Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 17th, 2017, 1:00 pm

my neighbor said he isn't dropping in this because he expects the UNC to take this to court and have it repealed for being unconstitutional.

So to him the $500 is small thing if he really has to pay it in the end. He believes he is taking a stance by not paying this, good for him though I do wish he would also take a stance against drinking so much rum since his rum and cigarette bill must be like $15000 a year.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » May 17th, 2017, 1:10 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:my neighbor said he isn't dropping in this because he expects the UNC to take this to court and have it repealed for being unconstitutional.

So to him the $500 is small thing if he really has to pay it in the end. He believes he is taking a stance by not paying this, good for him though I do wish he would also take a stance against drinking so much rum since his rum and cigarette bill must be like $15000 a year.

u jelous?

maybe one day with this dunce pnm government u may be able to earn money to buy things

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 17th, 2017, 1:23 pm

no i eh jelly at all good for him he could afford 2 pack of Du Maurier a day more power to him he believes if he quits smoking right now he will die because he has been smoking for 50 years now. So good for him if he can afford it

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » May 17th, 2017, 2:49 pm

sMASH wrote:the removal of fuel subsidy is necessary, as well as devaluing the TTd. but, just like the fuel subsidy, now is a very bad time for it to occur, so it should be a gradual thing. and that OPT thing is stupid, as a measure to reduce the USd hemorrhage. its like putting a plaster on a bruise, when u have a gaping wound in ur chest.

think of it like this, the government is subsidizing part of the cost of the USd.

So if the TTD is devalued... Would you be happy if everything you own is worth less, less purchasing power
Ready to pay $60 for an avocado? $100 for a bread, $1000 for a whole chicken, $1 million for a base model Corolla that your can drive to the stadium to watch a promo cricket match?... One played mostly by has beens who have returned for just one more cash in?

What about when the cost of medication skyrockets? Every investment T&T has or will do overseas will suddenly be worth less..... Especially with respect to newer, ridiculously expensive drugs that even a middle classed person in the USA wouldn't even be able to afford. ie in the sad state where you've got to pay to live otherwise a miserable end.

Will this devaluation improve stock in the hospitals?
Are Trini pharmaceutical companies going to start manufacturing even simple medical consumables overnight?

What about those who are struggling with the current food and commodity prices?

And your those who are injured and dependent on an $1800 per month disability... Suddenly it becomes even more of a stretch

Pensioners with their $3k or is it $5k per month.. How will they manage?

I've noticed that most of those calling for a devaluation seem to be doing so from their Ivory towers and others who are watching safely from a first world country. The latter group seems to have also forgotten that it was TT tax dollars converted to USD that paid for their scholarships (both legit academic and shady political awards) out of the country.

Trinidad will always be a 3rd world country if so many people continue with their "jamming still" mentality... that pay huge $$ for what seems to be their only opportunity to see some skin for a few days per year
That and their INSANE red vs yellow nonsense

So that being said.... I don't happen to be an amchair tuner economist myself....... Please enlighten me on:
why online purchase tax is not the lesser of two evils
And
What exactly will devaluation solve?

I AGREE that the fuel subsidy should be gradually removed though.... But archaic engine size taxes as well....
The government should be glad to sell me gasoline for a V8 or V12 at unsubsidized prices.... But they will never get the chance to... As I can only afford a paltry 1L engine

Postby matr1x » May 17th, 2017, 3:23 pm

drchaos wrote:
matr1x wrote:Whoever talks about trini work culture being lazy and such, either parroting what someone else say, or themselves lazy. Have I encountered poor service? Sure. But of you look at the types, it's not hard to draw conclusion.

People who think it's better outside in terms of public service, go to Europe. You will run back here in a hurry

Depends where in Europe you talking bout. UK, French and German public service is amazing.

Wha???? Now I know you trolling.

