.::The Official General Election 2015 Thread::.

Which major party will you be voting for in G.E. 2015?

Poll ended at April 9th, 2014, 7:52 pm

People's National Movement
26%
People's Partnership
53%
Independent Liberal Party
2%
Neither/Abstain
20%

Total votes: 388

Re: .::The Official General Election 2015 Thread::.

Postby zoom rader » August 29th, 2014, 12:32 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:It is strikingly ironic that in a bill to insure at least 50% of support for a ruling MP only 3 out of 9 independent senators agreed with it.

The shear reality that UNC supporters are right now the only group of ppl celebrating this bill's passage, shows how insular this change of the nation's constitution was.

Only one vote was needed and they got 3.
Doh beat up the bill passed and time to move on. Get over it bai. PNM Have to work harder to win any seat now. Hinds and Rowley not helping now.
I don't know if you are aware but it is the UNC who has to work harder. The last 4 elections the UNC struggled to get anything close to 50% and resulted in the PM in high spirits celebrating that at least she held on to her 'base.'

Last 4 elections PNM won by default with their satellite PNM supported small parties designed to split votes.

Postby rfari » August 29th, 2014, 12:33 pm

ZR, what u think about the amendments made by the jsc?

want2liqur

Postby want2liqur » August 29th, 2014, 12:41 pm

kjaglal76v2 wrote:although i hate PNM ppl & pray daily for their demise, i must admit we need them, who else would sweep the streets & collect our waste?? is only fair stink ppl do stink wuk

Just to think in this day and age this is how some ppl actually think

Postby zoom rader » August 29th, 2014, 12:52 pm

rfari wrote:ZR, what u think about the amendments made by the jsc?

Watched it last night and its good to know that the government listen and made amendments based on the independent Senators input. This was very democratic and we'll done PP
If dem PNM Hooligans outside the parliament took the time to listen to the debate and amendments being made then they might have understood what's it's all about.
Hinds was not too bright last night as he was put in his place a number of times by the independents and vice president of the senate. His behaviour was distasteful and gunta.
PNM talk shows real sour this morning all of their callers don't even understand and reacting on emotions , bad advice, propaganda from PNM. Sad to know that PNM is still misleading their supporters.

Postby pioneer » August 29th, 2014, 12:58 pm

I guess all de dogs barkin now, eh eric williams?

Postby bluefete » August 29th, 2014, 1:07 pm

rfari wrote:ZR, what u think about the amendments made by the jsc?

Watched it last night and its good to know that the government listen and made amendments based on the independent Senators input. This was very democratic and we'll done PP
If dem PNM Hooligans outside the parliament took the time to listen to the debate and amendments being made then they might have understood what's it's all about.
Hinds was not too bright last night as he was put in his place a number of times by the independents and vice president of the senate. His behaviour was distasteful and gunta.
PNM talk shows real sour this morning all of their callers don't even understand and reacting on emotions , bad advice, propaganda from PNM. Sad to know that PNM is still misleading their supporters.

And at the end of all that, the run-off still comes down to a majority of a minority vote!

Postby javishm » August 29th, 2014, 1:27 pm

ILP chairman, Jack Warner says it is a sad day for the country in terms of democracy, his view follows the passage of the Constitutional Reform Bill last night.

He also stated that the party will take legal action against the Government and the bill because it will destroy third parties.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 29th, 2014, 1:36 pm

We need to transform our economy as the oil days are numbered, The former Russian president Dmitry Medvedev tried to do just that with the Russian Federation in building his pet project the Russian silicone valley. He realized in times of oil boom you must use the money to diversify the economy.

Other countries are seeing this, think India and China etc. They realize the future is technological innovation we need more scientists and engineers and this is why the UNC stands out. We cannot depend on oil for the rest of our life, we must change this mentality we must not be greedy anymore we must think about the country and the future of the new generation.

There are many things being done behind the scenes to get people to start their own business, Thanks to the UNC, today the University of Trinidad and Tobago is now preaching the idea of training and educating graduates to become entrepreneurs, to help mankind through innovation and not think about greed. To train graduates to create jobs for the economy rather than go out and look for a "government job to sit and do nothing and collect pay"

These little things that most don't know are the pin heads with the density of a collapsed star.

I am not saying the PNM cannot accomplish just the same put they need to go back to the drawing board because clearly the public is not in favor of their old policies and they are quite frankly fedup.
I would hope to see that in the not too distant future, no one ever again will be able to see office for more than 2 terms. This is the reason the American constitution is considered the greatest document ever written.

