TSTT WiMax 4G/Hotspot and HSPA+ Thread

Re: TSTT WiMax 4G/Hotspot and HSPA+ Thread

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 14th, 2013, 9:48 pm

turbotusty wrote:well when i am on 4g. the icon says 3g.. bmobile 4g is actually not true 4g. im on prepaid however. and as the tstt rep explained to me i have to subscribe to the 4g and it runs off a separate credit line from your regular credit. i just removed automatic network and specified the 2g network.. maybe it was switching in and out which would make sense to varying data rates for refreshing the same page. ill run it for the week again and see if it makes any difference.
my iPhone shows 3G since there is no 4G icon

bmobile and digicel have the same technology which is HSPA+ and is technically considered 4G

Prepaid bmobile customers do not have to subscribe or opt in to the 4G data plan. ALL prepaid bmobile customers (except those on Blackberry plans) were automatically upgraded to 4G without their input.
http://www.bmobile.co.tt/services/gprs/ ... -internet/
Click "How to sign up for 4G"

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » January 14th, 2013, 11:04 pm

just tried to load the live php page on 2g. 300kb and counting and the page wasnt finished loading yet. goodbye tstt data. im never that far away from a wifi connection to get all my updates anyway. might sample digicel data month end if them flop then i will gladly wait till the next lifetime when data rates become reasonable in this country. ill see u when is 10 cents a mb or something. i have no dire needs that require data on the go. i work in IT so like i said everywhere i go during the day has wifi except when im travelling, which will only be for the next 2 weeks or so anyway.

Postby S_2NR » January 14th, 2013, 11:59 pm

Exactly! Everywhere has WiFi now. Everywhere

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » January 15th, 2013, 9:55 am

My 3G's been dropping and Siri's not available without internet :x

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » January 16th, 2013, 8:12 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ seems rather inconvenient to have to select your topics for offline reading, close the page quick quick before the page updates and then set firewalls and data counters to bean count each byte

You've set data monitoring apps and have a firewall restricting all your apps when on data and have your android subsystem restricted from doing anything across data.

Especially when the site that you like visiting abovetopsecret.com/live.php is one that has up-to-the second updates continuously during the day and the main purpose of that site is to keep the users continuously informed, yet you restrict yourself so much.

Anyway that's my (perhaps irrelevant) opinion.

inconvenient is losing $6 today to check a facebook notification and respond. THAT is inconvenience. im never turning on data again. i feel like i get planass for turning on data today with that one.. ah good. ah good dey!

i paid $6 to respond to a facebook post. never again.

same as above.. it keep dropping and forgetting to load my page.. but it aint forgetting to charge money tho. criminals running tstt.. criminals!
Last edited by rocknrolla on January 16th, 2013, 8:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nemisis » January 16th, 2013, 8:15 pm

^^^ use a more efficient app

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 16th, 2013, 9:49 pm

turbotusty wrote:inconvenient is losing $6 today to check a facebook notification and respond. THAT is inconvenience. im never turning on data again. i feel like i get planass for turning on data today with that one.. ah good. ah good dey!

i paid $6 to respond to a facebook post. never again.

same as above.. it keep dropping and forgetting to load my page.. but it aint forgetting to charge money tho. criminals running tstt.. criminals!
why not use a package instead of using "pay as you go"?

remember the facebook app is not going to ONLY use data needed for you to reply to a message - it is also updating all your notifications, messages and your entire wall in the background. That's an issue with the way the FB app uses data, not an issue with the phone company.

when you were on 2G data the app probably never got a chance to update all those things. Now that you have 4G it zips through all the updates and you end up using more data.

its like you had a bicycle all the time and now you have a motorbike and you are being charged for the distance you cover. In 1 hour you will obviously cover more distance in the motorbike, however it costs you more.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » January 17th, 2013, 12:05 am

what u saying is to turn on data again.. that aint happening. it have nothing so important for me that i should spend $200 a month on an unlimited package. personally i could do without it. they shouldnt be forcing ppl to run on they halfway 4g anyway. the 2g used to work so nice to suit my needs on prepaid. $40 a month was reasonable. i used to send emails and spent whole day with foreign tech via email already and money didnt finish fast so (and that time was when it was $4 a mb). it was worriless. now is 4g and it keeps disappearing, not fully loading pages u have to refresh.. it's horrible! i not workin to mine tstt nuh. i good.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » January 17th, 2013, 9:03 am

turbotusty wrote:what u saying is to turn on data again.. that aint happening. it have nothing so important for me that i should spend $200 a month on an unlimited package. personally i could do without it. they shouldnt be forcing ppl to run on they halfway 4g anyway. the 2g used to work so nice to suit my needs on prepaid. $40 a month was reasonable. i used to send emails and spent whole day with foreign tech via email already and money didnt finish fast so (and that time was when it was $4 a mb). it was worriless. now is 4g and it keeps disappearing, not fully loading pages u have to refresh.. it's horrible! i not workin to mine tstt nuh. i good.

