:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby cinco » December 10th, 2013, 11:07 am

ADONI wrote:I'm into DIY projects by my parents, so basically its to paint metal windows and gates when I finish build them to get a little more of a professional look.
I saw the one in Pricemart, but the brand I not sure about.

cool.
those dont usually produce enough constant pressure for painting tho but i guess u wont care too much for little drips on a gate or window frame as opposed to a flat surface like a wall

originalbling

Postby originalbling » December 10th, 2013, 11:23 am

didnt wanted to start a new thread....

Does anyone know where sells 4-ft LED Flourescent lights locally?

Anyone using those and have any feedback?

thanks

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » December 10th, 2013, 1:40 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Sanctifier helped Noah build the ark with one of these so he knows what he's sayin..

Sorry Uncle sancti, I hadda laugh when ah see this....... :lol:

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » December 11th, 2013, 12:36 am

^ ^ ^ No problem. :lol:

shade360

Postby shade360 » December 12th, 2013, 12:03 am

X_Factor wrote:good deal after the 25$ discount....may cost less than 850 landed
studying to order it

anyone uses the 12v line?

reviews/opinions?

I have the Bosch driver/impact driver about 2 years now and can tell with utmost certainty you cant go wrong with their 12v line. These 2 guys are used more that any other tool i have. 10/10.
IMG-20131211-00119.jpg

Regarding the 12v Hammer Drill/Driver, i opted for the Milwaukee cuz of the extra RPM and BPM over the Bosch, however since using it, the extra RPM, BPM may be negligible as they are very closely matched. Almost never take out the Milwaukee 9 Amp corded anymore. Another 10/10 in my book

The versatility and power-to-size of these units are amazing. Hope you decide to pull the trigger, you always be looking for an opportunity to whip out your tool, wont be disappointed. :mrgreen:
IMG-20131211-00120.jpg

ADONI wrote:Looking to get one of these 6 Gallon pancake air compressor.

Bhagwansingh sell out, even in the similar models as well. Due to the weight I don't think it will be feasible to skybox. Anywhere else I can get one?

A1 Tools in San Juan (638-1362) have the PC Pancake compressor for around $700-800, saw it there when i picked up my compressor.

Hope this info was helpful :x-mas:

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » December 12th, 2013, 6:29 am

pugboy wrote:Also known as most accident prone tool, just above table saws.
I still chicken to use my new brand dewalt table saw.
BTW pugboy blade guard kits are available for less than US $125 shipped (eBay) for increased user safety.
shade360 wrote:Wonder why they were phased out (All the "big name" brands stop making updated versions)... Anyone?
^ ^ ^ In addition to the Original Saw Co. it looks like DeWalt themselves are back in the game...

Link--> Dewalt Dw721Kn Radial Arm Saw 300 mm 2000 Watt.

That one's from the UK so it's 50 cycle. You need a 60 cycle unit, so look for an equivalent US model.
The point is that new units start at US $7,542.37 ---> UP!!! :shocked!: ...(+ SHIPPING!!!)
...while DIYers can get a perfectly good unit for much less than US $400 + shipping on eBay. 8-)
... and spare parts are still plentiful on eBay for most older models too.
Once you have the room for it, this is a "no brainer" decision IMHO.

My $0.02¢

shade360

Postby shade360 » December 12th, 2013, 4:01 pm

All things considered, i ended up pulling the trigger with the Dewalt DWS780, for me it came down really to my lack of knowledge and hands-on experience using a Radial Arm Saw. Certain i would have been seriously more inclined to Radial Arm had i the exposure and didn't have to lug it around sometimes.
IMG-20131207-00115.jpg

Sanctifier: Which brand of Radial Arm Saw you got, the Original Saw Co.?

I'm looking for a good 6-8" benchtop jointer btw, any ideas/recommendations?
Last edited by shade360 on December 13th, 2013, 1:16 am, edited 2 times in total.

Xplode

Postby Xplode » December 12th, 2013, 4:50 pm

was watching a line of ODB II auto scanners online what the best to buy ,from expensive to cheap ones.

Postby Ted_v2 » December 12th, 2013, 5:22 pm

I'm using a low end autel scanner and it's working excellent. From xtrail gt to b15 and even new model Hondas.

Post price how much you willing to spend

ADONI

Postby ADONI » December 13th, 2013, 9:55 am

ADONI wrote:Looking to get one of these 6 Gallon pancake air compressor.

Bhagwansingh sell out, even in the similar models as well. Due to the weight I don't think it will be feasible to skybox. Anywhere else I can get one?

A1 Tools in San Juan (638-1362) have the PC Pancake compressor for around $700-800, saw it there when i picked up my compressor.

Hope this info was helpful :x-mas:[/quote]

Thanks! Will call them.
Saw this from SSL though
http://www.ssltt.com/browse.cfm/compres ... ,5653.html

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » December 13th, 2013, 3:35 pm

Looking for a short extension with a flat right angle plug. Anyone saw these selling locally?
51EYhar80wL.jpg
51EYhar80wL.jpg (54.81 KiB) Viewed 4124 times
51nWvaVHENL.jpg
51nWvaVHENL.jpg (48.55 KiB) Viewed 4124 times

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » December 13th, 2013, 5:21 pm

shade360 wrote:Sanctifier: Which brand of Radial Arm Saw you got, the Original Saw Co.?
I'm looking for a good 6-8" benchtop jointer btw, any ideas/recommendations?
Original Saw Co.?... Nope, I can't afford an Original Saw or DeWalt for US $7,500 or more!
Especially when great eBay deals are available for less than US $400.

