Petrotrin refinery shut down

Re: Petrotrin refinery to shut down

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 30th, 2018, 11:26 am

Remind me again...what that march going to do?

Postby hydroep » September 30th, 2018, 11:37 am

Help some of dem with pot-belly lose weight...:|

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » September 30th, 2018, 11:50 am

Swutt involved?

Postby aaron17 » September 30th, 2018, 11:55 am

When will be the God of all marches?

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » September 30th, 2018, 1:17 pm

gastly369 wrote:Ahhh boi that feeling for working over 35+ years and the dependant medical benefits to get mashup also
https://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/lo ... f863a.html
I hope people finally wake up and see that this peenm govt = dogsheit...

Postby sMASH » September 30th, 2018, 1:43 pm

kstt wrote:
*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:So yall mean that 1000 ppl losing their jobs wouls cause financial.institutions to fall....oh plz...get real...

5000+ employees
Multiply by 3/4 family members
Contractors
Small businesses
Vendors
Etc.
The small insurance agent by me has a good few petrotrin and contractor customers. A good portion of their business will be reduced.
All that just came up in idle chat.

The direct job loss is one thing, my main problem is the business that depend on their spending to survive.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 30th, 2018, 2:33 pm

Yeah ok understood...the ripple down effect would be bad...but arent the workers getting some nice packages?.....

Wish they could have come up with some compromise to avoid the closure...workers could have taken a wage cut...

car

Postby car » September 30th, 2018, 2:36 pm

Rough calculation would put 95 million a month salary after tax for the PETROTRIN employees. This is money that would be in circulation so definitely there would be businesses that would take a hit.
And we haven’t even checked Petrotrin’s expenditures to contractors etc.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 30th, 2018, 2:42 pm

*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:Yeah ok understood...the ripple down effect would be bad...but arent the workers getting some nice packages?.....

Wish they could have come up with some compromise to avoid the closure...workers could have taken a wage cut...

1. Not cuz people getting a package means they will continue to spend.

2. Nice is a word. No details on actual package.

3. All Petrotrin workers been vilified by the public. It won’t be business as usual to keep giving money to the same public.

Postby nervewrecker » September 30th, 2018, 3:03 pm

Have a few companies that service petrotrin already say brace for job cuts.

So let them feel is petrotrin alone feeling it.

Fuel price increase is coming. Pepper thine anguses..

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » September 30th, 2018, 3:05 pm

hydroep wrote:Help some of dem with pot-belly lose weight...:|

Yes thank God PNM had the will to close Petrotrin down. This should have been done decades ago. It was a place of waste, mismanagement, nepotism and corruption. The inefficient operations were masked by the high prices of oil and products.

Whilst it is unfortunate workers will loose their jobs, they should have know this was inevitable. If you working on a ship common sense will dictate you should know how to swim or at least have a life jacket. These same workers never spared a thought for the lowly paid workers while making far above the national wage average. So fack all of them workers who crying now, go} home and plant bodi and if you cannot afford to feed yuh wife, PM me her number, I go organise she.

Postby nervewrecker » September 30th, 2018, 3:13 pm

randolphinshan wrote:

Yes thank God PNM had the will to close Petrotrin down. This should have been done decades ago. It was a place of waste, mismanagement, nepotism and corruption. The inefficient operations were masked by the high prices of oil and products.

Whilst it is unfortunate workers will loose their jobs, they should have know this was inevitable. If you working on a ship common sense will dictate you should know how to swim or at least have a life jacket. These same workers never spared a thought for the lowly paid workers while making far above the national wage average. So fack all of them workers who crying now, go} home and plant bodi and if you cannot afford to feed yuh wife, PM me her number, I go organise she.
Hear nah, you sound like you getting horn.

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » September 30th, 2018, 3:15 pm

randolphinshan wrote:

Quite the opposite pal wait and see, remember I told you

Postby nervewrecker » September 30th, 2018, 3:20 pm

randolphinshan wrote:

Quite the opposite pal wait and see, remember I told you
Me eh marrid but all dem married woman horning this rounds it seems. So if you horning, you eh special.

