The official tropical weather thread - 2012

xtech

Re: The official tropical weather thread

Postby xtech » September 11th, 2012, 8:32 am

Is that high pressure system going to push the system that forming further south...... Only time will tell

Postby Hook » September 11th, 2012, 9:49 am

you cyar be forkin serious :|

http://www.metoffice.gov.tt

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Trinidad ... 2093113015
Trinidad and Tobago Meteorological Service wrote:There is an area of low pressure midway in the Atlantic Ocean (1500-1800km east of the Leeward Islands). It is forecast to be upgraded into a Tropical Depression later this morning. This system is moving towards the west-northwest, and will not, in any way, directly affect Trinidad and Tobago. In fact it will not make landfall on any Caribbean territory if it continues on it's forecast path. TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO IS THEREFORE NOT UNDER ANY TROPICAL STORM WATCH OR WARNING. Please see our website for more information on expected weather.

Postby TRAE » September 11th, 2012, 9:56 am

so that means is rain in we so and so ent

Postby Hook » September 11th, 2012, 10:10 am

TRAE wrote:so that means is rain in we so and so ent

it's always sunny in Bantanamo...two days

Postby mitsu_chick941 » September 11th, 2012, 11:09 am

doh ban meh :oops:

Postby cinco » September 11th, 2012, 11:20 am

Hook wrote:
TRAE wrote:so that means is rain in we so and so ent

it's always sunny in Bantanamo...two days

Kindly sir is there anywhere i can purchase a Barometer for home use locally?

Postby Hook » September 11th, 2012, 11:28 am

We source our stuff overseas, since brands like Munro, Casella, Sippican, Vaisala, CES etc. can't be bought off the shelf here.
Methinx we bring them in through Western Scientific.
Honeywell, Meade and Celestron are good brands as well, but we don't use those.

http://www.theweatherstore.com/diba.html

http://www.theweatherstore.com/anba.html

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_i_ ... Abarometer

Just make sure u get your calibration certificate with it and call us to get a spot MSL pressure when you're setting it up.

Postby cinco » September 11th, 2012, 11:40 am

jeebus on dem prices
the cheap ones any good?
its just for me to be fass with nah

Postby nervewrecker » September 11th, 2012, 11:42 am

DIY barometer anyone? is the calibrating part I cant do :(

Postby Hook » September 11th, 2012, 11:44 am

vibes here:
http://www.opticsplanet.com/weather-instruments.html

I can't really say how good it is tho.

Postby cinco » September 11th, 2012, 12:03 pm

Thanks Bushnell n such are trusted brands they should be more than fine for my use.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » September 11th, 2012, 12:17 pm

cinco wrote:Kindly sir is there anywhere i can purchase a Barometer for home use locally?
If you have the Samsung Galaxy S3 phone, it has a barometric sensor built in, and quite a few apps are available for using it.

Not expecting that you would have the phone, but as it's one of the more popular smartphones was just a shot in the dark. Anyway, for others who might want to be "fass" as well and who have the phone (or planning to get one), it makes sense to get one of the free or very cheap barometer apps for it if you just want to be "fass" with barometric readings.

Postby Habit7 » September 11th, 2012, 3:19 pm

Well if you still in POS by now, I hope you reach home dry. :(

Postby toyolink » September 11th, 2012, 3:27 pm

Serious heat earlier,now place is getting very black and showers seem to be imminent in Mc Bean,Couva.
Things seem to be coming-in from south west in the general direction of Gulf.
If this breaks,it will be plenty water in a short time.
Hope it blows away.
Expecting the worse and hoping for the best.

Postby streetbeastINC. » September 11th, 2012, 3:31 pm

i bought weather stations for our vehicles got two spare...
works with cig lighter...

got two extra....got a baro on it

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » September 11th, 2012, 3:45 pm

right now is some serious hard rain here on chaguanas main road ...

Postby Gladiator » September 11th, 2012, 4:10 pm

Hard shower right now in St. Augustine... if this keeps up UWI will be flooded in 1 hr time

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 11th, 2012, 4:15 pm

more westerlies

getting that Western Convergence

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » September 11th, 2012, 6:42 pm

Garden almost flood out yes good I gone clean the drains.

triniangie

Postby triniangie » September 12th, 2012, 3:24 pm

Trinidad and Tobago Meteorological Service
3 minutes ago ·
The forecast afternoon showers/thundershowers are here. Reports of street flooding from Caroni to Cunupia and Chaguanas. Please exercise caution during and after the heavy showers/ thundershowers.

jus fyi

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » September 12th, 2012, 3:30 pm

Getting darker by the second here in Claxton Bay

Postby nervewrecker » September 12th, 2012, 3:44 pm

No rain here in pos yet, skies kinda dark though. An hour ago had hot blazing sun.

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » September 12th, 2012, 3:52 pm

Heavy showers in pt. lisas at the momemt

Postby nervewrecker » September 12th, 2012, 3:55 pm

Damn, rain start

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » September 12th, 2012, 4:15 pm

endevour starting to flood..............

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » September 12th, 2012, 4:32 pm

Chalupa Had a good downpour just now!

BAZZINGA

Postby BAZZINGA » September 12th, 2012, 6:44 pm

Pics taken around SK Printers this afternoon around 4:30pm.
Water just cross the road... Minor thing.Image

Postby Hook » September 13th, 2012, 9:26 am

Postby toyolink » September 13th, 2012, 9:40 am

Well lets see what today is going to be like.
Past two days in Mc Bean,Couva have been similiar with morning heatingup,dark cloud formation coming-in from south west and eventually heavy rain by 3-ish.

Postby cinco » September 13th, 2012, 9:44 am

White CZ4A wrote:Chalupa Had a good downpour just now!

huh where? :lol: :lol: