What is the PNM's plan for the economy?

Pirate

Re: What is the PNM's plan for the economy?

Postby Pirate » June 21st, 2016, 9:56 am

You cannot beat up about policy changes abroad especially if the item you are buying is still several hundreds cheaper than Some of the trinituner powersellers who pay NO government taxes and offer no warranty on the item.
You are entitled to beat up if it's your taxes going to fund something locally.
I am in support of getting the clubs hospital running. The additional taxation to get it up is the wrong approach. If we have 2 additional to support (point and arima) would u support additional taxes wherever it may rear it head or health system reform???
Also u missed the forex leakage section...

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 21st, 2016, 9:59 am

He not getting that most Trini people don't pay FL sate tax as there are ways around it ...
Even when ordering online.

Silly Habbit ... paying FL state tax is for kids.

Postby Redman » June 21st, 2016, 10:15 am

Its irresponsible to say that you will take this SALES tax revenue stream..t(hat is variable,unproven and subject to multiple influences) to pay for something like a hospital

The Min of Finance needs to make more effort in saying the correct things.
He is flippant and off handed...

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 21st, 2016, 10:20 am

I would actually be in favor of increase Health Surcharge if that said money goes directly to health care instead of only god knows where.

Postby De Dragon » June 21st, 2016, 10:40 am

drchaos wrote:He not getting that most Trini people don't pay FL sate tax as there are ways around it ...

Habit7 and eliteauto problem is that they try to defend the PNM no matter what. Imagine justifying a tax to pay for a hospital when it was originally envisaged without one :lol: They prolly unemployed or they would know that Health Surcharge is used for this purpose. Further Habit7, perhaps modelling himself on his demi-God Rowley, tries to be Rottweiler like in his responses and refuses to concede even when presented with an abundance of facts.

Postby De Dragon » June 21st, 2016, 10:44 am

drchaos wrote:He not getting that most Trini people don't pay FL sate tax as there are ways around it ...

Habit7 and eliteauto problem is that they try to defend the PNM no matter what. Imagine justifying a tax to pay for a hospital when it was originally envisaged without one :lol: They prolly unemployed or they would know that Health Surcharge is used for this purpose. Further Habit7, perhaps modelling himself on his demi-God Rowley, tries to be Rottweiler like in his responses and refuses to concede even when presented with an abundance of facts.
This while borrowing billions of US and T&T dollars to fund a deficit rather than reduce expenditure. Of course in their arrogant and high-handed way, we have to beg to find out what OUR money is to be spent on, and whether we will have an opinion on whether it will generate income, rather than saddle us with further debt.

Pirate

Postby Pirate » June 21st, 2016, 10:45 am

Corruption in public office needs to be made a criminal offence. That way we will have the revolving door syndrome where every 5 yrs another set in office repeating itself over and over while the citizens keep expecting something better...

Postby eliteauto » June 21st, 2016, 10:45 am

lol @ De Beatup, man does criticise the exact thing he does, poor fella getting worse as time goes by

Postby De Dragon » June 21st, 2016, 11:03 am

eliteauto wrote:lol @ De Beatup, man does criticise the exact thing he does, poor fella getting worse as time goes by

Says the co-founder of the last word, wrong and strong club! :lol: :lol: Allyuh too funny in here yes! :lol: :lol:

Postby eliteauto » June 21st, 2016, 11:19 am

This for a salty guy who counts doubles men money as a hobby and totes yup too funny indeed

Postby De Dragon » June 21st, 2016, 12:25 pm

eliteauto wrote:This for a salty guy who counts doubles men money as a hobby and totes yup too funny indeed

We shouldn't be surprised that a PNM stooge would condone an illegal act like withholding taxes on income. It is in their DNA, and the example is being set by their leaders who they slavishly follow and defend, no matter what.

Postby zoom rader » June 21st, 2016, 12:32 pm

Nine months later and it's still level taxes , more to come

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 21st, 2016, 12:35 pm

Yeah boy .. why has the PNM who opened so strongly against corruption not really doing anything to prevent the past from happening?

