What is the PNM's plan for the economy?

Re: What is the PNM's plan for the economy?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 21st, 2016, 6:04 pm

Redman wrote:So Dragon,
what would be YOUR ideas for the economy.
I assume that they are not low hanging fruit or intellectually bankrupt

Im looking forward to the solutions that will prove that you know what yuh talking bout.

thx.

Good luck. Last time I asked him he said he didn't know the details. When given some details he started to beat up. He claimed its for technocrats to come up with the stuff. Problem is if a technocrat doesn't put forward views that he likes he labels the technocrat a pnm.

drchaos

Re: RE: Re: What is the PNM's plan for the economy?

Postby drchaos » June 21st, 2016, 6:33 pm

Pirate wrote:
desifemlove wrote:
Pirate wrote:Corruption in public office needs to be made a criminal offence. That way we will have the revolving door syndrome where every 5 yrs another set in office repeating itself over and over while the citizens keep expecting something better...

it already is. you tink fraud, misppropriation iz already legal? issue maybe is detection, and too many PNM AND UNC sycophants looking to cover up any bobol dey "leaders" does do...

Sadly even in instances where funds "disappear" and ppl get found out nothing is done and successive governments fail to properly prosecute and than bam! Government changes and it is ah rinse and repeat with nothing recovered...
Things really sad yes!

If only someone could invent a laser gun when pointed at politicians it would give you print out as to if they were corrupt or not so you could catch them and charge them ...
Last edited by drchaos on June 21st, 2016, 6:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby rspann » June 21st, 2016, 6:36 pm

Then it wouldn't have any politicians free, and none would want to go up for office.

Postby Habit7 » June 21st, 2016, 6:42 pm

drchaos wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
drchaos wrote:An increase on health surcharge is a know much more steady level of income where as a consumption tax is not as predictable ....

So 302,000 ppl, about half the labour force, earns less than $6000 a month. You propose rather than getting 7% off of your $3000 phone, those <$6000 salary workers should have their health surcharge increase from $33 to $514?

Habbit you have no imagination ... How bout a tiered system?
Tier the blasted income tax as well!

Imagination you say? You never said a tiered health surcharge, only now that I showed increasing health surcharge to fund Couva would be even more of a burden, you jumped to tier. Even if it is tiered, increase in health surcharge to the <$6000 per month ppl will still be significant on their already small income, especially since govt just increasd income tax avoidance to those $5000-$6000 in an effort to further ease the strain. Likewise it would unfair to increase the surcharge to the >$6000 crew as with a tiered system this would be likely >$1000 a month in health surcharge. Many in this group already pay for personal and group health insurance and eases the burden on the public healthcare service. If ppl's health surcharge costs go up they can't afford to go to private doctors, they will have further clog up the already overburdened health centres. That is my imagination.

7% not going to deter anybody from buying online, just like Florida's 6% sales tax to Amazon doesn't deter anybody. So your imagination runs wild with Imbert and party financiers all other folly, while I am seeing a stated plan to fund the running of an expensive hospital. Time will tell if it works or not.

De Dragon wrote:Once more attempting to and failing to look like you are intellectual and knowing :lol:
There are such things as re-negotiating or even cancelling a loan( look it up). HUNDREDS of projects get postponed, delayed or outright cancelled during protracted downturns. Yes there will be fallout, but billion dollar projects that cannot be afforded, or worse yet, borrowing money to finance non-income generating items is not only asinine, but shows a glaring lack of planning or expertise. Yet the PNM seems to think that is the way to go. Maybe they know something that we don't, but when they are not forthcoming with a proper explanation, and yes I did inform myself by reading ImpBert's long winded, self-serving ,smug, arrogant and wholly inappropriate response in Parliament.
It has been widely posited that these oil and gas prices will remain depressed for some time, and what has taken from 2007 to now to accumulate, and which surely will take much longer to re-accumulate, will be frittered away like confetti. Once again, lack of a proper long-term financial plan from a man who is "playing" Minister but who seems intent on driving this country into the ground for the benefit of a very few because when creative solutions are needed, he can only resort to low hanging fruit and intellectually bankrupt ideas and "solutions"
Renegociating the loan still doesn't change the value owed, and cancelling the loan can only be done by what was set out in the contract agreement. If you know on what grounds the loans can be cancelled please share it, otherwise...

