Re: The official tropical weather thread: image updates on p

Postby D.S.S » June 22nd, 2011, 8:58 am

sun friggin hot by me...

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » June 22nd, 2011, 8:58 am

constant rain in chase village

flood by the gas station on SMR...about 6" of water and counting.

rain seems as if it is not giving up today

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » June 22nd, 2011, 10:52 am

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 22nd, 2011, 10:53 am

yup we in the middle of it

GOES14152011173Cc4orx.jpg

Satellite image for Trinidad & Tobago - 22nd June 2011

Postby Chimera » June 22nd, 2011, 11:01 am

White CZ4A wrote:constant rain in chase village

flood by the gas station on SMR...about 6" of water and counting.

rain seems as if it is not giving up today

*makes note to pass on highway when going home*

eekipoo

Postby eekipoo » June 22nd, 2011, 11:05 am

So time for HOOK to want to ban me again because i am NOT a meteorologist, but thaz he business. I've noticed this year the rain fall at this time of the year seems to be more than last year am i right hook? Also i've also noticed that the cloud path from the coast of Africa seem to be moving more WNW than NNW which means the waves are passing exactly over Trinidad and Tobago this year do you all think we in line for a direct hit from a storm this year? I mean i have no scientific evidence to back what i just said but i just saying what i observing. HOOK your thoughts on the matter!!

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » June 22nd, 2011, 11:15 am

eekipoo wrote:So time for HOOK to want to ban me again because i am NOT a meteorologist, but thaz he business. I've noticed this year the rain fall at this time of the year seems to be more than last year am i right hook? Also i've also noticed that the cloud path from the coast of Africa seem to be moving more WNW than NNW which means the waves are passing exactly over Trinidad and Tobago this year do you all think we in line for a direct hit from a storm this year? I mean i have no scientific evidence to back what i just said but i just saying what i observing. HOOK your thoughts on the matter!!

I keeping quiet I got banned last yesr for saying the storm not coming to trinidad!

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » June 22nd, 2011, 11:19 am

some serious winds here in POS... I swear my roof would have blown off :skurry:

Postby Hook » June 22nd, 2011, 12:05 pm

eekipoo wrote:So time for HOOK to want to ban me again because i am NOT a meteorologist, but thaz he business. I've noticed this year the rain fall at this time of the year seems to be more than last year am i right hook? Also i've also noticed that the cloud path from the coast of Africa seem to be moving more WNW than NNW which means the waves are passing exactly over Trinidad and Tobago this year do you all think we in line for a direct hit from a storm this year? I mean i have no scientific evidence to back what i just said but i just saying what i observing. HOOK your thoughts on the matter!!

:lol: I doh recall ever banning yuh MC fuh dat, but aye, ask and you shall recieve, right? :lol:

About the rainfall, just make an official request to the Met Office for rainfall data and compare the figures for yourself. I'm personally dealing with it this month and as at the 20th, we now hit 30-something percent of the normal for June (statistically/historically the rainiest month of the year, mind you) AND there were months gone for the year so far where the rainfall was much lower than the normal, so I dunno what your findings are based on. If you have something solid, then bring eeeet!

Also, that "cloud path from the coast of Africa"...what's that? ITCZ? Tropical waves? At this time of year into July and part of August, the ITCZ is at its highest (usually maxes out around 10*N) so I can see how it could look like that, but that happens every...single...year...soooo...yeah.
Because of our location (and basic science about pressure gradients et al) there's not a huge possibility that a TW will pass "exactly over Trinidad and Tobago", as you phrased it (not ruling it out, but not super likely...about as likely as a direct hit from a TC...which I will also not rule out, but refuse to comment on the likelihood of it happening this year...nex ting allyuh gone and say "Hook say..."...not ah fack ah dat eh!) and the majority of the time, the weather we usually get at this time of year from TWs are either from the tail end of it or some form of modulation between it and the ITCZ. This time of year with the ITCZ so high, we usually get weather associated with that and if there's a drop in the easterly windfield, we'll get build-ups in the west (West-Coast Convergence - a local phenomenon identified by the TTMS).

If you're tracking TWs and you have good data, we'll be happy to have u come in and we'll talk some science, but we don't usually deal with "I've noticed" scenarios.

Postby toyolink » June 22nd, 2011, 12:06 pm

12 NOON NEWS-Brace for a passing of Moderate ITCZ which may bring some wind and continuous showers which can lead to the normal challenges.
The ground in Couva area is really saturated now so the obvious risks are here.

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » June 22nd, 2011, 12:26 pm

I think my nieghbour is a crazy woman who think she immune to rain or sum ..

This morning 6am rain pouring down like a hot pee and this woman stand up in de middle ah de road with a big umbrella showing she 2yr son rain :|

WTF is up with tht ?! ...

Still raining by pios house :| :(

Postby Hook » June 22nd, 2011, 12:29 pm

eurogirl wrote: Still raining by pios house :| :(

daie de excuse he gee yuh? :lol:

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » June 22nd, 2011, 12:37 pm

he's indian .. its better he doh cum than show up in a hotel room with wet pee pee spots in his cargo shorts .. *shrug* ..

I have a question tho , who stops ppl from goin on hikes??? , coz I just watching the hills where I live and I kno the trails are a total mess .. :| we should really give the forest rangers more clout in this country to prevent stupid fools from going to river's or hikin in this kinda crazy weather ..

