Re: Mountain Biking

Postby jm3 » September 26th, 2015, 3:20 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1443295227.678927.jpg
I obviously did not put my new chain on properly :(

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » September 26th, 2015, 9:45 pm

Anyone here use these sort of wall mounting solutions for your bikes?

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000FGTTEW/re ... bwbQ6W914E

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0009I8ANM/re ... bwb9D484QH

If so, do they fit mountain bike tyres properly? Some reviews say yes, some say no.

Postby De Dragon » September 29th, 2015, 5:08 pm

Anyone knows where replaces wheel spokes? I pulled out my bike after a few weeks away and discovered about 10-12 spokes damaged. Bike is a Fuji if that helps.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » September 30th, 2015, 10:39 pm

Check any major bike shop

jm3

Postby jm3 » October 7th, 2015, 10:46 am

Anyone have ballpark figure for shipping a bike down seeing a nice one on eBay but worried about the shipping cost

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » October 7th, 2015, 2:44 pm

Value of bike may be necessary

Sent from my D6653 using Tapatalk

tofastforyou

Postby tofastforyou » October 7th, 2015, 8:45 pm

jm3 wrote:Anyone have ballpark figure for shipping a bike down seeing a nice one on eBay but worried about the shipping cost

it cost me about of $700tt for *air freight only* for a bike that weighed almost 35lbs shipped to Trinidad

Seeker

Postby Seeker » October 31st, 2015, 7:28 pm

For sale.
I no longer have the time to ride. Its just sitting there collecting dust

pm me if anyone is interested
20151031_175645.jpg
20151031_175645.jpg (131.15 KiB) Viewed 4796 times
20151014_062448.jpg
20151014_062448.jpg (121.47 KiB) Viewed 4796 times

Postby Redman » November 2nd, 2015, 10:03 am

nick639 wrote:Need some help choosing my first proper road/mountain bike guys..

Areas that i'll be riding is the normal chaguramas/golf course/radar dome and ato boldon to freeport roads. So from there I gathered that a straight road/speed bike wouldn't work well for this.

Would really like a bike that can last me long with all the necessities to keep me well equipped for most terrains in case i want to try new stuff..

I know the most popular places to go are geronimo's and mike's bikes but i would like some recommendations on the type of bike/ cheaper bargain places and model of some options to consider when choosing the bike.

Any help would me greatly appreciated... Thankss

I was given a trek 820 from Geronimos ...3200 TTD I think.

I use it on the road in Palmiste-but based on online reviews its not a bad entry level bike and can be modded.
It comes stock with Bontrager L3 tires -again not bad.
There is a pic of the bike somewhere in the thread
The derailleur is entry level but...a good start until you get into it and want to upgrade.

So all in the 820 is a good platform to start with.

I bought a Giant (brand not size) helmet cheap from blue sky cycling clearance ...and its light so shipping and customs wasnt much.

I ride about 20km (road) for exercise every other day and I really appreciate the padded seat and pants...

Ive changed the brake pads once ....cheap from amazon.

Check it out.

Postby MG Man » November 2nd, 2015, 10:49 am

bought a price smart schwinn last december
use it to crash into a dry river bed in chaguaramas trail in March....no damage to the bike...also ride around ato boldon stadium and the road between Ato Boldon and the Cricket Academy....no complaints...cost me 2,200 I think, had it serviced by Brent Edmund in Couva...not too keen on the twist-grip shifter but for a complete novice on a budget, I have no real complaints

Postby tr1ad » November 2nd, 2015, 11:22 am

MG Man wrote:bought a price smart schwinn last december
use it to crash into a dry river bed in chaguaramas trail in March....no damage to the bike...also ride around ato boldon stadium and the road between Ato Boldon and the Cricket Academy....no complaints...cost me 2,200 I think, had it serviced by Brent Edmund in Couva...not too keen on the twist-grip shifter but for a complete novice on a budget, I have no real complaints

Do they still have?

Postby MG Man » November 2nd, 2015, 11:41 am

not sure, but they always have in their online store.....they should be restocking bikes all now for xmas

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » November 2nd, 2015, 2:41 pm

Areas that i'll be riding is the normal chaguramas/golf course/radar dome and ato boldon to freeport roads. So from there I gathered that a straight road/speed bike wouldn't work well for this.

Would really like a bike that can last me long with all the necessities to keep me well equipped for most terrains in case i want to try new stuff..

I know the most popular places to go are geronimo's and mike's bikes but i would like some recommendations on the type of bike/ cheaper bargain places and model of some options to consider when choosing the bike.

Best spend some money and get something good. Trek is a good brand as far as toughness goes I've heard. I bought a trek 3700 last year. It's a decent entry level bike and cost about $4k at the time. I wish I had done more research and bought either a 29er (wheel size) or a full suspension. A hardtail is really hard on the back when you hit those trails imo.

jm3

Postby jm3 » November 2nd, 2015, 7:35 pm

Most important thing when buying a bike on a budget is making sure the frame is good and would support upgrades.
At that price range expect that your forks will be low end, the crankset will not last long especially on square tapered bottom bracket,
Well pretty much everything will be low end but you just gradually upgrade as you gain more skill and or parts stop working well.
I've seen a lot of posts online with treks having broken chain stays I only found this out because I won an eBay bid on a trek superfly frame only to realize it had a broken chain stay apparently this is common :(.
I'll stick with giant

bgh

Postby bgh » November 2nd, 2015, 8:13 pm

I'll say go big or go home... trust me.
I had a price mart type bike and it was heavy. Good for riding around the hood and so on.
Once you hit the trails you would want something better with good suspension and brakes.
However this will depend on you and what you want. General riding, the reasonable price bike will work. Hard core trail, hardtail or better yet, full suspension.

