Redman wrote:rfari wrote:#sleepercell
Whats the point of sleeper cells if everyone knows youre a sleeper cell..
or is it that sleepercell is anyone that not spouting the party line?
4x4 wrote:Ventour is making a last ditch effort to save his party. Things are very bad for the PNM and are currently facing a heavy election defeat. PNM will pull out all stops over the next few months to regain power. Look out people.
4x4 wrote:For those of us who don't know. Many of the PNM big wigs are all in the secret order society and they pull the strings to run the country. PNM has been out of power now even before 2010 when the whole country was against them. It is an ego and power struggle issue that they have been out for so long and from all signals they will continue to be out. I wish I could call the names of some of these members but I am afraid of the order as my father was in the order too. At this time they are very threatened by the PP and they will pull out all stops to regain power even as far as inciting civil unrest. Most of these gentlemen are are well over 60 and they need to get back in power.
Hyperion wrote:u see the depths of stupidity and irrationality these people stooping to? they reaching way into the back of the cupboard to pull out all kind of cr@p like lodge and sleeper cell? what a way to defend a position, if I was allyuh boss I woulda withhold salary for blogging this nonsense.
eliteauto wrote:Redman wrote:rfari wrote:#sleepercell
Whats the point of sleeper cells if everyone knows youre a sleeper cell..
or is it that sleepercell is anyone that not spouting the party line?
yes, Sleepercells were created in the late 50's by Eric Williams who through his Lodge and Necromancy ties foresaw the coming of the PP, in order to make it work he imported people from Grenada and put them in the public sector where they rose to high positions in time for the dawn of the PP, from their high perch they stymie all the great works of the PP and use code words like Integrity, Corruption, Due Process, Nepotism and Racism. They are in cahoots with "De Media" esp "investigative reporters" After 50 years of de PNM it is hard to remove them and they are everywhere, even the PP has hired them where they remain PP until they disagree with the PP then they become.................... PNM
Think I lying go on the UNC's FB page 95% of the posts are about "The PNM" that's how powerful they are, after 5 years in Gov't you could only talk about the Opposition
"Strong Dick Game is when they still talking about you long after you've finished fcukin them" C "Goat" McN
kjaglal76v2 wrote:all thrash talk aside, this election gonna be very bloody
rfari wrote:kjaglal76v2 wrote:all thrash talk aside, this election gonna be very bloody
How so?
kjaglal76v2 wrote:rfari wrote:kjaglal76v2 wrote:all thrash talk aside, this election gonna be very bloody
How so?
think we gonna get like jamaica, i see unc ppl chirren start to get kidnapped already.
imagine i am afraid to go a town meeting or ever wear my yellow jersey
kjaglal76v2 wrote:rfari wrote:kjaglal76v2 wrote:all thrash talk aside, this election gonna be very bloody
How so?
think we gonna get like jamaica, i see unc ppl chirren start to get kidnapped already.
Rory Phoulorie wrote:kjaglal76v2 wrote:all thrash talk aside, this election gonna be very bloody
That is not going to happen. Trinidadians and Tobagonians like to take shit from politicians and do nothing about it. If this was Jamaica, then it would be a different story.
How so?
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:kjaglal76v2 wrote:rfari wrote:kjaglal76v2 wrote:all thrash talk aside, this election gonna be very bloody
How so?
That's cuz you're a p#ssy. Not cuz anything will really happen to you if you go support your party. This is tnt. No one really gives a fcuk enough to fcuk you up.
rfari wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:kjaglal76v2 wrote:rfari wrote:kjaglal76v2 wrote:all thrash talk aside, this election gonna be very bloody
How so?
That's cuz you're a p#ssy. Not cuz anything will really happen to you if you go support your party. This is tnt. No one really gives a fcuk enough to fcuk you up.
At this point yup. I still taking precautions. After I get that black eye peas in my doubles last year I watch mehself. If UNC supporters gonna take me out, is inna curry goat or duck roti. Eida which way, I going down with meh belly full and a smile on meh face
kjaglal76v2 wrote:rfari wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:kjaglal76v2 wrote:rfari wrote:kjaglal76v2 wrote:all thrash talk aside, this election gonna be very bloody
How so?
At this point yup. I still taking precautions. After I get that black eye peas in my doubles last year I watch mehself. If UNC supporters gonna take me out, is inna curry goat or duck roti. Eida which way, I going down with meh belly full and a smile on meh face
be careful out there
Bezman wrote:black eye peas in doubles. #dedz
UML wrote:Questionable Character. Eat ah Food. Sleeper Cell.Ventour quits Integrity Commission
Published on Feb 6, 2014, 10:54 pm AST
Updated on Feb 7, 2014, 8:58 am AST
UNABLE to deliver three outstanding High Court judgments while serving as a member of the Integrity Commission, Justice Sebastian Ventour on Wednesday resigned as the commission’s deputy chairman.