With the amount they had to say about the last corrupt regime you would expect that dealing with corruption should be number 1 on their list. At least level some charges or go after some people ...

Postby De Dragon » June 21st, 2016, 12:47 pm

drchaos wrote:Yeah boy .. why has the PNM who opened so strongly against corruption not really doing anything to prevent the past from happening?

With the amount they had to say about the last corrupt regime you would expect that dealing with corruption should be number 1 on their list. At least level some charges or go after some people ...

When your very existence as the Government was largely predicated on one of the most infamous instances of corruption and fraud, namely Email Gate, it is somewhat hard to have the moral standing to go after corruption. Thus they will bray every few days about this contract, and this Ministry, mostly to appease their clueless support base. At the end of the day, they will do absolutely nothing of any significance because their intention is to play that forgiveness card at some point in the future, knowing that they intend to move in the same corrupt manner.

Postby Habit7 » June 21st, 2016, 12:57 pm

Allyuh men is the greatest.

A man ask how govt going and fund Couva Hospital. You show him govt say online tax, they say it is stupidness. Increase health surcharge they say...average worker pays $33-41.25 per month in health surcharge. If the $300m needed to run the single Couva hospital was split throughout our 623,000 labour force, that would be $480 increase in health surcharge (1400%). So he prefers to throw the new running cost of one hospital on the backs of workers, than to use a consumption tax on luxury items which mostly middle and upper class consume.

Then the other one De Beatup, in one thread complaining about how govt shutting down PP projects, but in this thread complain that govt running up debt with these PP projects. Uninformed as usual that all three new hospitals were secured by loans thanks to the PP govt, but crying that PNM should reduce expenditure. :roll:

I am not defending PNM, I am defending common sense. To believe that health surcharge is enough to run one general hospital, let alone 5, I have some beachfront property in Tabaquite for sale to you. And to claim that building new hospitals is extravagant spending, whether PNM or UNC, I am sorry for the home you run.

Postby zoom rader » June 21st, 2016, 1:04 pm

^^^ level spin

Postby Habit7 » June 21st, 2016, 1:04 pm

drchaos wrote:Yeah boy .. why has the PNM who opened so strongly against corruption not really doing anything to prevent the past from happening?

When your very existence as the Government was largely predicated on one of the most infamous instances of corruption and fraud, namely Email Gate, it is somewhat hard to have the moral standing to go after corruption. Thus they will bray every few days about this contract, and this Ministry, mostly to appease their clueless support base. At the end of the day, they will do absolutely nothing of any significance because their intention is to play that forgiveness card at some point in the future, knowing that they intend to move in the same corrupt manner.

Ah boy still toting Sept 7?

How was emailgate corruption and fraud, even when false?

67% not swayed by Emailgate http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20150523/news/18-18 Kamla was losing elections since before emailgate.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » June 21st, 2016, 2:00 pm

well they could start paying for operating the couva hospital By NOT accepting any PAY increase for BOTH government and Opposition!
The current govt can also help by NOT accepting any tax exemptions that they get currently and donate it instead.

Postby De Dragon » June 21st, 2016, 3:45 pm

Habit7 wrote:Allyuh men is the greatest.

A man ask how govt going and fund Couva Hospital. You show him govt say online tax, they say it is stupidness. Increase health surcharge they say...average worker pays $33-41.25 per month in health surcharge. If the $300m needed to run the single Couva hospital was split throughout our 623,000 labour force, that would be $480 increase in health surcharge (1400%). So he prefers to throw the new running cost of one hospital on the backs of workers, than to use a consumption tax on luxury items which mostly middle and upper class consume.

Then the other one De Beatup, in one thread complaining about how govt shutting down PP projects, but in this thread complain that govt running up debt with these PP projects. Uninformed as usual that all three new hospitals were secured by loans thanks to the PP govt, but crying that PNM should reduce expenditure. :roll:

I am not defending PNM, I am defending common sense. To believe that health surcharge is enough to run one general hospital, let alone 5, I have some beachfront property in Tabaquite for sale to you. And to claim that building new hospitals is extravagant spending, whether PNM or UNC, I am sorry for the home you run.