The public hospital might not generate revenue but is infrastructural. What is the use of trying to make money when quality of healthcare decreasing? You so want to criticise PNM you cussing them for completing a project started by the PP, which I commended them for.

I can't believe that politics making allyuh men reject a hospital. Especially you De Dragon who said nothing while PP was constructing it but now that PNM in power suddenly you realise it wrong.

Men acting like improved healthcare infrastructure is a rapid rail yes...

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 21st, 2016, 6:47 pm

Why are the politicians getting a raise?

Don't they already make enough money from being corrupt?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 21st, 2016, 6:51 pm

No boy Habbit between you and me, only you think that an increased health surcharge is a problem.

You prefer to throw money unnecessarily at the florida state where as I prefer to spend my money on the health care so it can be improved.

Postby De Dragon » June 21st, 2016, 7:24 pm

Habit7 wrote:
drchaos wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
drchaos wrote:An increase on health surcharge is a know much more steady level of income where as a consumption tax is not as predictable ....

So 302,000 ppl, about half the labour force, earns less than $6000 a month. You propose rather than getting 7% off of your $3000 phone, those <$6000 salary workers should have their health surcharge increase from $33 to $514?

Imagination you say? You never said a tiered health surcharge, only now that I showed increasing health surcharge to fund Couva would be even more of a burden, you jumped to tier. Even if it is tiered, increase in health surcharge to the <$6000 per month ppl will still be significant on their already small income, especially since govt just increasd income tax avoidance to those $5000-$6000 in an effort to further ease the strain. Likewise it would unfair to increase the surcharge to the >$6000 crew as with a tiered system this would be likely >$1000 a month in health surcharge. Many in this group already pay for personal and group health insurance and eases the burden on the public healthcare service. If ppl's health surcharge costs go up they can't afford to go to private doctors, they will have further clog up the already overburdened health centres. That is my imagination.

7% not going to deter anybody from buying online, just like Florida's 6% sales tax to Amazon doesn't deter anybody. So your imagination runs wild with Imbert and party financiers all other folly, while I am seeing a stated plan to fund the running of an expensive hospital. Time will tell if it works or not.

De Dragon wrote:Once more attempting to and failing to look like you are intellectual and knowing :lol:
There are such things as re-negotiating or even cancelling a loan( look it up). HUNDREDS of projects get postponed, delayed or outright cancelled during protracted downturns. Yes there will be fallout, but billion dollar projects that cannot be afforded, or worse yet, borrowing money to finance non-income generating items is not only asinine, but shows a glaring lack of planning or expertise. Yet the PNM seems to think that is the way to go. Maybe they know something that we don't, but when they are not forthcoming with a proper explanation, and yes I did inform myself by reading ImpBert's long winded, self-serving ,smug, arrogant and wholly inappropriate response in Parliament.
It has been widely posited that these oil and gas prices will remain depressed for some time, and what has taken from 2007 to now to accumulate, and which surely will take much longer to re-accumulate, will be frittered away like confetti. Once again, lack of a proper long-term financial plan from a man who is "playing" Minister but who seems intent on driving this country into the ground for the benefit of a very few because when creative solutions are needed, he can only resort to low hanging fruit and intellectually bankrupt ideas and "solutions"
Renegociating the loan still doesn't change the value owed, and cancelling the loan can only be done by what was set out in the contract agreement. If you know on what grounds the loans can be cancelled please share it, otherwise...

The public hospital might not generate revenue but is infrastructural. What is the use of trying to make money when quality of healthcare decreasing? You so want to criticise PNM you cussing them for completing a project started by the PP, which I commended them for.

I can't believe that politics making allyuh men reject a hospital. Especially you De Dragon who said nothing while PP was constructing it but now that PNM in power suddenly you realise it wrong.

Nice job of trying to pick out from what I said when I plainly stated that not 1 but 2 new hospitals are foolhardy when you cannot even "complete" and "staff" one. I never stated that I was against any hospital, merely that if all that fuss about funding/staffing for a completed hospital, why rush to build 2 more when the economy clearly will not rebound by the time they are to be finished.

