Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby matr1x » May 21st, 2017, 7:44 am

The pnm and their people wanted war..let's oblige them.

The tax is designed to gather information on sectors of society that the pnm considers their enemies. They will use the info to fuel anger in their core supporters. People who have worked hard for what they have will always have envy from those who only want to go on boat ride and drink.

Make no mistake, the banditry, murders and kidnapping of the 2000s will return if this information falls into pnm hands.

Postby Redman » May 21st, 2017, 8:29 am

Yep people worried about enforcement in TNT . :roll:

That's why we obey all the other rules.

It's views like above that keeps us where we are ....like we've been for 50 years.

And we will be complaining about the same thing in 50 years.

Postby RedVEVO » May 22nd, 2017, 4:26 am

rspann wrote:
sMASH wrote:if they remove the penalty for not VRF, and the penalty for not paying property tax, u would see how many people are actually willing to pay the property tax.

This is a fact, people were only going along because they want to comply with the law and avoid prosecution . Imbert has to be real clueless to think otherwise. Nothing is wrong with a property tax , but that is only when you can be sure that it is fair and will be put to the correct usage. People was paying it for years and never once complained.

The people filling out the forms (VRF) did not know that they were being scammed .

The Property Tax form and method of collection is illegal.

They fell for a trick . They fell for a con. It is now a Court matter.

These people believed in the "fairness " of Gov't . They think they are "nice boys" and care .

Everything is wrong about property tax. Everything is wrong -wrong -wrong .

It is an issue where middle class and poor people who own property should be left alone. Gov't intervention in a peoples' daily life is dangerous . Especially in Trinidad where politicians use information as a revenge tool.

Gov't should raise tax via investments and incentives . Allow the private sector to flourish not tax, tax.

But I see some people here who feel "privileged" , who feel " I can pay meh tax " ; "cause I have money so
fuc$ the rest of we in Trini " ; " .. people with long pants have no money "

These people are idiots . These people do not have appreciation for the less fortunate and always beat their
chest and think they know stuff - Well again , these are the "dim lits" in society in Trinidad.

Many people are renters in this country . They are well educated but wages are low, house are expensive so they rent and rent at the mercy of Landlords.

These Landlords WILL INCREASE THE RENT - for any reason to the detriment of families .
Why ? Because they are greedy and they are care only for themselves ONLY.

It is a money issue. They will talk - but many are "dim lits" - fat fat Buddha belly - but off the sweat of others.

Do not be fooled by these people - while they collecting high money in silence .

Again,

Leave people Homes Alone

Axe the Tax.

Postby Redman » May 22nd, 2017, 4:38 am

UML 2.0

Postby RedVEVO » May 22nd, 2017, 4:44 am

... the "bad boys" are back on Trintuner :)

They smarter - they more experienced - but we still " bad bad boys "

Axe the Tax

Postby sMASH » May 22nd, 2017, 5:09 am

scam or not, its the law, and its able to weigh charges for non compliance, ranging from $500 fee, to seizure of assets, to forfeiture of property.

car

Postby car » May 22nd, 2017, 8:24 am

Ent ah could go back and ask for meh form and buss it up in front of them?
And utube it..

Postby Redman » May 22nd, 2017, 8:35 am

Sadly it is the most basic mis information that is being spewed that is dominating the environment.

read some of the posts above-after 50+ years of free education we still have private citizens believing that noise...or worse deliberately publishing false info in order to inflame public opinion...

Despite the facts being easily available if you want to take a sober approach.

