UML wrote:Sunday u will be hiding:lol:
roadrage wrote:What are we the public to think when 2 members of the integrity commissions resigns immediately after the release ?? An one resigned member says he's not standing and going to be a part in lying an misleading the public . Now that's some heavy stuff . Make Kamla sick one time . Public opinion with this on may show that there is shady business with the integrity commission chairman. Plus the President is not pleased with the integrity chairman not informing him of the resignation an is going to do a press release. Hmmmmmm . An they said they had a victory an a landmark win over Dr Rowley With the integrity commission release.
Sharma quits PNM post over Emailgate affair
Gail Alexander
Published:
Friday, May 22, 2015
People’s National Movement (PNM) disciplinary committee member Dr Subash Sharma, who resigned from the party yesterday, had initiated legal action earlier this year against outgoing Integrity Commission member Dr Shelly Anne Lalchan.
Sharma confirmed both developments yesterday. On his resignation, he said PNM leader Keith Rowley’s situation in the Emailgate issue was the last straw for him.
He is clinical co-ordinator/lecturer of the Optometry Programme at UWI’s School of Optometry/Visual Sciences.
Sharma had initiated action against Lalchan, who is an opthalmologist, in February over alleged defamation in relation to the National Eye Survey of T&T (NESTT) project. Lalchan resigned as a member of the Integrity Commission on Wednesday.
Sharma has declined details on the matter which is still in court but it is understood that when the matter occurred it was conveyed to UWI officials and that also was communicated to the President’s Office. There was no comment from President’s House on this, however.
Sharma joined the PNM in 2006 and was a high-profile member under the Patrick Manning administration. He was PNM’s St Augustine candidate in 2010, St Augustine PRO, election officer at various points and co-ordinator of the party’s Chaguanas East and West areas.
His resignation, however, is merely an official parting of the ways since Sharma had been estranged from PNM since the 2014 internal leadership contest when he backed contender Penny Beckles-Robinson against Rowley as part of the “Preserve the Balisier” pressure group.
Sharma was among several of her supporters who criticised Rowley’s leadership.
In his resignation letter to PNM general secretary Ashton Ford, Dr Sharma said: “I regret to inform you I have decided to resign from the PNM because the party does not represent the ideals that I hold very dear, which attracted me to become a member.
“However, the latest blow to the party due to his irrational and cavalier prosecution of the Emailgate affair, where he attempted to mislead our sacred Parliament and defame its honourable members, in addition to other errors of judgment (Section 34, multiple “no-confidence” motions, running from Parliament), have shown he cannot be trusted anymore with the leadership of the party and definitely not with the prime ministerial responsibility of our country.”
Sharma also said Rowley’s ill-advised association with the “Roundtable” at this time was another cause for concern.
“He must go now. I sincerely hope the party can overcome its present difficulties and take its rightful place again to offer our nation an honest option in our democracy,” he added.
On his future, Sharma said: “I’m remaining very active politically and will continue having talks with various groups but I have made no decision. Ideally, I prefer an independent line to see how best to serve T&T.”
Sharma quits PNM post over Emailgate affair
Gail Alexander
Published:
Friday, May 22, 2015
People’s National Movement (PNM) disciplinary committee member Dr Subash Sharma, who resigned from the party yesterday, had initiated legal action earlier this year against outgoing Integrity Commission member Dr Shelly Anne Lalchan.
Sharma confirmed both developments yesterday. On his resignation, he said PNM leader Keith Rowley’s situation in the Emailgate issue was the last straw for him.
He is clinical co-ordinator/lecturer of the Optometry Programme at UWI’s School of Optometry/Visual Sciences.
Sharma had initiated action against Lalchan, who is an opthalmologist, in February over alleged defamation in relation to the National Eye Survey of T&T (NESTT) project. Lalchan resigned as a member of the Integrity Commission on Wednesday.
Sharma has declined details on the matter which is still in court but it is understood that when the matter occurred it was conveyed to UWI officials and that also was communicated to the President’s Office. There was no comment from President’s House on this, however.
Sharma joined the PNM in 2006 and was a high-profile member under the Patrick Manning administration. He was PNM’s St Augustine candidate in 2010, St Augustine PRO, election officer at various points and co-ordinator of the party’s Chaguanas East and West areas.
His resignation, however, is merely an official parting of the ways since Sharma had been estranged from PNM since the 2014 internal leadership contest when he backed contender Penny Beckles-Robinson against Rowley as part of the “Preserve the Balisier” pressure group.
Sharma was among several of her supporters who criticised Rowley’s leadership.
In his resignation letter to PNM general secretary Ashton Ford, Dr Sharma said: “I regret to inform you I have decided to resign from the PNM because the party does not represent the ideals that I hold very dear, which attracted me to become a member.