We must remember the PNM was destroyed in the last election because the "PEOPLE OF TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO" decided on this. Not kamla not anyone in office, its the people who decided we would see no more of the PNM because they were tired of their old politics and wanted a government who chooses to focus on education and who has a realistic vision for this country.

Even though the ones with a lack of education were strongly against this bill, for the majority of people in this country they are very very happy that we will never again have to see that the days of a dictator in office till he dead will be at an end. 2 terms and you gone just like America is what the world needs, get the hell out and give someone else a chance. This is the main reason Kamla is seen as a liberator.

Just my 2 cents.

Epicurus

Postby Epicurus » August 29th, 2014, 2:11 pm

Kamla is not seen as a liberator. She actually appears to be more of a puppet. Notice 98 % of her speeches she usually has to read from a document prepared for her by anonymous. I dare her to make a speech off the top of her head. I like the vision which is based on education, I would like to know what happens when the scientists and engineers graduate 1. How they ensure that they remain in T&T ie no brain drain and 2. What opportunities will the scientists have? to work in what industry, what are they putting in place ?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 29th, 2014, 2:43 pm

^ you may have to attend UTT seminars to know more about that its a new strategy being developed and I applaud it. I was at their meetings and I was very excited after hearing the speeches given out, more emphasis and money needs to be placed on the UTT to accomplish this.

I agree you have a very good point about brain drain and opportunities that scientists and engineers would have locally thats very important. But remember this is a very long and difficult process, the UTT aims to train the minds of the students not to be selfish and never to look at the UTT as the sole purpose of getting a government Job but to in reality create Jobs and businesses for the country in return and they are helping students to do this in anyway they can. These new people have dedicated their lives to the students today, their aim is a shift in thinking of the typical Trini mentality.

The new people in charge of UTT today are much more competent and honest than that which was under the PNM. I am not saying any of this was purposely done by the PNM to give their friends and family wuk in there but the changes done have made tremendous impact on students.

Today thanks largely to the UNC, nearly all UTT engineering degrees are accredited by international bodies from UK etc. This has stamped out delinquent students and ensured only qualified and capable students are granted entry into the Engineering Bsc degrees. Under the PNM, a UTT Engineering degree was worth less than A levels.

Today that has all changed. So I agree you raise a very good point Mr Epicurus, its not going to be easy but the present administration is trying deeply to accomplish this.

The new UTT in Wallerfield if its ever built will be the brightest technological beacon of the Caribbean and South America. Slowly but surely we will diversify our economy through education, there are hurdles to cross but we will get there.

Patriotism is important also, I am not trying to bash the PNM but under the PNM there was 0 reasons for any Engineer or Science student to be patriotic about his or her own country as everywere you turn there was corruption ripe and rampant. With the UNC Kamla fires them from aside from Jack to Roberts, you steal you must go the people will never trust you again.

Reducing a leader to only 2 terms will also encourage people to fight for their country here and not seek to migrate and when we fight we will turn the tides we will change the landscape of Trinidad. This is one of the main reasons that the United States is the biggest technological power in the world because this was all done from the roots. The PNM vision of 2020 was sky scrappers in POS.

The UNC vision of 2020 is education and don't be fooled into thinking education is about a piece of paper to get a government wuk to sit and collect money. We know now today that University is about what you learn and how it can be beneficial to yourself and mankind. So yes in that sense the more educated people a country has the better it can prosper.

Germany is absolute proof of this as they have dominated Europe for decades through Engineering and manufacturing.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on August 29th, 2014, 3:32 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Postby bluefete » August 29th, 2014, 2:47 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:The new people in charge of UTT today are much more competent and honest than that which was under the PNM.

Which UTT you talking about?????????????

You know how many false papers walking around in UTT?????????????

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 29th, 2014, 2:51 pm

^ no one ever said there were not any, but today its much less. We all know its not perfect but that situation is not something you can change with a snap of your finger.

Bro I am not batting for the UNC and I don't even vote, but you cannot discredit the tremendous work they have done for the UTT you must give jack his jacket. Under the PNM nothing was accredited, today nearly every single Engineering Degree has accredited locally, regionally and internationally by various UK Boards that UWI uses.

Have you been to their recent meetings? if you did then you would know the vast improvements and would be able to tell what is false papers and whats not. These new people are passionate about the students and what they are doing there. Just listening to them alone I could tell who was a bullshitter and who was not.

