*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Ultimas

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby Ultimas » January 21st, 2011, 5:10 am

Bose have a different approach to what home theater should be. Got to give them credit for introducing Satellites Cube speakers to the market while everyone copies it. I will agree the V30 had some faults hence the quick removal and introduction of the V35. I've been reading this thread and have confirmed many audio company still haven't got it right. Simplicity, Versatility, Reliability and Quality.

Large component days should've been over along time ago...

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » January 21st, 2011, 5:14 am

^so i guess thats why some of the best speakers in the world are coffin boxes then :? You should send them a email and let them know they've been doing it wrong since the 80's :roll:

Postby crazybalhead » January 21st, 2011, 6:54 am

Ultimas wrote:Bose have a different approach to what home theater should be. Got to give them credit for introducing Satellites Cube speakers to the market while everyone copies it. I will agree the V30 had some faults hence the quick removal and introduction of the V35. I've been reading this thread and have confirmed many audio company still haven't got it right. Simplicity, Versatility, Reliability and Quality.

Relaiability and quality!!!??? :lol: :lol: :lol:

Simplicity, ok, I go gih them that. Versatility??? :rofl:

And we all know, it's more important that your speakers look nice, rather than how they sound.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 21st, 2011, 10:41 am

Bose is a marketing company - alot of people follow the marketing

there is a reason why professional sound and recording studios use Paradigm, MK Sound, Martin Logan, Axiom, PSB, Harman, Definitive Tech etc instead of Bose as their reference speakers.

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » January 21st, 2011, 11:45 am

Polk Audio AM1805 SurroundBar SDA Instant Home Theater

Postby 16 cycles » January 21st, 2011, 4:55 pm

^ a re-mastered copy of this can put system through paces...for the jazz ppl

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 21st, 2011, 5:23 pm

^ nice

I like to listen to the remastered version of Dire Straits - Your Latest Trick from their SACD

The live version is pretty ok on DVD too

I swear I can listen to that album over and over again

musicgalore

Re:

Postby musicgalore » January 21st, 2011, 9:07 pm

First thing first you need to set ur speakers much better than that, i see you have your satellite speakers close to the floor you even have one of them on the subwoofer you need to understand speaker placement for surround sound applications 5.1 7.1 6.1 SETUP and so on so, if ur going with a low budget surround sound system that's no problem just remember you need to place your speakers very precisely in order to get the best out of it................

Ultimas

Postby Ultimas » January 21st, 2011, 10:56 pm

crazybalhead wrote:
Ultimas wrote:Bose have a different approach to what home theater should be. Got to give them credit for introducing Satellites Cube speakers to the market while everyone copies it. I will agree the V30 had some faults hence the quick removal and introduction of the V35. I've been reading this thread and have confirmed many audio company still haven't got it right. Simplicity, Versatility, Reliability and Quality.

And we all know, it's more important that your speakers look nice, rather than how they sound.

Bose marketing should not be an issue for audiophiles out there. A lot of research and development have gone through all of their products before it's released to the public.
Reliability: 5 year warranty on all Bose Speakers
Versatility: Connectivity using HDMI, Component, SVideo, Composite, Optical, RCA L/R, Coaxial, Expansion up to 14 zones with 2 audio stream playback, One remote operation.
Quality: Materials used Kevlar on Environmental Speakers, Light weight Material for Indoor speakers, neodymium magnet speakers.

To have a better perspective on Bose Sound System please visit Stereo Electronics at #13 western main road St. James and hear a Demo. Check out their home theatre room.

RapToR

Postby RapToR » January 21st, 2011, 11:01 pm

Ultimas wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:

Bose marketing should not be an issue for audiophiles out there. A lot of research and development have gone through all of their products before it's released to the public.
Versatility: Connectivity using HDMI, Component, SVideo, Composite, Optical, RCA L/R, Coaxial, Expansion up to 14 zones with 2 audio stream playback, One remote operation.
Quality: Materials used Kevlar on Environmental Speakers, Light weight Material for Indoor speakers, neodymium magnet speakers.

To have a better perspective on Bose Sound System please visit Stereo Electronics at #13 western main road St. James and hear a Demo. Check out their home theatre room.

