Re: TSTT WiMax 4G/Hotspot and HSPA+ Thread

Postby ismithx » November 24th, 2012, 9:23 pm

yes it can... the ping is quite low

jsm1985

Postby jsm1985 » November 24th, 2012, 10:08 pm

christopherwilliams2 wrote:
jsm1985 wrote:Has anyone been able to use their phone as a mobile hotspot with their 4G plan? I've been unable to share my connection via my SGS3.

On a side note, 5GB is A LOT of data to use, I received 3.1 GB out of my 5 GB plan when I signed up on November 5th, and as of right now I still have 2.4 GB remaining, and my billing cycle renews tomorrow.

I use mine as a. Mobile hot spot all the time. An s3. Wifi tethering. What problem are you having?

Portable WiFi hotspot. I just tried it with another phone and the phone connects to the hotspot created by my SGS3, however the original device I tried to connect with (Dell Windows 7 laptop) is still unable to connect, it says Limited Internet Connectivity and i'm unable to browse. I don't have any other issues connecting to the internet via WiFi with my laptop though.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » December 4th, 2012, 3:30 pm

Anyone travelled since their 4g upgrade. Trying to figure out my roaming options.

Postby ismithx » December 4th, 2012, 9:15 pm

roaming....... u prolly gonna get r4ped.....

Postby S_2NR » December 4th, 2012, 9:20 pm

Chiney wrote:Anyone travelled since their 4g upgrade. Trying to figure out my roaming options.

Calling *100 is cheaper than a plane ticket :|

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » December 4th, 2012, 9:32 pm

S_2NR wrote:
Chiney wrote:Anyone travelled since their 4g upgrade. Trying to figure out my roaming options.

Ouch

Postby Rooki3 » December 4th, 2012, 11:30 pm

Rofllll

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 6th, 2012, 10:47 am

Has the apn used for 4g changed from what it was for edge?

Edge apn is "internet"

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » December 6th, 2012, 11:05 am

4g apn is "bconnected"

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 6th, 2012, 11:09 am

I was now about to delete my question as search results said that its the same as with edge.

Bconnected seems to be the apn for prepaid 4g. Guess I should have been more accurate in my question.

Thanks

Chiney

Postby Chiney » December 6th, 2012, 3:52 pm

S_2NR wrote:

Lol...u got ur laugh

But no help there either.... they have some stupid CSRs

Postby Stephon. » December 6th, 2012, 5:28 pm

Apn for 4G is internet for post paid. And bconnected for struggling-paid

Postby M_2NR » December 6th, 2012, 7:53 pm

It will be dependent on the carrier.
http://www.bmobile.co.tt/services/roami ... r-listing/

their website is littered with info all over.

Postby pioneer » December 19th, 2012, 1:19 pm

What's happening with bmobile today?...calls failing and data isn't working

Postby ismithx » December 19th, 2012, 1:24 pm

nuttin wrong with my service... wait, yuh pay the bill on time :D

sk1111

Postby sk1111 » December 19th, 2012, 2:46 pm

prepaid users beware when your month of 4g internet ends it automatically continues as pay as you go and charges 80 cents per MB.

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » December 19th, 2012, 9:28 pm

sk1111 wrote:prepaid users beware when your month of 4g internet ends it automatically continues as pay as you go and charges 80 cents per MB.

This happens even if you have enough credit on your phone to pay for a next month of usage?

rocknrolla

Bmobile Data Service

Postby rocknrolla » January 14th, 2013, 6:31 pm

Has anyone found tstt data service to drain more credit faster since the drop in price to 80 cents per MB? I am finding it ridiculous how fast it is draining data. i use data monitoring apps and have a firewall restricting all my apps when on data service except opera mobile browser. i loaded about 10 pages today and $11 credit was drained down to $0. this same $10 used to last me a whole week up to just before Christmas.

with this behaviour they will find that i will no longer use their data service at all. i can load and save my webpages when on wifi and read them when out on the road. i will go back to not giving tstt one red cent in data usage and a $20 topup every month. in the past week tstt has drained me $40 and i find this absurd.

is anyone else monitoring their data usage and finding this weird behaviour? i am on android. clean and clear.. no ads run on my device and like i said.. even my android subsystem is restricted from doing anything across data for the random network location checks etc these services perform during the day. furthermore my firewall confirms this with 0.00mb data next to everything except opera browser. sometimes the same page loads using 80kb which i find reasonable. but when i load 4 pages of text in a forum and see 1.3mb used.. i find this utterly unacceptable.