Ventour was yesterday sworn in as a temporary puisne judge of the High Court in order to hand down the three judgments.
One of the judgments Ventour handed down yesterday was the more than ten-year-old case between Mora Ven Holdings Ltd, Mora Oil Ventures Ltd and George Nicholas versus Krishna Persad & Associates Ltd and Krishna Persad. (See Page 16)
Following the expiration of the term of office of four of the five members of the Integrity Commission last year, President Anthony Carmona appointed Ventour, Seunarine Jokhoo, Deonarine Jaggernauth and Dr Shelly-Anne Lalchan to fill the vacancies.
On July 1 last year, Ventour was appointed a member of the Integrity Commission and named its deputy chairman.
He had retired as a High Court judge in 2012 after 14 years on the bench.
Ventour, however, had three judgments outstanding.
According to Section 4(5) of the Integrity in Public Life Act Chap 22:01, “A person shall not be qualified to hold office as a member of the (Integrity) Commission where he is a person in public life or a person exercising a public function.”
In his letter of resignation from the Integrity Commission, Justice Ventour explained that he has three outstanding judgments to deliver and is prevented by law from doing so as a sitting member of the Integrity Commission,” a release from the Office of the President stated yesterday.
The appointment was made on the advice of the Judicial and Legal Service Commission (JLSC).
Section 4(5) of the Integrity in Public Life Act Chap 22:01 prevented Ventour from “being appointed a High Court judge (albeit temporary) while holding office as a member of the Integrity Commission,” the release from the Office of the President stated.
“In the circumstances, Justice Ventour was constrained, in accordance with Section 6(1) of the act, to tender his resignation as a member of the Integrity Commission in order to facilitate his appointment as a judge of the High Court,” the release stated.
Ventour, who has a legal career spanning more that three decades, was the only person with a legal background on the Integrity Commission.
The Express unsuccessfully sought to contact Integrity Commission chairman Ken Gordon for a comment on how Ventour’s resignation and the absence of a person with a legal background would affect the Commission.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Ven ... 32271.htmlEx-judge: No big deal
Ventour back on Integrity Commission
Published on Feb 27, 2014, 8:36 pm AST
Updated on Feb 28, 2014, 4:01 pm AST
Newly reappointed commissioner and deputy chairman of the Integrity Commission, Justice Sebastian Ventour, yesterday called on the media to focus on the more pressing problems facing the country and not on his abrupt and eyebrow-raising temporary departure from the Integrity Commission.
Ventour told reporters the commission can get back to the important issues that were held in abeyance with his departure.
Ventour had resigned from the commission on February 5 to be appointed a puisne judge on the advice of the Judicial and Legal Service Commission to deliver three outstanding judgments. At a short ceremony at the President’s office yesterday, he was reappointed a commissioner by President Anthony Carmona.
In a statement read at the ceremony by the president’s aide-de-camp, Don Polo, the President’s office indicated the reappointment of Ventour came after consultation with the Prime Minister and the Leader of the Opposition.
Asked yesterday whether he was performing a judicial function (because he would have been deliberating and contemplating the judgments) while still serving on the commission (prior to his resignation), Ventour skirted this question, saying: “Listen ladies and gentlemen, I think you should redirect the cameras. There are so many ills affecting Trinidad and Tobago at this point in time, you got to refocus. I am going back to the Integrity Commission at this time to continue a job I started and I hope your prayers are with me. No further comment”.
The president also declined to answer questions saying he has never conducted interviews at his office.
Earlier at the ceremony, the President office, speaking through the president’s aide-de-camp, stated the practice of reappointing a judge who has retired and is active in other endeavours to facilitate the delivery of outstanding judgments was not without precedent in Trinidad and Tobago and was generally done in alignment with the public interest so that closure can be brought to outstanding matters in the courts.
“However, accordance with Section 4 (5) of the Integrity in Public Life Act, ... which states: “A person shall not be qualified to hold office as a member of the commission where he is a person in public life or a person exercising a public function”, Mr Justice Ventour was, from the moment of his swearing-in as a puisne judge, thus disqualified from exercising his functions in the Integrity Commission. He proactively tendered his resignation from the commission with effect from February 5 to facilitate his reappointment to the Judiciary for that one day,” Polo stated.
At that time both Attorney General Anand Ramlogan and Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley had expressed concerns.
Ramlogan had stated he was “shocked and disappointed” particularly because of the checkered history of the Integrity Commission.
Rowley expressed disappointment at the lack of openness, clarity and advanced notice. He said the public should have been kept in the loop.
The reappointment of Ventour means that the commission—which under the law must have an attorney in its membership—is once more properly constituted and has a quorum to conduct its business.
The commission has several important matters under investigation, most prominent among them are the investigations into Emailgate and former minister and current MP for Chaguanas West, Jack Warner.