Postby Chimera » May 22nd, 2017, 8:38 am

Phillip Edward Alexander
1 hr ·
Did the government or its agent 'interfere' in the Judiciary to change an outcome?
This is getting more troubling by the day.
Read this:
Ramlogan yesterday questioned how Attorney General Faris Al-Rawi could announce in Parliament shortly after the ruling that the matter is being appealed and the hearing had been fixed for Monday when both the Registrar of the Supreme Court and the Manager of the Registry for the Court of Appeal told him no appeal had been listed.
“When she (Registrar) called on Saturday night at 6.55 pm she indicated that she had “only just” received instructions and that the Notice of Appeal in this matter was only emailed to her at 5.29 pm.”
Ramlogan also questioned if, as indicated by the Registrar, the State’s attempt on Friday to have the appeal dealt with as a matter of urgency was rejected, why that was not communicated to him. He further questioned who overrode the decision not to entertain the appeal and listed it for hearing on Monday and on what basis.
Ramlogan also questioned why the composition of the Appeal Court panel has “suddenly” changed.
“The Attorney General has publicly stated Justice (Allan) Mendonca confirmed that he would hear the appeal on an urgent basis on Monday morning at 9 o’clock. If this is in fact so, why has the composition of the panel suddenly changed? The quorum now comprises Justices of Appeal Peter Jamadar, Gregory Smith and Judith Jones.
“Did Justice of Appeal Mendonca recuse himself and if so, on what basis? This raises an even greater concern of the Court having communications with the State in this matter to the exclusion of the proposed Respondent to the appeal.”
“Such one-sided, unilateral communication between the Court of Appeal and the Appellant is patently unfair, improper and contrary to settled practice,” he said, adding, it “begs the question whether there was direct contact with the learned judges.”
Ramlogan requested that the letter be brought to the attention of the Chief Justice and for the Judiciary to respond before today’s appeal.

Postby hydroep » May 22nd, 2017, 8:44 am

Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 22nd, 2017, 9:36 am

RedVEVO wrote:
rspann wrote:
sMASH wrote:if they remove the penalty for not VRF, and the penalty for not paying property tax, u would see how many people are actually willing to pay the property tax.

This is a fact, people were only going along because they want to comply with the law and avoid prosecution . Imbert has to be real clueless to think otherwise. Nothing is wrong with a property tax , but that is only when you can be sure that it is fair and will be put to the correct usage. People was paying it for years and never once complained.

The people filling out the forms (VRF) did not know that they were being scammed .

The Property Tax form and method of collection is illegal.

They fell for a trick . They fell for a con. It is now a Court matter.

These people believed in the "fairness " of Gov't . They think they are "nice boys" and care .

Everything is wrong about property tax. Everything is wrong -wrong -wrong .

It is an issue where middle class and poor people who own property should be left alone. Gov't intervention in a peoples' daily life is dangerous . Especially in Trinidad where politicians use information as a revenge tool.

Gov't should raise tax via investments and incentives . Allow the private sector to flourish not tax, tax.

But I see some people here who feel "privileged" , who feel " I can pay meh tax " ; "cause I have money so
fuc$ the rest of we in Trini " ; " .. people with long pants have no money "

These people are idiots . These people do not have appreciation for the less fortunate and always beat their
chest and think they know stuff - Well again , these are the "dim lits" in society in Trinidad.

Many people are renters in this country . They are well educated but wages are low, house are expensive so they rent and rent at the mercy of Landlords.

These Landlords WILL INCREASE THE RENT - for any reason to the detriment of families .
Why ? Because they are greedy and they are care only for themselves ONLY.

It is a money issue. They will talk - but many are "dim lits" - fat fat Buddha belly - but off the sweat of others.

Do not be fooled by these people - while they collecting high money in silence .

Again,

Leave people Homes Alone

Axe the Tax.

I think you mean "dim-wit" as in a dim witted person.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » May 22nd, 2017, 10:33 am

dais yuh contribution deboss?

Postby rspann » May 22nd, 2017, 10:43 am

I saw that from the first time he put it, but a dim-wit with education keeps putting it, so I won't correct him. He is directing his comments at me because I said I will pay the tax. I have no problem abiding by the law not because I have money to waste, but because it's the law. I have never raised rent and said I won't pass it on to my tenants. Also I have never had a tenant leave my buildings because of anything related to me or me giving them a hard time. I give them time to pay without late fees or any thing. He seems to have a problem with landlords and thinks they live off tenants sweat. Landlords build their buildings and invest their sweat and time into a business, and also get a lot of problems, to get a return.
Yes I straighten mash up cars,everybody knows that and I'm damn good at it too, what's wrong with that? Yes I bought property ,what's wrong? Somehow I'm doing what every other businessman is doing and He has a problem .Seems like envy or hate for success. He tries to belittle me, I don't have a belly, and wearing slippers is not something to be ashamed of. Whatever is his shortcomings, he has to deal with it , attacking me not going to solve his problems.

