tourniquet

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby tourniquet » May 18th, 2017, 3:13 pm

These dicks

http://www.cnc3.co.tt/press-release/imb ... operty-tax

Finance Minister Colm Imbert says it is clear to the Ministry of Finance that people are willing to pay the Property Tax and he said that's why the Cabinet has agreed to extend the deadline for submission of forms to June 5th.

Speaking at today's post-Cabinet media conference, Minister Imbert said the fact that people are lining up to submit the forms, shows that they have not acceded to the calls by some to "rip up forms" and not pay the tax.

The Minister told the media that 60,000 forms were submitted last week and another 90,000 this week ahead of the May 22nd deadline.

That represents150,000 of the estimated 400,000 residential properties in Trinidad and Tobago.

"It is obvious that people want to have their properties valued. They want to pay the tax. So felt we would give people more time," he said in reference to the decision to extend the deadline.

He said the government decided to start with residential properties because there are an estimated 250,000 residential properties already in their records, making it easier for the ministry to start there.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » May 18th, 2017, 3:48 pm

People just doh wah get fined the stupid $500.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » May 18th, 2017, 3:49 pm

tourniquet wrote:These dicks

Finance Minister Colm Imbert says it is clear to the Ministry of Finance that people are willing to pay the Property Tax and he said that's why the Cabinet has agreed to extend the deadline for submission of forms to June 5th.

Speaking at today's post-Cabinet media conference, Minister Imbert said the fact that people are lining up to submit the forms, shows that they have not acceded to the calls by some to "rip up forms" and not pay the tax.

The Minister told the media that 60,000 forms were submitted last week and another 90,000 this week ahead of the May 22nd deadline.

That represents150,000 of the estimated 400,000 residential properties in Trinidad and Tobago.

"It is obvious that people want to have their properties valued. They want to pay the tax. So felt we would give people more time," he said in reference to the decision to extend the deadline.

He said the government decided to start with residential properties because there are an estimated 250,000 residential properties already in their records, making it easier for the ministry to start there.

Because I did not submit any forms does not mean I am not willing to pay the taxes. My problem is when the tax is collected, there is no formula to say where the money will be going. Reviewing the Mid year Review under Property Tax, the pronouncement of Imballs is downright deceitful and misleading.

Who want to pay, go ahead.

And yes Kamla and others will win in the Privy Council. Want to know why? The arguments about the imposition of the tax will be far superior to what this haughty, highhanded Govt can mount ...........

Postby Chimera » May 18th, 2017, 3:53 pm

GeneralHonda wrote:LOL. I am against it but on the other hand, once I pay that tax and others do the same, the govt can no longer say they are unable to put humps, drains, road marking etc. .

lol you still not getting any humps drains or road marking

that tax they collecting....they gonna use is to maintain Brian Lara Stadium

Postby hydroep » May 18th, 2017, 6:06 pm

^And probably pay for the bossman's vacations. He's off again, until May 23rd...:?

Colm is acting PM.

Postby adnj » May 18th, 2017, 6:41 pm

Trinidad and Tobago attracts considerable foreign direct investment from international businesses, particularly in energy, and has one of the highest per capita incomes in Latin America. Economic growth between 2000 and 2007 averaged slightly over 8% per year, significantly above the regional average of about 3.7% for that same period; however, GDP has slowed down since then, contracting during 2009-2012, making small gains in 2013 and contracting again in 2014-2016.

Energy production and downstream industrial use dominate the economy. Trinidad and Tobago produces about nine times more natural gas than crude oil on an energy equivalent basis with gas contributing about two-thirds of energy sector government revenue. Oil and gas account for about 40% of GDP and 80% of exports but less than 5% of employment. In 2013, Trinidad and Tobago was the world’s sixth-largest liquefied natural gas (LNG) exporter and is home to one of the largest natural gas liquefaction facilities in the Western Hemisphere. The United States is the country’s largest trading partner, accounting for 33% of its total imports and taking 44% of its exports.

Trinidad and Tobago is buffered by considerable foreign reserves and a sovereign wealth fund that equals about one-and-a-half times the national budget, but the country is in a recession and the government faces the dual challenge of gas shortages and a low price environment.

