Mountain Biking

Re: Mountain Biking

Postby mero » June 4th, 2015, 11:01 am

Fellas selling a BNIB pair of Shimano sh-rt31 mountain/touring shoes. It's not compatible with my Shimano 105 pedals and I'm selling just to cover cost.

Paid 450 to get them. No reasonable offer will be refused.. It's size 9 and 2 bolt.. Cleats not included

Postby Redman » June 12th, 2015, 5:45 pm

Just got a Trek 820 .....any advice on stuff I need ...helmet etc

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » June 14th, 2015, 3:02 pm

@Redman, this video sums up what you need, not forgetting front & rear lighting if you ride at night.

Postby Redman » June 14th, 2015, 3:56 pm

Thx VK.
might give the tights in the vid a pass tho.

Immediately my focus is close to home-my son is getting in his gear with riding and Im recovering from Dengue which left the joints in my legs in a bad way.This week is the frst week since Jan that I havent taken any pain meds..

So its evening rides with him during the week and a 2k loop on weekend AMs... as i find my legs again I will look to take a ride with allyuh pros.

Postby pete » June 14th, 2015, 4:14 pm

The advantage of the riding shorts is the padding. You can wear an ordinary shorts over them if you want.

Postby mero » June 14th, 2015, 4:15 pm

Dude get cycling tights, even if you wear a pants over it, you'll regret not buying one... The bib is worn with a cycling tee so it not like you riding around looking a wrestler :lol:

Postby Redman » June 14th, 2015, 4:33 pm

LOL

I have the padded pants from a spin phase in younger days.

The bike came with Bontrager AT 550 rims with the L3 tires. 26x2.
Shimano Tourney derailleurs.
All seems OEM ..bought from Geranimos.

Im a light 260lbs so I took the pressure up to 60lbs since 40 felt and looked way soft.

I will run it like that for a couple weeks to see how it feels.

Im feeling like my relationship with gravity is about to change
Screen Shot 2015-06-14 at 4.28.54 PM.png
Screen Shot 2015-06-14 at 4.28.54 PM.png (182.04 KiB) Viewed 5713 times

Postby pete » June 14th, 2015, 6:16 pm

I really need to get a pants. On weekends I'm finally up to an hour riding and after 45 minutes I need to stand up to restore circulation and reduce pain. Not so bad on shorter rides.

jm3

Postby jm3 » June 15th, 2015, 12:43 am

pete wrote:I really need to get a pants. On weekends I'm finally up to an hour riding and after 45 minutes I need to stand up to restore circulation and reduce pain. Not so bad on shorter rides.

i have some brand new unworn pairs i wasnt sure what size would fit me so i ordered a few i have 38 40 and 42 fox rangers padded myb shorts not sure which size will fit yetr lol so ill let you know when they arrive

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » June 30th, 2015, 4:36 pm

I'm genuinely interested in getting one of these:
http://www.pinkbike.com/news/first-look ... -2015.html
Two would be ideal, but i can't justify the cost..i'll just need to run the same trail twice to get the data from both front and rear. traditional setup is soo difficult with soo many clickers and the infinate amount of air spring setting that are possible. i have a lot of $$ invested in suspension and I'm 100% sure its not even close to being ideally set up.
Kickstarter page is here:
https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/du ... r-mountain
if anybody wants to go half & half on the duo setup with me, i'm open to that....you save some $$ and time on the setup and in the end you still have one of your own.
Last edited by cacasplat3 on June 30th, 2015, 4:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby MG Man » June 30th, 2015, 4:41 pm

pete wrote:I really need to get a pants. On weekends I'm finally up to an hour riding and after 45 minutes I need to stand up to restore circulation and reduce pain. Not so bad on shorter rides.

the padded Schwinn seat I bought is awesome...two rides thus far without padded tights, and all is well....and at US$15.00 in Walmart, it shure as hell cheaper than buying more fomaybutt shorts