Postby De Dragon » June 21st, 2016, 7:28 pm

Habit7 wrote:
drchaos wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

Any properly negotiated contract, which should include one of this magnitude/cost will have an "escape" clause that is acceptable, and satisfactory to all parties beforehand, as economic circumstances, Governments can change before a project can be executed. The problem I suspect is that the 2 additional hospitals are in PNM strongholds, so the cancellation will not be even considered simply for the negative PR, not to the constituencies, but the swing voters.

Postby De Dragon » June 21st, 2016, 7:33 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
Redman wrote:So Dragon,
what would be YOUR ideas for the economy.
I assume that they are not low hanging fruit or intellectually bankrupt

Im looking forward to the solutions that will prove that you know what yuh talking bout.

thx.

Good luck. Last time I asked him he said he didn't know the details. When given some details he started to beat up. He claimed its for technocrats to come up with the stuff. Problem is if a technocrat doesn't put forward views that he likes he labels the technocrat a pnm.

Oooh the gangs' all here now! The last time I listed the things I believe could help to turn the economy around, but like your cohort Habit7 you conveniently left that part out to advance your own pathetic point. Maybe you could ask him to bump that post like he loves to do irrelevantly to also bolster his own feeble points. I guess being paid to do what you are supposed to do is an alien concept to you all. Hardly surprising as you all are PNM supporters after all. :wink: :lol:

Postby Habit7 » June 21st, 2016, 7:59 pm

De Dragon wrote:Nice job of trying to pick out from what I said when I plainly stated that not 1 but 2 new hospitals are foolhardy when you cannot even "complete" and "staff" one. I never stated that I was against any hospital, merely that if all that fuss about funding/staffing for a completed hospital, why rush to build 2 more when the economy clearly will not rebound by the time they are to be finished.

Are you informed that there already are Arima and Portin Fortin Hospitals that are staffed and funded, unlike the brand new Couva hospital? Therefore, at an initial level, all that is needed is to transfer of staff and operations to the new buildings and eventually scale it up to match its potential as additional staff and operations are funded. The same thing happened with EWMSC complex in the 1980's in the midst of a worst recession. It took PP 2.5yrs to finish the 80% complete Scarborough hospital even with an already existing staff. The Couva Hospital will open, no one in govt has said otherwise.

I know I just rebutted the crux of your argument so I await the next position you will jump to.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 21st, 2016, 9:21 pm

Funny you mentioned the Scarborough Hospital ... Started by the Panday regime in 2000. That means it took your party 9 years to not complete it.

Given the PNM's track record here they will be out of office before the couva hospital open.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 21st, 2016, 9:30 pm

All I can say is nurses are being trained to be transferred from other hospitals to Couva. Plans are being made to open it. Timeframe? I don't know.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 21st, 2016, 10:45 pm

Trained to be transferred?
They being trained or being transferred, as nurses who are working at other institutions are already trained.
Takes 3 years to train a batch of nurses, add to that the time it can take a nurse to pass nursing council exams maybe another year for some (some never pass).
Biggest problem is where will they find the specialists to run the medical teams? Removal of benefits, 7 years to get a salary increase, refusal to pay back pay and low salaries vs what can be made out of the country or in private practice has left a sour taste in the mouths of specialists locally. They can't fill specialist positions in the hospitals we have.

Last year June/July they had already approached nurses from SFGH and CDHF A&E to be transferred and had a list, can only speak for the A&E. A&E would be easy to staff and run (not at an optimum lvl but functional) but the rest would be a nightmare to staff unless you poach staff from other institutions which already do not run with a full compliment of staff.

CDHF A&E has to be moved to the new hospital contrary to what Habbit says. No point in having two fully functional A&E's servicing the same area when they can't even manage to fully staff one of them.

