Re: The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby Trini Hookah » April 10th, 2015, 6:30 pm

Get the g2 guys, you won't regret it.

Postby M_2NR » April 11th, 2015, 2:18 am

stev wrote:yeh it suppose to be the same commands for kit kat....take me 2 hours to get the perfect size that suits me. :(

that TA partition thing is rel beans doh....yuh see why i wanted back a nexus :P i know one day i wudda forget bout dat TA partition and break my X-Reality. lol

boy... once yuh follow all the steps... it realllllll easy. I done put xposed on it. I really wished I went with the z3 though... the compact feels so... small. :lol: going from a 5.2" to a 4.6" is somewhat counter productive.
S_2NR wrote:do it bro. downside to that phone is the lg skin and not stock android imo. if i got that i would flash it immediately to cm.

do you have someone coming in or skybox? i dont like bringing phones in.

bai... i brought it mine through skybox. It was phone only so it was 0.5lbs. Thing clear for next to nothing as it was just in a ton of bubble wrap :lol:

and there are TONS of AOSP roms. You can flash ported lg apps to them also. I cannot really recall why I never went back to an AOSP rom...
pete wrote:The LG G Pad I have is really smooth even with the stock rom. Right now I've had to fall back to an old LG Optimus 4x HD and OMG I hate it. I'm tempted to throw a custom rom on it but if I brick it I'll have nothing to use. I really should have done that when I had the other phone.

Better yet! If yuh like the lg g pad skin, the stock g2 skin is very similar. I hated it. But, Lollipop coming out soon on all G2 platforms so no worries. I'd say go for it. It is a bit big, but the size it not crazy as it is similar in size to a nexus 5.

Postby S_2NR » April 11th, 2015, 2:35 am

Moto x 200usd developer edition. Feeling to buy one to put down for when my current spoils but that white back ugghhhh.
Would need some advice for buying from eBay. Getting the g2 for 180. Its a D800 if that matters. Thats the at&t version.

About to pull trigger.
Let me know how easy it is to root or install custom recovery. I want root to block ads. May just end up keeping stock rom if i can run some xposed modules to change clock position and other simple things?
button placement issues?

Appreciate any input M and Hookah.

Postby Trini Hookah » April 11th, 2015, 7:50 am

Root is pretty simple, enter fastboot and some functions then install SU from play store.

It's the D800 i have now also, but be sure to get a case if you getting the white :lol:

Prior to this i had a D801 - T-Mobile version

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » April 11th, 2015, 7:53 am

S_2nr

Bro get the G2 , however I don't recommend the D800 , there are lots of Roms out , however the majority only support the D802 and D801, the main ROMs incorporate for all the platforms however the most exciting ROMs are not supported by all versions of the G2 , to play it safe I'd go with a D802 or the D801 , I've had both so it was no problem for me, as well as a sprint g2 which gave me rell hell because of the required files to flash for unlocking, flashing , and rooting.

Each G2 requires different root files, there are for the D800 , but you would not get a wide range of support for it if anything were to go wrong.

Your safest bet is with the T-Mobile version and the unlocked version, they get the widest support for mods, ROMs, and recovery, also the root tends to be more successful on these models for some reason.

Button placement is perfect, you'll enjoy having the buttons at the back, it's convenient, easy to handle and really comfortable for use, very clicky.

After rooting and flashing some ROMs, I didn't even need xposed because the roms were very all encompassing.

G2 is a great phone! To Me I find its better than the G3, but then again the G3 was a let down for me.

Postby M_2NR » April 11th, 2015, 2:12 pm

definitely better than g3! :lol: the g3 is way too big and battery life sucks.

eBay simple man, once your paypal in a gear, just go ahead and link your ebay to paypal and ENSURE the shipping address for your skybox is added. Be SURE it is also an unlocked device. When i was looking I saw one for really cheap and I was about to fire until I realised it wasnt unlocked. I think right now there are some for 169.99 but are locked IIRC.

As bollywood was saying, I am not sure about the AT&T version but generally root support sucks eg. note 3 on at&t is not even rooted yet afaik :/
However quite a few general roms are D8xx. Just take your time when you start off, I've found that the fastboot drivers for LG devices are always a bit finicky to get started.
If you can remain stock that would be great. The only issue I had was I had to disable Fast Dormancy as it caused a nasty wakelock and our carriers don't support it but that was because my model was a verizon version.