Economic diversification is a longstanding government talking point, and Trinidad and Tobago has much potential due to its stable, democratic government and its educated, English speaking workforce. Although Trinidad and Tobago enjoys cheap electricity from natural gas, the renewable energy sector has recently garnered increased interest. The country is also a regional financial center with a well-regulated and stable financial system. Other sectors the Government of Trinidad and Tobago has targeted for increased investment and projected growth include tourism, agriculture, information and communications technology, and shipping. Unfortunately, a host of other factors, including low labor productivity, inefficient government bureaucracy, and corruption, have hampered economic development.

GDP (purchasing power parity):

$43.57 billion (2016 est.)

$44.8 billion (2015 est.)

$45.78 billion (2014 est.)

note: data are in 2016 dollars

country comparison to the world: 111

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Investors have no reasons to come here, we don't work we have countless holidays and lots of extensions as people does stay home from Friday. And we are not connected to South America either we are an Island so anything built here has to leave by plane or boat.

I would suggest tourism but this place is a dump who wants to visit a labass when you can just go Bahamas?

Once upon a time we had a grand opportunity for a smelter plant, some cacahole fool the whole population saying it to poison us and we go dead, then when they came into power they tried the very same thing except it was too late and those investors had already gone elsewhere, politics really does have a morality of its own.

Postby matr1x » May 18th, 2017, 7:05 pm

Colm is acting pm? Too many shortcomings. Lol

Postby teems1 » May 18th, 2017, 7:28 pm

The reason so many people dropped their forms off is due to fear, not willingness to pay the tax.

Fear of losing your home which you've worked so hard to obtain.

Fear of any late fee penalties.

If he were to scrap any late fee penalties and make the tax voluntary then he would have an accurate number of those willing to pay the tax.

How can someone so stupid have so much power over the nation.

Postby sMASH » May 18th, 2017, 8:04 pm

The government can put anything into law, and they have the police to carry it out.

How can u fight that?

Postby Redman » May 18th, 2017, 8:19 pm

Yep like an SOE

car

Postby car » May 18th, 2017, 8:39 pm

teems1 wrote:The reason so many people dropped their forms off is due to fear, not willingness to pay the tax.

If he were to scrap any late fee penalties and make the tax voluntary then he would have an accurate number of those willing to pay the tax.

Ent kamalar said they can't charge you the $500?
Or is it they can charge you? I haven't seen it written anywhere that they can charge you $500

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 18th, 2017, 9:18 pm

There's an email option but apparently, it's only for owners living abroad.
Screen Shot 2017-05-18 at 9.00.25 PM.png

Postby RedVEVO » May 18th, 2017, 9:21 pm

teems1 wrote:The reason so many people dropped their forms off is due to fear, not willingness to pay the tax.

Yes, you are correct.

It is FEAR that drives this country - Trinidad

And people are not educated on issues.

And it is just a few that train this and succeeding - Always about an advantage !

So I say protest protest protest - social media, talk to your MP, get a licensed firearm protect family etc.

The "property tax form" people rushing to fill out is illegal.

WE are been tricked ! Scammed !

I am not filling out any form.

I am not filling out any f...king form .

Again,

Axe the Tax

Postby The_Honourable » May 18th, 2017, 10:16 pm

tourniquet wrote:These dicks

People are willing? Or don't want to get charged? :lol:

Postby RedVEVO » May 19th, 2017, 3:33 am

Our real PM is speaking. R is just his beyotch.

It is so strange that after over 60 years TT back to their owners.

150, 000 people in fear and not educated ..

Again,

Axe the Tax

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » May 19th, 2017, 7:17 am

So you saying our PM isssa pappet??

nooooooooooooo

Postby rspann » May 19th, 2017, 6:35 pm

Kamila on Ian Alleyene programme saying they get permission from the Supreme Court to file for judicial review?

Postby rspann » May 19th, 2017, 6:43 pm

Gerald Ramdeen saying they get an injunction. Property tax is unlawful.

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » May 19th, 2017, 6:59 pm

Well according to impsbert i should be sad since i wont be able to pay the tax?

