The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Swisha

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby Swisha » April 28th, 2011, 4:32 pm

i doubt that gonna be the S III.

most likely it's gonna be the new Nexus...

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 28th, 2011, 6:06 pm

@googlenexus

Android 2.3.4 OTA rolling out over the next few weeks! Has bug fixes for Nexus One, video chat for Nexus S. But a surprise is still to come!

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 28th, 2011, 6:09 pm

Video Chat on Your Android Phone

Sometimes, the expressions on a person's face can mean much more than what they say. To help you stay in touch with your friends and family, we’re launching Google Talk with video and voice chat for Android phones.

You can now video or voice chat with your friends, family and colleagues right from your Android phone, whether they’re on their compatible Android tablet or phone, or using Gmail with Google Talk on their computer. You can make calls over a 3G or 4G data network (if your carrier supports it) or over Wi-Fi.

In your Google Talk friends list, a video or voice chat button will appear next to your contacts and you can simply touch the button to connect with them. Any text chats from the person you’re talking with will be overlaid on your phone’s screen so you can read them without having to leave the video. And, if you need to check something else, the video pauses automatically so you can go back to your phone’s home screen or another app. The audio will keep going even though the video has paused. Check out how this works:

Google Talk with video and voice chat will gradually roll out to Nexus S devices in the next few weeks as part of the Android 2.3.4 over-the-air update and will launch on other Android 2.3+ devices in the future. To learn more about using video and voice chat, check out our Help Center.

Google Mobile Blog

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » April 28th, 2011, 7:36 pm

Google talk, sigh :(

996vtwin
In Memory of George Aboud Jr.

Postby 996vtwin » April 28th, 2011, 8:07 pm

Guys I set up a family member's Ipad for them and and have been switching between using Windows XP/Windows 7/Mac OSX/Iphone 4 and now the Ipad. Coming mostly from a PC world, then used Symbia Nokia for quite some time I will say that Apple is totally ahead of the rest. No sheit. I never used Android but I have to say that the simplicity of Apple products is disgusting. Using Itunes to share everything from an Apple Tv to videos or whatever is so easy compared to what I was accustomed to. Damn, no wonder Apple people are so relaxed. :)

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » April 28th, 2011, 8:14 pm

996vtwin wrote:Guys I set up a family member's Ipad for them and and have been switching between using Windows XP/Windows 7/Mac OSX/Iphone 4 and now the Ipad. Coming mostly from a PC world, then used Symbia Nokia for quite some time I will say that Apple is totally ahead of the rest. No sheit. I never used Android but I have to say that the simplicity of Apple products is disgusting. Using Itunes to share everything from an Apple Tv to videos or whatever is so easy compared to what I was accustomed to. Damn, no wonder Apple people are so relaxed. :)

U in d wrong ched bhai :|

996vtwin
In Memory of George Aboud Jr.

Postby 996vtwin » April 28th, 2011, 8:18 pm

Captainzaak wrote:
996vtwin wrote:Guys I set up a family member's Ipad for them and and have been switching between using Windows XP/Windows 7/Mac OSX/Iphone 4 and now the Ipad. Coming mostly from a PC world, then used Symbia Nokia for quite some time I will say that Apple is totally ahead of the rest. No sheit. I never used Android but I have to say that the simplicity of Apple products is disgusting. Using Itunes to share everything from an Apple Tv to videos or whatever is so easy compared to what I was accustomed to. Damn, no wonder Apple people are so relaxed. :)

Na.. like to hear the opinion of the guys who are not subjective actually...

Postby M_2NR » April 28th, 2011, 8:24 pm

Captainzaak wrote:

but be happy he never had to explain what a jailbreak is or how to unlocked a locked phone to someone... its the facking worst

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » April 28th, 2011, 9:24 pm

or post links to felixburns cfw

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » April 30th, 2011, 7:08 pm

So finally install my decal i bought on amazon.
Came out good, pics-

:mrgreen:

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 30th, 2011, 8:38 pm

waysssssi wants, send me the link for amazon where u get that lol

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » April 30th, 2011, 9:04 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:waysssssi wants, send me the link for amazon where u get that lol

haha, here ya go.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B003KXEYQU

zcarz

Postby zcarz » May 1st, 2011, 4:03 am

captainzaak take care an apple fan pelt a iphone through yuh window

Postby M_2NR » May 1st, 2011, 11:22 am

Yea i have a 2G iPhone to buss he glass. Duane say he eh mind either, so thats two. But i taking back my 2G though, Duane say yuh could keep his.