Postby MG Man » June 30th, 2015, 4:56 pm

cacasplat3 wrote:I'm genuinely interested in getting one of these:
http://www.pinkbike.com/news/first-look ... -2015.html
Two would be ideal, but i can't justify the cost..i'll just need to run the same trail twice to get the data from both front and rear. traditional setup is soo difficult with soo many clickers and the infinate amount of air spring setting that are possible. i have a lot of $$ invested in suspension and I'm 100% sure its not even close to being ideally set up.
Kickstarter page is here:
https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/du ... r-mountain
if anybody wants to go half & half on the duo setup with me, i'm open to that....you save some $$ and time on the setup and in the end you still have one of your own.

cost more than my bike :lol:

Postby Redman » June 30th, 2015, 6:20 pm

Blueskycycling has some quality stuff pretty cheap in the sale section

I bought a Giant (brand not size) Realm Helmet for 38 USD plus 133TT to ship and clear- which isnt bad considering my wife bought a chit helmet Comparatively for 200TTD.

Riding at least 3 times a week in Palmiste in the am..5-6 along the blvd.
Screen Shot 2015-06-30 at 6.03.08 PM.png

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » July 1st, 2015, 12:03 am

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » July 1st, 2015, 11:20 am

steupps! lmao

jm3

Postby jm3 » July 1st, 2015, 9:23 pm

guys still having problems with my new rockshox reba forks popped of the motion control dust seal on the trail today and lost alot of the oil so they definitely need servicing now :( does any of the bike shops service rockshox in trinidad or do i have to do it?

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » July 1st, 2015, 9:57 pm

if its brand new seek retailer and/or manufacturer help.
i purchased a rock shock reverb height adjustable seatpost sometime ago and it came dead out of the box...no pressure inside...i pumped it up...it only held air for a few hours....sent it back. in the end rockshox had no idea what was going on inside it, so they offered a replacement or refund. i took the refund.

jm3

Postby jm3 » July 2nd, 2015, 10:30 am

The shipping on the forks was a lot and don't want to pay it twice more I ordered the service kit and have a good idea how to service them myself. Just would've preferred to be able to drop the bike at a shop and then pick it up later with the problem fixed lol.

Postby RBphoto » July 2nd, 2015, 12:14 pm

Anybody has a good bike for a 3-1/2 year old?

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » July 2nd, 2015, 3:17 pm

jm3 wrote:The shipping on the forks was a lot and don't want to pay it twice more I ordered the service kit and have a good idea how to service them myself. Just would've preferred to be able to drop the bike at a shop and then pick it up later with the problem fixed lol.

a quick search brought this up.....maybe you can look at getting thicker orings as well
http://forums.mtbr.com/shocks-suspensio ... 62172.html

jm3

Postby jm3 » July 3rd, 2015, 10:27 am

Thanks cacasplat that's the article I read when I first got them it hadn't happened again for 3 trail rides hopefully the service kit will solve the problem. Tbh I really should've bought fox forks

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » July 3rd, 2015, 11:51 am

to be honest anything made by the sram group has never impressed me...rockshox, sram drivetrain, avid brakes all made by the same company and all failed me at some point. IMO their quality control or R&D is lacking heavily.....of course that could just be my bad luck, but shimano, fox and a few other brands have been flawless even under abuse....

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » July 3rd, 2015, 8:13 pm

Does anyone know if any of the bike shop sell the dual storage racks like the example below

Racor Pro PLB-2R Two-Bike Gravity Freestanding Bike Stand https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000077CPK/re ... LvbTYKAJXK

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » July 5th, 2015, 10:41 am

Nope you would have. To bring that yourself

Postby RBphoto » September 22nd, 2015, 2:32 pm

Guys, where can I get elbow and knee protection for my three year old? I can only find a helmet to fit him in all of the bike store in south. Blessing to Redman who sort me out on the bike for the kid.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » September 22nd, 2015, 5:14 pm

Geronimo's in port of Spain

jm3

Postby jm3 » September 23rd, 2015, 11:43 am

Anyone going chaguramas? I'm about that head there now and gonna try to get there next 2 days as well

Postby RBphoto » September 23rd, 2015, 1:33 pm

trinibajan34 wrote:Geronimo's in port of Spain

Will check.

nutty4u2c

Postby nutty4u2c » September 25th, 2015, 7:28 am

The Word is FELT so get one and feel it.

jm3

Postby jm3 » September 25th, 2015, 11:20 am

Heading chaguramas now if anyone coming