Re: THE OFFICIAL TROPICAL WEATHER THREAD 2023

Postby pugboy » February 2nd, 2024, 9:05 am

i feel it in back of roof too

Postby Chimera » February 2nd, 2024, 10:08 am

Yea I getting that since Wednesday . I start back to wear mask outside yesterday. My padnas who working hospital say alot of people getting admitted for breathing problems

Postby MaxPower » February 2nd, 2024, 10:11 am

I tell allyuh already, mask up…it helps significantly.

Also sinus flushes work wonders.

Postby redmanjp » February 2nd, 2024, 11:20 am

anyone have a link to the actual air quality levels?

Postby maj. tom » February 2nd, 2024, 11:30 am

matix

Postby matix » February 2nd, 2024, 1:00 pm

maj. tom wrote:This dust giving me a weird kind of dry metallic hint of taste in my sinus and roof of mouth.

Thought was me alone

Postby redmanjp » February 2nd, 2024, 1:38 pm

thanks

seems POS have it the worst

Postby redmanjp » February 8th, 2024, 9:19 am

More Sahara dust today

Postby Dizzy28 » February 8th, 2024, 9:47 am

redmanjp wrote:More Sahara dust today

Could taste it in the air

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » February 8th, 2024, 12:13 pm

Not soo bad down south. Sky looking blue.

Postby redmanjp » February 8th, 2024, 1:45 pm

"Moderate' in POS according to https://ei.weblakes.com/RTTPublic/DshBrdAQI

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 20th, 2024, 12:33 pm

Panama Canal in trouble!

Postby pugboy » February 23rd, 2024, 7:22 am

the worsest sahara dust they say expected today tomorrow

Postby Chimera » February 23rd, 2024, 9:36 am

worser than the worst ones from before?

why everytime it getting worserer and worserer

Postby alfa » February 23rd, 2024, 9:39 am

Imagine for the people who living in the actual Sahara where this originates from. We really lucky we

Postby pugboy » February 23rd, 2024, 11:52 am

update on solar attic fan

oct-nov ttec bill was approx 3900wh usage
fan was installed mid january so only used a couple weeks into dec-jan billing cycle
dec-jan24 bill was 3500wh

looking forward to next cycle for full difference
granted last october was much hotter with the extreme weather

Postby Chimera » February 23rd, 2024, 12:14 pm

mine makes a massive difference and i think mine is 55 W

i was going to upgrade from 18000 btu unit to a 24,000 and with the exhaust fan venting the hot ceiling air...the 18,000 have the place coldddd even on the hottest day

and i have it set on a smart switch timer as well
comes on from 330 am to 430 am i think to draw in cool air

comes back on from 1pm to 3pm to cool the place again when i know i reaching home like 5pm

i have a good temp gun and without the fan the difference is like 3 degrees celcius inside
and realistically i should have gone with a larger fan

Postby pugboy » February 23rd, 2024, 12:34 pm

you saved money not buying bigger unit and now place even colder than possible before and likely ttec $$$ reduction too

not often you get a win-win-win situation

wing

Postby wing » February 23rd, 2024, 12:44 pm

pugboy wrote:you saved money not buying bigger unit and now place even colder than possible before and likely ttec $$$ reduction too

not often you get a win-win-win situation
These are the sort of things that will help minimize the impact when the rates increase. Glad to see actual solutions instead of just complaining.

Postby Habit7 » February 23rd, 2024, 1:07 pm

Anybody can drop an Amazon link to what you are talking about?

Postby pugboy » February 23rd, 2024, 2:17 pm

mine is a roof mounted solar powered one
also from amazon
working real good so far

Postby pugboy » February 23rd, 2024, 2:18 pm

c355dcbf-0791-42cf-a2ef-698e760f0eda.jpeg

Postby Chimera » February 23rd, 2024, 3:04 pm

Pug have rich people thing

Postby redmanjp » February 23rd, 2024, 3:42 pm

pugboy wrote:mine is a roof mounted solar powered one
also from amazon
working real good so far

i'm guessing it have to be very waterproof too? heavy rain would be hitting it

Postby pugboy » February 23rd, 2024, 4:17 pm

well duuhh

any respectable roofing person can run the sheeting and flashing to facilitate

redmanjp wrote:
also from amazon
working real good so far

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » February 23rd, 2024, 4:46 pm

pugboy wrote:well duuhh

any respectable roofing person can run the sheeting and flashing to facilitate

redmanjp wrote:
also from amazon
working real good so far

If it is not solar powered, why not just cut a hole and install it in the under ceiling.

Postby pugboy » February 23rd, 2024, 4:55 pm

ideally you want to suck air out of a high point in the roof and fresh cooler air coming in from below
otherwise hot air will be trapped still as hot air rises

if you have a side wall you can simply bust a hole high enough and mount fans like his which are similar to restaurant extractor fans

i couldn’t do wall mount since my roof is a hip roof
a 4 sided pyramid

Postby Chimera » February 23rd, 2024, 8:06 pm

Yup it depends on yuh wall and roof

But the solar one would work for everyone
20240223_200600.jpg