So I do not believe they will have this hospital fully functional (stress on the fully functional) by the time they leave office. They may be able to do it with a skeleton staff for PR purposes but that would be bad for joe public who has to seek medical care there.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 22nd, 2016, 12:12 am

Nurse told me that they have training courses for nurses working at sfgh. At the end of the training you would be transferred to the couva hospital. The training is geared towards bringing nurses up to scratch with couva equipment I guess. She works in pediatrics in sfgh. Can't say for what other sections if they also being approached.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 22nd, 2016, 12:24 am

Nurses don't really operate complex equipment, that's what the technicians are for eg. Xrays, CT, MRI. Probably the most complex thing they will operate on a ward are electronic controls for the beds, IV pumps and ECG machines which they are taught while they are students.

You sure she is not a student nurse?
Or maybe the training is in customer care/relations?

Once you become a RN there are courses you can do like midwifery, phlebotomy, ICU training and trauma nursing to name a few but they don't elevate your status/pay/demand. These further courses are for nurses personal experience and add nothing to their job spec's. Should be different but that's how the RHA's treat nurses who want to elevate themselves.

Postby Habit7 » June 22nd, 2016, 7:28 am

IMF Executive Board Concludes 2016 Article IV Consultation with Trinidad and Tobago
Press Release No.16/298
June 20, 2016

On May 20, 2016, the Executive Board of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) concluded the Article IV Consultation1 with Trinidad and Tobago.

Trinidad and Tobago’s output has continued to shrink while declines in global energy prices are leading to surging fiscal deficits and are pushing the external current account into deficit. Energy output is sharply lower due to supply-side constraints. Combined with weak non-energy growth, real GDP is estimated to have declined 2.1 percent in 2015 and is expected to fall another 2.7 percent in 2016. The lower energy prices and weaker growth have contributed to a steep fall in fiscal revenues, raising the FY 2014/15 (October to September) deficit to 4.7 percent of GDP, and once the full-year impact is felt, to a projected 10.9 percent of GDP in FY 2015/16.2 In addition, lower energy prices reversed Trinidad and Tobago’s usual current account surplus, with the current account estimated at a deficit of 5.4 percent in 2015, while gross official reserves fell from US$11.3 billion to US$9.8 billion during 2015. Core inflation remained anchored at 2.0 percent yoy in 2015, while headline inflation fell to 1.5 percent (yoy). Unemployment remained low (3.6 percent in September 2015), in part as make-work programs continue to facilitate employment, though layoffs are picking up.

The new government has undertaken fiscal adjustments intended to bring the economy back into balance. It introduced new revenue measures with the FY 2015/16 budget, and made further adjustment measures mid-year when it became clear that even the seemingly conservative energy price assumptions in the budget were overoptimistic, due to the subsequent continued decline in energy prices. The Central Bank began tightening monetary policy to mitigate capital outflows beginning in late 2014, before pausing in January 2016. Although the currency has been allowed to depreciate modestly against the U.S. dollar, external balance models suggest the currency remains substantially overvalued (although the degree of overvaluation is subject to uncertainty due to historical shortcomings in domestic data), while foreign exchange shortages persist. Banks remain strong, while there has been some progress on structural reforms, notably with respect to a significant start on efforts to remedy statistical shortcomings
Executive Board Assessment3

Executive Directors noted that the recent sharp decline in energy prices is posing major challenges to Trinidad and Tobago’s economy. Directors welcomed the efforts taken by the new government and encouraged further policy actions, including additional fiscal consolidation and structural reforms, to preserve macroeconomic stability, diversify the economy, and enhance medium-term growth prospects.

Directors concurred that a strong medium-term fiscal plan is needed to re-establish a sustainable fiscal path and ensure debt sustainability. They commended the authorities for the important steps taken thus far and encouraged them to put in place a comprehensive fiscal framework to guide their multi-year adjustment efforts. Directors agreed that priority should be given to broadening the revenue base with a comprehensive VAT reform, improving tax administration, phasing out fuel subsidies, while improving targeted social protection. In this context, they also welcomed the authorities’ intention to pursue a comprehensive expenditure review.

