The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

originalbling

Re: The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby originalbling » July 22nd, 2015, 1:58 pm

^^ is that the menu you get when you press Power+home+vol up buttons? If so, yes and I was able to select "wipe data/factory reset"

Postby M_2NR » July 22nd, 2015, 7:18 pm

Did you leave it to dry for at least 5 days? Put it in a bag of rice? Or any drying agent?

If not... putting it on while it still had water/moisture in it will be problematic.

Jimmy2067

Postby Jimmy2067 » July 27th, 2015, 2:46 pm

I was watching twitch on my Zenfone 2 then i noticed the battery was at 2% i plugged it in to charge on my laptop walked to get a drink when i come back it cut off. I try to charge it with the charger it came with and NO charging indicator(the battrey thing it does show when charging) and it is not powering on. What could this be? Tried 5 different chargers and USB cables.
Can anybody fix it?

originalbling

Postby originalbling » July 27th, 2015, 3:43 pm

M_2NR wrote:Did you leave it to dry for at least 5 days? Put it in a bag of rice? Or any drying agent?

If not... putting it on while it still had water/moisture in it will be problematic.

Left it with battery out for a few days. Turned it on over the weekend and everything worked fine.

Postby Spitfir3 » July 27th, 2015, 3:51 pm

originalbling wrote:
M_2NR wrote:Did you leave it to dry for at least 5 days? Put it in a bag of rice? Or any drying agent?

Left it with battery out for a few days. Turned it on over the weekend and everything worked fine.

so with that blunder aside what is your overall opinion on the zenfone 2? would you recommend it? couple pros and cons perhaps...thanks!

Jimmy2067

Postby Jimmy2067 » July 27th, 2015, 4:10 pm

Spitfir3 wrote:
originalbling wrote:

so with that blunder aside what is your overall opinion on the zenfone 2? would you recommend it? couple pros and cons perhaps...thanks!

With this problem i am having i wont recomend it.
And it seems many other zenfone users are having it.

brickman

Postby brickman » July 27th, 2015, 4:15 pm

http://techcrunch.com/2015/07/27/nasty- ... zdmwg:D5uI

Nasty Bug Lets Hackers Into Nearly Any Android Phone Using Nothing But A Message
Posted 2 hours ago by Greg Kumparak (@grg)

SHARES

It’s like something from a bad movie: eager to learn the details of the bad guy’s dastardly plot, the good guys hack his phone armed with little more than knowledge of his phone number. No physical access to the phone, no tricking him into opening some shady application; just a quick message sent to his phone, and bam — they’re in.

Alas, that’s essentially how a new Android hack works, according to researchers… and the vast majority of Android devices are vulnerable.

Here’s the breakdown:

Researchers at Zimperium Mobile Labs, where it was discovered by VP of Platform Research and Exploitation Joshua Drake, claim that up to “95% of Android devices” are vulnerable.
To initiate the attack, the hacker sends a maliciously modified video message. The message is able to circumvent Android’s sandboxing security measures and execute remote code — at which point they’d have near-full access to your device, its storage, its camera and microphone, etc.
The hack is being referred to as “Stagefright.” “Stagefright” is also the media library that Android uses to process video, and is the bit of code being exploited here.
In many cases, the device will start processing the message without the user opening the message manually. Just receiving the message is enough to get the ball rolling.
Worse yet, an attacker could theoretically delete the message themselves as soon as they’ve executed the attack, leaving behind no trace but a notification that most would quickly swipe away with no idea that their device is now under an attacker’s control.
The bug is said to have been introduced in Android v2.2 (Froyo), but Zimperium has successfully tested it on builds as recent as the latest release, Android 5.1.1 (Lollipop). Devices running a build older than Jelly Bean (4.1) are said to be most vulnerable.

The good news: the bug can be fixed with an over-the-air update, and Google already has a patch ready to go.

The bad news: It’s up to device manufacturers to send out the patch, and… well, that can take a while. If you’ve got an older phone that hasn’t been updated in ages — as is the case for nearly 11 percent of active Android phones (those still running Froyo, Gingerbread, or Ice Cream Sandwich) — it’s feasible that it won’t get a patch at all.