I did and I'm not impressed at all

The only Bose products that sounds good is the wave radio and wave radio II

Ultimas

Postby Ultimas » January 21st, 2011, 11:11 pm

I refuse to use the term "Bose is the best speakers in the world" cause I know this not true. There are other brands like Bermester, Bowers & Wilkins, Bang & Olufsen, McIntosh. I would love to aspire to purchase one of these system, but I may have to sell both my nuts to afford one. Until then Bose will have to do.

Ultimas

Postby Ultimas » January 21st, 2011, 11:15 pm

RapToR wrote:
Ultimas wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:

I disappointed that you mention the wave radio as the best sounding system from Bose. In my opinion the wave does well for its size but still can't compare to the Bose 321 GS Series III.
Did you hear the 321 GS?

RapToR

Postby RapToR » January 21st, 2011, 11:43 pm

Ultimas wrote:
RapToR wrote:
Ultimas wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:

I disappointed that you mention the wave radio as the best sounding system from Bose. In my opinion the wave does well for its size but still can't compare to the Bose 321 GS Series III.
Did you hear the 321 GS?

I didn't say best

I said good

Bose ht systems = fail

I got a v30 for myself

Packed it up after a week

I use Polk now

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 21st, 2011, 11:46 pm

^ I've heard it and was not impressed - not sure why Bose is even pushing a 2.1 system as a home theater setup with a DVD player

CNET had this review of the Bose 321 GS:
cnet.com wrote:The good: Tiny; easy to set up and use; surround-sound effects from just two satellite speakers and a subwoofer.

The bad: Overpriced; poor sound imaging; so-so midrange sound.

The bottom line: This system is an option for less critical listeners who don't want speakers littering their living rooms.
http://reviews.cnet.com/home-theater-systems/bose-3-2-1/1707-6740_7-21174518.html

while I agree that Bose is good at producing big sound from small speakers, the goal should be producing GREAT sound. It might sound good to many people, and that is fine, you should buy what makes you happy, but the 321 GS for US$1000? The users in this thread have done much better than that for much less money than that with audiophile grade equipment.

From what I've seen Bose still use paper cones on their speakers and the bass unit compensates for the low freq. on the satellites resulting in muddy bass and poor mid range.

but hey Ultimas, if Bose makes you happy then good for you, it's your money - the mantra in this thread is buy what makes you happy!

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » January 22nd, 2011, 7:36 am

pioneer wrote:my budget system cud beat ah bose :|

hell,my 2 cockaroach in a matchbox could give bose a run for its money

BTW anyone seen a missing blender by chance?

Ultimas

Postby Ultimas » January 22nd, 2011, 8:13 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ I've heard it and was not impressed - not sure why Bose is even pushing a 2.1 system as a home theater setup with a DVD player

CNET had this review of the Bose 321 GS:
cnet.com wrote:The good: Tiny; easy to set up and use; surround-sound effects from just two satellite speakers and a subwoofer.

The bad: Overpriced; poor sound imaging; so-so midrange sound.

The bottom line: This system is an option for less critical listeners who don't want speakers littering their living rooms.
http://reviews.cnet.com/home-theater-systems/bose-3-2-1/1707-6740_7-21174518.html

while I agree that Bose is good at producing big sound from small speakers, the goal should be producing GREAT sound. It might sound good to many people, and that is fine, you should buy what makes you happy, but the 321 GS for US$1000? The users in this thread have done much better than that for much less money than that with audiophile grade equipment.

From what I've seen Bose still use paper cones on their speakers and the bass unit compensates for the low freq. on the satellites resulting in muddy bass and poor mid range.

but hey Ultimas, if Bose makes you happy then good for you, it's your money - the mantra in this thread is buy what makes you happy!

They are producing a sound that is enjoyable for many but definitely not for critical audiophile listeners. I've been installing Bose home theater solutions for 12 years now and all of my customers agreed, they won't buy anything else cause Bose has met all of their needs. "No set of equipments" "Music all of the house" "No set of wires" "Very easy to use don't need a degree to operate the system" "Matches their decor" "Don't have to point with the remote control" I mean come on guys many brands such as B&W and B&O makes great speakers but its not easy to use. I bought the B&O BeoSound 3200 the first gen around 8 years ago and it sound better than the Acousticwave system from Bose. Roughly around the same size but the Price $20000 TT second hand and to operate it you definitely need to be experience.