Directors supported the current pause in monetary policy tightening given the challenges to growth. They noted that while the immediate policy priority is to focus on maintaining external balance, addressing foreign exchange shortages on current transactions would be important. Directors noted that a well-communicated move to greater exchange rate flexibility, as part of a comprehensive demand-management package, would help strengthen the foreign exchange market and support the needed macroeconomic adjustment. Some Directors highlighted the importance of mitigating volatility in the foreign exchange market, and recommended a careful adjustment strategy.

Directors noted that strong comprehensive structural reforms are needed to achieve sustained and inclusive growth over the medium term. They emphasized the importance of pushing ahead with energy sector taxation reforms, addressing inefficiencies in the public service, and strengthening financial sector supervision and regulation, particularly the non-bank financial regulatory framework. They also welcomed ongoing efforts to further strengthen the AML/CFT framework.

Directors encouraged continued efforts to reform the labor market, improve the business climate, and make further progress on the establishment of a tax policy unit and the National Statistical Institute to address the remaining shortcomings.

https://www.imf.org/external/np/sec/pr/2016/pr16298.htm

Postby Redman » June 22nd, 2016, 7:35 am

That is more PNM spin propaganda and heresy.
They hack the IMF site.
:roll: :roll:

BRZ

Postby BRZ » June 22nd, 2016, 7:40 am

So why doesn't the gobbment just implement HIGH TAxes on Cigarettes and Alcohol rather than online taxes??? it only makes sense! then again..... nvr mind.........

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 22nd, 2016, 9:34 am

The IMF ... one of the most morally bankrupt institutions in the world.

The fact that they gave this gov and the last more or less positive reviews show that they don't have our best interest at heart.

Didn't Rowley warn you about getting in bed with the IMF and here you go using them to justify this and the last government's position.

Postby Habit7 » June 22nd, 2016, 10:34 am

drchaos wrote:The fact that they gave this gov and the last more or less positive reviews show that they don't have our best interest at heart.

Didn't Rowley warn you about getting in bed with the IMF and here you go using them to justify this and the last government's position.

The IMF didn't give the PP good reviews, at least not recently, http://m.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-07-10 ... n-policies they warned them to do the policies they are commending the PNM for doing

The IMF does surveillance, technical assistance and lending. We are not getting in bed with them to borrow. However no matter your opinion of the IMF, their surveillance reports are important to international investors.

Postby 16 cycles » June 22nd, 2016, 10:54 am

Habit7 wrote:......Are you informed that there already are Arima and Portin Fortin Hospitals that are staffed and funded, .........

http://www.health.gov.tt/moh-healthfaci ... aspx?id=24

was this upgraded to a hospital??

asking out of ignorance...

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: What is the PNM's plan for the economy?

Postby Habit7 » June 22nd, 2016, 12:56 pm

16 cycles wrote:
Habit7 wrote:......Are you informed that there already are Arima and Portin Fortin Hospitals that are staffed and funded, .........

http://www.health.gov.tt/moh-healthfaci ... aspx?id=24

was this upgraded to a hospital??

asking out of ignorance...

Nope, still a district health facility.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 22nd, 2016, 2:50 pm

So habit upgraded and down graded the Arima facility in the space of 24 hours.

He was claiming it was a hospital so he could justify his erroneous point of moving staff from the old facility to the new one.

I don't think he realises the staff level difference between a dhf and a hospital. Maybe 1 or two departments but nothing else.

Postby Habit7 » June 22nd, 2016, 5:52 pm

But weren't you just advocating for that?
drchaos wrote:Dem Yellow and Mellow supporters can rail against what they like cause they are as mindless as your Red and Ready club ... But my point is sort out and staff the Couva hospital (which should have been done within 4 months of taking the office) before handing out more mega contracts for hospitals they claim they can't staff or afford to run. The A&E, Out patient clinic's and radiology services are ready. The plan was to move the Couva DHF A&E/ radiology services as they are overwhelmed where they are atm.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 22nd, 2016, 6:12 pm

Yup 1 or 2 departments.
Dunno where you going to find staff for wards as DHF's don't have them ...

Like you forget how to read halfway thru my post dey?

Postby Habit7 » June 22nd, 2016, 7:04 pm

^^^I might say that about you.