Re: Bmobile Data Service

Postby pioneer » January 14th, 2013, 6:37 pm

An IT guy told me about the foil strip trick...stick a strip of foil about 3/4" x 2" onto the back of your phone, this will act as a buffer and your data will drain less faster. It's used in the military for GPS guided missiles and navigation systems. Since I did it my data has been up to mark.

Re: Bmobile Data Service

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 14th, 2013, 6:39 pm

turbotusty wrote: when i load 4 pages of text in a forum and see 1.3mb used.. i find this utterly unacceptable.
what is the URL of those 4 pages?

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » January 14th, 2013, 6:43 pm

thanks admin.. i should also add.. i am using 2g data. not even 4g!

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » January 14th, 2013, 6:47 pm

pages are abovetopsecret.com/live.php
and i pick out a couple topics i want to follow up and read on my way to and from work. the live.php page refreshes every 3 or so minutes which is why after i select the topics i want i close it.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 14th, 2013, 7:09 pm

^ seems rather inconvenient to have to select your topics for offline reading, close the page quick quick before the page updates and then set firewalls and data counters to bean count each byte

You've set data monitoring apps and have a firewall restricting all your apps when on data and have your android subsystem restricted from doing anything across data.

Especially when the site that you like visiting abovetopsecret.com/live.php is one that has up-to-the second updates continuously during the day and the main purpose of that site is to keep the users continuously informed, yet you restrict yourself so much.

Anyway that's my (perhaps irrelevant) opinion.

Question: How much do you spend usually a month on 2G data?
I assume you'd have this figure budgeted and know it offhand down to the cent.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » January 14th, 2013, 7:18 pm

it used to be $40 for the whole month.. used to be and that was when it was $2 a mb. i would love to leave it open.. but right now.. that is just not economical.. as far as im concerned its money down the drain.. $11 to view a few webpages.. i cant even have facebook on the go as a result. facebook pages drain a whole different level on the official app.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 14th, 2013, 7:40 pm

now keep in mind that all post paid bmobile customers have automatically been updated to 4G service. So unless your phone is only capable of 2G speeds, you are using the 4G service whether you like it or not.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » January 14th, 2013, 8:22 pm

well when i am on 4g. the icon says 3g.. bmobile 4g is actually not true 4g. im on prepaid however. and as the tstt rep explained to me i have to subscribe to the 4g and it runs off a separate credit line from your regular credit. i just removed automatic network and specified the 2g network.. maybe it was switching in and out which would make sense to varying data rates for refreshing the same page. ill run it for the week again and see if it makes any difference.

Postby S_2NR » January 14th, 2013, 8:37 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:now keep in mind that all post paid bmobile customers have automatically been updated to 4G service. So unless your phone is only capable of 2G speeds, you are using the 4G service whether you like it or not.

Or u can just set your phone to use only 2g networks/ disable 3g

Postby Stephon. » January 14th, 2013, 9:28 pm

S_2NR wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:now keep in mind that all post paid bmobile customers have automatically been updated to 4G service. So unless your phone is only capable of 2G speeds, you are using the 4G service whether you like it or not.

Or u can just set your phone to use only 2g networks/ disable 3g

Dunno how much times I'm gonna tell you, you're gonna eventually gonna get on the 4G bus with the rest of us as it becomes the standard. I giving you until April! :lol:

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » January 14th, 2013, 9:35 pm

a standard $100/month for unlimited 4g sounds good too lol

Postby Stephon. » January 14th, 2013, 9:36 pm

turbotusty wrote:a standard $100/month for unlimited 4g sounds good too lol

Not in this lifetime