“However, the latest blow to the party due to his irrational and cavalier prosecution of the Emailgate affair, where he attempted to mislead our sacred Parliament and defame its honourable members, in addition to other errors of judgment (Section 34, multiple “no-confidence” motions, running from Parliament), have shown he cannot be trusted anymore with the leadership of the party and definitely not with the prime ministerial responsibility of our country.”
Sharma also said Rowley’s ill-advised association with the “Roundtable” at this time was another cause for concern.
“He must go now. I sincerely hope the party can overcome its present difficulties and take its rightful place again to offer our nation an honest option in our democracy,” he added.
On his future, Sharma said: “I’m remaining very active politically and will continue having talks with various groups but I have made no decision. Ideally, I prefer an independent line to see how best to serve T&T.” http://m.guardian.co.tt/news/2015-05-21 ... ate-affair
UML wrote:he backed contender Penny Beckles-Robinson
4x4 wrote:For those of us who don't know. Many of the PNM big wigs are all in the secret order society and they pull the strings to run the country. PNM has been out of power now even before 2010 when the whole country was against them. It is an ego and power struggle issue that they have been out for so long and from all signals they will continue to be out. I wish I could call the names of some of these members but I am afraid of the order as my father was in the order too. At this time they are very threatened by the PP and they will pull out all stops to regain power even as far as inciting civil unrest. Most of these gentlemen are are well over 60 and they need to get back in power.
WORST OPPOSITION LEADER EVER
1. Lied about the AG being at the US mission in New York
2. Criticized the Government for shutting down the country for a “passing cloud”. The passing cloud was Hurricane Tomas
3. Waved a Pizza delivery slip in parliament as evidence of the PM receiving files from the SSA
4. Called the Honorable Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar, a hollow Pumpkin Lady
5. Refused to support the Hanging Bill
6. Refused to support the DNA Bill
7. Refused to support the Electronic Monitoring Bill
8. Accused the AG and a sitting Judge of being in collusion (Then apologizing)
9. Referring to the form one students who received the Laptops as Duncy-head
10. Showing total disrespect to the Indian Community
11. Lying about giving the President a petition with 25,000 signatures
12. Voting for The Administration of Justice (Indictable Proceedings) Act, 2011 then marching against it.
13. Chastised Bernadine George for bowing down and giving thanks to god after she received government assistance
14. Withdraw from a parliamentary Joint Select Committee (JSC) formed to develop public procurement legislation.
15. Wasted Taxpayer money and Parliament time with fraudulent claims about non-existent and fraudulently fabricated emails in another desperate act, disguised as a no-confidence motion, to mamaguay TT citizens
16. Holding Secret meeting with the chairman of the Integrity Commission Ken Gordon.
17. Lied about Lennox Grant being the general secretary of Tapia.
18. Lied and say that it was the PNM which put in freedom of the press as a constitutional right. History, however, records that that initiative was taken by Lionel Seukeran, Tajmool Hosein and Rudranath Capildeo in the Marlborough House consultation in 1962.
19. Lambasted Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar for Trinidad and Tobago’s co-sponsorship of a United Nations Security Council resolution on the fight against terrorism.
20. LIED about discussing the President housing allowance during a meeting of the Public Accounts Committee (PAC).
21. Referring to schools girls as hyenas in the African jungle.
22. Wine up in a sexually suggestive manner on a teenage girl
23. Refused to condemn the attack on the Besson Street Police Station and the brutal murder of 57 year old grandmother Marlene Grant by thugs of Laventille.
24. Refused to even acknowledge that Deputy PNM Political Leader and Opposition Whip Marlene McDonald had breached her fiduciary responsibilities when an audit at the Ministry of Community Development (under the Manning Administration) revealed allegations of questionable payments to a close associate - her common law husband, a director of Calabar Foundation that received that $375,000 cheque 3 months before the foundation was registered.
The audit also revealed that over $2.7million was issued to another close associate of the Minister for work to be done on three community centres; work which was never done.
25. Failed to advised the President, in by so doing, breached the Integrity Commission rules, when he was consulted on the appointment of that David West for the Chairmanship of the PCA, that West had filed a statement in support of his (Rowley’s position) in a defamation suit in which he was the defendant vs the Attorney General.
26. First Opposition Leader to face a no confidence motion.
27. Suspended for bringing bogus emails to Parliament.
UML wrote:
Sanctifier wrote:The engineering consultant (of east-indian descent) hired by the Gov't, reported in the press (after the flood) that he, personally advised Jack Warner (then Min. of works) of the real URGENCY to clean the water courses.
He said that no work had been done for TWO YEARS (2010 & 2011)... ever since the People's Partnersh!t took office.
He reported that the situation was so serious that he also found it necessary to copy the Report to Kamla herself!