Firstly, take your facking time with that home reference. I have never reached to guttersnipe levels by mentioning your family no matter how heated our disagreements get. You know absolutely nothing about me, my family or my facking home.
Secondly only fools would borrow money or spend more money on projects that they cannot afford(note the difference between fund and afford as the PNM seems clueless here again). Guess what the PNM is hell bent on doing both. We have existed for years without these hospitals, and it is absolute folly to be talking two additional hospitals, when by the PNM's own admission, they cannot fund Couva.
Repeatedly PNM people feel if something can be funded, or a loan gotten, then we must do that never mind the additional billions in debt we are racking up. Then again according to Habit7, these international lending agencies are all altruistic and lend us money because they like us and want to simply help us out of a jam :roll:

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 21st, 2016, 3:53 pm

An increase on health surcharge is a know much more steady level of income where as a consumption tax is not as predictable ...
Only Habbit will get chain up to buy "beach front" property in Tabaquite and build a house without a foundation seeing his mistake he trying to sell.
This country is run and will continue to be run on the working class ... thats how all countries work.

Now we just hadda wait for Habbit to look chupid trying to justify why Rowley and Tanty Kams needs a raise.

Postby De Dragon » June 21st, 2016, 3:58 pm

drchaos wrote:An increase on health surcharge is a know much more steady level of income where as a consumption tax is not as predictable ...
Only Habbit will get chain up to buy "beach front" property in Tabaquite and build a house without a foundation seeing his mistake he trying to sell.
This country is run and will continue to be run on the working class ... thats how all countries work.

Now we just hadda wait for Habbit to look chupid trying to justify why Rowley and Tanty Kams needs a raise.

Golf and Grey Goose expensive yunno!

Postby Habit7 » June 21st, 2016, 4:03 pm

Firstly, take your facking time with that home reference. I have never reached to guttersnipe levels by mentioning your family no matter how heated our disagreements get. You know absolutely nothing about me, my family or my facking home.
Secondly only fools would borrow money or spend more money on projects that they cannot afford(note the difference between fund and afford as the PNM seems clueless here again). Guess what the PNM is hell bent on doing both. We have existed for years without these hospitals, and it is absolute folly to be talking two additional hospitals, when by the PNM's own admission, they cannot fund Couva.
Repeatedly PNM people feel if something can be funded, or a loan gotten, then we must do that never mind the additional billions in debt we are racking up. Then again according to Habit7, these international lending agencies are all altruistic and lend us money because they like us and want to simply help us out of a jam :roll:

De King of Beat up, nobody is referencing individuals in your home, it is referencing you.

For the umpteen time uninformed one, the PP govt borrowed money for the construction of the Couva, Arima and Point Fortin Hospitals. Only about 15% was paid as a down payment and the rest would be funded by the lender. One hospital is complete, now the PNM govt have to pay to run it, the govt proposed the online tax. Two years from now when the others are finished then they will have to fund the running of it by some other means or our revenues might go up. But as it stands the lender is funding the construction, no us.

The last PNM govt reduced our debt to GDP ratio, the last govt sent it up by 15 about points.

Please inform yourself before you speak, and relax and talk with a clear mind.
Last edited by Habit7 on June 21st, 2016, 4:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby desifemlove » June 21st, 2016, 4:05 pm

one plan they could have is simplify the tax system. just have an income tax, no health surchange, a business tax, and no VAT. business taxes like incomes taxes would be progressive, so larger the firm the more tax one pays.

Re: RE: Re: What is the PNM's plan for the economy?

Postby Habit7 » June 21st, 2016, 4:14 pm

drchaos wrote:An increase on health surcharge is a know much more steady level of income where as a consumption tax is not as predictable ....

So 302,000 ppl, about half the labour force, earns less than $6000 a month. You propose rather than getting 7% off of your $3000 phone, those <$6000 salary workers should have their health surcharge increase from $33 to $514?

Postby desifemlove » June 21st, 2016, 4:30 pm

Pirate wrote:Corruption in public office needs to be made a criminal offence. That way we will have the revolving door syndrome where every 5 yrs another set in office repeating itself over and over while the citizens keep expecting something better...

it already is. you tink fraud, misppropriation iz already legal? issue maybe is detection, and too many PNM AND UNC sycophants looking to cover up any bobol dey "leaders" does do...