Me, I choose not to get tangled in that.

You cant afford dem men wife and gyul anyway.

car

Postby car » September 30th, 2018, 4:06 pm

8 of the 10 workers that supplied coveralls to PETROTRIN was dismissed on Friday.

Postby hydroep » September 30th, 2018, 4:11 pm

randolphinshan wrote:

An offshore worker once told me that while the money is good he always treats the opportunity as a contract job. His main advice to anyone getting into the field is NOT to take loans. Build yuh house and buy yuh car cash then save the rest because the nature of the job is such you never know when your throat will get buss.

The problem is many Petrotrin workers were lulled into a false sense of security. Throughout all the years of bobol the Government always stepped in and bailed them out. Add to that the apparent strength of the OWTU and it's easy to understand why they may have felt that way.

New paradigm yes, apparently they're setting the stage to buss people throat at WASA and T&TEC too. Public Servants better get with the program, no one is indispensable...:|

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » September 30th, 2018, 4:55 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:Yeah ok understood...the ripple down effect would be bad...but arent the workers getting some nice packages?.....

1. Not cuz people getting a package means they will continue to spend.

2. Nice is a word. No details on actual package.

3. All Petrotrin workers been vilified by the public. It won’t be business as usual to keep giving money to the same public.

The wage cut and other compromises was an excellent idea. Not sure why union or gov't didn't consider. But to add to what Bunny said, 1.1) there are over 1,200 people in the form of temporary/casual employees that might not even have a package. No need to expand on 2 and 3, Bunny said enough because it's hard to believe that after all the events that took place between the end of August and September men still hitting that Kool-Aid so hard. Gives new meaning to the term 'government juice'. :( Like our friend and resident redparty arsekisser, randolphinshan.

That's what makes this whole situation funny. We all knew the company needed restructuring, but some of you are outright rejoicing in someone else's misery, masking it behind the denouncement of nepotism and corruption and concern for our tax dollars, as though Trinidad will become a first world country, overnight, with the closure of Petrotrin. :lol: Miss me with that bs. If you care so much about weeding out the nefarious elements, why not suggest to the hero of the century, the Prime Minister, to go one step further. Don't just shut down Petrotrin to get rid of corruption. Draft legislation and introduce a bill in Parliament, to introduce a politically independent, watchdog authority to investigate and thus criminally prosecute those found guilty of corruption in any form and mismanagement of public funds and/or resources; past, present and future offenders. Draft it and get the Cabinet and Opposition to support it. That and a short boat ride to Tobago you will never see. Don't hold me to the short boat ride one though. Might happen eventually.

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » September 30th, 2018, 6:23 pm

randolphinshan wrote:

I seriously think that your dad should of pulled out and throw that sperm on the floor cause u r a waste of break SIR....if your are not aware is the peenm have petrotrin in this state all those fail projects gtl,ulsd..etc and bobol fake oil..etc the list goes on...u think it rite for the government too firetruck up and citizen have to pay....u are one of those ppl who tried to get a wok there and cud of never get it...so u toting more than a trailer truck...but hope when it time to pay for gas $6-10 a liter i hope your pockets big as your mouth...

kstt

Postby kstt » September 30th, 2018, 6:43 pm

You do know this whole closing down is to protect all the players in the fake oil scandal right?!

Why you think Moonilal asked Rowley what he did?

Postby sMASH » September 30th, 2018, 7:06 pm

Closing down the refinery killing multiple birds with one big stone. From removal of the forensic accounting evidence, to non non accountibility of the board, to getting kickback to sell off the assets to the 1%...