Postby MG Man » November 3rd, 2015, 7:47 am

Main reason I bought a cheap bike was I wasn;t going to spend a lot of money and then six months later, decide this eh for me....maybe next year I'll buy something better, but for now with my limited trail experience and time, it's great value for money

Postby MG Man » November 3rd, 2015, 11:03 am

plus after breakin mihass in chaguaramas in March, I was down and out for a couple months, and haven't really gotten back up to speed yet...I'd have hated to crash on a spiffy new 5k fancy bike and faced costly repairs....I don't believe in buying above your skill level in any hobby

vin123

Postby vin123 » November 3rd, 2015, 11:46 am

Same here...I have been reading online articles to help with this choice but I've been left more confused.

I mainly want to use it to ride to and from work...maybe go gym....no trails.
Route will be like from Endeavour to Chase Village.

I visited the bike shop in chaguanas and the girl there was no help..she was like yea that one dey for $1200 and the Chinese one for $1500 and a Sportage for 2k.

They have dynamos and stuff but I dunno na.

please advise...careful I buy a female bike with a basket LOL
Last edited by vin123 on November 3rd, 2015, 11:46 am, edited 1 time in total.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » November 3rd, 2015, 11:46 am

I tired fall in chag. All that in it. Thank God nothing serious. I get your point though as I haven't ridden in a while.

Postby MG Man » November 3rd, 2015, 12:16 pm

metalgear2095 wrote:I tired fall in chag. All that in it. Thank God nothing serious. I get your point though as I haven't ridden in a while.

I bruised some ribs and buss lip...lucky wasn't worse

PapaC

Postby PapaC » November 3rd, 2015, 9:11 pm

The falls help. So when you fall in the future you know how to throw your frame and brace yourself.
All those falls when I was smaller probably made sure i didn't die coming down Fort George.

Postby MG Man » November 4th, 2015, 7:11 am

PapaC wrote:The falls help. So when you fall in the future you know how to throw your frame and brace yourself.
All those falls when I was smaller probably made sure i didn't die coming down Fort George.

not much yuh could do when yuh go flying off an embankment into a dry riverbed.....seriously considering body armour before going back into the bush...a week flat out and two months of pain nuh much fun

Postby RASC » November 4th, 2015, 9:58 am

MG Man wrote:plus after breakin mihass in chaguaramas in March, I was down and out for a couple months, and haven't really gotten back up to speed yet...I'd have hated to crash on a spiffy new 5k fancy bike and faced costly repairs....I don't believe in buying above your skill level in any hobby

Exactly.
You need to grow and progress with your gear...

PapaC

Postby PapaC » November 4th, 2015, 10:24 am

Tuck and roll boy MG!! You have to anticipate the break arse and respond. Lol.
But the right protective gear is very necessary.

Postby MG Man » November 4th, 2015, 1:21 pm

lol yeah I saw it coming...I went from 'fk this not gonna end well' straight to 'maaa, why does it hurt when I breathe'
The helmet definitely did its job, that's for sure. The tuck and roll resulted in me falling on my shoulder and elbow, which is what caused the chest injury (still better than the large stones in the river bed).....But yeah, definitely body armour the next time around....I bought some cheal knee, elbow and wrist pads in Walmart. Those should keep the rest of me ok

TRD12

Postby TRD12 » November 5th, 2015, 7:32 am

MG Man wrote:lol yeah I saw it coming...I went from 'fk this not gonna end well' straight to 'maaa, why does it hurt when I breathe'
The helmet definitely did its job, that's for sure. The tuck and roll resulted in me falling on my shoulder and elbow, which is what caused the chest injury (still better than the large stones in the river bed).....But yeah, definitely body armour the next time around....I bought some cheal knee, elbow and wrist pads in Walmart. Those should keep the rest of me ok

When did u take this fall MG? So sorry to hear, hope u all better now :lol: :lol:

Postby MG Man » November 5th, 2015, 7:50 am

^^^can't remember...one minute my buddy said 'doh worry,I eh go leave yuh behind, ah know you ah novice'
Nex ting I in Samaan car park and man rides up askin what goin on -_-
Some friend...

Postby gastly369 » November 6th, 2015, 11:36 am

Have real battle scars...

Buh I does just say is real fight longtime not falling off de mc bike :|

bgh

Postby bgh » November 6th, 2015, 12:28 pm

Reason I went for the high end upgrade was the Komda I had for 10+ years didnt cut it. Went to chag on the invite from some friend to try it. Loved the feel but my old bike could not handle the pressure so much so I had to bail on a small drop.

At the time, my proposed rims money came in handy.

Postby MG Man » November 6th, 2015, 1:03 pm

tr1ad wrote:
MG Man wrote:bought a price smart schwinn last december

Do they still have?

Chaguanas does not have any....I really don;t recall seeing any since I bought mine in december...but PriceSmart online has a much wider selection