The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Val

Re: The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby Val » June 27th, 2015, 7:46 pm

Well I couldn't get through with going back down to 5.0.1. But did install Franco r75 which does make the phone seem snappier. Battery life is now atrocious though.
That update you mentioned is for the nexus 6 not 5, the latter of which is what I own.

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » June 27th, 2015, 7:51 pm

Can't be any worse than 5.1.1, nexus 6 only gets around 3 hours screen on time before battery goes down to about 30%

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

Postby pete » June 28th, 2015, 1:50 pm

So I pulled apart the g2, scratched the tint off the glass by the proximity sensor and that didn't fix the problem. Luckily I took back the old screen and when I looked at it realised they didn't transfer the rubber insulator for the ps to the new screen. Swapped that back in and working fine now.

Postby M_2NR » June 28th, 2015, 8:06 pm

^ah boy
forgot to mention that. You hadda transfer a few things from the old one.

speedist

Postby speedist » June 28th, 2015, 10:08 pm

Recently i started getting random app download pop ups when i open an app. Especially whatsapp. Can't figure out what the problem is. Anyone ever had this problem? Running stock lollipop 5.0.1 on my S4.

Postby pete » June 29th, 2015, 12:15 pm

M_2NR wrote:^ah boy

Yeah, also I brought in the entire frame and screen. After resolving that issue I realised how freaking easy it would have been to do the replacement myself. oh well.

Postby S_2NR » June 29th, 2015, 12:57 pm

Dam. You should write a book pete

Postby pete » June 29th, 2015, 12:59 pm

That's not what the forum was for? Was just going to search my posts after a year or two and copy and paste. :)

Postby nervewrecker » June 29th, 2015, 6:59 pm

Argh, feeling for a new phone.
Nothing too big, as little bloatware as possible.

How are the HTC and lg phones on the bloatware?

Where stocks the nexus 5 locally?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » June 30th, 2015, 3:28 pm

just upgrade to a droid 4. ive got another one coming in this week. lol #droid4lyfe

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » June 30th, 2015, 4:10 pm

Guys have this tablet for sale
viewtopic.php?f=11&t=633728

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » June 30th, 2015, 6:50 pm

Why don't I have that connectivity services app on my n5? Says incompatible [FACE WITH TEARS OF JOY]

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Postby M_2NR » June 30th, 2015, 7:14 pm

pete wrote:
M_2NR wrote:^ah boy

Yeah, also I brought in the entire frame and screen. After resolving that issue I realised how freaking easy it would have been to do the replacement myself. oh well.

you didn't do it yourself? :shock:
man that's the fun of it.

searchingone

Postby searchingone » July 1st, 2015, 10:34 am

I upgraded my Nova Launcher. Meh phone feelin like new :oops:

Postby S_2NR » July 1st, 2015, 11:14 am

Nova launcher hasn't been updated since may though

Postby pete » July 1st, 2015, 11:28 am

When the digitizer was cracked I was using google now launcher as the size of the icons I could actually open any app. Now I've gone back to the stock LG launcher as it has smaller icons and double tap to lock works.

searchingone

Postby searchingone » July 1st, 2015, 12:56 pm

S_2NR wrote:Nova launcher hasn't been updated since may though

I haven't updated mine since maybe last year :oops:

Postby Spitfir3 » July 1st, 2015, 3:30 pm

bluesclues wrote:just upgrade to a droid 4. ive got another one coming in this week. lol #droid4lyfe

"upgrade" yuh say? that phone isn't going past ICS and that weak dual core isn't going to do very much for you

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » July 1st, 2015, 4:40 pm

Anybody know how to boost browsing speeds on a S3?

Or maybe change the channel on the router it connects to ?

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » July 2nd, 2015, 2:10 am

Anyone would be interested in my nexus 5? Thinking of selling soon

Postby DVSTT » July 2nd, 2015, 5:36 am

S_2NR wrote:Nova launcher hasn't been updated since may though

Aviate > All

Postby nervewrecker » July 2nd, 2015, 5:59 am

Jonathan_337 wrote:Anyone would be interested in my nexus 5? Thinking of selling soon

Gimme a Lil description nah.

Anyone will be interested in my n4? Might need a battery, every other day it needs charging. Battery at 30 - 40%, used to get more out of it.

Looking to buy either a n5 or g3, leaning towards the g3.

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » July 3rd, 2015, 3:07 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:Anyone would be interested in my nexus 5? Thinking of selling soon

Gimme a Lil description nah.

Anyone will be interested in my n4? Might need a battery, every other day it needs charging. Battery at 30 - 40%, used to get more out of it.

Looking to buy either a n5 or g3, leaning towards the g3.

I personally used a G3 and idk.. I wasn't as impressed with it as reviews and people said I should be. To me the N5 is smoother.

No box, just a charger and a Spigen clear case and a Tough armor case. No scratches on the screen it's flawless, has a tempered glass protector installed. The phone is probably nearing a year and I noticed the battery capacity drop a bit so I replaced it.

The back has a few scuffs but nothing major. Rooted as well but can go back stock easily.

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » July 3rd, 2015, 3:25 pm

Speak of the devil.. I just got a G3 to unlock lol. Anyone ever unlocked one?

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » July 3rd, 2015, 3:48 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:Speak of the devil.. I just got a G3 to unlock lol. Anyone ever unlocked one?

Yea I have, it's a pretty simple thing to do, check out XDA, you need to erase some files (the loki) and flash a modified loki via twrp recovery!

I did this for the Verizon model tho so depending on the carrier it may be different!

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » July 3rd, 2015, 6:15 pm

ImageImage

Quite literally the worst battery life I've ever gotten out of this phone nexus 6 running 5.1.1 it's absolutely horrid!

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » July 3rd, 2015, 6:21 pm

Mr.Bollywood wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:Speak of the devil.. I just got a G3 to unlock lol. Anyone ever unlocked one?

Yea I have, it's a pretty simple thing to do, check out XDA, you need to erase some files (the loki) and flash a modified loki via twrp recovery!

I did this for the Verizon model tho so depending on the carrier it may be different!

Thanks a lot man I'd check it out tonight.

Mr.Bollywood wrote:ImageImage

Quite literally the worst battery life I've ever gotten out of this phone nexus 6 running 5.1.1 it's absolutely horrid!

And there I am happy as hell when I get 4 hours SOT with my n5. On wifi I get abt 4 hours.. On data abt 2.

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 3rd, 2015, 6:27 pm

My HTC wildfire S had a problem with the lock/power button

Fixed it by injecting CRC contact cleaner and WD40 into the switch with a syringe/needle
Works good now.

Had it since 2012 and I got around to rooting it just now lolol

android 2.3.5 FTW

Postby nervewrecker » July 3rd, 2015, 6:57 pm

So its just not me getting horrid battery life?

I though my battery on its way out. Just so it start so I was wondering if it was OS.

Anyhew, taking EOI on my nexus 4.

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » July 3rd, 2015, 8:34 pm

Lol nah bro it's not only you, if it wasn't for this turbo charger I'd be so pissed with this nexus!

Good thing the oneplus two debuts in the end of July!