All 3 are horrendous when.its comes to ineffective and inefficient service

car

Postby car » May 17th, 2017, 3:26 pm

novastar1 wrote:
sMASH wrote:the removal of fuel subsidy is necessary, as well as devaluing the TTd. but, just like the fuel subsidy, now is a very bad time for it to occur, so it should be a gradual thing. and that OPT thing is stupid, as a measure to reduce the USd hemorrhage. its like putting a plaster on a bruise, when u have a gaping wound in ur chest.

think of it like this, the government is subsidizing part of the cost of the USd.

So if the TTD is devalued... Would you be happy if everything you own is worth less, less purchasing power
Ready to pay $60 for an avocado? $100 for a bread, $1000 for a whole chicken, $1 million for a base model Corolla that your can drive to the stadium to watch a promo cricket match?... One played mostly by has beens who have returned for just one more cash in?

What about when the cost of medication skyrockets? Every investment T&T has or will do overseas will suddenly be worth less..... Especially with respect to newer, ridiculously expensive drugs that even a middle classed person in the USA wouldn't even be able to afford. ie in the sad state where you've got to pay to live otherwise a miserable end.

Are Trini pharmaceutical companies going to start manufacturing even simple medical consumables overnight?

And your those who are injured and dependent on an $1800 per month disability... Suddenly it becomes even more of a stretch

I've noticed that most of those calling for a devaluation seem to be doing so from their Ivory towers and others who are watching safely from a first world country. The latter group seems to have also forgotten that it was TT tax dollars converted to USD that paid for their scholarships (both legit academic and shady political awards) out of the country.

Trinidad will always be a 3rd world country if so many people continue with their "jamming still" mentality... that pay huge $$ for what seems to be their only opportunity to see some skin for a few days per year

So that being said.... I don't happen to be an amchair tuner economist myself....... Please enlighten me on:
And

I AGREE that the fuel subsidy should be gradually removed though.... But archaic engine size taxes as well....
The government should be glad to sell me gasoline for a V8 or V12 at unsubsidized prices.... But they will never get the chance to... As I can only afford a paltry 1L engine

Think about all those people that invest in a life insurance and pension policy. Years and years of investing and your money going to be worth nothing when it matures.
I had 2 policys for 17 years and surrendered it last year because it wasn't worth it anymore.
At that time a 3 bedroom upstairs house and land was 250k. What will you get for $250k now?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 17th, 2017, 4:43 pm

Long lines valuation offices ppl really going ahead to pay imberto this wdf is wrong with ppl I trinidad

Postby RedVEVO » May 17th, 2017, 5:11 pm

sMASH wrote:Slowly....

As a business, would u continue to sell an item for $7 when it really needs to sold at $10?

But if they devalue the TTd, they would need to get rid of the OPT.
The normal market forces will will cause the USd demand to go to a realistic level.

Devaluing the TTd will not solve any problems except let big business and small business to play on an equitable footing.

If they really want people to tighten their belts and buy local, that is the way to go.

When foreign imports get sky high, then it could be feasible to start producing low tech items locally.

The aim is just to collect tax any how and where ever.

Why Gov't want people to tighten their belts ?

Gov't should free up or eliminate all those tax tax tax and allow private sector to flourish.

Again,

Axe the Tax

Postby The_Honourable » May 17th, 2017, 5:16 pm

Release by the Ministry of Finance
18556690_1314734285275049_6601202619579440679_o.jpg

Postby RedVEVO » May 17th, 2017, 5:23 pm

If those same people protest = all tax gone !

Imbert cannot handle pressure :)

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » May 17th, 2017, 5:40 pm

If the whole east-west corridor come out and say they not voting back pnm watch how fast they go back peddle on the property tax​..

Postby matr1x » May 17th, 2017, 6:03 pm

The people trying to justify the tax are pretty much legless.

Multinational companies are allowed to operate with paying minimal tax. We get sold the story that these companies bring in investment and employs locals. People who actually get employed never really get high ranking positions and the profits fly out with very little coming back in our country.