Postby sMASH » May 19th, 2017, 7:02 pm

did i hear 'INJUNCTION'.....

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » May 19th, 2017, 7:12 pm

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » May 19th, 2017, 7:15 pm

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » May 19th, 2017, 7:42 pm

All those that lined up must feel really stupid now..
Imps did say they wanted to pay the tax

Awaiting OPT court case

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » May 19th, 2017, 7:43 pm

GeneralHonda wrote:Lodged my form today at the POS office. Lots of people outside who were now asking for forms, had nothing ready and complaining. I had my completed info. and was in and out in under 10 mins. receipt in hand.

10 minutes you not gonna get back
I feel you spent more time than that though

Postby sMASH » May 19th, 2017, 7:57 pm

they have permission to file for review, until may 30th?

and in the judgment, all they are contesting are that the form needs to be modified, the dates are incorrect and should be rectified, and that they need to explain the ramifications more properly... other than that, i not seeing any thing game changing.
am i correct?
when the PNM sort out the details, we still have to pay it, and suffer the same consequences.

what i want, is that the tax NOT be based on a valuation, because that does not take into consideration the citizen's ability to pay the their assumed tax. the ability to pay would be affected if they had a low means of income, and the property value has increased because of factors that does not stem from their present means of income. such as, development of the surrounding areas, inheritance of property, and loss of gainful income due to economic situation.

also, the requirement of strangers onto the premises be considered and violation of privacy, and preventing the citizen from enjoying their property, and that the assessment of taxes, not require that violation of privacy.

car

Postby car » May 19th, 2017, 9:00 pm

This just delay the process. They will redo the forms and come back again. I aint feel we will get away so easy.

Postby 88sins » May 19th, 2017, 9:02 pm

Not only that eh sMASH
I personally take issue with the state telling people what the rental value of their property is. Easily creates a situation where wide swaths of the citizenry could be overtaxed, since the higher they estimate your property, basically the more they can demand for this horsecrap tax. They could undervalue a property as well, but that's not as likely to happen.

That whole thing hadda scrap & start over, and consult the entire population before they impose this kinda crap on ppl.

Postby Gladiator » May 19th, 2017, 9:12 pm

This Property tax has two purposes, the obvious to take your money and the hidden to gather information on people for reasons left to the imagination.

Look how the witch hunting going to start...

Postby 88sins » May 19th, 2017, 9:47 pm

Besides that, the amount of $$$ the state gets from ppl building or buying properties, it ain't no small change. Is VAT on everything, is stamp duty, payment for deed registration, etc. What d hell they want to implement this dotishness in this manner for.

As to that burro they call Clown Inbutt, I wonder if that idiot is really as dumb as he sounds, saying that ppl want to pay tax. Nobody anywhere ever wants to pay taxes. Dem so feel all Trini is a special kinda stupid.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » May 19th, 2017, 10:26 pm

I sounded it off before an doing it again. Culvert Inverted Convulsive, Kamla go eat pie off yuh head.
Nah making their wuk easy. He and he 40 buddies (248 persons recruited to Valuation Division) will have to physically come to me and I am going to send them packing. Dey better walk with regular police because I paying enough tax to call the police meh self.

As soon as they send me my assessment, Gerald and I letting loose a Judicial Review to find out how they calculate it or as the Act state, Lodge an objection .............. Wonder how much wuk they go get done when they have a 100, 000 objection.

The hospital had problems but Brapps they going and open it.
The Licencing Office in Caroni was overpriced and it was supposed to be repurposed.
Brapps again, they open it and tuners braying about how efficient it is. Incidently Patos Through CIDA, Canadian International Development Bank had facilitated a loan and contractor who had took all the records to digitise same.

Kamla teif all de money and Jack was vouching for 75c stolen on every dollar or was it de way FIFA does do business. The Point Fortin/Mon Desir Highway was plagued with corruption. Where dey got de money to re start the Project and who is this favourite contractor who got the job?

In 2009 Keith heself in Parliarment was opposed to the proposed new tax and said the OLD tax Was the most fairest of dem all