___

BTW anyone using Amazon Cloud Service? how its going?

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » May 1st, 2011, 12:28 pm

zcarz wrote:captainzaak take care an apple fan pelt a iphone through yuh window

If thats the case i'll just use d phone to pay for a new windscreen, hoping they use a 4G :mrgreen:

Swisha

Postby Swisha » May 1st, 2011, 1:35 pm

das probably all an iPhone good for anyway :lol:

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 1st, 2011, 2:50 pm

Quick question, anyone know if the Galaxy S (i9000T) could be upgraded from 2.1, preferably to 2.3 & if so how?

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » May 1st, 2011, 3:17 pm

^that i9000T is the version of the Galaxy S that bmobile is selling. It seems specific to latin america.
You can upgrade to 2.2 officially via the Samsung Kies software, no problems. Thats what i currently running.
As for 2.3, it started rolling out across europe and was then stopped. Don't know whats the latest with that, but there are a couple 'leaked official' roms out there that you could use.

Crucial

Postby Crucial » May 1st, 2011, 7:20 pm

Official Nexus S twitter page (@googlenexus):

"Android 2.3.4 OTA rolling out over the next few weeks! Has bug fixes for Nexus One, video chat for Nexus S. But a surprise is still to come!"

Anyone got this update for their Nexus S as yet?

outlaw101

Postby outlaw101 » May 3rd, 2011, 6:10 am

http://www.liveprofile.com/

get it for your android,bb or iphones recently updated as well!!

outlaw101

Postby outlaw101 » May 4th, 2011, 3:22 am

guys anyone got the fast 5 game for their device yet? so far so good with me

Postby cinco » May 8th, 2011, 9:34 pm

suggestion for a phone around 300 us???
for a woman??? meaning not too bulky

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » May 8th, 2011, 9:40 pm

outlaw101 wrote:http://www.liveprofile.com/

how good is it, caught enough hell to get BB people on whatsapp
what is the advantage over whats app

Swisha

Postby Swisha » May 8th, 2011, 10:37 pm

Comscore report finds widening Android lead in US smartphone market, largely at RIM's expense

The percentage shift in the chart above tells most of the story here. According to Comscore's latest report, Android's share of the US smartphone market grew an impressive six percent in the three-month period ending in March to land at 34.7 percent, and RIM took the biggest hit as a result, slipping 4.5 points to a share of 27.1 percent. That's still enough to keep it ahead of Apple, however, which held its own with a slight gain to 25.5 percent. Both Microsoft and Palm / HP slipped just under a percent each to land in a distant fourth and fifth place, respectively. As for mobile OEMs, things stayed almost identical during the three month period, with Samsung, LG, and Motorola occupying the top three spots, and only Apple seeing any significant gains thanks to the Verizon iPhone launch -- although that still wasn't enough to push it above RIM for the fourth spot. Hit up the source link below for all the numbers.

Engadget

outlaw101

Postby outlaw101 » May 9th, 2011, 2:27 pm

outlaw101 wrote:
http://www.liveprofile.com/

how good is it, caught enough hell to get BB people on whatsapp
what is the advantage over whats app

the UI is way better than whatsapp,it uses a pin like bbm its cross platform for iphones,bb and android like whats app,u can see if ur msg is send,delivered and read and a couple more but i rather it over whats app

Swisha

Postby Swisha » May 9th, 2011, 10:08 pm

i find LiveProfile is more reliable in getting msgs delivered quickly compared to WhatsApp

i'm getting issues with sending files on LiveProfile though...

Postby Chimera » May 9th, 2011, 10:09 pm

htc aria any good?

outlaw101

Postby outlaw101 » May 10th, 2011, 1:40 am

mitch i got that same problem otherwise its good, hopefully it will be fixed soon.

any of you guys heard if there is a app in the works about linking bbm pins with andoirds and ios instant msgn apps?

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » May 10th, 2011, 2:22 am

bbm supposed to be coming out from what i heard, a stripped down version from RIM

ill install the live profile and check it out
i prefer how everything integrates with whatsapp on htc, dont like this pin crap
is like a step backwards to some kinda of old segmented tech

anyone running a costum rom on htc yet?
looking to put revalution HD nex weekend when i get some time
phone already rooted

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » May 10th, 2011, 6:52 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:htc aria any good?

yea got me one of these last week as a first android. Certainly is worth it.