Petrotrin refinery shut down

Re: Petrotrin refinery to shut down

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 27th, 2018, 6:22 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:So no gas supplier as yet...minister says there is a 20 day supply of fuel left after the closure...very interesting statements here...it is highly possible that there would be a rise in fuel prices
So you feel I does be talking tootoo oh wah? Price hike coming.

the thing is by how much...doh buss meh head on the figures eh...but I remember some economist saying that super could be around $4.95 and diesel very close to that...

Now for those who don't know, diesel is very expensive on the international market...so that $4 and something could be a lot more in time to come

ADONI

Postby ADONI » September 27th, 2018, 8:33 am

sinister_14 wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:So no gas supplier as yet...minister says there is a 20 day supply of fuel left after the closure...very interesting statements here...it is highly possible that there would be a rise in fuel prices
So you feel I does be talking tootoo oh wah? Price hike coming.
I guess d rest of the country brain dead and cant see this...they gonna come last minute when that 20 day reserve almost done and say...Ahh we get a supplier but we have to pay the international price so therefore the gas price is higher... charged more at the pumps no more subsidy...more money for them to thief...you feel dem jackass in govt stupid they always have a plan to fatten their pockets come nah man...and all yuh ent riot yet.....

Well look, Petro-Chin closing at end of the month, where it falls inline with the budget date....

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 27th, 2018, 8:46 am

Postby toyolink » September 27th, 2018, 9:38 am

The assurance given by the Minister Of Energy about imported fuel supplies being in place so that no difficulties would be faced by motorist is a cause for concern.
One cannot easily accept the assurance given without firm supplier agreements in-hand and considering timing debacles like the Tobago ferry etc., it leaves us in a serious state of uneasiness.
BTW, Barbados who relied on Petrotrin for supplies seem to have a better inventory cushion than we do.

Postby The_Honourable » September 27th, 2018, 9:45 am

4 more days... Roget still praying.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 27th, 2018, 10:31 am

it simple...no gas, car can't full up...so nobody going to work...indirect national shut down

Postby The_Honourable » September 27th, 2018, 10:34 am

I have received some very disturbing news today which is in fact connected to the article I wrote on Independence Day. It is alleged that TECU is busy having emergency meetings due to a draw down or liquidation of it's shares by it's members. The information suggests that the Institution is in a panic as the decline in funds it controls (Petrotrin workers monies) is posing a serious threat to it's very existence.

The Unit Trust Corporation, the holder of the Petrotrin Employees Savings plan has also been hard hit. Millions of dollars are being allegedly withdrawn by workers as they prepare to settle their outstanding liabilities of mortgages and other loans.

The effect of the announced closure of Petrotrin and the dismissal of some 5000 workers has therefore. already begun having a negative impact on the financial sector. I am sure that most of the other financial institutions in the south-land have been experiencing similar situations.

Imagine, this is just the smoke. The fire is yet to come.

Remember the old saying, "A bank gives you an umbrella when the sun is shining brightly and takes it way when the rain begins falling. Well, this is living proof of that. How many banks and credit unions are now going to be forced to foreclose on properties owned by workers? How many families are now going to end up on the street now that they are no longer going to be employed. I have so many young co-workers who have very little service but have entered into mortgage agreements with these institutions. To them I say sorry. Sorry that they are now going to be subjected to such a life shattering experience.

To my casual friends who have taken loans to build and renovate your properties, my heart bleeds for you.
All this because of the greed of a very small percentage of our population, the mismanagement of this company by successive governments and the outright corruption which I have written about over the last few weeks.

This is only the beginning. I dread what our country is going to be looking like in the near future.

Tony Bedassie
31 August at 05:13

The effect on the local economy is already being felt as a result of the announced dismissal of Petrotrin employees. Don't believe me? Ask Unit trust, the banks, Credit Unions, Insurance companies, Direct TV and cable providers etc.
I promise you, there is already a run being made on our financial institutions. In the case of Unit Trust, your value depends a lot on how much of your funds they hold. Think about that for a bit and then tell me if you the average citizen who thinks that this is just about workers will not be affected?
Your nest egg might just be turning into a duck egg.

Postby hydroep » September 27th, 2018, 11:08 am

Wouldn't be surprised if people have begun making inquiries/preparations for the inevitable, but Mr. Bedassie has to be careful. Rumors and fear mongering could result in a self-fulfilling prophecy, similar to what happened to Bank of Commerce in the early '90s.

IMO the real impact will be felt some time after people have been axed. Those who have not been rehired and cannot find jobs will be forced to draw down on their savings. Makes no sense to do that now while you still have an income and your investments are earning interest.

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » September 27th, 2018, 11:52 am

The only casualty would be TECU which has around 2billion in assets and a run on it does not pose any systemic risk to the financial system. UTC and banks are liquid enough to deal with any run from Petrotrin employees.

