PNM in Gov't(2015-2020)

drchaos

Re: PNM in Gov't - 2 YEARS LATER!?!?!?!?!?

Postby drchaos » October 13th, 2017, 11:55 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:n***a^ we don't want food and basic necessities....we fcking need it...many people rely on maxi and other forms of transport....they need it not want it...WDMC you talking about

Food has been increasing steadily over the past 15 years now ... So I fail to see what the PNM has done to make food out of the reach of the public. Also in all my years of living here, I have yet to see 1 Trinidadian who is suffering from under nutrition, I have actually seen loads of poor/regular people who suffering over nutrition.

Its so sad that you all have to pay the actual price of what something is worth i.e diesel fuel and transport.

Postby De Dragon » October 13th, 2017, 12:09 pm

drchaos wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:n***a^ we don't want food and basic necessities....we fcking need it...many people rely on maxi and other forms of transport....they need it not want it...WDMC you talking about

Food has been increasing steadily over the past 15 years now ... So I fail to see what the PNM has done to make food out of the reach of the public. Also in all my years of living here, I have yet to see 1 Trinidadian who is suffering from under nutrition, I have actually seen loads of poor/regular people who suffering over nutrition.

Its so sad that you all have to pay the actual price of what something is worth i.e diesel fuel and transport.

You're a fool if you believe that there aren't people who are malnourished in T&T. In all my years, which I'm pretty sure are more than yours, I've seen many.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » October 13th, 2017, 12:13 pm

drchaos wrote:

You're a fool if you believe that there aren't people who are malnourished in T&T. In all my years, which I'm pretty sure are more than yours, I've seen many.

Fat/Overweight/Obese people fall under the medical definition of Malnourished. So yes ... There are alot of those running around.

Postby De Dragon » October 13th, 2017, 12:17 pm

drchaos wrote:

Fat/Overweight/Obese people fall under the medical definition of Malnourished. So yes ... There are alot of those running around.

Now you're just being an ass.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » October 13th, 2017, 12:46 pm

No one has yet told me why they are suffering so badly .... They just claiming we are ....

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 13th, 2017, 1:00 pm

People rob others why??? And we have countless robberies on a daily basis...

Postby The_Honourable » October 13th, 2017, 1:36 pm

drchaos wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:Online tax for starters...

There is no online tax ... The intelligence of Trini's astound me ...

There is a tax on goods that enter via air freight ... Sea freight does not carry any new taxes and is cheaper. Most Sky boxes now allow you to sea freight, which takes 1 extra week, is cheaper, mine actually allows me to under-invoice and makes my overall costs way lower than before. Thanks Colm for reducing my cost of living!

Next? :drinking:

You astound me DrChaos.

It is a 7% levy on packages purchased online. The government even calls it an Online Purchase Tax or OPT. It's not fully implemented across the board because they started with air freight first, sea freight will be next. The finance ministry is already aware that skybox companies will have "seabox" options, and people will choose sea over air eventually once they cater for the extra 1-2 week delay in delivery. Imbert will then say that the forex leakage is continuing and clamp down on sea freight. If it was just a tax on packages coming in via air, he woulda call it an air freight tax. He specifically choose the wording Online Purchase Tax for a reason. Since the OPT regulations is active now, he simply implements it for sea freight when he sees fit... most likely when he realizes the revenue he was suppose to collect from air freight leak out to sea freight.

There was a good balance of cost and time with air freight. The 7% tax was passed onto consumers who had no choice but to accept it because they realized that many local companies still charge unreasonable markups with their pricing. Once any cost is passed onto a consumer, there will be both a direct and indirect effect.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » October 13th, 2017, 2:40 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
drchaos wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:Online tax for starters...

There is no online tax ... The intelligence of Trini's astound me ...

There is a tax on goods that enter via air freight ... Sea freight does not carry any new taxes and is cheaper. Most Sky boxes now allow you to sea freight, which takes 1 extra week, is cheaper, mine actually allows me to under-invoice and makes my overall costs way lower than before. Thanks Colm for reducing my cost of living!

Next? :drinking:

You astound me DrChaos.