One of the reasons they took this long to become accredited was actually due to PNM corruption. It was Kamla who many years ago promised to fix this when she comes in power and she has done just that. Big props to the woman for understanding the time, money and stress that one puts into these courses and why these changes were so necessary.

Again not a PP supporter but I have seen nothing but betterment under the present PP administration. Yes we all know they are not perfect and there are lots of things I disagree about with the PP but overall their policies and vision is much better than the PNM, atleast the statistics show this.

As Pioneer said look how much people from south are now posting on tuner thanks to internet access due to PP government. Are you also going to claim that Pioneer don't know what he is talking about? because the evidence is there to support Pioneer's theory on this.

Postby pioneer » August 29th, 2014, 3:23 pm

PPG even gettin more votes right here on chuna, right here in this ched.

Epicurus

Postby Epicurus » August 29th, 2014, 3:35 pm

I found this article online. Seems like the they are building on the original ideas of what UTT is meant to provide. PNM corruption within UTT sounds like something to know about . Wish you had more information on it, but will do my own research .

Trinidad and Tobago News Forum

UTT REDEFINES HISTORY
By:News
Date: 11/1/2004, 9:16 am
http://www.newsday.co.tt

The University of Trinidad and Tobago (UTT), even before its official launch today is already arousing international interest in its programmes, and its recently hosted offshore systems basic course at its Point Lisas campus attracted engineers from Venezuela and as far afield as Germany and Qatar. And so great is the demand for university training in Trinidad and Tobago and in the wider Caribbean Community of Nations that even in advance of the UTT's official opening some 1,900 students � undergraduates and post graduates � have been admitted to pursue the various programmes being offered. What is of critical importance is that the UTT will be at the upper end of a structured education programme, and training in Trinidad and Tobago from the pre-school level, through primary and secondary schools, literally will be geared to persons thinking of pursuing tertiary education.

The intention is to meet the country's need for skilled people, unfortunately in short supply. UTT will not cater for the broad mix of courses offered by the University of the West Indies but will instead place emphasis, largely, on meeting the specific needs of the country to take it forward as rapidly as possible to be an industrialised nation. It will focus, as Prime Minister and Minister of Finance, Patrick Manning, stated in his Budget Speech, �on programmes in engineering and technology, research, innovation, entrepreneurship and the humanities.� In addition, it will �expand its course offerings to include graduate programmes in the field of Offshore Technologies, namely: refining, gas processing and marketing, petroleum management, natural gas technology and electrical management. Degree programmes will be extended to manufacturing engineering, computer technology, earth sciences and maritime technologies,� Mr Manning had added.

The presence of relatively huge reserves of crude and natural gas supplies, and the reality of Trinidad and Tobago being a major supplier of liquefied natural gas to the United States � 75 per cent of its 2003 requirements � along with globalisation, has demanded that we rethink the way we see ourselves and redefine our roles in the energy industry. Trinidadians and Tobagonians can no longer be passive partners in the crude and natural gas production, management and delivery exercise, content to be told how much crude was being produced and how and to whom our natural gas, albeit in liquefied form, was being sold, even though the difference in price could vary sharply from one customer to another. But by preparing our citizens to be more involved, and by defining the way new contracts should be drawn up, with the country having a distinct shareholding in future energy enterprises and ipso facto in their management, we may better position ourselves to optimise returns for the country's benefit, and by extension the country's citizens.

The attracting of foreign engineers to the course at the Point Lisas campus represented a strong beginning to the Caribbean Community of Nations' (Caricom) third university, the two others being the University of the West Indies (UWI) and the University of Guyana both of which were established in 1962. UWI had begun in 1948 as the University College of the West Indies (UCWI), an affiliate of London University. UTT's launch today at the Trinidad Hilton will be exactly 47 years after the late Prime Minister of Trinidad and Tobago (then Chief Minister) made the announcement which created much controversy at the time that his Government would be setting up a University of Trinidad. Had Dr Williams gone ahead with his proposal the university of Trinidad would have been the first full fledged university in the English speaking Caribbean, as the then UCWI was still an adjunct of London University.

Hopefully, the University of Trinidad and Tobago will urge on citizens a redefinition of themselves and make for a deeper and clearer understanding that the challenges of globalisation can only be effectively met with the required training and the development of business skills which will allow for the country's agricultural products and small manufactures to be competitive in the market place and complement both crude and natural gas as revenue earners.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 29th, 2014, 3:43 pm

Have a look at this article

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/debate/artic ... ening.html

A low blow from desperate people who are envious and jealous of Ms Merkel because Germany dominates Europe in ways Hitler only dreamed off. And they did it without firing a single bullet!