Postby toyolink » September 27th, 2018, 12:05 pm

I really cannot understand how this Petrotrin shut-down is being managed.
A decision is pronounced with a date, but no plan for a smooth transition.
The chaos and pain which is being facilitated would obviously send the whole country into dis-equilibrium.
This aint about politics but prudent management.

Postby Redman » September 27th, 2018, 1:40 pm

Bedassie again ignores the SIMPLE truth that it is a MINORITY of workers whose income will be permanently affected.....in the context of not generating ANY income for ever.

Postby nervewrecker » September 27th, 2018, 8:27 pm

neilsingh100 wrote:The only casualty would be TECU which has around 2billion in assets and a run on it does not pose any systemic risk to the financial system. UTC and banks are liquid enough to deal with any run from Petrotrin employees.
Penal credit union also.

A tuner was telling me he went to take out some. Asked them if they will be in business in a few weeks with all the withdrawals. The look they gave, he took out all.

Even I sceptical about what I have in TECU.

People now realising what taking place? I done looking to fly out. Things gunna get grimey here.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 28th, 2018, 6:41 am

Great is the PNM, all them PNM cacaholes at my job who praising Rowley for this move just wait until the ricochet effect takes place. All them PNM cacaholes saying how is only Indian wukking Petrotrin so them eh care since they making $45K a month just wait for that ricochet effect, this country will finally hit the bottom of the latrine and when that sh!t splatter up it will rain down sh!t on Trinidad and PNM people go cah run.

It have a PNM man in my wuk praying for them to shut down the WHOLE of Petrotrin just imagine that. But he begging me to buy he a box of Bar B Que the other day in Debe by A&A Hut

These people dotish like that.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on September 28th, 2018, 6:47 am, edited 2 times in total.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » September 28th, 2018, 6:46 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Great is the PNM, all them PNM cacaholes at my job who praising Rowley for this move just wait until the ricochet effect takes place. All them PNM cacaholes saying how is only Indian wukking Petrotrin so them eh care since they making $45K a month just wait for that ricochet effect, this country will finally hit the bottom of the latrine and when that sh!t splatter up it will rain down sh!t on Trinidad and PNM people go cah run.

It have a PNM man in my wuk praying for them to shut down the WHOLE of Petrotrin just imagine that. But he begging me to buy he a box of Bar B Que the other day in Debe by A&A Hut
Wow.

They have to be some big cacaholes to be thinking like that.

If the price for fuel raises at the pump, I hope those same cacaholes can wave their party cards at the NP and Unipet fuel depots to get a discount.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 28th, 2018, 6:51 am

Pointman-IA wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Great is the PNM, all them PNM cacaholes at my job who praising Rowley for this move just wait until the ricochet effect takes place. All them PNM cacaholes saying how is only Indian wukking Petrotrin so them eh care since they making $45K a month just wait for that ricochet effect, this country will finally hit the bottom of the latrine and when that sh!t splatter up it will rain down sh!t on Trinidad and PNM people go cah run.

Wow.

They have to be some big cacaholes to be thinking like that.

If the price for fuel raises at the pump, I hope those same cacaholes can wave their party cards at the NP and Unipet fuel depots to get a discount.

These jackasses will defend Rowley to the end and will believe ANYTHING Rowley tells them. Them could NEVER care about country hoss them only care about PNM.

I work among mostly PNM people and this is how they think, I just wish they would stop running to A&A down Debe for that $20 B-B-QUE everytime they in South, they should stay up north and pay the $45 for a box because get ready that price is about to go UP once the refinery shuts down. They have this belief only south people will suffer but little do they know

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 28th, 2018, 6:56 am

blame kamla for petrochin?? blame kamla for possible gas hike?? for some strange reason I get to realize is mainly pnmites who are affected by this gov't....everybody else know how to cut back, band deh belly, conserve and still make it happen

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » September 28th, 2018, 7:18 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:blame kamla for petrochin?? blame kamla for possible gas hike?? for some strange reason I get to realize is mainly pnmites who are affected by this gov't....everybody else know how to cut back, band deh belly, conserve and still make it happen
I am feeling it for the legit Petrotrin worker that would have carrying out their job function honestly and are not affiliated by the political viruses of this land.

The PNM til they dead folks in Carenage got a wake up call recently.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » September 28th, 2018, 8:20 am

These people dotish like that.

Same set ah characters in work by me dread!

Postby hydroep » September 28th, 2018, 8:43 am

Yeah well, if they want to behave like Jackarses, just behave like a bigger one. One of dem who constantly singing Sh!tkickers' praises while blaming everybody else for the country's problems come by me the other day with a donation sheet. Ah tell she "kerry it by yuh Prime Minister".

That was the end of that...:|

Postby gastly369 » September 28th, 2018, 2:46 pm

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » September 28th, 2018, 2:50 pm

hydroep wrote:Yeah well, if they want to behave like Jackarses, just behave like a bigger one. One of dem who constantly singing Sh!tkickers' praises while blaming everybody else for the country's problems come by me the other day with a donation sheet. Ah tell she "kerry it by yuh Prime Minister".