So to hell with this tax

Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 17th, 2017, 6:28 pm

Have any of you guys protested physically against the property tax?

Postby matr1x » May 17th, 2017, 6:31 pm

Been part of motorcade

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 17th, 2017, 6:40 pm

Nice. You should do it again and maybe step it up too.

Postby sMASH » May 17th, 2017, 6:58 pm

car wrote:
novastar1 wrote:

And

Think about all those people that invest in a life insurance and pension policy. Years and years of investing and your money going to be worth nothing when it matures.
I had 2 policys for 17 years and surrendered it last year because it wasn't worth it anymore.
At that time a 3 bedroom upstairs house and land was 250k. What will you get for $250k now?

overall, u are correct.

purchasing online is done mainly for two reason, to get something u can't get locally, or to get something that is available here but actually cheaper online. the OPT decreases the purchasing power of the citizen artificially for goods that are already here. although the OPT is 7%, the other taxes are calculated after that figure, so it is more like 10% increase in the cost of an item. if a local business man knows that his online competition has their prices increased, they can increase their selling prices to keep up with the skybox prices so that is either u pay the government part of ur price, or u pay the businesses their gouging price.
i have met medical care practitioners who skybox in their consumables, and the OPT just makes their operating costs higher, and their fees higher. they simply can't get the stuff down here.
i and many other people use skybox because there are many things we just don't get here. the reason being is that the country is too small to stock varied items in a quantity to make use of economies of scale.

the intention of the OPT was because there was an announced hemorrhage of USd, and it is both a deterrent to unnecessary USd usage, or a means of income if the USd needs to be spent. given that intention, the normal market forces dictates that when a good or service is in high demand, the prices increase.

if our reserves of USd is dwindling, and we are spending more than we are earning, we need to cut that back.

yes, the medicines will have to increase, and other important things, but we need to supply the majority of our needs locally, internally.

food is one area where we need to get licks. we produce a lot, but also import a lot. the thing is, we have land and man power to produce even more food. the only problem is that foreign food is soo cheap, it is hard to produce it locally and make a profit.
eg, tilapia is imported by Pricemart and sold by the boxes. we have a lot of locally produced tilapia, but the cost of production and the cost of processing makes the locally produced tilapia more expensive that the price mart. the best one can hope for is to come just under the pricemart price.
bananas, we have a lot of producers, and a lot more can be produced. but we import from surinam. why? the cost of the foreign ones are cheaper than locally produced ones.

increase the price of the USd, and then u will have a dynamic where the locals can compete with the foreign. when local farmers can earn a good living off of their land, then we can start feeding ourselves.
if we stop buying so much outside food, we would reduce the hemorrhage of the USd, and allow locals to become self sufficient.

the manufacturing industry will not be able to respond to that change so quickly but even before this economic stage, we needed to produce more things here. having foreign goods prices increase, would encourage locals manufacturing to start filling the gap... provided they get materials to use locally as well.

we have so much fossil hydrocarbons, but liquefy it and ship it to america. we should stop much of that, and use it to produce things locally.
the deterrent to that is that it is cheaper to buy foreign than make it locally.

the reason for that, is that the USd is artificially kept low, thus stifling the incentive to produce locally.

again, i will say increasing the price of USd will not solve problems. but it will give a realistic view of what economic climate we are in, and we can take appropriate steps.

and we most definitely cannot just jump the USd up to $10TT. it must be done slowly over a couple years, like by 10c every few months or so.
the food industry have people waiting and able to fill take the place of the foreign producers. the manufacturing industry will need incentives and time to put things in place to fill that vacuum
medicines will have to suffer the blow, but with the reduction in the loss of USd at that point, the government can afford to subsidize that...

and what is the alternative to not increasing the USd price? keep it cheap and let the big businesses use it up till it run out, and then we will have to sell natural gas dog cheap to get any USd... and what will be the cost of the USd then...