The thermal properties is higher in paper opposed to other material such as plastic.
I was told the paper is mixed with other elements "Highly Classified" to strengthen the structure.

I've read that CNET review awhile back and also aware of the term "More Highs No Lows it's got to be Bose" :lol: All of this made me realize Bose maybe the only Audio Giant to shake up the audio industry. Back in 1996 we had an Expedition at the Jean-Pierre Complex to introduce "Bose Lifestyle 20" to the country and it was a success. It showed a new direction to where home theater and stereo sound systems should be. That's the time when Bose wasn't known to many cause the wave radio marketing strategy hasn't aired yet.

Bose have been making Great Sound for many years and their new goal is simplicity.

:evilbat:

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » January 22nd, 2011, 9:31 am

fellas...

remember i brought this and was sellin it

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=337808&hilit=bose

so a padna buy it...i went by him and hook it up..
well boy.. i feel like i coulda give back the man he money yes... was not impressed in the least..

he decide to keep it though... after all the hook up and modifications done to his cabinet

it didnt sound nothing like the same model on display in the showroom
despite all the bad reviews i heard for bose still bought it after hearing the showroom unit

gonna start my monster home sound system next couple months...

RapToR

Postby RapToR » January 22nd, 2011, 9:39 am

pioneer wrote:I remember in best buy ah time de sales clerk tryin to "demo" a pair of bose speakers for me...he was like listen to this...it sounds so damn good...i was like...uhh no? :|

Of course the granny's and some other folk were like wowwwwwwwwwww I WANT ONE :roll:

buy my lifestyle v30

the 1 thats sealed for sale - offer anything above US$2000

the 1 i used sold it in december

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » January 22nd, 2011, 9:57 am

I'm sorry, but the words Audiophile and Bose do NOT go together.
Lets just take their 'subwoofers' for example. Those speakers produce the most unnatural sounding 'bass'. They do not reproduce the low frequencies at all... and Ive heard people ooohhing and ahhhing over the 'deep bass' from bose systems. steups.

Manufactured Audio. Instead of Reproduced Audio. Thats what they do. Its not natural.

pioneer wrote:I remember in best buy ah time de sales clerk tryin to "demo" a pair of bose speakers for me...he was like listen to this...it sounds so damn good...i was like...uhh no? :|

Of course the granny's and some other folk were like wowwwwwwwwwww I WANT ONE :roll:

I remember being 'selected' for a private listening and demo of one of the older lifestyle models..I didnt know 1fart about audio or anything, but I had previously heard a nakamichi component system maybe a month before that...so the bar in my head was set pretty high
At least the Bose looked good and unobtrusive

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 22nd, 2011, 11:21 am

Ultimas wrote:They are producing a sound that is enjoyable for many but definitely not for critical audiophile listeners. I've been installing Bose home theater solutions for 12 years now and all of my customers agreed, they won't buy anything else cause Bose has met all of their needs. "No set of equipments" "Music all of the house" "No set of wires" "Very easy to use don't need a degree to operate the system" "Matches their decor" "Don't have to point with the remote control" I mean come on guys many brands such as B&W and B&O makes great speakers but its not easy to use. I bought the B&O BeoSound 3200 the first gen around 8 years ago and it sound better than the Acousticwave system from Bose. Roughly around the same size but the Price $20000 TT second hand and to operate it you definitely need to be experience.

The thermal properties is higher in paper opposed to other material such as plastic.
I was told the paper is mixed with other elements "Highly Classified" to strengthen the structure.

I've read that CNET review awhile back and also aware of the term "More Highs No Lows it's got to be Bose" :lol: All of this made me realize Bose maybe the only Audio Giant to shake up the audio industry. Back in 1996 we had an Expedition at the Jean-Pierre Complex to introduce "Bose Lifestyle 20" to the country and it was a success. It showed a new direction to where home theater and stereo sound systems should be. That's the time when Bose wasn't known to many cause the wave radio marketing strategy hasn't aired yet.

Bose have been making Great Sound for many years and their new goal is simplicity.

:evilbat:
at what price? the point is you can get much better sounding audiophile grade equipment for the same price as Bose or even less. How often do you "set up" your home theater system? Once? how is that a selling point? There are RF remotes on amazon for cheap.

