Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby bluefete » May 20th, 2017, 7:30 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:There's an email option but apparently, it's only for owners living abroad.

So they could do it for those living in foreign but we living here MUST suffer by lining up or putting it in a box.

That, there people, is true 3rd world banana republic thinking!!!

Any progressively thinking government would have allowed locals to drop in by e-mail as well.

Postby matr1x » May 20th, 2017, 8:45 am

The information is a goldmine for bandits. Anyone ask yet where the suppliment valuators from? You not going to like it

Average

Postby Average » May 20th, 2017, 9:12 am

matr1x wrote:The information is a goldmine for bandits. Anyone ask yet where the suppliment valuators from? You not going to like it

KFC?

Postby sMASH » May 20th, 2017, 9:30 am

matr1x wrote:The information is a goldmine for bandits. Anyone ask yet where the suppliment valuators from? You not going to like it

That is why I don't want them IN ur house... the people may not be criminals with records, but just like the pricemart incident, they could pass on the info to other parties who would then commit the invasion. After they see Austin have and how to navigate through the house.

Postby sMASH » May 20th, 2017, 10:00 am

the story itself is quite a story, but why i posted it here is because of the legal tennis match, and how the people still lost.
but it is recognized as a great injustice. yet the law doesn't have the same value.
and after the government and the law stops seeking the interest of the people, what is left to do?............

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 20th, 2017, 10:46 am

idk what is all the talk about victory for the people...clown imbert would still enforce the tax

GeneralHonda

Postby GeneralHonda » May 20th, 2017, 12:09 pm

novastar1 wrote:
GeneralHonda wrote:Lodged my form today at the POS office. Lots of people outside who were now asking for forms, had nothing ready and complaining. I had my completed info. and was in and out in under 10 mins. receipt in hand.

10 minutes you not gonna get back
I feel you spent more time than that though

Nope, a staff member was taking forms from those who had their paperwork in order and proceeded with issuing a receipt. Those who were there longer had multiple properties to do or had nothing filled out. My neighbour went and he spent about 15 mins. What took the time was the traffic on Park Street that was practically gridlocked. I only gave 3 items that the government has access to: Copy of Deed, Copy of 2009 L&B tax receipt and the last WASA bill. Only filled out questions 1-4 on the form and did not put a rental value. There is a dropbox that can be used but I would not advise on that since my experience with those facilities at other govt offices is that things get lost.

Postby toyolink » May 20th, 2017, 12:09 pm

I do believe that the majority of the population have absolutely no problem with having to pay property tax.
The issues which are cause for concern must be;
-The tax must be implemented in accordance with lawful provisions of the approp. act.
-Many are uneasy with the manner in which relevant infor. is being solicited.
-It is difficult to accept the retroactive liability being placed on citizens (matching of revenue to services and
the fact is things were not in place).
-The threat of penalties being levied if the VRF is not filed 'in time' (the illegitimate document in law).
Unfortunately, the problem seems to again reside in the state inability to comply with the provisions of the law/act and execute a proper implementation exercise.
Really its all about inefficiencies in how gov't is going about its work and like everybody must comply in the laws of the land.
The final position of the courts after appeal(s) etc. would be very interesting.

Postby toyolink » May 20th, 2017, 12:11 pm

toyolink wrote:I do believe that the majority of the population have absolutely no problem with having to pay property tax.
The issues which are cause for concern must be;
-The tax must be implemented in accordance with lawful provisions of the approp. act.
-Many are uneasy with the manner in which relevant infor. is being solicited.
-It is difficult to accept the retroactive liability being placed on citizens (matching of revenue to services and
the fact is things were not in place).
-The threat of penalties being levied if the VRF is not filed 'in time' (the illegitimate document in law).
Unfortunately, the problem seems to again reside in the state inability to comply with the provisions of the law/act and execute a proper implementation exercise.
Really its all about inefficiencies in how gov't is going about its work and like everybody must comply with the laws of the land.
The final position of the courts after appeal(s) etc. would be very interesting.

Postby RedVEVO » May 20th, 2017, 12:17 pm

Again Tuners,

... "Peake further submitted that it was a voluntary exercise whereby citizens could engage in the process of valuation before the commissioner moved forward with any other action... " Guardian 05/20/2107

The VRF is illegal .

The injunction was given to block Gov't attempt to scam the TT citizens .

Protest, protest, protest !

Axe The Tax

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 20th, 2017, 12:21 pm

If I knew how to email bomb that e mail address I would.

GeneralHonda

Postby GeneralHonda » May 20th, 2017, 12:21 pm

GeneralHonda wrote:LOL. I am against it but on the other hand, once I pay that tax and others do the same, the govt can no longer say they are unable to put humps, drains, road marking etc. provided the people hold them accountable. We as people need to know to strike out rather than simply whimper at the end of the day. Peaceful protests do not strike fear. Fear is what needs to be induced into both the politicians and the criminals (same thing right).

I'm a tad curious
When you pay said tax, & the state fails to "humps, drains, road marking etc. provided the people hold them accountable", then what?
Stop pay the tax? that'd be against the law, so you'd essentially be a criminal, & dealt with according to law.
Protest? You can be ignored, or incarcerated, depending on how you protest
Not vote for them? You'll either vote in another set of crooks, vote out these crooks, or stay out altogether in which case they still get your vote.

I does always say, if yuh want to protest, & serious about your voice being heard, protest in the presence of those that cause you to want to protest in the 1st place. Campaign against the relevant ministries and the ministers & hold them personally accountable for their failure. Do this for all ministries, & politicians, in the ruling party & opposition, & only then you will see change.