That was the end of that...:|
Was she wearing a red panty?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 28th, 2018, 3:01 pm

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » September 28th, 2018, 3:27 pm

All Petrotrin employees to be terminated at the end of November and will receive severance pay based on the terms of their collective agreement. Anyone knows the terms of the collective agreement?

At the meeting, the board also advised the union that Petrotrin’s operations will cease on 2018 November 30 and that all permanent employees will receive their termination by the terms of the relevant collective agreements.

http://www.cnc3.co.tt/press-release/pet ... osal-union

Postby hydroep » September 28th, 2018, 3:39 pm

Growlers does hold-on to grudge. He fork-up Manning for ostracising his uncouth arse and now he's forking up the OWTU for emasculating him during those wage negotiations in early 2017.

Man look like one vindictive son-of-a-b!tch yes...:|

Postby hydroep » September 28th, 2018, 3:42 pm

neilsingh100 wrote:All Petrotrin employees to be terminated at the end of November and will receive severance pay based on the terms of their collective agreement. Anyone knows the terms of the collective agreement?

At the meeting, the board also advised the union that Petrotrin’s operations will cease on 2018 November 30 and that all permanent employees will receive their termination by the terms of the relevant collective agreements.

http://www.cnc3.co.tt/press-release/pet ... osal-union

Just before Christmas yes. Dem mofos heartless...:|

Postby The_Honourable » September 28th, 2018, 6:28 pm

JTUM to stage 3-day protest march

The Joint Trade Union Move­ment will match for three days in an at­tempt to con­vince Gov­ern­ment to change their minds on the clo­sure of the Petrotrin re­fin­ery.

The march, ti­tled 'Oil Joins Sug­ar: The Moth­er of all March­es,' will be­gin in Point-a-Pierre next Wednes­day, Oil­field Work­ers Trade Union Pres­i­dent Gen­er­al An­cel Ro­get said out­side the Min­istry of Fi­nance ear­li­er to­day.

"We are very con­cerned about what is go­ing to hap­pen to Trinidad and To­ba­go when the Gov­ern­ment clos­es down Petrotrin," said Ro­get, who said the march was so named due to the fate that be­fell Ca­roni 1975 Ltd, which was closed in 2003.

"The point we wish to make, the same PNM Gov­ern­ment would have dec­i­mat­ed the sug­ar in­dus­try. We saw what they did with Ca­roni and made a lot of promis­es to the Ca­roni work­ers. To­day, those work­ers are still all over the place, there are promis­es still un­ful­filled but more im­por­tant­ly, they dec­i­mat­ed an in­dus­try and they are about to dec­i­mate the oil in­dus­try."

He added: "We'd like to high­light that once again the Gov­ern­ment is about to close down a ma­jor rev­enue stream and put some 9,000 work­ers out of a bread and dec­i­mate the south­ern com­mu­ni­ty and ul­ti­mate­ly it's go­ing to af­fect the econ­o­my."

Pub­lic Ser­vices As­so­ci­a­tion and Na­tion­al Trade Union Cen­tre pres­i­dent Wat­son Duke pledged sol­i­dar­i­ty to cause.

"We can­not just stand by and whis­tle and en­gage in wish­ful think­ing, we have to do some­thing," Duke said.

"We need to say to the na­tion in this democ­ra­cy, that we ob­ject to what the Gov­ern­ment is do­ing and thus what we will be do­ing on Wednes­day, Thurs­day and Fri­day is a demon­stra­tion of our feel­ings of dis­con­tent."

The march will be­gin on Wednes­day at the Petrotrin round­about in Point-a-Pierre at 9 am and end at the Rien­zi Com­plex, Cou­va, at 4 pm, stay over at that venue, then re­sume on Thurs­day from Rien­zi Com­plex at 6 am. From there, they will head to the Aranguez Sa­van­nah, San Juan. On Fri­day, the fi­nal leg will con­tin­ue from Aranguez to the Bri­an Lara Prom­e­nade, Port-of-Spain.

Unions will ad­dress work­ers on each day of the march at the overnight venue. On Fri­day, the unions say, a mas­sive ral­ly will be held in Port-of-Spain.

Ro­get said the march has al­so at­tract­ed for­eign in­ter­est and he ex­pects in­ter­na­tion­al me­dia to cov­er the event.

Source: http://www.cnc3.co.tt/press-release/jtu ... test-march

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 28th, 2018, 7:13 pm

Marching is going to prove what exactly ?

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » September 28th, 2018, 7:29 pm

^^^ That they have feet and can walk from point A to point B.

Postby gastly369 » September 28th, 2018, 7:32 pm

vaiostation wrote:^^^ That they have feet and can walk from point A to point B.
Where n when.de mc legal actions....

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » September 28th, 2018, 9:58 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Marching is going to prove what exactly ?

Not 1 flying fcuk. But nobody rioting so we like it so. In 2020 prepare to pay taxes for taking a pee.