Habit7 wrote:Are you informed that there already are Arima and Portin Fortin Hospitals that are staffed and funded, unlike the brand new Couva hospital? Therefore, at an initial level, all that is needed is to transfer of staff and operations to the new buildings and eventually scale it up to match its potential as additional staff and operations are funded. The same thing happened with EWMSC complex in the 1980's in the midst of a worst recession. It took PP 2.5yrs to finish the 80% complete Scarborough hospital even with an already existing staff. The Couva Hospital will open, no one in govt has said otherwise.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 22nd, 2016, 8:04 pm

You can't eventually scale up a DHF to match a hospital.

Scale up means you already have existing structure of all wards and departments and you expand them.

DHF's are very simple in their operation vs hospitals, they have out patient clinic's, A&E, limited pharmacies, lab and radiological services.

So the answer is no habit ... no.

Postby De Dragon » June 22nd, 2016, 9:30 pm

Habit7 wrote:
De Dragon wrote:Nice job of trying to pick out from what I said when I plainly stated that not 1 but 2 new hospitals are foolhardy when you cannot even "complete" and "staff" one. I never stated that I was against any hospital, merely that if all that fuss about funding/staffing for a completed hospital, why rush to build 2 more when the economy clearly will not rebound by the time they are to be finished.

Are you informed that there already are Arima and Portin Fortin Hospitals that are staffed and funded, unlike the brand new Couva hospital? Therefore, at an initial level, all that is needed is to transfer of staff and operations to the new buildings and eventually scale it up to match its potential as additional staff and operations are funded. The same thing happened with EWMSC complex in the 1980's in the midst of a worst recession. It took PP 2.5yrs to finish the 80% complete Scarborough hospital even with an already existing staff. The Couva Hospital will open, no one in govt has said otherwise.

I know I just rebutted the crux of your argument so I await the next position you will jump to.

Once again failure to look like you know what the fack you are talking about!
Are you "informed" that Couva has a DHF? Are you aware that it is the most used DHF in Trinidad and Tobago? Are you aware that PCS Nitrogen recently funded a USD $4.0 million dollar lab adjacent to that DHF? Maybe the reason the Scarborough Hospital took so long was the materials for its completion were siphoned off to someone's private housing development, which is still incomplete BTW.

Postby De Dragon » June 22nd, 2016, 9:37 pm

Habit7 wrote:
drchaos wrote:The fact that they gave this gov and the last more or less positive reviews show that they don't have our best interest at heart.

The IMF didn't give the PP good reviews, at least not recently, http://m.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-07-10 ... n-policies they warned them to do the policies they are commending the PNM for doing

The IMF does surveillance, technical assistance and lending. We are not getting in bed with them to borrow. However no matter your opinion of the IMF, their surveillance reports are important to international investors.

Like you read a different, PNM version of that report? Where exactly are the "commendations"? I see that there are some acknowledgements, and a lot of things that are needed, but I don't see any "commendations"
Reports of this type tend to be dry, analytical summaries, they are not to be tainted, or at least they shouldn't be, by any emotion or feelings. They tend to leave that for the politicos and guys like Habit7 and them. :lol:

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 22nd, 2016, 9:57 pm

Habit7 wrote:

Once again failure to look like you know what the fack you are talking about!
Are you "informed" that Couva has a DHF? Are you aware that it is the most used DHF in Trinidad and Tobago? Are you aware that PCS Nitrogen recently funded a USD $4.0 million dollar lab adjacent to that DHF? Maybe the reason the Scarborough Hospital took so long was the materials for its completion were siphoned off to someone's private housing development, which is still incomplete BTW.

Oh yeah I totally forgot about that housing scandal!
http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,168757.html

In an interview at the offices of the Opposition Leader at Charles Street, Port-of-Spain, days before the convention, Rowley maintained the issue raised by the removal of materials from the public hospital site to his family’s private housing development at Mason Hall, had absolutely nothing to do with him or his wife. His wife hired a contractor, Warner (Construction and Sanitation) Limited, and that contractor sub-contracted another contractor, NHIC, who, independently, shifted materials.

Seems Rowley and Jack go way back! No wonder a certain individual have not been extradited as yet.

This is PM of T&T ladies and gentlemen.