He was ignored by both of them... so two people DIED... many homes were totally destroyed... and hundreds of others were seriously damaged.
Almost three years later, some of us are still trying to recover from the destruction in 2012!
Sanctifier wrote:UML wrote:
Yuh shouldn't go there, idiot!...Make your stupid comments about things that can't be verified...
It will be a lot easier for you that way!
I am one of the victims of the worst of the 2012 flooding in Diego Martin/Petit Valley.
I am NOT a supporter of the PNM, COP or any other political party... especially in this most ridiculous of all "silly seasons"
but once again the TRUTH must be repeated about the 2012 flood...Sanctifier wrote:The engineering consultant (of east-indian descent) hired by the Gov't, reported in the press (after the flood) that he, personally advised Jack Warner (then Min. of works) of the real URGENCY to clean the water courses.
He said that no work had been done for TWO YEARS (2010 & 2011)... ever since the People's Partnersh!t took office.
He reported that the situation was so serious that he also found it necessary to copy the Report to Kamla herself!
He was ignored by both of them... so two people DIED... many homes were totally destroyed... and hundreds of others were seriously damaged.
Almost three years later, some of us are still trying to recover from the destruction in 2012!
So you really shouldn't talk bullsh!t about things that you know ABSOLUTELY NOTHING about, just to try to score cheap political points for a incompetent regime!![]()
My
THE RETURN OF THE PNM
Jai ParasramBy Jai Parasram
Keith Rowley is deluding himself into believing that he is the new Eric Williams when all the evidence point to the opposite. I was a reporter during the Williams era and I can say with certainty that Rowley is no Eric Williams. It takes more than a march to Chaguaramas to walk in the man’s shoes.
Eric Williams had a vision for Trinidad and Tobago; Keith Rowley has none, other than naked ambition to be prime minister. His idea of a vision is to take the country back to where Williams left it in 1981, ignoring the reality that the world has changed dramatically since then.
Instead of moving the PNM forward into the 21st century, Rowley is ignoring, at his own peril, the demise of the concept of a single hegemonic party and a maximum leader and failing to accept that today’s politics is about inclusion, unity, dialogue and consensus.
The general election of 2010 was the watershed event that marked the paradigm shift and the recent elections in St Kitts and Guyana have unveiled the Rowley PNM as remaining in the Jurassic age. Kamla Persad-Bissessar demonstrated that humility and unity are more powerful political attributes than the divisiveness and arrogance that have characterized Rowley’s leadership since 2010.
Williams was a brilliant strategist; Rowley and his PNM are not. It is no wonder that the PNM today is a poor shadow of the party that it once was.
Nothing dramatized that more than the PNM’s behaviour in the censure motion that led to Rowley’s expulsion from parliament. It was a striking example of Rowley’s poor leadership and lack of the intellectual capacity that Williams possessed. Rowley misread the politics and acted with predictable anger and arrogance, instead of measured critical thinking.
He could have confronted the government and showed his readiness to take office, but he and his MPs chose to walk out in protest, vowing not to return. Three weeks later, pressure from inside and out has caused them to eat their words and crawl back into the House of Representatives – but just long enough to prevent their automatic expulsion for being AWOL, and to keep the financial perks that come with being a member of parliament.
When Colm Imbert threw his tantrum and demanded that his colleagues follow him out of the legislature the Rowley PNM ignored the fact that by their own actions they were depriving tens of thousands of their right to representation in parliament. And there was something that was also significant.
In their haste to abandon their seats, they left ILP Leader Jack Warner as the lone opposition member and he demonstrated that he could fill the void and steal the PNM’s thunder. Having become the de facto opposition leader, Warner alone took on the government, earning the media prominence that he had lost.
Commenting on the PNM’s plan to return to parliament the leader of government business, Dr. Roodal Moonilal, referred to both points and told the media that since the PNM “ran away” Jack Warner “has done probably more work in the last three weeks than the PNM did in three years.” It’s an obvious exaggeration but it makes the point that Warner deeply embarrassed the PNM whether intended or not.
Warner became the opposition at a time when the PNM caucus should have been defending their leader and inflicting mortal blows on the government. And now the leader of the ILP has withdrawn a motion in his name seeking to have Rowley reinstated.
The irony is that it is the PNM that objected to Warner’s move. If Warner had allowed the motion to stand the PNM would have had an opportunity to defend their leader but it seems that their agenda doesn’t include standing up for Rowley.
The other slap in the face for Rowley came from Patrick Manning and NiLeung Hypolite, two of the nine MPs dumped by Rowley for the 2015 general election. Both wrote the speaker requesting leave, which Wade Mark granted. It became more apparent that Rowley had lost control of his party in parliament when Amery Browne also applied for and was granted leave.
Faced with an impending palace coup, the PNM General Council hastily overturned its decision and announced that MPs would return to Parliament on May 22 to debate a private motion regarding the energy sector. Thereafter, they would resume the boycott.
