MG Man wrote:Sacchetto Boutique wrote:Qur'an (5:6) - "And if ye are unclean, purify yourselves. And if ye are sick or on a journey, or one of you cometh from the closet, or ye have had contact with women, and ye find not water, then go to clean, high ground and rub your faces and your hands with some of it" Men are to rub dirt on their hands if there is no water to purify them following casual contact with a woman (such as shaking hands).It is forbidden for men and women who are not married to touch even hold or shake hands so as to not tarnish the reputation of the women. The public will always speak i'll of a woman more than they would a man
now sense from nonsense here
the koran was written and set in islamic society, so we can safely assume these rules will be relevant in a 100% islamic society
You saying even in an islamic society, where it is understood that men and women are equal and should be treated as such, etc, the islamic public would still speak ill of a woman more than a man, thereby necessitating such a rule?
Surely you jest
Sacchetto Boutique wrote:ok let me try to explain properly...and i dont think many of you will agree either but, islam started with the Prophet Adam but the rules and regulations on how to pray and how to live our lives in a way that pleases Allah, the prophet pbuh was sent. The Quran was sent during his lifetime and specific rules etc for a better way of life
MG Man wrote:Sacchetto Boutique wrote:ok let me try to explain properly...and i dont think many of you will agree either but, islam started with the Prophet Adam but the rules and regulations on how to pray and how to live our lives in a way that pleases Allah, the prophet pbuh was sent. The Quran was sent during his lifetime and specific rules etc for a better way of life
what evidence exists that islam started with adam? In what form was it practiced? And by whom?
Please explain what you mean by 'islam started'
Why weren't the rules and regulations established then and there? Why the long wait? How did adam please allah if he didn't know how to pray and live his life? What about all the pre-muhammad prophets like Abraham? What was their purpose, if nothing really got going till muhammad? And why send a prophet to only one specific location on earth? Why not simultaneously send prophets to east / southern Africa, Europe and the Americas? And again, if it started with adam, how do you reconcile the huge differences i the way people lived across the globe, from the Amerindians to the Aborigines?
Sacchetto Boutique wrote:You ask very good questions! i noticed this from teh very beginning..unfortunately, as I have mentioned before, I am not an extpert in islam. If there are any other tuners how are more knowledgeable, please answer these questions...i too will learn
MG man wrote:proving again one of the many fundamental flaws in all religions:
your god wrote a book that suposedly is clear to all who read it, but cannot instill in its faithful, the understanding to answer such simple and basic questions
Daran wrote:battered woman syndrome is strong in this one
Sacchetto Boutique wrote:Daran wrote:Sacchetto Boutique wrote:if a muslim woman is being treated unfairly, it is NOT islam. Islam gives women lots of rights. If they are treated unfairly its bc some idiot/s decided to change and alter islam to suite themselves. The same happens in ALL religions, not just islam but people love to attack islam for it.
I still say, if islam is so horrid, why do people still convert to islam? Shame on the muslims who claim to follow islam but are cheating and abusing and through that, causing the world to judge the religion. Please dont make teh actions of a few judge the whole religion. I love being muslim and God knows that I am genuinely trying my best to follow it properly.
My post is for those who believe in God. Those who do not believe, have made their choice.
I guess people are right in saying the world is getting more stupid. yes but i'm trying my best not to judgeoh and before I start, let me 1st explain that I am NOT a mufti, maulana, alima or other learned person who has studied quran and hadith extensively, what I learnt is from listening to lectures from respected scholars in islam
Anyway, please explain these excerpts from the Qur'an then.
Qur'an (4:11) - (Inheritance) "The male shall have the equal of the portion of two females" (see also verse 4:176). In Islam, sexism is mathematically established.