It is a 7% levy on packages purchased online. The government even calls it an Online Purchase Tax or OPT. It's not fully implemented across the board because they started with air freight first, sea freight will be next. The finance ministry is already aware that skybox companies will have "seabox" options, and people will choose sea over air eventually once they cater for the extra 1-2 week delay in delivery. Imbert will then say that the forex leakage is continuing and clamp down on sea freight. If it was just a tax on packages coming in via air, he woulda call it an air freight tax. He specifically choose the wording Online Purchase Tax for a reason. Since the OPT regulations is active now, he simply implements it for sea freight when he sees fit... most likely when he realizes the revenue he was suppose to collect from air freight leak out to sea freight.

There was a good balance of cost and time with air freight. The 7% tax was passed onto consumers who had no choice but to accept it because they realized that many local companies still charge unreasonable markups with their pricing. Once any cost is passed onto a consumer, there will be both a direct and indirect effect.

I'm sorry ... are you claiming you are being taxed and persecuted from a tax that has not been implemented yet or who knows if it ever will be???
BWAHAHAHAHAHA :lol: :lol: :lol:
Oh gawd allu go kill meh :lol: :lol: :lol:

If we listen to your logic ... It would follow that he will eventually tax my packages that my uncle brings in for me that I order online and send to his place in NYC. Even gifts I buy for my friends and family in the States/UK/Grenada from amazon, this is online shopping right? How is he gonna tax that?
So no ... it is a tax on items coming in via air freight and not a tax on online shopping.

Postby sMASH » October 13th, 2017, 4:06 pm

The name of the tax is OPT = online purchases tax. The stated intention was to curb credit card purchases online to reduce the hemorrhage of USd by shopping online. The intention was to encourage spending at a local store in TTd.

They haven't gone all the way to all credit card purchases. But the framework is there to expand it.

Although it hits the sky box industry mostly, it wasn't called sky box tax.

Its name is online purchases tax.

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » October 13th, 2017, 4:25 pm

Grooming golf course before it turns into a pasture .......like the government. ...# low grade

Postby The_Honourable » October 13th, 2017, 4:54 pm

Thank you sMASH... obviously Chaos is not getting it and didn't see the fix imbert do.

Below is the Provisional Collection of Taxes Order 2016. 1st page, Online Purchase Tax.

http://www.news.gov.tt/archive//E-Gazet ... 202016.pdf

As sMASH said, the framework is now there to expand on by simply making amendments. They started with air freight and then they will move to sea freight. Imbert's initial intention was to establish the tax online using the current credit card banking framework but there would have been questions on privacy by both the bank and the customer. That is why he backed off and decided to use Customs & Excise to collect the tax at the port where Skybox companies are the prime target.

As i stated, the tax was passed onto consumers who had no choice but to accept it because many local companies still charge unreasonable markups. Also, small or upstart companies who were buying raw materials or ingredients online to create a product or service to sell locally got hit and had to raise prices. Many of them are not even making a profit but breaking even. I am currently involved in a small business so I know this personally.

You can laugh all you want but directly or indirectly, it will affect you.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » October 13th, 2017, 4:58 pm

sMASH wrote:The name of the tax is OPT = online purchases tax. The stated intention was to curb credit card purchases online to reduce the hemorrhage of USd by shopping online. The intention was to encourage spending at a local store in TTd.

They haven't gone all the way to all credit card purchases. But the framework is there to expand it.

Although it hits the sky box industry mostly, it wasn't called sky box tax.

Its name is online purchases tax.

You can name a tax whatever the hell you want to name it ... The fact is it does not tax online shopping, it taxes good brought in via air freight. If I call a company in the states by phone and purchase something or send them an order with my credit card info via mail and it is sent via air freight it incurs a 7% tax.

So there is no online shopping tax, there is a tax on items sent via airfreight.

Zetski

Postby Zetski » October 13th, 2017, 5:11 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Thank you sMASH... obviously Chaos is not getting it and didn't see the fix imbert do.

Below is the Provisional Collection of Taxes Order 2016. 1st page, Online Purchase Tax.

http://www.news.gov.tt/archive//E-Gazet ... 202016.pdf

As sMASH said, the framework is now there to expand on by simply making amendments. They started with air freight and then they will move to sea freight. Imbert's initial intention was to establish the tax online using the current credit card banking framework but there would have been questions on privacy by both the bank and the customer. That is why he backed off and decided to use Customs & Excise to collect the tax at the port where Skybox companies are the prime target.