Simple. Elegant. Catastrophic

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 1st, 2018, 5:04 am

even if the fuel hike is not mentioned today...just wait until we start to import it

ingalook

Postby ingalook » October 1st, 2018, 7:15 am

PariaMan wrote:
sMASH wrote:Trinidad is the only country where buying gasoline and diesel is cheaper than buying crude and making gasoline and diesel
Remember they have to run the refinery at full capacity therefire they have to buy more than 100000 barrels per day of crude to add to our 40000 per day

The huge mega refineries in the states will be much more efficient that ours due to economies of scale

The only time a refinery makes sense is when there is a close supply of crude ( must be sufficient to satisfy maximum capacity which must large) and a big local market

Our refinery fails on both account

It is not even sensible for Guyana with its large reserves to run a refinery since they do not have a large local market

So what did we do with all the extra gasoline, aviation fuel, diesel etc. we produced? Did we dump it in the sea?

Or was Petrotrin the LEADING EARNER of foreign exchange?

Guyana has no refinery PRESENTLY because their massive breakthroughs in Oil discovery are relatively recent... if only there was a refinery close-by that could refine all that for them...

All that crude coming right here to refine, the owners of the refinery will make a big stink profit - but it won't be the people of T&T

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 1st, 2018, 8:09 am

A refinery must have a large local market to be profitable

Their are no plans government or private to build a refinery in Guyana because of the reasons stated

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 1st, 2018, 8:14 am

The actual profit on a barrel of crude oil to gasoline is about 2 US you can easily see why it is difficult to make a profit unless all condition are right the size of the refinery must be huge the local market must be big and cost must be under tight control

Postby tr1ad » October 1st, 2018, 8:18 am

sinister_14 wrote:I seriously think that your dad should of pulled out and throw that sperm on the floor cause u r a waste of break SIR....if your are not aware is the peenm have petrotrin in this state all those fail projects gtl,ulsd..etc and bobol fake oil..etc the list goes on...u think it rite for the government too firetruck up and citizen have to pay....u are one of those ppl who tried to get a wok there and cud of never get it...so u toting more than a trailer truck...but hope when it time to pay for gas $6-10 a liter i hope your pockets big as your mouth...

current government alone?

yuh sure?

kstt

Postby kstt » October 1st, 2018, 8:32 am

If oil price is $70 and our budget is pegged at $50

Where does the extra income go? Inclusive of increased income from no subsidy on fuel which we had previously

Postby Redman » October 1st, 2018, 8:36 am

Last fin year it reduced borrowing s

Actually the subsidy would be larger than budgeted due to the same higher than expected oil.

So we probably spent more on the subsidy while getting more from oil.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 1st, 2018, 9:07 am

ingalook wrote:
PariaMan wrote:
sMASH wrote:Trinidad is the only country where buying gasoline and diesel is cheaper than buying crude and making gasoline and diesel
Remember they have to run the refinery at full capacity therefire they have to buy more than 100000 barrels per day of crude to add to our 40000 per day

The huge mega refineries in the states will be much more efficient that ours due to economies of scale

The only time a refinery makes sense is when there is a close supply of crude ( must be sufficient to satisfy maximum capacity which must large) and a big local market

Our refinery fails on both account

It is not even sensible for Guyana with its large reserves to run a refinery since they do not have a large local market

So what did we do with all the extra gasoline, aviation fuel, diesel etc. we produced? Did we dump it in the sea?

Or was Petrotrin the LEADING EARNER of foreign exchange?

Guyana has no refinery PRESENTLY because their massive breakthroughs in Oil discovery are relatively recent... if only there was a refinery close-by that could refine all that for them...

All that crude coming right here to refine, the owners of the refinery will make a big stink profit - but it won't be the people of T&T

I attended a Research Day held by UTT at NAPA about two months ago to showcase their faculty research projects. One of the sessions was on the energy industry and was done by an Economist. He said that Methanol was the largest forex earner for Trinidad and Tobago. Off course he had charts and slides etc so as much.

kstt

Postby kstt » October 1st, 2018, 12:28 pm

kstt wrote:
kstt wrote:
*$kїđž!™ wrote:So yall mean that 1000 ppl losing their jobs wouls cause financial.institutions to fall....oh plz...get real...

5000+ employees
Multiply by 3/4 family members
Contractors
Small businesses
Vendors
Etc.

Retirees
21,000 members of the medical plan

St Peter's and Beach Camp teachers and students