Polk, Klipsch (Mirage, Energy), Infinity etc will give you much better sound at a great price matched with a good receiver and source.

A little research, educating yourself will get you much better sound for your money - that's all we are saying.

Postby 16 cycles » January 22nd, 2011, 12:02 pm

i like bose for the test CD's

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 22nd, 2011, 12:05 pm

^ yuh mean their test CD's that tuned just for their setup? With extra mids and punched up bass

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » January 22nd, 2011, 6:55 pm

Ultimas wrote:I refuse to use the term "Bose is the best speakers in the world" cause I know this not true. There are other brands like Bermester, Bowers & Wilkins, Bang & Olufsen, McIntosh. I would love to aspire to purchase one of these system, but I may have to sell both my nuts to afford one. Until then Bose will have to do.

yet another way overpriced, under-performing brand. but because the Danes know how to market their way around Europe, the hype is almost as good as Bose's

Ultimas

Postby Ultimas » January 23rd, 2011, 6:37 am

biggy82 wrote:
Ultimas wrote:I refuse to use the term "Bose is the best speakers in the world" cause I know this not true. There are other brands like Bermester, Bowers & Wilkins, Bang & Olufsen, McIntosh. I would love to aspire to purchase one of these system, but I may have to sell both my nuts to afford one. Until then Bose will have to do.

yet another way overpriced, under-performing brand. but because the Danes know how to market their way around Europe, the hype is almost as good as Bose's

Remember these companies sole purpose is to make money. Call it hype, marketing, sellouts, main purpose is to dominate the audio market.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 23rd, 2011, 10:56 am

Ultimas wrote:Remember these companies sole purpose is to make money. Call it hype, marketing, sellouts, main purpose is to dominate the audio market.
that's what we've been saying, though these brands do not dominate except perhaps the minds of ppl who don't know better.

--------------------------------------------

on another note:
anyone selling sunfire or velodyne subs in T&T? A pardner looking for a 10" or 12" sub ASAP

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » January 23rd, 2011, 11:53 am

Ultimas wrote:Remember these companies sole purpose is to make money. Call it hype, marketing, sellouts, main purpose is to dominate the audio market.
that's what we've been saying, though these brands do not dominate except perhaps the minds of ppl who don't know better.

on another note:
anyone selling sunfire or velodyne subs in T&T? A pardner looking for a 10" or 12" sub ASAP

not available locally afaik.

Postby 16 cycles » January 24th, 2011, 7:41 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ yuh mean their test CD's that tuned just for their setup? With extra mids and punched up bass

:oops:

the one that goes through the frequency range....and there is another with some decent classical music...

one of the nicest set-ups i've heard was in Caribbean Sound Basin - before it closed...

some westlakes loudspeakers and bryston amps...can't imagine the signal processing then...

what ever happened to all that equipment???

RapToR

Postby RapToR » January 24th, 2011, 8:24 am

on another note:

i can bring velodyne by order

give me model no. and i qoute cost

drop ho

Postby drop ho » January 24th, 2011, 10:56 am

pioneer wrote:hi all...in case anyone looking for speaker mounts n think local prices kinda ridiculous...i got these today at traders club in sando...$98 a pair...only white though :|

http://www.amazon.com/GE-MA90567-SPEAKER-MOUNTS-BLACK/dp/B00009UH94/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1287610875&sr=8-1

Pioneer check ur PM.

Any suggestions for speaker mounts locally.

Radio Shack needs to close down

Me = Do you all have banana plugs?
Sales Clerk = What is that? It looks like a banana :|
Me = :?

The main sofa is against the wall speakers cannot go flat as it would be facing foward. and no side walls to mount. Thinking of the ceiling and angling downwards with what Pios hv there.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 24th, 2011, 11:15 am

^ there is a ton of stuff on the net about this
http://www.google.tt/search?q=5.1+couch+against+the+wall

remember the surround speakers should be on the side of you, not behind you. The only time speakers shou'd be behind you is in a 7.1 setup where the rear speakers are behind you. If you have a 5.1 setup thent he surrounds should be on the side of you.

the front speakers should be at a height so that the tweeter is at ear level when sitting. The surround speakers should be at ear level when standing but pointed to your ear - this gives better height perception in the back especially as 5.1 in HD audio (or in 7.1 mixes) will create a rear stage behind you.