As i stated, the tax was passed onto consumers who had no choice but to accept it because many local companies still charge unreasonable markups. Also, small or upstart companies who were buying raw materials or ingredients online to create a product or service to sell locally got hit and had to raise prices. Many of them are not even making a profit but breaking even. I am currently involved in a small business so I know this personally.

You can laugh all you want but directly or indirectly, it will affect you.

It said "air transportation" I could order something online and use "water transportation"
Yuh doh understand what chaos trying tuh say
Keep it up honourable! :drinking:

Postby sMASH » October 13th, 2017, 5:46 pm

Pnm people dotish for spite.

Mark date and time, for when Impsbert decide to to step up to Phase two.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 13th, 2017, 5:50 pm

Chaos does have a point. I have an Amazon account but no skybox. I have made 2 purchses since the OPT was implemented but have never had to pay the tax cuz I ship to a private address and then someone brings it for me when they coming. A true OPT would tax regardless the mode of transport to final delivery.

Zetski

Postby Zetski » October 13th, 2017, 5:58 pm

No PNM people saved this country.

Postby sMASH » October 13th, 2017, 7:03 pm

From lizabeth... And put it in the hands of nincompoops

60 years...

We have a government boasting about free WiFi on busses for the people To Facebook and snap chat. Yet take away a laptop for students program, put back vat on books, reduced the potential for students to access tertiary education etc.

Oh yeah... Plenty green band maxi have WiFi free... Not government sponsored.

Postby The_Honourable » October 13th, 2017, 7:31 pm

sMASH wrote:Pnm people dotish for spite.

Ent? Online tax beginning with air freight and later on to sea freight which seems so hard for them to understand. As it is yeah, you only get shaft using air freight put they rolling out for sea freight also. I'll recall this post when Imbert expands to "Sea Boxes".

Then again, a lot of the pnm ppl are barrel children hence why they studying sea transportation. When the online tax regulations add sea transport, they will bawl :drinking:

Dizzy28 wrote:Chaos does have a point. I have an Amazon account but no skybox. I have made 2 purchses since the OPT was implemented but have never had to pay the tax cuz I ship to a private address and then someone brings it for me when they coming. A true OPT would tax regardless the mode of transport to final delivery.

That is true, and is really a loophole since we suppose to declare if the items imported is for sale or exchange but of course, your padna or family member will deny and say, "is mine" if customs decide to search your luggage and ask. If is a 2-3 items once in a while, yeah let a family member or friend bring it down while travelling. But for many self employed and small businesses, that loophole is inadequate.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 13th, 2017, 8:03 pm

Zetski wrote:No PNM people saved this country.

The so called father of the nation fcked up our transport system and is responsible for what p.o.s is today

Postby aaron17 » October 13th, 2017, 8:33 pm

Bad talkin women again...

drchaos

Postby drchaos » October 13th, 2017, 8:38 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
sMASH wrote:Pnm people dotish for spite.

Ent? Online tax beginning with air freight and later on to sea freight which seems so hard for them to understand. As it is yeah, you only get shaft using air freight put they rolling out for sea freight also. I'll recall this post when Imbert expands to "Sea Boxes".

Then again, a lot of the pnm ppl are barrel children hence why they studying sea transportation. When the online tax regulations add sea transport, they will bawl :drinking:

Dizzy28 wrote:Chaos does have a point. I have an Amazon account but no skybox. I have made 2 purchses since the OPT was implemented but have never had to pay the tax cuz I ship to a private address and then someone brings it for me when they coming. A true OPT would tax regardless the mode of transport to final delivery.

That is true, and is really a loophole since we suppose to declare if the items imported is for sale or exchange but of course, your padna or family member will deny and say, "is mine" if customs decide to search your luggage and ask. If is a 2-3 items once in a while, yeah let a family member or friend bring it down while travelling. But for many self employed and small businesses, that loophole is inadequate.

You still don't get it ... There is no online purchase tax because there is no way to find out if something is purchased online or not ...