Postby sMASH » May 17th, 2017, 7:40 pm

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 17th, 2017, 9:02 pm

Car ... Life insurance and pension policies have always been a rip off. When they come to present their bull crap, the hard question they cannot answer you is how much the money you getting back will be worth come retirement time.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 17th, 2017, 9:06 pm

Krissiegirl

Postby Krissiegirl » May 17th, 2017, 9:17 pm

:shock: Is this real news or fake news

Postby sMASH » May 17th, 2017, 9:33 pm

we need to see cnc3's version of this story to get a more realistic version of what he was talking about, then an actual recording to get the realist.

cnews is to the government, like what cnn is to the dems.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 17th, 2017, 9:34 pm

So UNC say they taking the property Tax to the privy council because it is unconstitutional.

Thoughts on this? will they win this case?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 17th, 2017, 10:34 pm

Krissiegirl wrote::shock: Is this real news or fake news

appears to be real news
http://www.cnc3.co.tt/press-release/min ... tion-forms

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 17th, 2017, 10:39 pm

it was in the 7 o'clock news and well imballs disclosed everything in Parliament earlier today

new deadline june 5th

GeneralHonda

Postby GeneralHonda » May 17th, 2017, 10:53 pm

Lodged my form today at the POS office. Lots of people outside who were now asking for forms, had nothing ready and complaining. I had my completed info. and was in and out in under 10 mins. receipt in hand.

Postby RedVEVO » May 18th, 2017, 2:58 am

GeneralHonda wrote:Lodged my form today at the POS office. Lots of people outside who were now asking for forms, had nothing ready and complaining. I had my completed info. and was in and out in under 10 mins. receipt in hand.

You are now in a database that will be tracked for 100 years ..
Every move you make , they will be watching you .. :)

You will be sorrryyyyy :)

Axe the Tax

GeneralHonda

Postby GeneralHonda » May 18th, 2017, 9:24 am

RedVEVO wrote:
GeneralHonda wrote:Lodged my form today at the POS office. Lots of people outside who were now asking for forms, had nothing ready and complaining. I had my completed info. and was in and out in under 10 mins. receipt in hand.

Axe the Tax

LOL. I am against it but on the other hand, once I pay that tax and others do the same, the govt can no longer say they are unable to put humps, drains, road marking etc. provided the people hold them accountable. We as people need to know to strike out rather than simply whimper at the end of the day. Peaceful protests do not strike fear. Fear is what needs to be induced into both the politicians and the criminals (same thing right).

Postby teems1 » May 18th, 2017, 12:03 pm

RedVEVO wrote:

Axe the Tax

You honestly don't think your info exists in other databases?

Unless you live off the grid, chances are you're in a bank/insurance/telecom/utility company/immigration/credit card etc database.

Postby 88sins » May 18th, 2017, 12:23 pm

GeneralHonda wrote:LOL. I am against it but on the other hand, once I pay that tax and others do the same, the govt can no longer say they are unable to put humps, drains, road marking etc. provided the people hold them accountable. We as people need to know to strike out rather than simply whimper at the end of the day. Peaceful protests do not strike fear. Fear is what needs to be induced into both the politicians and the criminals (same thing right).

I'm a tad curious
When you pay said tax, & the state fails to "humps, drains, road marking etc. provided the people hold them accountable", then what?
Stop pay the tax? that'd be against the law, so you'd essentially be a criminal, & dealt with according to law.
Protest? You can be ignored, or incarcerated, depending on how you protest
Not vote for them? You'll either vote in another set of crooks, vote out these crooks, or stay out altogether in which case they still get your vote.

I does always say, if yuh want to protest, & serious about your voice being heard, protest in the presence of those that cause you to want to protest in the 1st place. Campaign against the relevant ministries and the ministers & hold them personally accountable for their failure. Do this for all ministries, & politicians, in the ruling party & opposition, & only then you will see change.

Postby RedVEVO » May 18th, 2017, 1:26 pm

That was the plan.
But now everybody knows.

Has anybody seen Pioneer ?

Again,

Axe the Tax.