—Ria Taitt
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Ex- ... 77191.htmlLaw Association president on Ventour’s reappointment: Clumsy and unacceptable
Richard Lord
Published:
Saturday, March 1, 2014
President Anthony Carmona, right, swears in Justice Sebastian Ventour as deputy commissioner of the Integrity Commission at President House, St Ann’s, yesterday. PHOTO: KRISTIAN DE SILVA
President of the Law Association Seenath Jairam, SC, says the way deputy chairman of the Integrity Commission Justice Sebastian Ventour had to resign to deliver three outstanding judgments was ”clumsy and unacceptable.” Jairam maintained the matter was not handled in the best way, saying the judgments should have been delivered immediately after Ventour retired from the bench, and if they could not have been delivered at that time, they should have been read not long afterwards.
Ventour was reappointed by President Anthony Carmona at the Office of the President, St Ann’s on Thursday. After first being appointed in July 2013, he resigned on February 5, and was appointed a puisne judge the next day to deliver his judgments. Ventour retired from the Judiciary in 2012. Jairam said the events which occurred were unfortunate and unacceptable.
Ventour’s reappointment has been criticised by several other lawyers. Former Law Association president Martin Daly described it as a reflection of the “silliness of the season.” Jairam said he respected the different views of his colleagues on the matter but maintained his unreserved support for Ventour, saying Ventour is a man of impeccable integrity and he endorses him fully as deputy chairman of the Integrity Commission. He said he had “utmost trust, faith and confidence in Ventour as he is fair, fearless and fair-minded.”
And chairman of the Integrity Commission Kenneth Gordon said yesterday he was pleased to have Ventour back in office. Gordon told the T&T Guardian, “Justice Ventour is an excellent person and we are delighted that he is back. The work of the commission is moving again.” Ventour on Thursday dismissed questions on his reappointment, advising reporters to focus on the many ills in the country.http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-03- ... acceptable
VENTOUR MUST RESIGN
By Newsday Staff Thursday, July 11 2013
Former Appeal Court Justice Anthony Lucky, who is now a member of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea, said yesterday that former judge Sebastian Ventour should immediately tender his resignation from the Integrity Commission.
Lucky said the fact that Ventour is a paid adviser to the Ministry of Legal Affairs disqualifies him from sitting on the Integrity Commission.
“He should resign and not embarrass President Anthony Carmona who appointed him to the position last week,” Lucky said. “He simply can’t accept a position on the Integrity Commission while he sits on the National Consultation on Constitution Reform where he is paid by the Government for attending meetings,” he said.
Lucky said he was astonished by Ventour’s response to queries when Ventour sought to liken the present situation to his job as a judge of the High Court by stating “the Government pays judges salaries” but that fact did not make a judge beholden to anyone.
“As a retired judge, Mr Ventour knows well that judges are not paid by the Government but by the Consolidated Fund which safeguards the independence of the Judiciary,” Lucky said.
He added, “The payment for service to the National Consultation on Constitution Reform comes directly from the Ministry of Legal Affairs which recently benefitted from large increases amounting to several million dollars in budgetary allocation by Parliament.
“The Integrity in Public Life Act states in Section 4(5) that “a person shall not be qualified to hold office as a member of the Commission, where he is a person in public life or a person exercising a public function...”.
Lucky said Ventour was clearly exercising a public function as an adviser to the Minister of Legal Affairs, was being paid for it, and therefore disqualified from being a member of the Integrity Commission.
Lucky said the time has come to repeal the Integrity Commission Act. “It looks and sounds good on paper,” he said, “but in reality it is not working.”
The Integrity Commission has been embroiled in several controversies and has seen many of its chairmen and members have to resign in questionable circumstances.
The most recent involved calls for the removal of current chairman Ken Gordon following a secret meeting he held at his Glencoe home with PNM Opposition Leader, Dr Keith Rowley. The meeting was about a series of damaging emails against the Government which Rowley had forwarded to former President George Maxwell Richards who in turn sent the emails to the Integrity Commission for authentication.
A few days after his meeting with Gordon, Rowley used the alleged emails as the centre piece of a no-confidence motion which he raised in Parliament.
Calls for Gordon’s removal were ignored by President Carmona who last week appointed four new commissioners to work under Gordon’s chairmanship. Ventour was made deputy chairman.
"Dana Seetahal, SC, had previously expressed concern over Ventour’s decision to resign from the commission so that he could be reappointed a judge for one day to give outstanding judgments. Seetahal said yesterday she had no further comment on the matter, saying only that her initial comments were made in a specific context. Ramlogan also said yesterday he had no comment. Several other lawyers said they were upset with the decision. However, they noted it had made a mockery of both the judicial system and the Integrity Commission in the first instance and was now exacerbating that situation. They all refused to comment on record"
http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,180491.html