GeneralHonda

Postby GeneralHonda » May 22nd, 2017, 10:57 am

For those in the Santa Cruz area who may be interested in attending, there is a meeting carded for 6 pm on Thur. 25 May 2017 in the Church Hall (Mary Immaculate Queen) located on Sun Valley Road, Bourg Mulatresse (Lower Santa Cruz) with government officials regarding the Property Tax. Google map has the location accurately marked if in need of directions.

Postby matr1x » May 22nd, 2017, 11:07 am

People like redman believe that the rules should be enforced. But are fine when the rules get skirted for people in lavantille, beetham, Maloney and such.

They are OK for squatters in deigo martin getting free house when floods wash away their shacks. They are fine when their leaders making racist statements but will jump down people who are not black.

Sorry, you are a hypocrite.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 22nd, 2017, 11:52 am

rspann wrote:I saw that from the first time he put it, but a dim-wit with education keeps putting it, so I won't correct him. He is directing his comments at me because I said I will pay the tax. I have no problem abiding by the law not because I have money to waste, but because it's the law. I have never raised rent and said I won't pass it on to my tenants. Also I have never had a tenant leave my buildings because of anything related to me or me giving them a hard time. I give them time to pay without late fees or any thing. He seems to have a problem with landlords and thinks they live off tenants sweat. Landlords build their buildings and invest their sweat and time into a business, and also get a lot of problems, to get a return.
Yes I straighten mash up cars,everybody knows that and I'm damn good at it too, what's wrong with that? Yes I bought property ,what's wrong? Somehow I'm doing what every other businessman is doing and He has a problem .Seems like envy or hate for success. He tries to belittle me, I don't have a belly, and wearing slippers is not something to be ashamed of. Whatever is his shortcomings, he has to deal with it , attacking me not going to solve his problems.

Doh study he nah bai. Yuh get thru with the mechatronic?

Postby Redman » May 22nd, 2017, 12:10 pm

matr1x wrote:People like redman believe that the rules should be enforced. But are fine when the rules get skirted for people in lavantille, beetham, Maloney and such.

They are OK for squatters in deigo martin getting free house when floods wash away their shacks. They are fine when their leaders making racist statements but will jump down people who are not black.

Yep still talking dotishness.
Keep going, with luck you not as dumb as your posts indicate.

Postby toyolink » May 22nd, 2017, 1:37 pm

OK, stay remains in place with appeal scheduled for 6 June.
Everybody have to hold their hands until next judicial intervention.
BTW, the state submitted that revenue to be derived is urgent in-light of current financial condition.

Postby De Dragon » May 22nd, 2017, 1:49 pm

Redman wrote:
matr1x wrote:People like redman believe that the rules should be enforced. But are fine when the rules get skirted for people in lavantille, beetham, Maloney and such.

You've gone from somewhat cogent arguments in favour of PNM policy, to this and "UML 2.0" as your kind of replies it seems. Sad.

Postby matr1x » May 22nd, 2017, 2:04 pm

Let's hear Redman and dragon explain AL rawi announcing the date and time of an appeal hearing before it was even applied before the courts.

Postby hydroep » May 22nd, 2017, 2:50 pm

toyolink wrote:OK, stay remains in place with appeal scheduled for 6 June.
Everybody have to hold their hands until next judicial intervention.
BTW, the state submitted that revenue to be derived is urgent in-light of current financial condition.

Yup...Taxpayers hadda foot de bill for a sh!t-spewing stadium, Dr. Rowley's vacations and Minister Shamfa's $ 59,000 phone bill. Urgent bizness yo!... :|
Last edited by hydroep on May 22nd, 2017, 3:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Redman » May 22nd, 2017, 3:01 pm

Redman wrote:

You've gone from somewhat cogent arguments in favour of PNM policy, to this and "UML 2.0" as your kind of replies it seems. Sad.

like it contagious?

Postby De Dragon » May 22nd, 2017, 3:15 pm

Redman wrote:

like it contagious?

I telling you long time to leggo dat PNM clique yuh riding wit'...........

Postby matr1x » May 22nd, 2017, 3:51 pm

Will there be an explanation for the appeals issue?

Postby toyolink » May 22nd, 2017, 3:57 pm

The cost of the exercise thus far untaken by the Govt and to some extent the 'ordinary' citizens could easily be
a tidy sum.
The ease with which the presiding judge was able to act on this matter is somewhat instructive and suggest that the state failed to risk manage this exposure.
Govt needs to stop this kind of wastage and put in the work (swot analysis etc.) before jumping out with all kinds of 'half baked' imperatives.
If its found that the intended tax required some amendments to the act and the Govt knowingly was unwilling to do some horse trading in parliament (ego an the rest) the spin to explain their way out could become abuse of the mental capacity of the population at large.

Postby Redman » May 22nd, 2017, 4:07 pm

Well we cant all be mouth pieces for the UNC...you have that covered.
tell me...how does Vodka taste from the other end? :D :D

To reiterate I support the move.
We need to have the Largest single asset class in TnT WELL regulated and transparent.
We need to have the databases cross referenced and usable for law enforcement.

Al Capone was hauled in for tax evasion in 1931.

this is 2017-we expecting more from the political directorate but seem to want to stay in the ignorant 'till ah dead' mind set where everything is black this and indian that.
Ive never been part of that, in life nor here on line.

reread Matr1x posts-you really think he/she operates at that level?

It seems that you are entertained by that...so fix up.

ALL the information is out there.
We need to do this,the tax is arguably reasonable, and for all the stupid mistakes that have been made in its role out-we should all push to get this done...
A faulty first step is still the first step.
And yes those in opposition seem intent on NOT wanting mandatory disclosure of beneficial ownership of real estate.

Postby De Dragon » May 22nd, 2017, 4:24 pm

Redman wrote:

Well we cant all be mouth pieces for the UNC...you have that covered.
tell me...how does Vodka taste from the other end? :D :D

To reiterate I support the move.
We need to have the Largest single asset class in TnT WELL regulated and transparent.
We need to have the databases cross referenced and usable for law enforcement.

Al Capone was hauled in for tax evasion in 1931.

this is 2017-we expecting more from the political directorate but seem to want to stay in the ignorant 'till ah dead' mind set where everything is black this and indian that.
Ive never been part of that, in life nor here on line.

reread Matr1x posts-you really think he/she operates at that level?

It seems that you are entertained by that...so fix up.

ALL the information is out there.
We need to do this,the tax is arguably reasonable, and for all the stupid mistakes that have been made in its role out-we should all push to get this done...
A faulty first step is still the first step.
And yes those in opposition seem intent on NOT wanting mandatory disclosure of beneficial ownership of real estate.

My! my!, all that to say you agree because Scarfy and Impsy say so?

Postby eliteauto » May 22nd, 2017, 4:27 pm

anyone knows the timeline when UNC supporters will start to pretend to like/tolerate others in hope of winning votes? 2019? Or just before elections?

asking for a friend

Postby RedVEVO » May 22nd, 2017, 4:30 pm

matr1x wrote:Let's hear Redman and dragon explain AL rawi announcing the date and time of an appeal hearing before it was even applied before the courts.

You have it correct :)

When you appeal a Court Matter - the procedure is to give Notice of Appeal to the Court and then to the other side .
And then a date for a review by 3 Appeal Court Judges.
The procedure is a must since in law you have to have the correct procedure or else you can lose a case based on procedure.

It was reported that an Appeal DATE was set , BEFORE any Notices was given per procedure above . Hence the new June 6 date :)

So what going on here ? Illegal VRF , illegal tax collection process and now attempt to "corrupt" the Judiciary ?

Again people were scammed - Is it a reality that some people are sheep and follow .. and are fooled ?

Now, now, now ... This not important but I will indulge the "dim lit"
dim-witted = stupid or silly ... How can we call ANY Tuner that ? Nay nay nay
"dim-lit" = first note the " .. " basically means you not that bright - " like de fluorescent light and dem landlord trying to fight while you fixing mash up car & house that have termite. Ju-ba Ju-bai " { Chalkdust 2001 }

Again,

Axe the Tax

Then repeal this tax forever .
Last edited by RedVEVO on May 22nd, 2017, 4:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby De Dragon » May 22nd, 2017, 4:34 pm

eliteauto wrote:anyone knows the timeline when UNC supporters will start to pretend to like/tolerate others in hope of winning votes? 2019? Or just before elections?

asking for a friend

I wonder if ollour face does be straight and normal when ollour typing this sheit.............