***THE FARMERS CHED***

Re: ***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 23rd, 2016, 12:23 pm

Anyone knows if Kale does grow in Trinidad? ever plant? how easy is it to grow?

Postby X_Factor » February 23rd, 2016, 2:26 pm

easily grown
may be a lil bitter compared to imported and hydroponic grown
my issue was white flies...
I suppose to hav some pics

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 23rd, 2016, 2:33 pm

X_Factor wrote:easily grown
may be a lil bitter compared to imported and hydroponic grown
my issue was white flies...
I suppose to hav some pics

Doh make joke this is good news, I was now reading about the nutrition of Kale holy crap, this thing is a super food yes. I eh worried about bitter, once it nutritious and I eh hadda waste money on grocery.

If you find pics I would love to see it, I am thinking PVC pipes with pro mix and sand fill to grow them or plant them in my coconut estate. Up there the only thing I does have to worry about is ants really thats about it.

Postby pugboy » February 23rd, 2016, 2:59 pm

Friend grew in a simple pot the other day, didn't seem hard to grow but was not as big and leafy as foreign
I like kale, lately the supermarkets only seem to have smaller also.

bird9876

Postby bird9876 » February 23rd, 2016, 4:52 pm

Where can I get seedlings crate to buy

Postby Chimera » February 23rd, 2016, 5:59 pm

Most agri shops. Icecon near the airport as well has them good price

bird9876

Postby bird9876 » February 23rd, 2016, 6:50 pm

I need a lot what do price in south

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 23rd, 2016, 7:15 pm

bird9876 wrote:Where can I get seedlings crate to buy

I paid $10 today for a good size plastic crate in St Helena just after the old airport its between Japs and royal castle on the mainroad.

Now at this same agri shop I got a pack of broccoli seeds. Crosman seeds apparently.

I am going to do the impossible which is plant this and actually get broccoli in Tropics.

I hope it gets bigger than the one in this article

http://ranchodelicioso.com/broccoli-we- ... nce-again/

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » February 23rd, 2016, 7:20 pm

Anyone has photos of their ducks/ duck pens?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 23rd, 2016, 7:35 pm

Bird The crate holds 16x8

Please don't send me unnecessary private messages, just ask here in future

dnash1973

Postby dnash1973 » February 24th, 2016, 12:19 am

Ok thanks a lot all got the advice on the sticks

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » February 24th, 2016, 12:02 pm

Would a greenhouse prevent pests like aphids and white flies from attacking crops inside of it?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 24th, 2016, 1:00 pm

^ Yes it will. But how hot will that greenhouse get in this climate?

Postby *KRONIK* » February 24th, 2016, 1:18 pm

Pointman-IA wrote:Anyone has photos of their ducks/ duck pens?

1456334273157.jpg

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » February 24th, 2016, 2:11 pm

How about allyuh livestock farmers make a separate ched, and not clutter up this valuable ched with livestock which is another direction and area from gardening (plants).

Postby *KRONIK* » February 24th, 2016, 2:20 pm

But livestock is a type of farming!

Gardening is another!

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » February 24th, 2016, 2:35 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:But livestock is a type of farming!

Gardening is another!

I am not debating that. My post talked about 'livestock farmers' which means that i already acknowledge that livestock is a type of farming. The intent this thread was created was about agricultural farming. Livestock farming is such a voluminous area, which so many different options, techniques and considerations that it will take the thread in a whole other direction. So for the benefit of those with an interest in agriculture, and those with an interest in livestock it makes better sense to have each in their separate thread.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 24th, 2016, 3:22 pm

TrinbagoMan wrote:How about allyuh livestock farmers make a separate ched, and not clutter up this valuable ched with livestock which is another direction and area from gardening (plants).

^ Nonsense, pure rubbish talk, I like having everything nice and tidy in one thread I get fed valuable information on livestock farming that I would have never researched and this information will be of use to me later on.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Farmer

A farmer[1] (also called an agriculturer) is a person engaged in agriculture, raising living organisms for food or raw materials. The term usually applies to people who do some combination of raising field crops, orchards, vineyards, poultry, or other livestock.

Livestock farming is as big and important as typical gardening. Infact the average consumer spends more money on livestock produce than on typical gardening produce.

The amount of milk products I buy, Eggs, poultry etc easily beats the money I spend on vegetables.

You should look up the meaning of farming. As a matter of fact we had a discussion recently about this nasty stinking rotten imported chicken that selling for $7 a pound and is being used by restaurants without our knowledge.

Local poultry is of vastly superior quality and its also much safer. I see absolutely no reason for 2 threads on farming.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 24th, 2016, 3:34 pm

TrinbagoMan wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:But livestock is a type of farming!

Gardening is another!