It’s the kind of idiocy that Williams would never have ever considered. The Rowley PNM gave up the best opportunity to take on the government and show their suitability to lead. They are now prepared to come to the House for 10 minutes to seek approval to debate a motion, which is likely to be turned down.
Five years after Keith Rowley bullied his way into the leadership of the PNM he has lost control of his caucus and his party at a time when he should be presenting himself and the PNM as the alternative to the People’s Partnership.
Rowley’s anger, his hate and animosity to anyone who doesn’t share his views, have been a part of his downfall. He undermined his leader and campaigned against him while securing his own seat in order to take charge of the PNM. Now the MPs who sat with him for five years no longer want to be associated with Rowley and to follow directives coming from him.
Manning, Hypolite and Browne have made their position public by their simple gesture of applying for leave of absence. Others are either too shy or too frightened to do the same. But the membership of the PNM and others are paying attention. They have recognised that Keith Rowley is neither fit to lead his party nor the country because so far Rowley has not presented even a weak case showing why people should trust him to run a government.
With an election on the horizon that disappointment could lead to Rowley’s Waterloo.
Party done!
UML wrote:
Sanctifier wrote:My son suffered from a severe heart condition, discovered when he was 4 years old...
Foreign medical help was needed to try to save his life...
(the surgeon said that he would be unlikely to celebrate his 25 birthday without it.)
We applied to the so-called Children's Life Fund...
I was in contact with some other parents in a similar position and with local Doctors familiar with the Children's Life Fund!...
Some Doctors were extremely reluctant to participate in the program... a few siting bias in the selection of patients!
It was unfair but it seemed (in 2011) that all too many of the recipients were of a particular ethnicity...
Sanctifier wrote:In its present form, the Children's Life Fund program (like LifeSport) should be first reorganised...
Then used as an umbrella organization for ALL NGO's to participate... with Gov't & Private funding administered by a reputable firm of Accountants to avoid favouritism etc.
ALL patients should be screened and their medical conditions prioritized...
with IMMEDIATE HELP available for appropriate cases.
Sanctifier wrote:UML wrote:
Once again, you seem to be trying to provide us with incontrovertible proof... of your abject stupidity!
Children's Life Fund!?!... Really???.... Whose children are we referring to specifically?Sanctifier wrote:My son suffered from a severe heart condition, discovered when he was 4 years old...
Foreign medical help was needed to try to save his life...
(the surgeon said that he would be unlikely to celebrate his 25 birthday without it.)
We applied to the so-called Children's Life Fund...
I was in contact with some other parents in a similar position and with local Doctors familiar with the Children's Life Fund!...
Some Doctors were extremely reluctant to participate in the program... a few siting bias in the selection of patients!
It was unfair but it seemed (in 2011) that all to many of the recipients were of a particular ethnicity...
The total cost (incl. 3 x airfares, accommodation & meals, surgery, ICU after-care etc.) was way beyond anything I could afford... I needed to refinance another 30 year mortgage to fund this... ('Bye, bye any chance of affording any University fees 14 years later, for his sister or himself!)
My son was assisted by Hope Of A Miracle Foundation... maybe the most altruistic, unbiased, charitable organization in T&T![]()
With their amazing generosity and a fantastic group of sponsors, my son's surgery was successful and he can look forward to a long, productive life... Thank God!... and they both can still go to University in future (even if GATE disappears by then.)Sanctifier wrote:In its present form, the Children's Life Fund program (like LifeSport) should be first reorganised...
Then used as an umbrella organization for ALL GMO's to participate... with Gov't & Private funding administered by a reputable firm of Accountants to avoid favouritism etc.
ALL patients should be screened and their medical conditions prioritized...
with IMMEDIATE HELP available for appropriate cases.
UML you really should try to stop spouting crap about things that you KNOW NOTHING about!
UML wrote:Conveniently Neutral. Convenient Flood Victim. Convenient Sick Child.
How convenient.
Your credibility is gone just like Ventour's with your clear racist PNM propaganda previously.
carry on.
Sanctifier wrote:UML wrote:Conveniently Neutral. Convenient Flood Victim. Convenient Sick Child.
How convenient.
Your credibility is gone just like Ventour's with your clear racist PNM propaganda previously.
carry on.
... and unfortunately you are the ubiquitous "convenient azz."![]()
Just "search" 3ne 2nr & zorce. My posts on both issues (3 & 4 years ago) are still there...
but then its always "convenient" to ignore the truth... just to try to score dumb political points...
or as in this case to make a puerile attempt at insults when others disagree with you, or prove you wrong, not so?
Not being a supporter of any political party, doesn't mean that I'm neutral.
It just means that "I don't suffer fools like yourself gladly."
My