Joshie23

Re: Energy Sector Thread - Operators, Engineers, Technicians Et Al

Postby Joshie23 » July 16th, 2017, 10:24 am

DreamWeaver wrote:
urbandilema wrote:
trinidrift wrote:I agree when a manager making 90+k a month and d workers can't event make 10k

I never knew lng workers were being paid so low..thought it was more

I think it was just a generalization. It most likely is more but the truth still remains that one manager could take a pay/perks cut and save at least one person's job. Likewise for all the managers in one company anywhere.

Correct. Sort of like when it Arcelor Mittal sent home workers, with the highest paid allegedly taking home approximately $18,000 TTD a month and managers (expats) allegedly making around $93,000 USD a month..the disparity is eye-opening.
I always say, becoming and carrying out the duties of managers and the like, is a daunting job most times and the schooling required to get there most times, deserves to be compensated accordingly, but if they take even a 10% salary cut or even cut back on some of the perks received (that, if had to be paid for by the recipient, would be thrown out the window so fast, mind you) it would be amazing to see how many of their subordinates jobs would be saved.

I'm still young but I have leadership aspirations and when I get up there, if the need arises, I'd definitely suggest it. I might be thrown out of the inner circle and looked down on by the 'haves', but it's worth it, to prevent others from becoming 'have nots'.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » July 17th, 2017, 9:23 pm

Joshie23 wrote:
DreamWeaver wrote:
urbandilema wrote:
trinidrift wrote:I agree when a manager making 90+k a month and d workers can't event make 10k

I never knew lng workers were being paid so low..thought it was more

I think it was just a generalization. It most likely is more but the truth still remains that one manager could take a pay/perks cut and save at least one person's job. Likewise for all the managers in one company anywhere.

Correct. Sort of like when it Arcelor Mittal sent home workers, with the highest paid allegedly taking home approximately $18,000 TTD a month and managers (expats) allegedly making around $93,000 USD a month..the disparity is eye-opening.
I always say, becoming and carrying out the duties of managers and the like, is a daunting job most times and the schooling required to get there most times, deserves to be compensated accordingly, but if they take even a 10% salary cut or even cut back on some of the perks received (that, if had to be paid for by the recipient, would be thrown out the window so fast, mind you) it would be amazing to see how many of their subordinates jobs would be saved.

I agree 100%. I have seen it for myself where while I understand a manager has his ass on the line (usually is the subordinate getting sent home when there is trouble) has worked or been handed his position by daddy and deserves to get compensated but there needs to be a better more substantive distribution of salaries. If it is up to me a entry position in a department should get $8000 and a manager should get the choice between 10% over the entry level position with a few perks not exceeding 1% base salary. And when the company needs to cut salaries or jobs do it from the top down because without the ground workers there won't be a product to give

trinivibes

Postby trinivibes » July 20th, 2017, 6:26 am

vaiostation wrote:Well petro said they would have called me in a week after the interview.
That was about three weeks ago. The apprenticeship program starting this month so I probably got blanked already...

Got an email yesterday saying I was not selected for further consideration.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » July 20th, 2017, 8:03 am

trinivibes wrote:
vaiostation wrote:Well petro said they would have called me in a week after the interview.
That was about three weeks ago. The apprenticeship program starting this month so I probably got blanked already...

Got an email yesterday saying I was not selected for further consideration.

Sorry to hear that. I myself never heard back, not even an email.
I did speak to someone on the inside though, he said basically de union call in they soldiers, so it may not have extra spots for outside men...

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » July 20th, 2017, 9:28 am

Same here but it was a long shot at best. Same thing with dasalcott

rmrunner

Postby rmrunner » July 21st, 2017, 10:21 pm

fyi

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » July 21st, 2017, 10:24 pm

I see fircroft hiring production technicians for shell on Caribbean jobs

the only easy day was yesterday

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » July 23rd, 2017, 7:53 pm

Heard IPSL sending home 100 workers by month end..Not sure how true this is though..

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » July 23rd, 2017, 8:07 pm

wtf wrote:Heard IPSL sending home 100 workers by month end..Not sure how true this is though..

Not true they hiring ppl rite now...

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » July 23rd, 2017, 8:09 pm

sinister_14 wrote:
wtf wrote:Heard IPSL sending home 100 workers by month end..Not sure how true this is though..