I have fought many things in my life and nothing everything can be posted in a public forum when it come to the ministries and the people I have brought matters against and the outcomes. Right now I am harassing my councillor to fix my street. You know what I noticed the most about people. No one does a thing. They keep asking me when it is getting fixed but they do not call or do a thing. When you have little to no support it is frustrating.

GeneralHonda

Postby GeneralHonda » May 20th, 2017, 12:28 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:
GeneralHonda wrote:LOL. I am against it but on the other hand, once I pay that tax and others do the same, the govt can no longer say they are unable to put humps, drains, road marking etc. .

lol you still not getting any humps drains or road marking

that tax they collecting....they gonna use is to maintain Brian Lara Stadium

Maintain? Which govt maintains anything? If you see on my side, almost every 2 months they are cutting the grass to make a point and doing nothing else. I called the councillor and asked him rather than cutting my Bermuda grass into oblivion why not pave the road and put the 2 humps I requested. They came and marked the street for hump placement and the lines are now fading as well. As I said, it is frustrating.

Postby matr1x » May 20th, 2017, 12:52 pm

I suspect the money generated will be used to fund voter padding exercises

Postby RedVEVO » May 20th, 2017, 1:00 pm

The property tax collection monies goes into a "general fund" for use for
anything !

An example : TSTT decides to buy CW shares for $500 M they can do it
and there need not be any accountability.

Again this whole venture by the Gov't wrt 'property tax" is a scam on the TT Citizens .

The VRF information is illegal . Gov't has been caught "red" handed.

The injunction has been successful to block Gov't.

Axe The Tax

Postby Chimera » May 20th, 2017, 1:21 pm

GeneralHonda wrote:They came and marked the street for hump placement and the lines are now fading as well. As I said, it is frustrating.

i bet you someone has been paid to consult on where exactly to place those humps and another company has been paid to place those humps.

just you eh get them
wait for election time yuh will gt

10-01

Postby 10-01 » May 20th, 2017, 2:06 pm

Untitled.jpg
Untitled.jpg (30.93 KiB) Viewed 3407 times

let it sink in ... tax payers money going to fight against tax payers to enforce tax

:?

Postby Chimera » May 20th, 2017, 3:05 pm

yup saw that this morning

the irony of it eh

10-01

Postby 10-01 » May 20th, 2017, 5:28 pm

18555869_1085359004942410_7358535213819747316_n.jpg

i wonder how rowley felling ....

Postby RedVEVO » May 20th, 2017, 6:54 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:idk what is all the talk about victory for the people...clown imbert would still enforce the tax

The action is a victory .

It now depends on the Courts.

The Appeal of the Injunction will be heard next Monday .

Again,

Axe the Tax.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 20th, 2017, 8:01 pm

Tax should still be on ... The only thing that off is their forms and their plan to evaluate.

Postby RedVEVO » May 20th, 2017, 8:29 pm

The plan is to " Axe the Tax" forever ..

The People of Trinidad & Tobago will win .

The Gov't is trying to scam us - the citizens .

Citizens have the Power - use it " with full force."

It is high time we protest, protest, protest .

This Tax is unfair, and it is wrong.

Axe The Tax

Postby RedVEVO » May 20th, 2017, 11:05 pm

Al-Rawi said: “There are many ways for the property tax to be rolled out.” { Express 5/20/2017 }

He is apparently an enemy of the People of Trinidad & Tobago

He is threatening TT Citizens again ? Imbert say people want to pay tax and they " volunteer "
to give the information .

Gov't by the People , Gov't for the People , Gov't scam the People - The Al-Rawi Gov't ?

Postby RedVEVO » May 21st, 2017, 4:17 am

" ... No one should submit the Valuation Return Form (VRF) until the court makes a final pronouncement on the property tax, says Opposition Leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar ... "

Again,

Axe the Tax

Postby RedVEVO » May 21st, 2017, 4:18 am

“This tax will cripple many and bring our people to their knees as the financial hardship caused by its policies is oppressive, cruel and unjust,” said Persad-Bissesssar.

.... the “mad rush” to impose the property tax at a time when citizens are losing their jobs, the cost of living is ever increasing and people are being forced to spend money that they do not have to protect themselves from criminals is “cruel and heartless” ... "

Again,

Axe The Tax

Postby Redman » May 21st, 2017, 6:14 am

UML is back?

Postby maj. tom » May 21st, 2017, 6:21 am

With a new red panty!

I just hope ED get through this time with she. After that last Facebook hacking job...

Postby sMASH » May 21st, 2017, 6:47 am

if they remove the penalty for not VRF, and the penalty for not paying property tax, u would see how many people are actually willing to pay the property tax.

Postby rspann » May 21st, 2017, 7:12 am

Redman wrote:UML is back?

Nah, it's another puss y who was here before and playing tiger now. Toting real feelings and trying to make up for shortcomings.
Last edited by rspann on May 21st, 2017, 7:20 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby rspann » May 21st, 2017, 7:19 am

sMASH wrote:if they remove the penalty for not VRF, and the penalty for not paying property tax, u would see how many people are actually willing to pay the property tax.

This is a fact, people were only going along because they want to comply with the law and avoid prosecution . Imbert has to be real clueless to think otherwise. Nothing is wrong with a property tax , but that is only when you can be sure that it is fair and will be put to the correct usage. People was paying it for years and never once complained.