I inherited my ol' man's DeWalt 1030 when he passed away in 2010. Sample pix... Nope it's a lot worse than these!
Image Image

It needs a complete restoration so I bought a lot of eBay spares...
Sanctifier wrote:'325' frame motor... Yolk... Bearings... Jig-saw attachment... etc. etc.

This 1956 MBF restoration is my motivation...
Image Image

good 6-8" benchtop jointer... I don't know much about jointers, I'm afraid.
All I can do is suggest "pro brands" that I know like Delta or Walker Turner. I don't know if they have benchtop models.
These guys are some of the "pros". These reviews may help instead...

Link--> Woodworking Tool Review.

My $0.02¢
Last edited by Sanctifier on December 16th, 2013, 4:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » December 16th, 2013, 3:25 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1387225142.102622.jpg

This ac pro with tool gauge to read your vehicle ac system , I'm able to get a lot to bring back Trini ,you can top up or re gas your system ,it seals leaks too is this a good investment ,saying a can will cost $240 TTD .

And yes I know about the ac gas license required have it already,the gauge and connector hose on top is reusable .

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 16th, 2013, 6:23 pm

Peakes has 25% off on CH compressors and accessories until christmas.

Need to pass through and check it out. Prices might now be normal.

Postby Ted_v2 » December 16th, 2013, 11:01 pm

That's a nice ac tool.

Postby X_Factor » December 20th, 2013, 5:35 pm

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00BD9XOCS/ref ... 1690286822

jus bought that......wife doesnt know.....

wanna buy this too....one day sale
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0009H ... PDKIKX0DER

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 21st, 2013, 3:53 pm

Early Christmas

gas brainz

Postby gas brainz » December 21st, 2013, 4:12 pm

Where tell me more

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 21st, 2013, 4:16 pm

All on Amazon.

Much like X_Factor, the wife only knew about these when they were opened.

gas brainz

Postby gas brainz » December 21st, 2013, 4:16 pm

I got a pair of 6 ton jack stands , a set of 4 pry bars a set of 3 1/2" extentions 18" 12" 8" a 30mm an 32mm socket for around 900 at roopnarine hardware

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » December 21st, 2013, 9:31 pm

originalbling wrote:didnt wanted to start a new thread....

Does anyone know where sells 4-ft LED Flourescent lights locally?

Anyone using those and have any feedback?

thanks

Modern Electrical - Warehouse, off the CRH highway.

aidan

Postby aidan » December 22nd, 2013, 12:33 pm

dredman1 wrote:Looking for a short extension with a flat right angle plug. Anyone saw these selling locally?
51EYhar80wL.jpg
51nWvaVHENL.jpg

Nah bai. Needed one for a dryer and had to order online. Anands electrical had, but I didn't like the quality.

Postby X_Factor » December 23rd, 2013, 10:09 pm

http://www.amazon.com/DEWALT-D26451K-Co ... pd_cp_hi_1

anybody here wants one?....if i order 2, i will get the 25 off, and it will cost around 50usd to bring in the pair.......based on websource's online calculator it should come up to 400 each

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » December 24th, 2013, 7:57 am

Lookin for a GRINDER...

Anybody see any good deals around during the season?

Not sure if this was posted already but..
....what are some recommendations when buying a tool like this?

Postby X_Factor » December 24th, 2013, 8:26 am

it all depends on how much u wanna spend
10 amp versions will cost around 800
7amp versions around 500

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » December 24th, 2013, 8:38 am

X_Factor wrote:it all depends on how much u wanna spend
10 amp versions will cost around 800
7amp versions around 500

Would be using it to cut off some steel rods (1/2 & 3/8 etc), what u recommend?

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » December 24th, 2013, 9:41 am

dont buy d lil 4"

for thick steel like that get d 7" more heavier duty grinders like dewalt\milwaukee\makita\bosch & get d 1\8" thick dewalt cutting discs from bhags , these discs cut fast & efficient ...

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » December 24th, 2013, 11:28 am

- Rovin's car audio - wrote:dont buy d lil 4"

for thick steel like that get d 7" more heavier duty grinders like dewalt\milwaukee\makita\bosch & get d 1\8" thick dewalt cutting discs from bhags , these discs cut fast & efficient ...

Thanks..

While allyuh was/is shoppin around, did anybody see any deals anywhere for this..

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » December 24th, 2013, 11:39 am

not sure if bhags still have their 10% off dewalt & milwaukee , u cud give them a call

sometimes on certain items u get some alright deals by roopnarine on caroni savannah road ...

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » December 24th, 2013, 11:48 am

- Rovin's car audio - wrote:not sure if bhags still have their 10% off dewalt & milwaukee , u cud give them a call

sometimes on certain items u get some alright deals by roopnarine on caroni savannah road ...

I passed by them (trincity branch) over the weekend.. didn't see much variety in the Grinders.

They had a few very large "professional" ones and one Dewalt for $500.00 - think it was 4 inch..