There are tons of xposed tweaks like G2 Tweakbox and another G2 specific one. For me I had to use AutoRec to downgrade the bootloader in order to root/install custom recovery. but I don't think that is the case for the D8xx. wrt ads blocking, I find that this actually causes some lags in load times of pages etc. I'm not sure if you ever noticed this.

WRT cases, I never used a case but if you don't mind the bulkiness, get a case from the start. The back is really prone to small scratches as it is glossy plastic.

Postby Trini Hookah » April 11th, 2015, 2:17 pm

I use bumpers on mine, currently have a bootleg spigen and not that much bulky, more slippery than anything.

Postby S_2NR » April 11th, 2015, 6:38 pm

M_2NR wrote:definitely better than g3! :lol: the g3 is way too big and battery life sucks.

eBay simple man, once your paypal in a gear, just go ahead and link your ebay to paypal and ENSURE the shipping address for your skybox is added. Be SURE it is also an unlocked device. When i was looking I saw one for really cheap and I was about to fire until I realised it wasnt unlocked. I think right now there are some for 169.99 but are locked IIRC.

As bollywood was saying, I am not sure about the AT&T version but generally root support sucks eg. note 3 on at&t is not even rooted yet afaik :/
However quite a few general roms are D8xx. Just take your time when you start off, I've found that the fastboot drivers for LG devices are always a bit finicky to get started.
If you can remain stock that would be great. The only issue I had was I had to disable Fast Dormancy as it caused a nasty wakelock and our carriers don't support it but that was because my model was a verizon version.

There are tons of xposed tweaks like G2 Tweakbox and another G2 specific one. For me I had to use AutoRec to downgrade the bootloader in order to root/install custom recovery. but I don't think that is the case for the D8xx. wrt ads blocking, I find that this actually causes some lags in load times of pages etc. I'm not sure if you ever noticed this.

WRT cases, I never used a case but if you don't mind the bulkiness, get a case from the start. The back is really prone to small scratches as it is glossy plastic.

Do you use screen protectors? I would most likely buy an incipio feather to add grip. What u think about phone slipperiness without case?

Only getting D800. I will need root. Can't live without that. Ads and xposed necessary.
$190 USD total. Hopefully customs does not rape. Not sure about button placement because I never tried it in hand. If I dont like it I'll sell one time unless u guys can meet me somewhere to see it before lol.

Anyway, by tonight I'll order it

Postby rfari » April 11th, 2015, 6:41 pm

Thats new or refurbed price? Links?

Postby Trini Hookah » April 11th, 2015, 7:08 pm

S_2NR wrote:
M_2NR wrote:definitely better than g3! :lol: the g3 is way too big and battery life sucks.

Do you use screen protectors? I would most likely buy an incipio feather to add grip. What u think about phone slipperiness without case?

Only getting D800. I will need root. Can't live without that. Ads and xposed necessary.
$190 USD total. Hopefully customs does not rape. Not sure about button placement because I never tried it in hand. If I dont like it I'll sell one time unless u guys can meet me somewhere to see it before lol.

Anyway, by tonight I'll order it

Slipperyness isnt all that and screen protector is a must, tempered if you can.

Postby S_2NR » April 11th, 2015, 7:13 pm

hookah link the links to whatever cases and screen protectors you use please.
amazon preferably.

rfari,
link to phone : http://www.ebay.com/itm/171569243169?var=470576162852

only getting d800 however from reputable sellers new.

Postby rfari » April 11th, 2015, 7:21 pm

Cool. Thanks man

Postby S_2NR » April 11th, 2015, 8:59 pm

im now $200USD poorer.
first ebay purchase too.

fingers crossed

Postby Trini Hookah » April 11th, 2015, 9:09 pm

This was the case i had before
http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00FP1Q38 ... ref=plSrch

This is the one i have now:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00PDDJOO ... ref=plSrch

As for screen protector I can't recall which i had before, didn't get one for this yet.

Postby pete » April 12th, 2015, 8:11 am

For screen protectors I'm only buying tempered glass from now on. The actual feel of it is so much better than any plastic screen protector.