males MUST protect and care for females. I have two brothers. They are entitled to more than my share because whatever wealth they inherit from my dad, they must use toward caring for my mom (if she is a widow), me (if i wasnt married), their wives and their daughters(as long as they are not married). My inheritance is for ME only. If i chose to share that with my husband, it is MY choice according to islam so it is fair that the males inherit more..woman aint cheap to mind you know
Qur'an (2:282) - (Court testimony) "And call to witness, from among your men, two witnesses. And if two men be not found then a man and two women." Muslim apologists offer creative explanations to explain why Allah felt that a man's testimony in court should be valued twice as highly as a woman's, but studies consistently show that women are actually less likely to tell lies than men, meaning that they would make more reliable witnesses.my knowledge is very limited on this part. Perhaps someone more learned than myself can explain this
Qur'an (2:228) - "and the men are a degree above them [women]"from what I know, this is taken to mean that they are held responsible for us. They must care for us and protect us. They are our guardians and must treat us fairly and with respect
Qur'an (5:6) - "And if ye are unclean, purify yourselves. And if ye are sick or on a journey, or one of you cometh from the closet, or ye have had contact with women, and ye find not water, then go to clean, high ground and rub your faces and your hands with some of it" Men are to rub dirt on their hands if there is no water to purify them following casual contact with a woman (such as shaking hands).It is forbidden for men and women who are not married to touch even hold or shake hands so as to not tarnish the reputation of the women. The public will always speak i'll of a woman more than they would a man
Qur'an (24:31) - Women are to lower their gaze around men, so they do not look them in the eye. (To be fair, men are told to do the same thing in the prior verse).Both men and women are not to stare (check out) the opposite sex. Its disgusting imo actually and makes alot of people feel uncomfy even today
Qur'an (2:223) - "Your wives are as a tilth unto you; so approach your tilth when or how ye will..." A man has dominion over his wives' bodies as he does his land. This verse is overtly sexual. There is some dispute as to whether it is referring to the practice of anal intercourse, which it has been used historically to justify. If this is what Muhammad meant, however, then it would appear to contradict what he said in Muslim (8:3365). anal sex is prohibited. ONLY vaginal is allowed. Everything else resembles the way animals behave. It is 'sexual' to the interpreter. Married men may enjoy their wives as married women are to enjoy their husbands. Sex between husband and wife is good and encouraged. Infact, it is better for men and women who find themselves attracted to eachother, to get married asap so as to not engage in per-marital sex. Marriage will safeguard both of them and give the woman rights.
Qur'an (4:3) - (Wife-to-husband ratio) "Marry women of your choice, Two or three or four" Inequality by numbers.Four is the limit IF you can care for them equally ie provide house, land, clothing, food and for all the children involved. This is SUNNAH (the Prophet pbuh) had four however while he was married to his 1st wife Khadijah, he only had her, till she passed away. In those days, men would have sex with many women, never marry them, treat them badly so the limit of 4 was given especially since in the time of war, the men were dying in battle and there were limited ones to care for the women and provide for them
Qur'an (53:27) - "Those who believe not in the Hereafter, name the angels with female names." Angels are sublime beings, and would therefore be male.I duno about this one..hopefully someone more knowledgeable can assist in explaining.
Qur'an (4:24) and Qur'an (33:50) - A man is permitted to take women as sex slaves outside of marriage. Note that the verse distinguishes wives from captives (those whom they right hand possesses).
I duno about this one either. I dont even recall ever coming across this but will do some more research on the meaning
It is extremely important that when you are refering to parts of the quran, that you read the entire verse because it will explain certain things better and also, what is unclear in the Quran, you must look at hadith. The Prophet pbuh was sent to us as a perfect example in the way of life muslims are supposed to live. He explain alot to us such as how to pray etc. that isnt found in the quran.
With regards to the wife beating bit...here is the verse Habit7 is refering to:-The Qur’an is very clear on this issue. Almighty Allah says: “Men are the protectors and maintainers of women, because Allah has given the one more strength than the other, and because they support them from their means. Therefore the righteous women are devoutly obedient and guard in the husband’s absence what Allah would have them to guard. As to those women on whose part you fear disloyalty and ill-conduct, admonish them (first), (next), refuse to share their beds, (and last) beat them (lightly); but if they return to obedience, seek not against them means (of annoyance); for Allah is most High and Great (above you all). If you fear a breach between them twain, appoint (two) arbiters, one from his family and the other from hers. If they wish for peace, Allah will cause their reconciliation; for Allah has full knowledge and is acquainted with all things.” (An-Nisa’: 34-35)
It is important to read the section fully. One should not take part of the verse and use it to justify one’s own misconduct. This verse neither permits violence nor condones it. It guides us to ways to handle delicate family situation with care and wisdom. The word “beating” is used in the verse, but it does not mean “physical abuse”. The Prophet (peace and blessings be upon him) explained it “dharban ghayra mubarrih” which means “a light tap that leaves no mark”. He further said that face must be avoided. Some other scholars are of the view that it is no more than a light touch by siwak(toothbrush). This 'toothbrush' is alot like a twig around 2-3inches in length used for cleaning the teeth...ok i tired type..hope it helps!
Daran wrote:Good God this is pointless.
Clearly you must realize how irrelevant a religion like Islam is today.
Habit7 wrote:So how will lightly beating my wife with a twig ensure her obedience?
Sacchetto Boutique wrote:MG Man wrote:Sacchetto Boutique wrote:ok let me try to explain properly...and i dont think many of you will agree either but, islam started with the Prophet Adam but the rules and regulations on how to pray and how to live our lives in a way that pleases Allah, the prophet pbuh was sent. The Quran was sent during his lifetime and specific rules etc for a better way of life
what evidence exists that islam started with adam? In what form was it practiced? And by whom?