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 21st, 2016, 4:41 pm

Habit7 wrote:
drchaos wrote:An increase on health surcharge is a know much more steady level of income where as a consumption tax is not as predictable ....

So 302,000 ppl, about half the labour force, earns less than $6000 a month. You propose rather than getting 7% off of your $3000 phone, those <$6000 salary workers should have their health surcharge increase from $33 to $514?

Habbit you have no imagination ... How bout a tiered system?
Tier the blasted income tax as well!

Be real nah Habbit stop trying to fool yuhself. The only reason for a tax on shopping online is cause colm was asked to do this party financiers, he even admitted this when asked about his idea at his first budget ... he said it was suggested to him which was followed up by a immediate hurray by the major merchants in this country.

Come nah man you moving too slow we hadda spoon feed you all the way?

Postby De Dragon » June 21st, 2016, 4:46 pm

Habit7 wrote:

De King of Beat up, nobody is referencing individuals in your home, it is referencing you.

For the umpteen time uninformed one, the PP govt borrowed money for the construction of the Couva, Arima and Point Fortin Hospitals. Only about 15% was paid as a down payment and the rest would be funded by the lender. One hospital is complete, now the PNM govt have to pay to run it, the govt proposed the online tax. Two years from now when the others are finished then they will have to fund the running of it by some other means or our revenues might go up. But as it stands the lender is funding the construction, no us.

The last PNM govt reduced our debt to GDP ratio, the last govt sent it up by 15 about points.

Please inform yourself before you speak, and relax and talk with a clear mind.

Once more attempting to and failing to look like you are intellectual and knowing :lol:
There are such things as re-negotiating or even cancelling a loan( look it up). HUNDREDS of projects get postponed, delayed or outright cancelled during protracted downturns. Yes there will be fallout, but billion dollar projects that cannot be afforded, or worse yet, borrowing money to finance non-income generating items is not only asinine, but shows a glaring lack of planning or expertise. Yet the PNM seems to think that is the way to go. Maybe they know something that we don't, but when they are not forthcoming with a proper explanation, and yes I did inform myself by reading ImpBert's long winded, self-serving ,smug, arrogant and wholly inappropriate response in Parliament.
It has been widely posited that these oil and gas prices will remain depressed for some time, and what has taken from 2007 to now to accumulate, and which surely will take much longer to re-accumulate, will be frittered away like confetti. Once again, lack of a proper long-term financial plan from a man who is "playing" Minister but who seems intent on driving this country into the ground for the benefit of a very few because when creative solutions are needed, he can only resort to low hanging fruit and intellectually bankrupt ideas and "solutions"

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 21st, 2016, 5:40 pm

Dragon boy is a typical Trini mentality these politicians and Habbit ... you pulling was $10000 for the month and you just get fired, new job only paying $5000 but carnival this season will cost you ah cool $20000. The Mass must go on ...

So what you do is go by island finance and borrow ah $20000 and spend the rest of your life on a hamster wheel paying out mainly interest and never touching the principal.

Postby Redman » June 21st, 2016, 5:46 pm

So Dragon,
what would be YOUR ideas for the economy.
I assume that they are not low hanging fruit or intellectually bankrupt

Im looking forward to the solutions that will prove that you know what yuh talking bout.

thx.

Pirate

Postby Pirate » June 21st, 2016, 5:47 pm

desifemlove wrote:
Pirate wrote:Corruption in public office needs to be made a criminal offence. That way we will have the revolving door syndrome where every 5 yrs another set in office repeating itself over and over while the citizens keep expecting something better...

it already is. you tink fraud, misppropriation iz already legal? issue maybe is detection, and too many PNM AND UNC sycophants looking to cover up any bobol dey "leaders" does do...

Sadly even in instances where funds "disappear" and ppl get found out nothing is done and successive governments fail to properly prosecute and than bam! Government changes and it is ah rinse and repeat with nothing recovered...
Things really sad yes!