You cannot attempt to put a "online tax" blanketed on air and sea freight ... Because if you then its not an online purchase tax ... its an addition to duty and if they wanted that they would just raise all duty on incoming goods by 7%.

The country is not the way it is because of politicians ... Its because you sufferers and haters. Stop suffering and hating and allow your intelligence to look at things without them damn blind folds on ... There is still plenty opportunity out there to make a comfortable life out there for you and your family. Elevate yourself and you elevate the country.

Postby The_Honourable » October 13th, 2017, 11:30 pm

Amm... did you know they inspect your packages for the trademark Amazon and Ebay invoice? Then charge accordingly? Also they go online themselves and check the prices for packages?

You are not seeing the end game at all. I keep telling you, the word online tax was specifically stated for a reason in the books. If imbert just wanted to tackle air freight shipments, he could have simply tinkered with taxes and duties at the port. But no, he laid the framework to expand eventually. Down the road he will be tackling credit card online shopping directly. Currently he is being blocked by the banks and privacy issues.

I'm not suffering at all, trust me. Your dismissal and seeing things from one viewpoint shows me how much PNM education and intelligence are diametrically opposed to each other.

But carry on... raise taxes but what we complaining about? We claiming to be suffering! Have opportunity out dey to prosper! PNM till ah dead!

Postby sMASH » October 14th, 2017, 4:12 am

He didn't raise the taxes by 7%, he introduced another tax which is 7% and the other previous taxes are calculated on top. Of that figure.
So If ur item Was 100, the opt would be 7, and then the vat is calculated on 107 not 100.
They don't start with a base figure and work out the individual tales, they tax the item as well as the opt.

Although it operates as a sky box tax, it is called the online purchases tax.... Opt. The intention is to curb USd loss by taxing purchases via credit Cards which they are forced to honor. The intention isn't to keep it to sky box, but to increase it.

And if u working around the system, then Ur not supporting the taxes. If the taxes weren't a bother, u would have went through the normal Ways and not try to evade the taxes.

Allyuh come Jess like them Ministers, saying shoulder to. The wheel,. Everybody Hadda chip in more taxes for The country, yet evading the taxes Ur selves.

Hypocrites

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 14th, 2017, 6:57 am

Postby sMASH » October 14th, 2017, 7:33 am

Distracted... Budget and tax evasion by the whole parliament

Postby Dizzy28 » October 14th, 2017, 7:45 am

sMASH wrote:Distracted... Budget and tax evasion by the whole parliament

Tax evasion - illegal
Tax avoidance - legal

The ministers, mps senators are engaged in tax avoidance. It's fully legal. I don't agree with them keeping and working to the max the allowances in this guava season but I am not vex that they did use previously it as it formed part of their perks.

Postby sMASH » October 14th, 2017, 7:48 am

So did the 'average citizen' when purchasing the hybrids, but chastised by the impsbert and used as the rationale for removing the tax breaks for hybrids.

Fine, the government ministers use tax avoidance when blaming the rest of the country for not putting the shoulder to. The wheel And shouldering their fair share in nation building.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 14th, 2017, 8:00 am

sMASH wrote:So did the 'average citizen' when purchasing the hybrids, but chastised by the impsbert and used as the rationale for removing the tax breaks for hybrids.

Fine, the government ministers use tax avoidance when blaming the rest of the country for not putting the shoulder to. The wheel And shouldering their fair share in nation building.

The big issue here is that the same ppl who took away the hybrid bligh also need to approve their own salaries and perks. Conflict of interest!!!!

Postby RedVEVO » October 14th, 2017, 8:03 am

sMASH wrote:Distracted... Budget and tax evasion by the whole parliament

Tax evasion - illegal
Tax avoidance - legal

The ministers, mps senators are engaged in tax avoidance. It's fully legal. I don't agree with them keeping and working to the max the allowances in this guava season but I am not vex that they did use previously it as it formed part of their perks.

Put Limits on the so called "perks"

Paris Hilton have 3 Posche .. :D

drchaos

Postby drchaos » October 14th, 2017, 1:45 pm

I feel so sorry you guys ... Life must be pure torture for you on this little island.