Postby Hook » June 22nd, 2011, 12:38 pm

*shrugs* meainkno nuh

eekipoo

Postby eekipoo » June 22nd, 2011, 12:44 pm

Hook wrote:

:lol: I doh recall ever banning yuh MC fuh dat, but aye, ask and you shall recieve, right? :lol:

About the rainfall, just make an official request to the Met Office for rainfall data and compare the figures for yourself. I'm personally dealing with it this month and as at the 20th, we now hit 30-something percent of the normal for June (statistically/historically the rainiest month of the year, mind you) AND there were months gone for the year so far where the rainfall was much lower than the normal, so I dunno what your findings are based on. If you have something solid, then bring eeeet!

Also, that "cloud path from the coast of Africa"...what's that? ITCZ? Tropical waves? At this time of year into July and part of August, the ITCZ is at its highest (usually maxes out around 10*N) so I can see how it could look like that, but that happens every...single...year...soooo...yeah.
Because of our location (and basic science about pressure gradients et al) there's not a huge possibility that a TW will pass "exactly over Trinidad and Tobago", as you phrased it (not ruling it out, but not super likely...about as likely as a direct hit from a TC...which I will also not rule out, but refuse to comment on the likelihood of it happening this year...nex ting allyuh gone and say "Hook say..."...not ah fack ah dat eh!) and the majority of the time, the weather we usually get at this time of year from TWs are either from the tail end of it or some form of modulation between it and the ITCZ. This time of year with the ITCZ so high, we usually get weather associated with that and if there's a drop in the easterly windfield, we'll get build-ups in the west (West-Coast Convergence - a local phenomenon identified by the TTMS).

If you're tracking TWs and you have good data, we'll be happy to have u come in and we'll talk some science, but we don't usually deal with "I've noticed" scenarios.

Thanks i have learnt from your posting here. Of course i have NO scientific data to back up what i said there so it shall remain on "I've noticed" until i figure out how this weather thing works. :lol: But on another note last year yuh was real mad eh i feel you really ban the man because he say the storm not coming. :lol: :mrgreen:
Last edited by eekipoo on June 22nd, 2011, 1:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nervewrecker » June 22nd, 2011, 12:47 pm

so the main question....is it safe to come up port of spain?

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » June 22nd, 2011, 1:17 pm

Hook wrote:*shrugs* meainkno nuh

well answer this yuh poops ..

What's a riverine flood alert ?

Postby Hook » June 22nd, 2011, 1:20 pm

eurogirl wrote:
Hook wrote:*shrugs* meainkno nuh

well answer this yuh poops ..

What's a riverine flood alert ?

when wolverine sister have she monthlies duhhhh

but seriously...peep this yo

http://weather.about.com/od/r/qt/river_floods.htm

Riverine flooding is another way to say river floods. When a river reaches its floodstage, water can rise and spill over the banks of the river. The amount of flooding is usually a function of the amount of precipitation in an area, the amount of time it takes for rainfall to accumulate, previous saturation of local soils, and the terrain around the river system. For instance, a river located in a braod, flat floodplain will often overflow to create shallow and persistent flood waters in an area that do not recede for extended periods of time. The most widely recognized type of riverine flood is the overbank flood.

Overbank Flooding

Overbank flooding can occur in most any size river or stream. In overbank flooding, the waters will rise and overflow over the edges of a river or stream channel. These are the most common types of floods. Overbank flooding can occur in the tiniest stream or might rivers

eekipoo

Postby eekipoo » June 22nd, 2011, 1:39 pm

Y wouldn't be safe to come to POS rain not falling hard or anything it just overcast with light very light showers

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 22nd, 2011, 3:16 pm

seems that's it for the rain from this wave

Postby toyolink » June 23rd, 2011, 1:19 pm

We are now at the time for contractors when the question is -Do i call men out tomorrow?

kevcam

Postby kevcam » June 25th, 2011, 5:57 am

rain,rain and more rain today...

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » June 25th, 2011, 7:05 am

Heavy rain in Central, any reports of flooding in Chase Village or Chaguanas area?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 28th, 2011, 6:27 pm

Looks like Central America gets the first

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 29th, 2011, 3:46 pm

First named storm for 2011!!!

Tropical Storm Arlene
http://www.wunderground.com/tropical/tr ... 01101.html
tropical-storm-arlene.jpg

Postby toyolink » June 29th, 2011, 4:08 pm

Yep,looking like a real horror story for Mexico.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » June 29th, 2011, 10:15 pm

cornfused wrote:Light rain or Drizzle in the St Augustine/Tunapuna area , some natural fire works earlier , will this disorganized activity develop next week and there after ?

its now Arlene

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 29th, 2011, 10:58 pm

cornfused wrote:
cornfused wrote:Light rain or Drizzle in the St Augustine/Tunapuna area , some natural fire works earlier , will this disorganized activity develop next week and there after ?

its now Arlene
ah hope yuh being sarcastic cause Arlene is in the Gulf of Mexico

Postby S_2NR » June 29th, 2011, 11:32 pm

cornfused wrote:

its now Arlene
ah hope yuh being sarcastic cause Arlene is in the Gulf of Mexico

i think he's just cornfused.. :?

AYE_SOLDIER

Postby AYE_SOLDIER » July 1st, 2011, 3:18 pm

EPIC! rain in st james *presently*