I am not debating that. My post talked about 'livestock farmers' which means that i already acknowledge that livestock is a type of farming. The intent this thread was created was about agricultural farming. Livestock farming is such a voluminous area, which so many different options, techniques and considerations that it will take the thread in a whole other direction. So for the benefit of those with an interest in agriculture, and those with an interest in livestock it makes better sense to have each in their separate thread.

What voluminous area you talking about hoss?

This is Trinidad we does only mine Pig, Goat, Sheep, Duck, Chicken and Tilapia in this place.

Postby Chimera » February 24th, 2016, 4:43 pm

I agree that it should be separated

ent it have a fish and aquaculture thread?

in here people will talk about chemicals, fertilizers, where to get seedlings/plants/ supply of stakes, prices of produce

none of which would be applicable to livestock

allyuh doing as if duane does charge $100 to make a new topic

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » February 24th, 2016, 5:09 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
TrinbagoMan wrote:How about allyuh livestock farmers make a separate ched, and not clutter up this valuable ched with livestock which is another direction and area from gardening (plants).

^ Nonsense, pure rubbish talk, I like having everything nice and tidy in one thread I get fed valuable information on livestock farming that I would have never researched and this information will be of use to me later on.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Farmer

A farmer[1] (also called an agriculturer) is a person engaged in agriculture, raising living organisms for food or raw materials. The term usually applies to people who do some combination of raising field crops, orchards, vineyards, poultry, or other livestock.

Livestock farming is as big and important as typical gardening. Infact the average consumer spends more money on livestock produce than on typical gardening produce.

The amount of milk products I buy, Eggs, poultry etc easily beats the money I spend on vegetables.

You should look up the meaning of farming. As a matter of fact we had a discussion recently about this nasty stinking rotten imported chicken that selling for $7 a pound and is being used by restaurants without our knowledge.

Local poultry is of vastly superior quality and its also much safer. I see absolutely no reason for 2 threads on farming.

Why are you so defensive? I was not demeaning or attacking the importance of livestock farming. Please see my above post as i am not contesting that livestock farming is farming or that it is important.so all your long post about how much livestock products you buy, how important it is, that local poulry is superior, and your patronizing definition of a farmer was all irrelevant. It shows that you did not read my above post, as i already said i was not contesting that livestock is farming. My first post showed that i considered livestock to be farming.

You are ignorant (unaware) if you think that livestock farming is not an expansive area. The same way that 46 pages have been dedicated towards going into the intricacies of gardening agriculture it is the same thing that can be done for livestock. So no, i did not mean the number of animals people raised, but moreso the issues involved.

I was simply making the point, that developing the details of livestock farming (though not totally unrelated) is in a different direction to the information that has generally been flowing on these pages. Is that so hard to understand.
Last edited by TrinbagoMan on February 24th, 2016, 6:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » February 24th, 2016, 5:21 pm

Way sahhhh.

I wasn't expecting to raise the hornet nest.I

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 24th, 2016, 5:28 pm

Let us all let bygones be bygones.

Postby *KRONIK* » February 24th, 2016, 5:59 pm

Pointman-IA wrote:Way sahhhh.

I wasn't expecting to raise the hornet nest.I

I eh realize all this bacchanal woulda happen either way....

Carry on with allyuh crops

I go mind mih chicken and ducks and stay quiet

android79

Postby android79 » February 25th, 2016, 12:14 am

Like this is a ital thread? Allyuh doh eat meat awa?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 25th, 2016, 1:14 am

Does greenhouse farming exist in Trini? I talking about air conditioned ones to grow Strawberry and Grapes. Or is it simply cheaper to import rather than pay for 5000 watts in AC for the month?

Strawberry vines grow but they don't flower in this heat.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » February 25th, 2016, 11:49 am

cut through some bush weekend and much to my surprise.. found 3 orange trees and a grapefruit tree tucked away laiden on piece of our land. one grapefruit makin a whole jug of juice.. i in d game

this is what i call wealth. drinkin joos with no additives.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 25th, 2016, 10:15 pm

^ Yeah we have them citrus home really sweet orange you can't beat pure organic.

I set my broccoli seeds today so I guess we go know in 2 months how successful this experiment is I plant 24 plants. Lets see if this thing will really grow in Trinidad. I will be sure to post pics.

vidane

Postby vidane » February 26th, 2016, 9:25 am

Greenhouse farming does exists locally, however it is not popular because our climate is not conducive for such operations. What are more popular are Shade houses, covered top open side designs. Interacted with several persons regarding Greenhouses and most say that Trinidad is too hot for those fully enclosed structures. Got the opportunity to go into the PCS Nitrogen Model Farm and that thing was HOT.

Oh and just for the benefit of this group I think the expression should be, "let baigan be baigan" lol

gazaboyy

Postby gazaboyy » February 26th, 2016, 10:17 pm

250 plantain suckers, about to plant these tomorrow, soo happy right now, any advice anyone? Info etc greatly appreciated
1456539373391.jpg