Postby Chiney » November 3rd, 2010, 4:58 pm

xfx gud tooooooo

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby bushwakka » November 3rd, 2010, 5:51 pm

Chiney wrote:
bushwakka wrote:
Chiney wrote:wat u hearing bout nvidia 400 series cards?

that they are super duper?

lots of issues on the EVGA forums with them.....screen going blank, pixeling up.....not being cured by updates yet....

of course tho, those cud just be red herrings, i remember there was a video corruption issue with the BIOS on my board when i bought it, it was cured later by BIOS updates

that why i dont buy EVGA cards

i stick with a brand that has consistancy and dont take GPUs and try to fit it on all sorts of different boards.. ( ie. superclock, super super clocked, FTW )

PNY

NEVER HAD A PROBLEM with MANYYYY of their cards!

every brand has their red herrings eh, also as they all carry the same chipset/GPUs, if there is a problem with this then, the brand cannot be blamed

so i cannot second you when you say with absolute certainty that one brand is more/less reliable than the other......

for the volume of ppl that buy evga products (i think they are most popular), there are bound to be more ppl with problems (which may/may not be around the same percentage) as other brands

what really matters is customer support and warranty....and for that evga takes win in my book!

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 3rd, 2010, 6:57 pm

and at least that is a opinion and not a fact. nothing is wrong with thinking that either

and bro, the gpus are the same..the boards are different.. pny for one loves to use Samsung memeory chips on their cards..baller for overclocking!

Postby bushwakka » November 3rd, 2010, 7:34 pm

^yea, thats what i said....the gpus are the same, the design of the surrounding card is up to the manf'r, and you could argue here that some brands design their cards better than others in terms of cooling etc etc

Postby M_2NR » November 3rd, 2010, 8:04 pm

i just happy with my lifetime warranty... d minute this card dies... i sending it back. plus eVGA has return policies as well.. like i could return a older card and get a new one... once i keep the goodies from it. (mobo's to)

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 3rd, 2010, 9:36 pm

same case with my PNY 480s

which i believe might be for sale soon :D

Postby bushwakka » November 3rd, 2010, 10:08 pm

^price or it didnt happen

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 3rd, 2010, 11:43 pm

not yet
wen i get back to trini i go decide!

searchingone

Postby searchingone » November 4th, 2010, 9:30 am

which is better:

thermaltake 500W psu OR cooler master 500W psu?

and i eh need more than 500W so doh even go there :|

HCCA

Postby HCCA » November 4th, 2010, 10:03 am

searchingone wrote:which is better:

thermaltake 500W psu OR cooler master 500W psu?

and i eh need more than 500W so doh even go there :|

Depends on the models. Both are reliable brands though but diff models in each wattage range give different results.

searchingone

Postby searchingone » November 4th, 2010, 10:25 am

oho right right..
Last edited by searchingone on November 5th, 2010, 6:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby bushwakka » November 4th, 2010, 10:43 am

i may be going out on a limb by saying this, but i find a lot of thermaltake products are not up to par.....they sell a lot of low-end parts with inferior quality in my opinion but yet have some high-end ones with marked better quality. To me, its like they built up this reputation and now trying to shortchange ppl.....jus saying....hadda a couple thermaltake products die on me already.....also, i inspected some of their cheaper cases.....and the quality looked cheap

Chiney wrote:xfx gud tooooooo

jus discovered xfx and bfg stopped making Nvidia cards :(
less competitors is always a bad thing....we don't want evga to have entire monopoly, cuz that tends to push manufacturing qualities down......jus not good for the customer

Postby Ronaldo95163 » November 4th, 2010, 10:50 am

XFX stop that so long boi lol, the making ATI cards now

searchingone

Postby searchingone » November 4th, 2010, 11:55 am

bushwakka wrote:i may be going out on a limb by saying this, but i find a lot of thermaltake products are not up to par.....they sell a lot of low-end parts with inferior quality in my opinion but yet have some high-end ones with marked better quality. To me, its like they built up this reputation and now trying to shortchange ppl.....jus saying....hadda a couple thermaltake products die on me already.....also, i inspected some of their cheaper cases.....and the quality looked cheap

hmmm from what i heard, Tt is exceptionally good....i guess it varies just like any product

thanks

Postby Ronaldo95163 » November 4th, 2010, 12:46 pm

Yes tt is a good brand, like any other company they have got their bad eggs

On the other hand check this out

There isn't a continuation from MW2, I was really looking forward to that though :(