Our PM Kamla is like the German Chancellor Ms Merkel.

Those who cannot do better, the sufferers blame them both for their own downfall in life because these 2 ladies puts emphasis on education. To unlock the power of the human mind, the human imagination. To innovate the world!!!

This is why the PNM was beaten so badly it almost lost its position as opposition in the last election a bitter defeat because Trinidad is now more educated than ever before.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 29th, 2014, 3:52 pm

Epicurus wrote:I found this article online. Seems like the they are building on the original ideas of what UTT is meant to provide. PNM corruption within UTT sounds like something to know about . Wish you had more information on it, but will do my own research .

Back in 2004 the UTT was like COSTAATT and that was its aim. This was to undervalue the hardworking UWI graduates and give people who cannot study a degree in Engineering. But this was quickly picked up by many firms and UTT continued to be a waste of time and investment, Pioneer can tell you this. Hell even schools like SAM where all them rich people chirren who failed CXC and or A levels went to do a degree was more respected than UTT.

No homework required, and it was worth less than A levels on an international scale.

In recent years the UTT is now on a grand scale and is respected by many bodies due to accreditation both locally and from the UK. I know people who graduated from UTT some years ago and never even study a day in their life and they get their "degrees". This one person back in the PNM days was doing a degree in music at UWI and was kicked out of the program because of how poor her GPA was infact she failed most everything. She went UTT and graduated without studying a day in her life and the degree she did was considered harder than Music.

Be thankful that because of Kamla its worth something today. UTT was never properly or hell even semi accredited until Kamla took office.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on August 29th, 2014, 4:08 pm, edited 2 times in total.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » August 29th, 2014, 3:55 pm

Tru good point I like how the PP won the Local government elections.

All the beat up by UML and ZR reminds me of how Manning was sure he was going to win the last election.

Full disclosure I voted PP last elections

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 29th, 2014, 3:59 pm

^ PariaMan I think in all honesty only sufferers does vote for local elections. Most people are not bothered about it really.

both the PNM and UNC has done a lot of work and good things for this country, however the difference is the UNC did more in their short time than PNM has done in their very long history. The changes UNC has made is more crucial for the development of this country and its people than the PNM has ever done.

So there really is a difference.

Postby 1UZFE » August 29th, 2014, 4:03 pm

PariaMan wrote:Tru good point I like how the PP won the Local government elections.

All the beat up by UML and ZR reminds me of how Manning was sure he was going to win the last election.

hmmm always took u for a racist...

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » August 29th, 2014, 4:06 pm

I know it is unofficial but last election all my family (and it is huge) and the village where I grew up was fully behind the PP. And this village and my family is non Indian

Now the swing away from them is almost unanimous. We are disillusioned and frustrated.

Everyone is just waiting to cast their vote.

You and your party can a la Manning bury your head in the sand and say all is well or try to change.

Our issues is not box drain and roads we are more sophisticated than that but the direction the country is taking!

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 29th, 2014, 4:11 pm

PariaMan may I ask what direction you think the country is heading?

a 2 term leader like the United States hmmmmm I could live with that for sure. Or would you prefer some donkey remain there till they dead?

If you are not rich, box drains is definitely development because with box drains comes pavements and poor people who cannot afford a car relies on sidewalks as a safe means of utilizing their human transport power.

Also poor people who cannot afford to fix their suspension every week, welcomes the newly paved roads that Kamla is doing around the entire country.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on August 29th, 2014, 4:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » August 29th, 2014, 4:12 pm

1UZFE wrote:
PariaMan wrote:Tru good point I like how the PP won the Local government elections.

Check yourself first . What parties have you voted for in the past?

I have voted for

NAR
PNM
UNC
PP
COP.

And I will always vote out any government who I consider bad.
The majority of UNC supporters will always vote for the same party no matter what!

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » August 29th, 2014, 4:14 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:PariaMan may I ask what direction you think the country is heading?

a 2 term leader like the United States hmmmmm I could live with that for sure. Or would you prefer some donkey remain there till they dead?

If you are not rich, box drains is definitely development because with box drains comes pavements and poor people who cannot afford a cay relies on sidewalks as a safe means of utilizing their human transport power.

