3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

Yeo

Postby Yeo » August 15th, 2008, 12:10 pm

I using a El Cheapo from Best Buy us$29.99 :mrgreen:

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » August 15th, 2008, 2:01 pm

My El Shito broke, so I've been usin El borrowdo.

Once Amazon stop screwin around and get me my cam upgrade, I have a few jobs lined up and then should be buying these:

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/control ... 298&is=REG

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/control ... 535&is=REG

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » August 15th, 2008, 2:18 pm

I'm going to sell my XTI and get either a XSi or a 40D..... I need something with live view
Guys in the NYC or Miami area could check Craigslist for sweet deals.... Lots of well taken care off stuff on there for decent price

Samo

Postby Samo » August 15th, 2008, 2:24 pm

Dragist,love the greenry

Dragist

Postby Dragist » August 15th, 2008, 2:53 pm

Thanx Samo .

Scullman that's the same B&H Bogen / Manfrotto kit I was looking at

Dragist

Postby Dragist » August 15th, 2008, 3:32 pm

Oh Hold that

Postby Maserati » August 15th, 2008, 4:24 pm

anyone using the Canon Rebel XT, I know it is a bit old but I'm now getting into the SLR scene, getting a used one with 18-55mm/80-200mm/3 Batt./1gb card/Bag - $500CDN.
Last edited by Maserati on August 15th, 2008, 5:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Dragist

Postby Dragist » August 15th, 2008, 5:18 pm

^^^ That's what I am using Rebel XT , That looks like a good deal Is that the 18-55 Kit lens ?

Postby Maserati » August 15th, 2008, 5:28 pm

It is the 8-55mm lens and the compact 80-200mm lens he said.

Seeing the Nikon 40D body alone for $382.76 new as well.

Dragist

Postby Dragist » August 15th, 2008, 5:32 pm

Interesting I never heard about a 8-55mm I just did a search and found nothing

Postby Maserati » August 15th, 2008, 5:36 pm

my bad is the 18-55mm lens as you said. mistype on my part.

check a store by me the 18-55mm is $234.63 CDN and the 80-200mm is $199.95 CDN.

Dragist

Postby Dragist » August 15th, 2008, 5:44 pm

And another thing if it's a 80-200mm 2.8 L it's a older lens and the AF is a bit slow Image quality is great , also lovingly called the magic drainpipe .

Some photos from that lens

http://photography-on-the.net/forum/sho ... p?t=236359

If it's the Canon 80-200 4.5/5.6 II , not so special

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » August 15th, 2008, 5:55 pm

alyuh fellas good yes.. :shock:

Postby pugboy » August 15th, 2008, 6:17 pm

Maserati you must mean the D40 not 40D
the Nikon D40 is a nice camera but these models are rather small and mickey mouseish

Postby Maserati » August 15th, 2008, 6:47 pm

pugboy wrote:Maserati you must mean the D40 not 40D
the Nikon D40 is a nice camera but these models are rather small and mickey mouseish

ah yes the D40 :oops:
out of it today :lol:

Postby pugboy » August 15th, 2008, 7:04 pm

500CDN is a real good deal for a very widely known proven camera
you should try and find out how much clicks it has on the shutter

it nice to own the latest and greatest camera but I think unless you are a pro the margin of returns on a camera costing twice as much as another will be very negligible
very often when shopping for expensive electronic items, big screen tv, laptops, digicams etc the person will read every tom dick and harry review and pick nits with all kinds of things, after they spend their money they soon forget about all those things

this is a very good read
http://www.kenrockwell.com/tech/7.htm

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » August 15th, 2008, 9:20 pm

I can sell you my like new XTI with Tamron 75-300 f4-5.6 & 4GB extremeIII for $500 :lol:

Check out this site for great reviews on canon lenses...
http://www.the-digital-picture.com/Canon-Lenses/

I must take some time to thank Draglist for inspiring me to run out and buy a DSLR :lol:
Who ever thought that a V8 man could influence me into something :lol: but it was a good decision because now I'm hooked on this sheit...
I'm going to upgrade my camera to maybe a 40D and start building a collection of lenses to keep be busy over the winter when I can't play with rotarys :lol:

There's so much more to a camera than the "auto" setting :lol:
I've learnt some major sheit by reading all the infomation available on the web, plus youtube got some great basic tutorials... Now my camera don't come off "M, TV & AV" :lol: with 3-4k clicks in under 3 weeks :mrgreen:

Dragist

Postby Dragist » August 15th, 2008, 10:00 pm

^^^^ Sniff sniff :cry: :cry: Great move I myself am looking at upgrading to the 5D though , Manual all the way I moved from "Green box mode" when I had the P&S .

Best forum for Canon based knowledge

http://photography-on-the.net/forum

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » August 16th, 2008, 12:58 am

Well for the cheap arse fellas like myself with millions of old cell headphones throwing about, now may be a good time to use them..
Fork buying a Canon remote shutter realise, just chop up a old headphone or go down by steves electronics and tell Andy yuh want a mini push botton switch and a mini headphone jack... I just tried it and it works like a million bucks :idea: Buy me a beer when you see me :mrgreen:

http://cegeekbook.blogspot.com/2008/04/ ... canon.html

Dragist

Postby Dragist » August 16th, 2008, 1:43 am

You know how I have been meaning to make one of them

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » August 16th, 2008, 1:48 am

lookout some for Macro shots this weekend.... I just saw a elcheapo tripod in the basement so i'll be breaking that out tomorrow if the weather is good.... Today we had a major storm here and just before the rain the sky was in sheer beauty, but my camera was at home :(

would you believe that im actually walking around looking some sheit to snap :shock: The bug has bitten real bad :lol:

pyromaniax

Postby pyromaniax » August 16th, 2008, 3:31 am

i looking tuh buy d nikon coolpix p80..anybody using dat?

Postby pugboy » August 16th, 2008, 5:35 am

you can get generic wireless remotes on ebay for cheap also

Dragist

Postby Dragist » August 16th, 2008, 6:46 pm

So I am trying Macro now

obeiron

Postby obeiron » August 17th, 2008, 12:17 am

Nice pics people. Impressive fly Dragist!

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » August 17th, 2008, 6:14 pm

bad attempt at tusing 'bulb' mode at night. :? Pointers or general rule for ISO?

Dragist

Postby Dragist » August 17th, 2008, 7:10 pm

Looking good Prozac I see no problem with your ISO in the first pic you had more ambient light

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » August 17th, 2008, 7:27 pm

Thanks dude. What surprise me is that stars actually showed up in the pics of the night sky. I went out again and I couldnt see them witt the naked eye at all.

Dragist

Postby Dragist » August 17th, 2008, 7:35 pm

Yes I see that you used between 10s - 14s Shutter speed's for the sky shots you will pick up the stars

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » August 17th, 2008, 7:50 pm

Why use BULB for 8-14 sec exposures?

Why not use Tv (shutter priority) if you have an idea how long you want to expose for?

Or even Av, if you know what kinda of Depth of field you'r e lookin at?

I see the last shot was at Iso 200, so if you wanted more for the motion blur in the clouds as well as better clarity you could have used Iso 100 with twice the shutter speed