Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 2nd, 2016, 9:14 am

Les Bain wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Like allyuh want speed traps at every single flyover just cuz you getting passed while you obey the law.

Nobody could ask a simple question while you on duty, Mr. Fun Police?

Your avatar matches your post perfectly. Have fun at 80 kph.

Postby Les Bain » September 2nd, 2016, 9:24 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
Les Bain wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Like allyuh want speed traps at every single flyover just cuz you getting passed while you obey the law.

Nobody could ask a simple question while you on duty, Mr. Fun Police?

Your avatar matches your post perfectly. Have fun at 80 kph.

Always do! Thanks!

Miguel000

Postby Miguel000 » September 4th, 2016, 10:26 am

drchaos wrote:They supposed to be on a tripod and at road level or it widens the gap for errors in speed measurements ...

It seems TTPS get lazy and now doing what ever the frack they want. Also since they couple that with increased charges for arguing your case in court, no one will challenge a ticket ...

So you can be doing 80 and get charged for doing 85 or 90 and there is not one rass you can do about it.

This is quite possible and may make a good argument in court.

Postby sMASH » September 8th, 2016, 12:26 pm

Woman on whatsapp said that they were using the guns in moving vehicles. I was in a line of vehicles approaching corrinth flyover, but I took the off ramp up to chuck e cheese. When I came back down onto the highway, most of the those vehicles were pulled over. I did not notice any gun along the way. So it leads me to think the woman is right.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » September 14th, 2016, 7:33 am

10 day memory of Trinidadians again?
I noticed a lot of those Pickups-Navaras, Hilux, Rangers all doing over their LEGALLY ALLOWED 65kmph now.
SLOW down and keep allyuh a5ses in the LEft lane!

Postby Redman » September 14th, 2016, 7:36 am

Bring more and keep the enforcement pressure on.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 14th, 2016, 7:44 am

BRZ wrote:10 day memory of Trinidadians again?
I noticed a lot of those Pickups-Navaras, Hilux, Rangers all doing over their LEGALLY ALLOWED 65kmph now.
SLOW down and keep allyuh a5ses in the LEft lane!

It's not the people's fault ... There is no enforcement.

Its human nature to bend/break rules, unless that is beaten out of you by strict rules that are heavily enforced. Europeans are heavily disciplined because of that.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » September 14th, 2016, 7:47 am

Maybe the fine for speeding should be $10,000 to be paid IMMEDIATELY or JAIL for a month, or a 6 month revoking of your drivers permit, how about if you get caught speeding your insurance premiums will Double or triple?
maybe people will think twice?

Postby pete » September 14th, 2016, 8:11 am

It seems a points system is going to be tagged on to the red light camera bill so you may see that in the future. I know the insurance companies would love to get an excuse to increase people's premiums/blank people from getting insurance.

Postby DVSTT » September 14th, 2016, 8:40 am

BRZ wrote:Maybe the fine for speeding should be $10,000 to be paid IMMEDIATELY or JAIL for a month, or a 6 month revoking of your drivers permit, how about if you get caught speeding your insurance premiums will Double or triple?

Maybe we should raise the limit to something more reasonable? Our roads have been upgraded since 1962 no?

Postby Redman » September 14th, 2016, 9:06 am

BRZ wrote:Maybe the fine for speeding should be $10,000 to be paid IMMEDIATELY or JAIL for a month, or a 6 month revoking of your drivers permit, how about if you get caught speeding your insurance premiums will Double or triple?

Yeah but a $100 pilfering case took me 6 court visits to throw out.
Uh to be clear I didnt do the pilfering eh.

Traffic Court,
Take traffic fines via the banks or VIA -like the other utilities.

IMHO The insurance idea IS KEY.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » September 14th, 2016, 10:08 am

^^^ Yes BUT I'm not for giving the insurance companies any more- it should be setup so that the premium goes up , BUT the insurance company only gets the same rate, and the additional balance to the new premium should go to the state.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 14th, 2016, 1:36 pm

BRZ wrote:^^^ Yes BUT I'm not for giving the insurance companies any more- it should be setup so that the premium goes up , BUT the insurance company only gets the same rate, and the additional balance to the new premium should go to the state.

What you smoking boss?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 14th, 2016, 1:38 pm

Nah .... Then I won't be able to speed anymore.

Postby eliteauto » September 14th, 2016, 3:32 pm

real men get take today, East West and South, State eating a food

Postby Redman » September 14th, 2016, 3:56 pm

BRZ wrote:^^^ Yes BUT I'm not for giving the insurance companies any more- it should be setup so that the premium goes up , BUT the insurance company only gets the same rate, and the additional balance to the new premium should go to the state.

cuz the state makes good use of the funds they get.