The procedure pallos is what we are concerned about and I quote Nigel Henry

"For the record, there are many good arguments not to support the bill.

Firstly, the one week given between the first mention of such a sweeping change and the one-day Lower House debate falls below what could be reasonably considered democratic.

Secondly, it is “self-serving” in that the arithmetic of the proposed system helps the incumbent United National Congress (UNC) more than any other party. (Space does not permit me to show the arithmetic here).

Thirdly, it is proposed by a government that is currently losing popularity in the polls.

Fourthly, other systems—such as proportional representation (PR)—can achieve an even more democratic result.

Certainly, a reasonable person may decide any of these conside­rations outweighs any benefits provided by the bill.
"

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » August 29th, 2014, 4:16 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
Epicurus wrote:I found this article online. Seems like the they are building on the original ideas of what UTT is meant to provide. PNM corruption within UTT sounds like something to know about . Wish you had more information on it, but will do my own research .

Back in 2004 the UTT was like COSTAATT and that was its aim. This was to undervalue the hardworking UWI graduates and give people who cannot study a degree in Engineering. But this was quickly picked up by many firms and UTT continued to be a waste of time and investment, Pioneer can tell you this. Hell even schools like SAM where all them rich people chirren who failed CXC and or A levels went to do a degree was more respected than UTT.

No homework required, and it was worth less than A levels on an international scale.

In recent years the UTT is now on a grand scale and is respected by many bodies due to accreditation both locally and from the UK. I know people who graduated from UTT some years ago and never even study a day in their life and they get their "degrees". This one person back in the PNM days was doing a degree in music at UWI and was kicked out of the program because of how poor her GPA was infact she failed most everything. She went UTT and graduated without studying a day in her life and the degree she did was considered harder than Music.

Be thankful that because of Kamla its worth something today. UTT was never properly or hell even semi accredited until Kamla took office.

Fully agree with you here.
I know of someone was almost charged with fraud as she tried to get in to St John's NY with her UTT degree cert.

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » August 29th, 2014, 4:18 pm

mitch1980 wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

Fully agree with you here.
I know of someone was almost charged with fraud as she tried to get in to St John's NY to do a masters with her UTT degree cert.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 29th, 2014, 4:21 pm

PariaMan I am only going to respond to 1 of the points you made regarding the polls showing the PP losing support.

These so called 3rd world polls some years ago showed that COP had more support than PNM and UNC combined. This was done by the PNM media to split the votes between COP and UNC. The specific media who did the poll was a PNM media.

So this is the only point that I am going to argue with you about.

But in closing let me lie a little, I want to argue with 1 more point the bill would give UNC an unfair advantage. Nothing gives anyone an unfair advantage in this bill, the PNM or UNC will win based on the intelligence and education of the population.

Lets be real though how much better would it be if PNM was to return to power? we can both agree local politicians are evil but we can also both agree the UNC is the lesser of the 2 evils so why would it even matter if the UNC had a unfair lead even though this really isn't the case.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » August 29th, 2014, 4:27 pm

Then in your ideal world PP/UNC/ULF/ will always be in power!

Yes that is sure to lead to a wonderful Trinidad and Tobago

Postby 1UZFE » August 29th, 2014, 4:31 pm

Funny how come no one mentioned when PNM made 41 seats they actually split their strong holds hence giving them an unfair advantage.
Jus saying..
:popcorn:

Postby Dizzy28 » August 29th, 2014, 4:32 pm

PariaMan wrote:
1UZFE wrote:

Check yourself first . What parties have you voted for in the past?

I have voted for

NAR
PNM
UNC
PP
COP.

And I will always vote out any government who I consider bad.
The majority of UNC supporters will always vote for the same party no matter what!

But so too would the majority of PNM supporters. And do we really want a country where the base of each side determines the future of the country??

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 29th, 2014, 4:33 pm

mitch1980 wrote:Fully agree with you here.
I know of someone was almost charged with fraud as she tried to get in to St John's NY with her UTT degree cert.

yup a lot of people talk things but don't know what they are saying at all.

Say PNM was still in power, the UTT name would be tarnished beyond repair like City and Guilds today. Remember years ago when the teacher leaked the city and guilds paper and what happen to that program since? Try getting an employer to recognize that now nah, it has tons of threads about that on tuner here where everyone would tell you stay clear of city and guilds and when they go for interviews the employers does say they only accept the Diploma from UTT.

And when you do get in with city and guilds its some sufferer wuk in a private company for a $18 an hour.