But the Graphics bess though :D

Postby bushwakka » November 4th, 2010, 2:40 pm

^i figured out a while ago, u can't tell much abt those things from lookin at the specs alone....u have to actually see it.....so i wud look at a review instead...cuz they wud point out things like the location of the heatsinks, fans, power connectors etc etc

searchingone

Postby searchingone » November 4th, 2010, 2:40 pm

500W Tt
500W CM

what to do :(
Last edited by searchingone on November 5th, 2010, 6:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » November 4th, 2010, 3:23 pm

bushwakka wrote:^i figured out a while ago, u can't tell much abt those things from lookin at the specs alone....u have to actually see it.....so i wud look at a review instead...cuz they wud point out things like the location of the heatsinks, fans, power connectors etc etc

it got great reviews just wanted to know what yall thought about by looking at the specs.

Postby M_2NR » November 4th, 2010, 6:58 pm

i wont buy it.. price is nice tho... last i remember most x58 boards are ~250usd. How much for the ASUS x58's now?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » November 4th, 2010, 7:26 pm

M_2NR wrote:i wont buy it.. price is nice tho... last i remember most x58 boards are ~250usd. How much for the ASUS x58's now?

$200 for this Asus: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6813131665

Just the cpus (socket 1366) still high priced, boards and other components getting cheaper.

Postby bushwakka » November 4th, 2010, 7:41 pm

gracen wrote:
bushwakka wrote:^i figured out a while ago, u can't tell much abt those things from lookin at the specs alone....u have to actually see it.....so i wud look at a review instead...cuz they wud point out things like the location of the heatsinks, fans, power connectors etc etc

it got great reviews just wanted to know what yall thought about by looking at the specs.

just looking at the specs, i wud say its a fair price (hard to beat evga on price)

the minor nuances i was talkin abt is doing things like putting a northbridge cooler to blow hot-air on the top of ur gfx card (as is the case wit mine :( )......dem kinda ting u cant tell from specs

searchingone wrote:$475 for the 500W Tt
$325 for the 500W CM

thats $150 difference that could go towards the case....what to do :(

did u look at reviews on both cases? when i was buying my antec i found a couple guides that went thru installing everything into the cases so u virtually get to see the minor nuances in them

if the thermaltake has a better feel to it, i wud go with it, dont stinge on the house for ur computer :lol:

Postby Ronaldo95163 » November 4th, 2010, 7:41 pm

HCCA

The Asus Sabertooth, thats what im considering also but not sure if to go with the SLI 3, features are almost the same

The northbridge cooler doesn't have a fan to blow hot air on the GPU but its still gona be dissipating heat onto the GPU but ive been seeing on the x58 Chipset mobos with the northbridge cooler

Postby M_2NR » November 4th, 2010, 7:55 pm

HCCA wrote:
M_2NR wrote:i wont buy it.. price is nice tho... last i remember most x58 boards are ~250usd. How much for the ASUS x58's now?

$200 for this Asus: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6813131665

Just the cpus (socket 1366) still high priced, boards and other components getting cheaper.

ohh yes.. true.. this one too
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131641&cm_re=asus_x58-_-13-131-641-_-Product

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 4th, 2010, 8:18 pm

WOW its cold here

jerrr

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » November 4th, 2010, 8:51 pm

Wow, this thread just goes to show how out of touch I am with the latest gaming trends. I really hafta get back into the gaming groove

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » November 5th, 2010, 1:58 am

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 5th, 2010, 9:27 am

or u wah show up the black ops logo ???

Postby Ronaldo95163 » November 5th, 2010, 9:39 am

im kinda disappointed that there's no continuation from MW2

Postby Ronaldo95163 » November 5th, 2010, 10:11 am

Chiney wrote:or u wah show up the black ops logo ???

and he rel highlight it n ting lol