost housing in our capital POS and surrounding areas then gifting it to gangsters (when it even good/safe to giveaway see Las Alturas) who don't pay rent and who then further exacerbate the already terrifying crime situation help our nation develop?

Listen you and timelapse and the other anti-PNM sycophants, you all are embellishing too much. I agree that PNM is not perfect but when you act like if nothing was done, it is sycophantic.

"PNM has been in power the longest,yet it takes UNC to have any sort of progress" are you for real? 2001-2009 we had the highest GDP growth rates in the Americas, one of the highest in the world. Ask yourself how many other countries in our region have free healthcare, free education, subsidised utilities, subsidised fuel, subsidised internal air and sea travel and a whole host of stuff I can't recall. But only under the UNC we had progress? By what standard?

And the next one with diversification, how you think manufacturing grew in Trinidad? Hop on a plane and travel to other Caricom countries and visit their supermarkets and hardwares. Trini food, snacks, cement, PVC, tanks, fence, etc. We were trying to diversify into aluminium smelting and aluminium byproducts but the "party of progress" sold the majority an idea of an alternative that I am yet to see. They ran away all the investors and complaining now about diversification? Don't even get me started on Sandals. With locals alone, Tobago is booked out for Easter Weekend far more if we had an international brand anchor hotel to draw ppl when the borders are opened. But UNC sunk it and you want to say they have sense?

UNC after 25yrs of existence renting a headquarters but want to run the country. Even COP have more real estate than them.

I still waiting.

Postby MaxPower » February 22nd, 2021, 5:33 pm

Friends,

The UNC is not important at this stage.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » February 22nd, 2021, 6:26 pm

got you

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » February 22nd, 2021, 6:26 pm

daxt0r wrote:

how many times do i have to say that i support no party. all of them are jokers.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » February 22nd, 2021, 6:33 pm

@habit7 u have real patience to entertain these fools who can't see past their hate for pnm. oh crime high its pnm (meanwhile u condoning vigilante justice). oh gdp low its pnm (meanwhile u ducking work and responsibilities to party). oh pnm supporting criminals (meanwhile Section 34 and allegations of corruption rife on both sides of the political aisle). oh pnm abusing make work programmes for votes (meanwhile box drain contracts... again CORRUPTION IS RIFE ON ALL SIDES). we continue to pass the blame onto someone else and wonder how on earth we in this current mess. continue doing so. Insanity - doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.

Postby paid_influencer » February 22nd, 2021, 6:35 pm

elec2020 wrote:@habit7 u have real patience to entertain these fools who can't see past their hate for pnm. oh crime high its pnm (meanwhile u condoning vigilante justice). oh gdp low its pnm (meanwhile u ducking work and responsibilities to party). oh pnm supporting criminals (meanwhile Section 34 and allegations of corruption rife on both sides of the political aisle). oh pnm abusing make work programmes for votes (meanwhile box drain contracts... again CORRUPTION IS RIFE ON ALL SIDES). we continue to pass the blame onto someone else and wonder how on earth we in this current mess. continue doing so. Insanity - doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.

Great is the PNM

Greenday

Postby Greenday » February 22nd, 2021, 7:28 pm

Habit7 wrote:
daxt0r wrote:

Listen you and timelapse and the other anti-PNM sycophants, you all are embellishing too much. I agree that PNM is not perfect but when you act like if nothing was done, it is sycophantic.

"PNM has been in power the longest,yet it takes UNC to have any sort of progress" are you for real? 2001-2009 we had the highest GDP growth rates in the Americas, one of the highest in the world. Ask yourself how many other countries in our region have free healthcare, free education, subsidised utilities, subsidised fuel, subsidised internal air and sea travel and a whole host of stuff I can't recall. But only under the UNC we had progress? By what standard?

And the next one with diversification, how you think manufacturing grew in Trinidad? Hop on a plane and travel to other Caricom countries and visit their supermarkets and hardwares. Trini food, snacks, cement, PVC, tanks, fence, etc. We were trying to diversify into aluminium smelting and aluminium byproducts but the "party of progress" sold the majority an idea of an alternative that I am yet to see. They ran away all the investors and complaining now about diversification? Don't even get me started on Sandals. With locals alone, Tobago is booked out for Easter Weekend far more if we had an international brand anchor hotel to draw ppl when the borders are opened. But UNC sunk it and you want to say they have sense?

UNC after 25yrs of existence renting a headquarters but want to run the country. Even COP have more real estate than them.

I still waiting.

Only Easter is Tobago selling point? It's only a selling point for those that can't afford a trip up the other islands as they have very little alternatives.

In my view Tobago has failed when it comes to tourism. I have visited nearly all of the caribbean islands and the Tobago is not a good island to visit for both locals and foreigners .Being a local makes it worst. The hospitality is deployable, after all these years Tobago has a lot of catching up to do when compared with the other islands.

On another note Trinidad has established industrial plants which are now on the brink to stopping operations. It seems that this administration is the one that is running investors away. I for one do not swallow the pill of global prices are the cause for these plants to mothball operations.

What became of the fund rising for Balisier House , the 25 million dollar up grade? It looks like tax payers will some how find its way as a donations via dubious means.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » February 22nd, 2021, 8:10 pm

elec2020 wrote:
daxt0r wrote:

how many times do i have to say that i support no party. all of them are jokers.

sure sure but care to explain my queries above? i myself support no party and have never an will never vote.
Because while you readily criticize UNC crap you rarely do same with PNM crap and always tow the red line with the fellow rednready bloggers so please from an economics point of view tell me the benefits of above PNM led programmes. Also explain the cost-benefit analysis in terms of the unprecedented level of criminal activities these programmes brought onto our nation.