Just delete the facebook app :|

Postby Stephon. » January 17th, 2013, 9:45 am

What kind of phone do you have? I'm sure there is an option to only use 2G. Also the 4G from Bmobile was unreliable when I first got it the day they released it to the public but I've had no problems recently so I don't know how some people say it dropping.

dragaholic

Postby dragaholic » January 17th, 2013, 10:56 am

Why is my Blackberry keeps switching from edge to 3g(4g) and even down to gsm one night. Every morning its on EDGE. I have been upgraded to the 4g package.

Postby pete » January 17th, 2013, 10:58 am

Poor HSPA coverage in your area I would guess.

dragaholic

Postby dragaholic » January 18th, 2013, 8:12 am

lol. GSM this morning again. Location Valsayn south.

Postby maj. tom » January 18th, 2013, 2:00 pm

Just received a text from bmobile saying to check *3282# and query 4G data balance.

Received 1024MB free promo bundle expires 22-01-2013.

Ain't got a 1900MHz 3G phone so I only get 2G data. Kinda useless to me. Anyway to transfer this to someone else who can use it?

Postby Stephon. » January 18th, 2013, 2:42 pm

Postby S_2NR » January 19th, 2013, 10:21 pm

^^ that sheit inaccurate 99% of the time

Postby Stephon. » January 19th, 2013, 11:06 pm

Nah, I only put on wifi occasionally when I went to stream videos from my phone through my xbox. I hardly ever use wifi now because it don't make much of a difference. My cycle is 9/10th tho so I'll need to relax on the downloading and Netflixing :|

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » January 21st, 2013, 8:47 am

Is there any way to enable the iPhone 5 hot spot on bmobile?

Can it be requested?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 21st, 2013, 9:00 am

DJ Q wrote:Is there any way to enable the iPhone 5 hot spot on bmobile?

Can it be requested?
this was discussed before - bmobile has already turned back on the personal hotspot however it seems that they need to issue a new carrier update in order for it to propagate to all the devices.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » January 21st, 2013, 9:05 am

Can it be requested?
this was discussed before - bmobile has already turned back on the personal hotspot however it seems that they need to issue a new carrier update in order for it to propagate to all the devices.

I searched for hotspot, hot spot, tethering and bmobile and i did not see this discussion :|

All I saw was where people said it was switched off.

Will search again.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » January 21st, 2013, 10:20 am

have u tried a different tethering app than the one native to ur fone?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 21st, 2013, 10:29 am

DJ Q wrote:

Can it be requested?

I searched for hotspot, hot spot, tethering and bmobile and i did not see this discussion :|

All I saw was where people said it was switched off.

Will search again.
basically all it said was "bmobile has already turned back on the personal hotspot however it seems that they need to issue a new carrier update in order for it to propagate to all the devices."

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » January 21st, 2013, 11:14 am

Postby S_2NR » January 28th, 2013, 10:05 am

Signed up for 4g on an s3 and all I seeing is E. No H. Called bmobile, they confused. Its an at&t s3

Postby pete » January 28th, 2013, 10:35 am

Is is set to GSM/WDCDA(auto) mode or is it on GSM alone?

Settings > More > Mobile Network Settings > Network Mode

Postby S_2NR » January 28th, 2013, 10:45 am

cant even find that option in mobile network settings.

Postby S_2NR » January 28th, 2013, 11:37 am

What are the chances that the sim may need to be replaced because I tried it in my s2 and it still getting edge only..

Postby M_2NR » January 28th, 2013, 1:04 pm

sim replaced? i have the old sim with the large gold contacts and 3G/4G works fine on it. Ask them if they have data activated on that account. That could be the issue. Also, i noticed on my cousin postpaid TSTT account, he has no 3G contract and it shows as edge all the time even with 3G on. While for me on Digicel even though i didn't have a 3G contract, It still detected 3G.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » January 28th, 2013, 4:21 pm

S_2NR wrote:Signed up for 4g on an s3 and all I seeing is E. No H. Called bmobile, they confused. Its an at&t s3

pete wrote:Is is set to GSM/WDCDA(auto) mode or is it on GSM alone?

go to Settings > More > Mobile Networks > Access Point Names > go into your APN and down to the bottom, put your bearer to unspecified.

Remember if you postpaid the APN is internet, if you prepaid it is bconnected

try that and see. btw, on that phone you will see either E or 4G, no H+. certain areas i only get E (chaguanas surprisingly, 4G in pt lisas)

achillies

Postby achillies » January 28th, 2013, 5:19 pm

Kronik wrote:
S_2NR wrote:Signed up for 4g on an s3 and all I seeing is E. No H. Called bmobile, they confused. Its an at&t s3

pete wrote:Is is set to GSM/WDCDA(auto) mode or is it on GSM alone?

go to Settings > More > Mobile Networks > Access Point Names > go into your APN and down to the bottom, put your bearer to unspecified.

Remember if you postpaid the APN is internet, if you prepaid it is bconnected

try that and see. btw, on that phone you will see either E or 4G, no H+. certain areas i only get E (chaguanas surprisingly, 4G in pt lisas)

What phone do you have

The S3 displays E, H or H+
uploadfromtaptalk1359407764157.jpg
uploadfromtaptalk1359407764157.jpg (5.51 KiB) Viewed 3814 times