It is currently unclear what, if anything, Android users can do to protect themselves from this exploit in the meantime. If a confirmed method is found, we’ll share it with you.

When asked for comment, a Google spokesperson replied with the following:

“We thank Joshua Drake for his contributions. The security of Android users is extremely important to us and so we responded quickly and patches have already been provided to partners that can be applied to any device.

Most Android devices, including all newer devices, have multiple technologies that are designed to make exploitation more difficult. Android devices also include an application sandbox designed to protect user data and other applications on the device.”

Jimmy2067

Postby Jimmy2067 » July 27th, 2015, 4:40 pm

brickman wrote:http://techcrunch.com/2015/07/27/nasty-bug-lets-hackers-into-nearly-any-android-phone-using-nothing-but-a-message/#.4zdmwg:D5uI

Nasty Bug Lets Hackers Into Nearly Any Android Phone Using Nothing But A Message
Posted 2 hours ago by Greg Kumparak (@grg)

SHARES

It’s like something from a bad movie: eager to learn the details of the bad guy’s dastardly plot, the good guys hack his phone armed with little more than knowledge of his phone number. No physical access to the phone, no tricking him into opening some shady application; just a quick message sent to his phone, and bam — they’re in.

Alas, that’s essentially how a new Android hack works, according to researchers… and the vast majority of Android devices are vulnerable.

Here’s the breakdown:

Researchers at Zimperium Mobile Labs, where it was discovered by VP of Platform Research and Exploitation Joshua Drake, claim that up to “95% of Android devices” are vulnerable.
To initiate the attack, the hacker sends a maliciously modified video message. The message is able to circumvent Android’s sandboxing security measures and execute remote code — at which point they’d have near-full access to your device, its storage, its camera and microphone, etc.
The hack is being referred to as “Stagefright.” “Stagefright” is also the media library that Android uses to process video, and is the bit of code being exploited here.
In many cases, the device will start processing the message without the user opening the message manually. Just receiving the message is enough to get the ball rolling.
Worse yet, an attacker could theoretically delete the message themselves as soon as they’ve executed the attack, leaving behind no trace but a notification that most would quickly swipe away with no idea that their device is now under an attacker’s control.
The bug is said to have been introduced in Android v2.2 (Froyo), but Zimperium has successfully tested it on builds as recent as the latest release, Android 5.1.1 (Lollipop). Devices running a build older than Jelly Bean (4.1) are said to be most vulnerable.

The good news: the bug can be fixed with an over-the-air update, and Google already has a patch ready to go.

The bad news: It’s up to device manufacturers to send out the patch, and… well, that can take a while. If you’ve got an older phone that hasn’t been updated in ages — as is the case for nearly 11 percent of active Android phones (those still running Froyo, Gingerbread, or Ice Cream Sandwich) — it’s feasible that it won’t get a patch at all.

It is currently unclear what, if anything, Android users can do to protect themselves from this exploit in the meantime. If a confirmed method is found, we’ll share it with you.

When asked for comment, a Google spokesperson replied with the following:

“We thank Joshua Drake for his contributions. The security of Android users is extremely important to us and so we responded quickly and patches have already been provided to partners that can be applied to any device.

Most Android devices, including all newer devices, have multiple technologies that are designed to make exploitation more difficult. Android devices also include an application sandbox designed to protect user data and other applications on the device.”

Most sims dont even have MMS enabled locally(if i remember correctly). So trinidad backward ways saved us i guess

Postby stev » July 27th, 2015, 6:05 pm

kinda exaggerated article

brickman

Postby brickman » July 27th, 2015, 6:11 pm

Well educate the people stev.

Postby stev » July 27th, 2015, 6:17 pm

nah...too lazy

was just saying...vague details on how the actual exploit / attack is initiated

Postby M_2NR » July 27th, 2015, 8:32 pm

am... if yuh care about privacy... hacking... men tapping your phone, sending bugs...
1) don't use android
2) throw away all devices
3) use a foil hat

in the age we are living, any and everything is open... unless you're paying for encryption both ways, etc.