Not true they hiring ppl rite now...

What positions..

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » July 23rd, 2017, 8:09 pm

Seriously? IPSL hiring?

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » July 23rd, 2017, 8:10 pm

I see pcs hiring trainee operators

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » July 23rd, 2017, 8:13 pm

trinidrift wrote:Seriously? IPSL hiring?

They hiring their retrenched staff

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » July 23rd, 2017, 8:19 pm

OoooHhhh

Postby sMASH » July 23rd, 2017, 9:14 pm

Men getting pulled to Mitsubishi... so may have some openings.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » July 23rd, 2017, 9:17 pm

I go check it out

gencon

Postby gencon » July 25th, 2017, 5:02 pm

have an interview at a local government institution soon.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » July 25th, 2017, 6:31 pm

^^^What position you applied for???

Postby sMASH » July 27th, 2017, 7:36 pm

knob shiner

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » July 27th, 2017, 8:59 pm

sMASH wrote:knob shiner

If you was doing that to wilson you would still have yuh wuk ...

Postby sMASH » July 27th, 2017, 9:13 pm

I try, but I accustomed to rag cloth, not cue tip

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » July 27th, 2017, 9:14 pm

Lol

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » July 27th, 2017, 9:22 pm

Is it advisable going to UTT to do PPO right now or is that area flooded with enough graduates....

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » July 27th, 2017, 9:38 pm

^^^Dont waste your time right now. They are thousands of people with that same qualification and just sitting home. Probably around 9 years ago it made sense but now it's a waste.
People hear being an operator is easy work just turning a valve and then sit in air condition whole day, so everybody went an do ppo, but now it ain't have no work. I meet plenty people, especially from uwi, who just complete they degree an do ppo after cause them can't get nothing, but they still can't get anything with de ppo.

You better off doing a trade. Check nesc or ytepp...
If I had paid attention to how the job market was changing I would have never even went to utt...
Last edited by vaiostation on July 27th, 2017, 9:45 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby De Dragon » July 27th, 2017, 9:40 pm

vaiostation wrote:^^^Dont waste your time right now. They are thousands of people with that same qualification and just sitting home. Probably around 9 years ago it made sense but now it's a waste.
Uninformed kants hear being an operator is easy work just turning a valve and then sit in air condition whole day, so everybody went an do ppo, but now it ain't have no work.

You better off doing a trade.

Fixed!

car

Postby car » July 27th, 2017, 9:41 pm

vaiostation wrote:^^^Dont waste your time right now. They are thousands of people with that same qualification and just sitting home. Probably around 9 years ago it made sense but now it's a waste.
People hear being an operator is easy work just turning a valve and then sit in air condition whole day, so everybody went an do ppo, but now it ain't have no work.

You better off doing a trade.

Sounds correct.
Young people have it hard now. Jobs and everything overpriced.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » July 27th, 2017, 9:48 pm

Too much people on the breadline. And it not looking like it getting any better soon

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » July 27th, 2017, 9:53 pm

People hear being an operator is easy work just turning a valve and then sit in air condition whole day, so everybody went an do ppo, but now it ain't have no work. I meet plenty people, especially from uwi, who just complete they degree an do ppo after cause them can't get nothing, but they still can't get anything with de ppo.

If I had paid attention to how the job market was changing I would have never even went to utt...

Interesting that you would say check Ytepp...
http://www.ytepp.edu.tt/courses/
I was looking at those courses today and was wondering which would SURELY guarantee a job upon completion...
I was looking at the:
Electrical Installation
Draughting and Construction Technician
Fluid Power Equipment Maintenance.

And yes I have a UWI degree but cant get any jobs..Need to move on with life..

car

Postby car » July 27th, 2017, 9:55 pm

wtf wrote:

Interesting that you would say check Ytepp...
I was looking at those courses today and was wondering which would SURELY guarantee a job upon completion...
I was looking at the:
Electrical Installation

And yes I have a UWI degree but cant get any jobs..Need to move on with life..

I remember about 10 years ago to get a job was the qualification had to be met. Now everyone has the qualifications but no available jobs. Times real change

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » July 27th, 2017, 10:03 pm

Anyone with experience answer this.
I was looking at the:
Electrical Installation