Re: ****the official CRICKET thread*****

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 1st, 2021, 5:47 pm

West indies yes

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » July 1st, 2021, 6:00 pm

Is when you don't care to watch them anymore that's when they win. So for Saturday's match nobody in here watch them now yuh hear?

Postby bluefete » July 1st, 2021, 6:17 pm

DMan7 wrote:Is when you don't care to watch them anymore that's when they win. So for Saturday's match nobody in here watch them now yuh hear?

But you will be ramajaying as usual, ent? :D :D

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » July 1st, 2021, 6:35 pm

bluefete wrote:
DMan7 wrote:Is when you don't care to watch them anymore that's when they win. So for Saturday's match nobody in here watch them now yuh hear?

But you will be ramajaying as usual, ent? :D :D

That's how we West Indians do it. :D

Postby Dizzy28 » July 2nd, 2021, 9:34 am

Nice surprise yesterday. Saw WI batting 101-6 in the 16th over and switched off.
Later on to see they reached 167 and then won was not expected to say the least.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 2nd, 2021, 10:08 am

Thank god SA won the toss

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » July 2nd, 2021, 10:13 am

SA looks like they may have a weakness in chasing as they have been notoriously known as "chokers". I wonder if Polly wins the toss next match if he will take that into consideration to determine if we should bat or bowl first.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 2nd, 2021, 1:17 pm

I doubt that game playing tomorrow

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » July 2nd, 2021, 1:23 pm

Hopefully they could squeeze a 10 over game.
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I doubt that game playing tomorrow

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » July 3rd, 2021, 11:08 am

Match is playing today and it's going to be a full game too, the weather is absolutely fine today.

Image from the Grenada Cricket Stadium early this morning.
https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_ ... 7768494749

Postby X_Factor » July 3rd, 2021, 8:53 pm

so the bomb squad get blown up

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 5th, 2021, 10:17 am

Windies up against the Aussies from the 9th. Let's see what they do

pato

Postby pato » July 5th, 2021, 1:27 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Windies up against the Aussies from the 9th. Let's see what they do

My question is why is coach Simmons still there? The limited success in T20's so far I believe is down to players coaching themselves instead of him, while in tests the lack of experience and coaching is really showing. Where is the progress? It's over 20 years we rebuilding, what we building so ?

Postby Dizzy28 » July 5th, 2021, 1:42 pm

pato wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Windies up against the Aussies from the 9th. Let's see what they do

My question is why is coach Simmons still there? The limited success in T20's so far I believe is down to players coaching themselves instead of him, while in tests the lack of experience and coaching is really showing. Where is the progress? It's over 20 years we rebuilding, what we building so ?

20 years ago is 2001. We been shiet long before that.
The 5-0 whitewash in South Africa was in 1998.
The 5-0 whitewash in Australia was in 2000.

After the tail end of the golden era WI didn't adjust to the new norms - fitness, diets, mental training, analytics etc. . Remember the old physio, Dennis Waithe and his comments when leaving about players not taking him on?

Since then we bridge some of the gap but ah mean they still insist on picking Cornwall so diet and fitness probably still not that big of an issue.

Postby bluefete » July 5th, 2021, 4:06 pm

pato wrote:

Licks like rain. You expect anything different?

Results do not matter. WI do not operate on results-based performance. Whenever his contract is up, they will review.

And we in decline since 1995, eh!!!!!

Except for winning a couple T20 trophies, we have played brainless, bling bling cricket.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » July 5th, 2021, 6:33 pm

It's the low standards we keep on setting. WI need to realize that gone are the days someone could drop out of school at 15 years to be a full time player. Unless we insist on selecting players who completed a certain level of education nothing would change. Players need to "study" the game more. Look for opposition weakness and play with a plan.

Postby X_Factor » July 5th, 2021, 9:32 pm

fokhan_96 wrote:It's the low standards we keep on setting. WI need to realize that gone are the days someone could drop out of school at 15 years to be a full time player. Unless we insist on selecting players who completed a certain level of education nothing would change. Players need to "study" the game more. Look for opposition weakness and play with a plan.

Agreed, blame pollard for this loss
in the 14th over when they dropped hetmyer, they had 7 runs with 2 balls bowled
had pollard, being the captain all just batted out that over and not give SA any chances, and just took a single off the next 4 balls, they would have 11 runs, SA would be starting the next over on a low
and with 5 overs to go, the chase would have been on

But no, he went right after the drop catch, got caught, and russell with all the experience slash and out as well

Thats why we will never up up there any time soon, the other elite players may have mediocre talent
but strong mindset, focus and strategy

Postby Dizzy28 » July 6th, 2021, 11:35 am

Entire English squad that played the ODIs against Sri Lanka under isolation after 3 players and 4 staff test positive for Covid. An entirely new squad has been called up as their Pakistan series starts in two days.

Capture.JPG

Postby Dizzy28 » July 9th, 2021, 2:04 pm

WI vs Australia first T20 later (7.30pm) in St Lucia

WI have some issues to fix given the loss to RSA

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 9th, 2021, 3:46 pm

Some^?...lollll

Aussies playing a 2nd strength side though.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » July 9th, 2021, 7:45 pm

They still have a good team. But was looking to see Pat Cummings run through this WI batting.
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Some^?...lollll

Aussies playing a 2nd strength side though.

Postby bluefete » July 9th, 2021, 7:56 pm

WI looking like real schoolboys against the Aussies

WI 22/1 (5.2 overs)

LOL 24/2 (5.5 overs)

Any bets on WI making 100 runs by 20 overs?

Postby bluefete » July 9th, 2021, 8:00 pm

WI have no idea how to play Josh Hazelwood - 3 overs 3 runs 2 wickets. LMAO.

Time to fire the coach.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » July 9th, 2021, 8:04 pm

You really feel the coach would have told lewis and Gayle to play those shots.
He probably was cussing too.
bluefete wrote:WI have no idea how to play Josh Hazelwood - 3 overs 3 runs 2 wickets. LMAO.

Time to fire the coach.

Postby bluefete » July 9th, 2021, 8:21 pm

The coach's job is to strategize and have a plan as to how the batsmen will play all the bowlers.

If Lewis and Gayle did not play to the plan, the must be fired from the team.

When we start to do that and fine them for doing shrite, the players will get serious.

fokhan_96 wrote:You really feel the coach would have told lewis and Gayle to play those shots.
He probably was cussing too.
bluefete wrote:WI have no idea how to play Josh Hazelwood - 3 overs 3 runs 2 wickets. LMAO.

Time to fire the coach.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 9th, 2021, 8:58 pm

May have missed it....what went on with Pollard? Injured?

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » July 9th, 2021, 9:06 pm

Hamstring.
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:May have missed it....what went on with Pollard? Injured?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 9th, 2021, 10:41 pm

West indies yes

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » July 9th, 2021, 10:51 pm

Australia pull a Windies dey, snatch defeat from the jaws of victory.