Postby stev » April 12th, 2015, 11:10 am

pete wrote:For screen protectors I'm only buying tempered glass from now on. The actual feel of it is so much better than any plastic screen protector.

agreed! especially the ones with 2.5d rounded edges

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 12th, 2015, 1:24 pm

I've been using those a while now..be prepared for them to break a lot tho..went thru a couple on various phones

Postby stev » April 13th, 2015, 5:28 pm

Moto 360 is $165 with free shipping at the moment

http://www.droid-life.com/2015/04/13/de ... -included/

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » April 13th, 2015, 5:51 pm

Hmmm.
New model soon cometh....

Postby stev » April 13th, 2015, 7:18 pm

new WhatsApp update...finally they went material design.

Postby S_2NR » April 13th, 2015, 8:23 pm

My phone shipped with USPS priority...U.S.P.S. :|

Postby ismithx » April 13th, 2015, 8:35 pm

o geed

Postby S_2NR » April 13th, 2015, 8:48 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:This was the case i had before
http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00FP1Q38 ... ref=plSrch

This is the one i have now:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00PDDJOO ... ref=plSrch

As for screen protector I can't recall which i had before, didn't get one for this yet.

try diztronic.
i spoke to the owner, more will be on amazon for at&t version early next week. best fitting cases i have ever used. i cant live without them now.

you running cloudyg2?
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr ... ?t=2783192
seems that is the most popular choice globally for a good g2 rom with g3 ui.

also, finally! @ material whatsapp

X-Axis

Postby X-Axis » April 13th, 2015, 9:34 pm

Mmm
1428975264542.jpg

Jonathan_337

The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby Jonathan_337 » April 13th, 2015, 10:04 pm

So I sold the Nexus 4 for $1200 and got a Nexus 5 for $1500 ..didn't come out too bad I think. Not seeing that what's app update though anyone else get it ?
Nvm got it. Thanks stev. This is so much prettier.

What roms u n5 guys running ?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Postby stev » April 13th, 2015, 10:32 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:So I sold the Nexus 4 for $1200 and got a Nexus 5 for $1500 ..didn't come out too bad I think. Not seeing that what's app update though anyone else get it ?

u can try out the Cataclysm rom 5.1

fast as hell with nice features. been using that alongside the elemental kernel so far.....nothing beats franco though.

i'm hearing amazing things about the Resurrection remix rom for the N5....especially in terms of battery life (even with stock kernel). trying that out weekend.

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » April 13th, 2015, 10:37 pm

stev wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:So I sold the Nexus 4 for $1200 and got a Nexus 5 for $1500 ..didn't come out too bad I think. Not seeing that what's app update though anyone else get it ?

u can try out the Cataclysm rom 5.1

fast as hell with nice features. been using that alongside the elemental kernel so far.....nothing beats franco though.

i'm hearing amazing things about the Resurrection remix rom for the N5....especially in terms of battery life (even with stock kernel). trying that out weekend.

Love the phone except for the battery life so I'll probably give resurrection a shot. Battery life is so bad but it's buttery smooth and its stock so I can imagine for a rom. Camera isn't half bad either..front cam is decent in low light

Postby stev » April 13th, 2015, 10:42 pm

i think the Resurrection rom comes with the open source L Camera.

if not u can check it out here:

https://github.com/PkmX/lcamera

i never knew the nexus 5 camera was capable of all those things:

True manual focus (adjustable focus distance)
Manual exposure time (0.8" to 1/75000)
Manual ISO (40 to 10000)
DNG output support
30-fps full-resolution burst mode (up to 20 images) with optional exposure bracketing
Semi-bulb mode
30-fps full-resolution (3264x2448) video recording on Nexus 5
30-fps 4K UHD (3840x2160) video recording on Nexus 6
Experimental 60-fps video recording at 1080p on Nexus 5
Experimental 120-fps video recording at 800x600 on Nexus 5
Material design

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » April 13th, 2015, 10:43 pm

Well...I didn't know that either haha. Another question I have CWM installed as I'm more familiar with that...since the SII days... But will I have compatibility issues or anything with it ? Is it better to go with TWRP?

Postby stev » April 13th, 2015, 10:59 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:Well...I didn't know that either haha. Another question I have CWM installed as I'm more familiar with that...since the SII days... But will I have compatibility issues or anything with it ? Is it better to go with TWRP?

no issues that I know of...i used to use CWM and then switched to TWRP for no reason other than to try something new. :lol:

i cant recall seeing N5 users complaining about CWM on XDA.....i guess u can be the official tester on tuner :D

if all else fails......download a stock nexus 5 image from google and flash-all.bat ftw! lol