Postby stev » July 27th, 2015, 8:51 pm

:lol: foil hat

Postby S_2NR » July 27th, 2015, 8:53 pm

Who get M vex :lol:

Postby Trini Hookah » July 27th, 2015, 9:24 pm

S_2NR wrote:Who get M vex :lol:

I feel he try to unlock a bootloader recently :lol:

Postby M_2NR » July 27th, 2015, 10:25 pm

ah sorry. I getting old and I actually keeping the Sony because it works... generally. Bootloader on this locked and keys intact too :oops:

As we on dat.. anyone uses the built in voicemail on Xperia devices? I using it as I never got around to turning back on my voicemail... working epic so far.

Postby ismithx » July 28th, 2015, 8:45 am

Yeah it real nice, wish my Samsung had that

Postby M_2NR » July 28th, 2015, 9:07 pm

Bonus: I used Ivona Text to Speech for my custom message 8)

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » August 3rd, 2015, 1:35 am

S6 edge for sale if anyone's interested. Gorgeous phone.

Postby Chimera » August 3rd, 2015, 11:16 pm

whats the going price for a used note 3 or note 4 these days?

only seeing one or two in forums

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » August 4th, 2015, 3:02 am

Anyone with an edge device here ? On my friend's s6 edge I can't figure out how to make the edge screen light up ALONE when a notif is received and..I figured thats half of the purpose if it :|

Postby RASC » August 4th, 2015, 3:31 am

Jonathan_337 wrote:Anyone with an edge device here ? On my friend's s6 edge I can't figure out how to make the edge screen light up ALONE when a notif is received and..I figured thats half of the purpose if it :|

I don't believe its as interactive as the NOTE4 EDGE

Postby pete » August 4th, 2015, 5:42 am

Maybe using a flip case that covers the screen will turn it off?

Postby stev » August 4th, 2015, 10:41 am

what u guys think of the upcoming Nexus 5?

SO far the most accurate leak comes from GizmoChina:

5.2 inch Full HD 1920 x 1080 display
Snapdragon 620
4GB RAM
up to 64GB Internal Memory
3180mAh non-removable battery
(802.11ac Wifi, NFC, Bluetooth, Wireless Charging).

13MP Rear Facing Camera with a 6-element f/1.8 aperture lens, OIS, laser autofocus, and a dual-tone LED flash
4-megapixel front-facing camera with an RGB-IR sensor and Iris Detection
USB Type-C connector with QuickCharge 2.0
Front Facing Stereo Speakers and a Rear Power Button with an Integrated Fingerprint Sensor.

--details on the Snapdragon 620:

up to 1.8GHz Octa Core CPU (64bit)
4K at 30fps
1080p at 120fps
etc...

alexdeo655

Postby alexdeo655 » August 4th, 2015, 10:51 am

Oh nicee that's some serious specs on the new nexus, i can only imagine that price point though :/ still going to be worth it over any samsung product lol

Postby nervewrecker » August 4th, 2015, 9:18 pm

I think ill just get one of those yes.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » August 5th, 2015, 8:34 am

RASC wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:Anyone with an edge device here ? On my friend's s6 edge I can't figure out how to make the edge screen light up ALONE when a notif is received and..I figured thats half of the purpose if it :|

I don't believe its as interactive as the NOTE4 EDGE

Well.. that's stupid :| what's the point of it then lol

Postby stev » August 17th, 2015, 12:04 am

well i assume u guys already checked out the note 5 and the new nexus devices.....what are your thoughts?

how long do u think we have again before the death of the micro SD card in a mobile phone?

I dont think we will ever see a micro SD card slot in a samsung flagship again...tabs are another story.

bold but great step for samsung IMO.

on another note......the new LG Nexus 5 and Huawei Nexus 6 are pretty bad ass (if sources are correct).....'looks'...not so sure. lol

Postby nervewrecker » August 17th, 2015, 5:47 am

Couldn't find my otg cable. Ended up buying a few.
So anyone wants, $20.00 a cable.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 17th, 2015, 2:07 pm

M is for Marshmallow