Postby pugboy » September 14th, 2016, 3:59 pm

plenty truck got held by trinicty today

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 14th, 2016, 4:11 pm

When an 18 wheeler decide to tailgate you I want to know who trying to stop at what red light in that situation... We will read about you the next day don't worry.
I am of the opinion that somehow speeding is very high on the list of priorities for the police to deal with. It has reached to the point where they are flat out ignoring the tripod setup that was part of the kit to help eliminate operator error... But because no one is willing to challenge it in court cause we all know the speed of the legal system in TnT these discrepancies in the process go unpunished

Computerman

Postby Computerman » September 15th, 2016, 7:13 am

I would like to thank the bike officer attached to the Freeport police station for the verbal warning (and nothing more) regarding my excessive speed this morning. However, I don't think it was necessary to call me an "arsehole" as those who know me already know this. :fist:

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 15th, 2016, 7:26 am

budget rumour: fines to be increased, limit to stay as 80....so much for allyuh petition

men actually believe Hinds would consider changing the limit..

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 15th, 2016, 8:29 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:budget rumour: fines to be increased, limit to stay as 80....so much for allyuh petition

Disgusting ... Speeding fines in the UK is about 100 GBP and in the States is around 150 usd.

Postby Redman » September 15th, 2016, 8:35 am

Whats the cost of mopping up after the accidents ?

Include lost time in traffic.

Increase the fines...improve enforcement...make it easier to comply with laws....works every where else in the world.

Postby eliteauto » September 15th, 2016, 10:08 am

827 road tickets in 2 days
A RECORD 827 road traffic tickets, including 564 for speeding, were issued by police during a sustained road exercise conducted over the weekend. Other offences detected were driving under the influence (DUI), having defective tyres among other offences. One stolen vehicle was seized during the exercise held under the supervision of Senior Superintendent Baldeo Nanan.

Newsday understands that the issuance of 827 tickets was the highest ever over a 48 hour period and yesterday, officers were commended for their keen sense of observation which led to the issuance of those tickets. Contacted yesterday, Snr Supt Nanan said that the exercises were aimed at dealing with errant motorists and to have police visibility at all the main arteries where the motoring traffic is centered.

He said that similar exercises are planned to bring greater awareness to the motoring public that they must adhere to the traffic laws of the country or face the penalties.

Nanan added that based on the findings of the exercise many of the motorists were caught in speed traps and he pointed out that many people are of the view that they can take a chance during the weekends to exceed the speed limit, but he pointed out that those who flout the law will face prosecution.

According to Nanan, the police highway and traffic branch were undergoing a complete overhaul and the public will see more traffic officers out on the beat on weekends.

He reminded that it is against the law to violate traffic regulations and some of the fines are very hefty.

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,233228.html

baigan

Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby baigan » September 15th, 2016, 12:25 pm

Tbh our roads are shyt :/
Until we they start making proper roads I think they should leave the limit at 80

Also they should change the whole procedure of obtaining a drivers permit in tnt... it sucks

Back when I got my permit there were about 10 people with me, 3 didn't even do the test (which isn't even difficult and tbh not enough to acquire a permit) cause they passed money...

Postby wagonrunner » September 15th, 2016, 4:55 pm

eliteauto wrote:real men get take today, East West and South, State eating a food

lil while ago, TTPS xtrail on the shoulder of the northbound after the cricket center. no tripod visible from front or rear.
Vehicles were pulled to the shoulder and ticketed in the vicinity of Court's new building.

i was practicing ~77km/h. so no ticket.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 15th, 2016, 5:20 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:budget rumour: fines to be increased, limit to stay as 80....so much for allyuh petition

Not what I have heard though......a source in Ministry of Works has stated a note was taken to Cabinet for an increase in the speed and has tacit approval.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 15th, 2016, 8:01 pm

baigan wrote:Tbh our roads are shyt :/
Until we they start making proper roads I think they should leave the limit at 80

Also they should change the whole procedure of obtaining a drivers permit in tnt... it sucks

Back when I got my permit there were about 10 people with me, 3 didn't even do the test (which isn't even difficult and tbh not enough to acquire a permit) cause they passed money...

Correction : Some roads are shyt and others are bess.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » September 16th, 2016, 12:36 pm

Theres should still be a tolerance of about 10% above the speed limit to cater for hand shake and improper measurements.
Imagine giving people tickets for doing 84 kmph. smh!

Postby wagonrunner » September 16th, 2016, 12:59 pm

BRZ wrote:Theres should still be a tolerance of about 10% above the speed limit to cater for hand shake and improper measurements.
Imagine giving people tickets for doing 84 kmph. smh!

drive as if the limit is 72, and the tolerance is 80?

BRZ

Postby BRZ » September 16th, 2016, 1:06 pm

by your logic then pickups should go 59kmph !