Use simple words too eh, i'm a high school dropout with several pending (and won!) matters before our courts, one of many similar products of d great PNM education junior sec system, so me eh have no degree an ting like you.

Postby timelapse » February 22nd, 2021, 8:18 pm

Me or elec?

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » February 22nd, 2021, 8:41 pm

na meh economist padna elec

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » February 22nd, 2021, 9:08 pm

Habit7 wrote:
daxt0r wrote:

I still waiting.

Yea i had progress under UNC, d road in meh rednready area get pave an ah get running water finally with Panday water for all.
D last time my road pave was UNC last road paving flurry before they lost elections lol. so as you imagine d kinda pothole and crater it have now cuz yuh done know PNM eh fixin road in know rednready fully dunce area, we doh see d MP until is election an even then is brief to just load up the CEPEP and URP workers in maxis with the PNM jersey to go rallies.

Even if me eh talking no UNC thing, i doh support dem either I just want to know what enamors you about the low productivity, the gimme-gimme handout culture they created and fostered, the support for criminals via direct funding and housing all since 1962. How many O'Hallaron, Calder Harts, Malcom Jones, murders, robberies, rapes, home invasions, kidnappings, ghost gangs and fake jobs for friends and family, before you would say enough is enough?
40-50 years eh enuff yet?

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » February 23rd, 2021, 8:00 am

daxt0r wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
daxt0r wrote:

sure sure but care to explain my queries above? i myself support no party and have never an will never vote.
Because while you readily criticize UNC crap you rarely do same with PNM crap and always tow the red line with the fellow rednready bloggers so please from an economics point of view tell me the benefits of above PNM led programmes. Also explain the cost-benefit analysis in terms of the unprecedented level of criminal activities these programmes brought onto our nation.

Use simple words too eh, i'm a high school dropout with several pending (and won!) matters before our courts, one of many similar products of d great PNM education junior sec system, so me eh have no degree an ting like you.

i'd rather not.

Postby sMASH » February 23rd, 2021, 8:21 am

Imaganine, being a public servant, voting pnm and waking up to know they mught cut u cause imf loans.

Lol.

No different to being a public servant and voting unc... Except thst they had sense to not vote pnm.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » February 23rd, 2021, 8:37 am

^ the last time we borrowed from the imf was in 1988 (i believe that loan was paid off in 8 or 10 years). since then we have not borrowed from the IMF

Postby Dizzy28 » February 23rd, 2021, 8:47 am

PNM has done a lot to shield the population from hardships via austerity measures. I mentioned in another thread or could be this one that the country has not seen real austerity as yet). However it seems they have merely kicked the can a little further down the road as it appears a lot of factors have intersected to ensure that this generation will inevitably get a taste of what our parents went though in the 80s barring some economic miracle.

To lay blame solely on any one party is an easy out but to be fair one party should burden more blame given their tenure. No matter the p-i-p the average man will have to adapt and survive (we known the elites will be taken care off) and that requires everyone coming together not tearing each other down.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » February 23rd, 2021, 8:58 am

^yup we going and face those conditions in the late 80s i feel after the 2025 GE. I think we can stall it for now with more borrowings and HSF withdrawals but as i also said previously (and why i said Manning talking rubbish when he criticised Dr. Farrel), right now our fiscal space (debt to GDP almost at 90 per cent) is very small. also, we will continue to have fiscal deficits due to the fall in energy prices, rise in unemployment (PAYE), closure of businesses (corporation tax) and demand for government relies/support. as such the debt to GDP will rise. so it is best to bite the bullet and make the hard moves now when u still have some wiggle room. but if u wanna do so down the line (lets say 2025) when your debt to GDP is over 100 per cent (as the consecutive fiscal deficits could only be financed through borrowings and HSFG withdrawals) then u asking for international assistance (IMF lol) or some draconian policies to severely cut government spending. imo its as farrell said, the government is doing what it always does, that is wait and hope for a rise in energy prices. but it ain't seem like that happening anytime soon (if ever again due to the enhanced push for greener policies in the international sphere)

Postby Dizzy28 » February 23rd, 2021, 9:06 am

I was in a session a few weeks ago where Dr Roger Hosein spoke.
He highlighted the national debt on a per capita basis and indicated it currently stands at TT$80,000/person up from TT$20,000 in 2009.

WRT energy prices it seems that it not really that bad now - WTI at 61.94 and NG (Henry Hub) at 2.94. Our 2021 budget was based on an estimated oil price of US$45 per barrel and gas price of US$3.00 per MMBtu.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 23rd, 2021, 9:16 am

Dizzy28 wrote:I was in a session a few weeks ago where Dr Roger Hosein spoke.
He highlighted the national debt on a per capita basis and indicated it currently stands at TT$80,000/person up from TT$20,000 in 2009.

WRT energy prices it seems that it not really that bad now - WTI at 61.94 and NG (Henry Hub) at 2.94. Our 2021 budget was based on an estimated oil price of US$45 per barrel and gas price of US$3.00 per MMBtu.

It isn't only about the oil price, yes it is higher now than when the budget has been done but oil production levels remain at an all time low mostly in part as well to the pandemic slowing things down and it not returning to an acceptable level of production.