Please explain what you mean by 'islam started'
Why weren't the rules and regulations established then and there? Why the long wait? How did adam please allah if he didn't know how to pray and live his life? What about all the pre-muhammad prophets like Abraham? What was their purpose, if nothing really got going till muhammad? And why send a prophet to only one specific location on earth? Why not simultaneously send prophets to east / southern Africa, Europe and the Americas? And again, if it started with adam, how do you reconcile the huge differences i the way people lived across the globe, from the Amerindians to the Aborigines?
You ask very good questions! i noticed this from teh very beginning..unfortunately, as I have mentioned before, I am not an extpert in islam. If there are any other tuners how are more knowledgeable, please answer these questions...i too will learn
MG Man wrote:proving again one of the many fundamental flaws in all religions:
your god wrote a book that suposedly is clear to all who read it, but cannot instill in its faithful, the understanding to answer such simple and basic questions
Why would god write a book that requires me to seek out a scholar to get clarification?????? That alone draws the problem of how to find an honest, knowledgeable scholar..........like all man-made religions, islam is simply designed to maintain a particular society's status quo, and spread that status quo in a self-serving need to spread and infiltrate
MG Man wrote:and one more thing:
why is it you idiots insist on blaring your call to prayer from loudspeakers? For the love of good geera pork, is that really necessary? We have wristwatches and alarm clocks now...do you know how effing hard it is to get an extra hour sleep in charlieville when you backsides start up that sheit on a morning?.........effing inconsiderate rassholes............seriously, why the loudspeakers?
Why not let hassan or imran climb to the top and just bawl out like in olden days?
sheesh
Habit7 wrote:According to Sahih Muslim 142 and Sahih Al-Bukhari 2658, are women intellectually deficient?
Habit7 wrote:However, in the New Testament we see God sending His Son as that one time sacrifice not to cover sin or just say "I forgive you," but to absorb the punishment that those who would believe in Him deserves. He laid down His life and took it back up again three day later. So that if one repents of their sin and trusts in Christ, their sin can be punished on Christ and they can recieve the new life that Christ demonstrated being raised from the dead. This new life is not a get out of Hell free card, but must be exemplified by spiritual fruit and perseversing faith.
If Hitler had repented and trusted in Christ (Biblical terminology, not "accepting Jesus as your LORD" which I never used) Christ would have borne his punishment on the cross and he would have received the righteousness of Christ.
Habit7 wrote:AdamB you want tackle this one, your sister may have over looked itHabit7 wrote:According to Sahih Muslim 142 and Sahih Al-Bukhari 2658, are women intellectually deficient?
AdamB wrote:Habit7 wrote:However, in the New Testament we see God sending His Son as that one time sacrifice not to cover sin or just say "I forgive you," but to absorb the punishment that those who would believe in Him deserves. He laid down His life and took it back up again three day later. So that if one repents of their sin and trusts in Christ, their sin can be punished on Christ and they can recieve the new life that Christ demonstrated being raised from the dead. This new life is not a get out of Hell free card, but must be exemplified by spiritual fruit and perseversing faith.
If Hitler had repented and trusted in Christ (Biblical terminology, not "accepting Jesus as your LORD" which I never used) Christ would have borne his punishment on the cross and he would have received the righteousness of Christ.
So according to the New Testament, GOD created HIS son to be punished!! Peter pay for Paul?
Allyuh doh feel sorry for the son? Poor fella, it still have so much sin in this world!
Sorry but I can't accept that kinda logic (salvation on a silver platter), I prefer the Islamic scenario, pay for your own sin, do goods deeds to outweigh bad deeds, seek repentance for the latter.
Habit7 wrote:AdamB wrote:Habit7 wrote:However, in the New Testament we see God sending His Son as that one time sacrifice not to cover sin or just say "I forgive you," but to absorb the punishment that those who would believe in Him deserves. He laid down His life and took it back up again three day later. So that if one repents of their sin and trusts in Christ, their sin can be punished on Christ and they can recieve the new life that Christ demonstrated being raised from the dead. This new life is not a get out of Hell free card, but must be exemplified by spiritual fruit and perseversing faith.
So according to the New Testament, GOD created HIS son to be punished!! Peter pay for Paul?
Allyuh doh feel sorry for the son? Poor fella, it still have so much sin in this world!
Sorry but I can't accept that kinda logic (salvation on a silver platter), I prefer the Islamic scenario, pay for your own sin, do goods deeds to outweigh bad deeds, seek repentance for the latter.
According to the New Testament, God the Father sent God the Son (not a created being) to be punished as prophesied by Isaiah 53:5-12.
We praise the Son for saving us. This "poor fella," who you call prophet but ridicule yet venerate Muhammed, is both God and man and in order for His sinless human nature to die, the sin of those who would believe in Him was imputed onto His life.
It is sad that you don't accept the Gospel, but you may think your good outweighs your bad however God's standards are higher. He wants sinless perfection, and that can be only found in His Son. We all need Christ's righteousness, because whatever righteousness we may claim to have is tainted with sin.