The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Re: Bmobile Prepaid Internet APN Settings??

Postby Stephon. » April 22nd, 2011, 9:36 pm

APN: Internet

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 22nd, 2011, 9:37 pm

reply, coming from an android user,
do a search, infact just scroll down on the 1st page in the forum, the answer is right there!!!
and the answer to your question is within ure question itself

yudhistre

Postby yudhistre » April 22nd, 2011, 9:45 pm

thanks......

Summary..

apn: bconnected

Setup:

Okay guys the bconnected does work, but it does have to be activated, via the phone or web if u dont wanna go into a store like me! Just go on the bmobile website and go to help, chat with a agent, dey will ask for ur puk code and id number, which u gotta be the owner of the sim! Its actually fast and easy once u got all that info, if u dont got ur puk number just ask for that first, and when they ask u if there is anything else, just ask them about setting up the prepaid data plan for you!

Swisha

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby Swisha » April 23rd, 2011, 12:55 am

996vtwin wrote:So im currently monitoring tech stocks, what non apple phones and tablets you guys think gonna dominate the markets in 2011 and 2012 :)

definitely the Samsung Galaxy SII and the new Galaxy Tab 10.1

cant wait to order my Galaxy SII !

achillies

Postby achillies » April 23rd, 2011, 9:08 am

mitch wrote:
996vtwin wrote:So im currently monitoring tech stocks, what non apple phones and tablets you guys think gonna dominate the markets in 2011 and 2012 :)

Have you made up your mind on that Samsung, i wanna go there but i am a bit skeptical on the build quality, i' alos looking at the HTC Sensation

What do u think

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » April 23rd, 2011, 9:22 am

Still need help on setting up prepaid digicel bis on an android and no...just putting web.digiceltt.com as the apn doesnt work...i just get the sorry no credit page

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 23rd, 2011, 12:32 pm

achillies wrote:
mitch wrote:

Have you made up your mind on that Samsung, i wanna go there but i am a bit skeptical on the build quality, i' alos looking at the HTC Sensation

What do u think

yeah i think i going with the GSII. i've compared it with all the other latest phones, including the Atrix, Xperia Arc, Optimus 2X and the Sensation among others, and i always end up coming back to the GSII.

imo, it has the best features and should be future proof enough. i also like the look of it compared to the rest.

the Xperia Arc has a sweet design too but specs lacking compared to the GSII.

the Sensation looks like a decent phone but it looks similar to my N1 and i looking for a change so i still prefer the look of the GSII over it.

in terms of build quality, all the reviews i've read and seen on it says it's top notch,especially the screen, with some saying the exception was the back cover which is a very thin textured plastic piece that's flexible.

but it's what helps the phone to probably be the lightest smartphone ever made so far and it's not a deal breaker for me.

would have liked to see what the GSM EVO 3D offers but no word on that yet and i'm gonna be ordering in May...

996vtwin
In Memory of George Aboud Jr.

Postby 996vtwin » April 23rd, 2011, 8:27 pm

Any predictions on Rimm's playbook. Fail or Win . thanks in advance. I have been reading mixed reviews on it ...sorry about the hijack

Postby M_2NR » April 23rd, 2011, 8:38 pm

996vtwin wrote:Any predictions on Rimm's playbook. Fail or Win . thanks in advance. I have been reading mixed reviews on it ...sorry about the hijack

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=290266&start=1290

personally... I'd stick to an iPad 2.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 23rd, 2011, 10:47 pm

yeah i really dont see y anyone would want to use anything BlackBerry again when there's Android and iOS.

supposedly the Playbook will be able to run Android apps but we'll see how that goes...

Postby M_2NR » April 23rd, 2011, 11:17 pm

After they said what they said about the reason behind no Mail app... i was like "d phoq is this sh!t?!"

I really like the ASUS Transformer and the price is nice! But something on engadget's review made me realize or well strengthen my belief that you can't beat the fluidity (if there is such a word, firefox says yes lol) and proper execution of iOS.

That said, I simply wont buy any right now. I want something more powerful than that in my hands for a tablet. Yes I'd love a bigger screen because my phone screen is feeling small (i still think back as to how a 176x176 screen worked!), but I'm not pushed to say, I'll buy any tablet tmrw, just yet.

But that's just me. (Hell, if i had the cash, I would anyway!)

ohh /rant

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 24th, 2011, 6:55 pm

Lenovo ThinkPad Tablet leaks out with Honeycomb, IPS screen, optional stylus and keyboard folio?

Remember the ultra-thin Lenovo ThinkPad X1 we detailed just a few hours ago? The document that dished those secrets also mentioned an "X Slate," which made us wonder if Lenovo's LePad was finally hitting the states... but This is my next seems to have stumbled across a grander piece of technology than that oft-delayed slate. According to a presumably leaked company presentation, Lenovo's planning to release an Android 3.0 tablet this July with a giant raft of specs -- a 10.1-inch 1280 x 800 IPS capacitive multitouch panel, a Tegra 2 processor, up to 64GB of storage, front and rear cameras, a full-size USB 2.0 port, mini-HDMI out, a genuine SD card reader and up to 8 hours of purported battery life in a package about 14mm thick and weighing 1.6 pounds.

What's more, it will reportedly have an optional dual-digitizer with "true pen support" and an optional keyboard case, possibly aping ASUS's recent Slate and Transformer tablet input mechanisms by allowing for both simultaneously. There's also apparently plenty of software support for the business-minded, including IT integration as well as anti-theft and remote wipe options, and all this will apparently start at the competitive price of $499 -- assuming these documents are legitimate and still valid. You see, they look a little preliminary for a slate supposedly sampling in just a couple of months, and there are contradictions here and there, such as the mention of a 1080p display in one slide, and some watermarks from 2009 in others. Still, Lenovo, if you're indeed producing a tablet today, we're liking its proposed specs -- don't suppose we can get a Tegra T25 chip while you're at it? Find a few extra renders and plenty of slides at our source link.

Source, Engadget

outlaw101

Postby outlaw101 » April 26th, 2011, 4:07 am

http://www.bestandroiddownloads.com/

got most of my apps from this site and games as well....link up for those who don't know about it yet!! :)

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 26th, 2011, 8:01 pm

Sony S1 and S2 dual-screen Honeycomb tablets get official (video)

Sony's hosting a press event in Tokyo today where it just made the first announcement: a pair of Android 3.0 tablets -- yes, the very two Honeycomb slabs we told you about exclusively back in February. The first is the Qriocity-focused 9.4-inch S1 media tablet with both front- and rear-facing cameras and a curved wrap design that resembles a folded magazine. The S1 features a Tegra 2 SoC and customized "Quick and Smooth" touch panel UI with "Swift" web browser. It can also be used as a remote control for Sony gear thanks to integrated infrared.

The second tablet is the dual-screen S2 clamshell with its pair of 5.5-inch 1,024 x 480 pixel displays, Tegra 2 SoC, and camera. While it sounds bulky, Kunimasa Suzuki just pulled the hinged tablet from his jacket pocket on stage. Sony takes advantage of the two screens with a custom book-style UI layout for its e-reader app, split keyboard and messaging displays for email, and split display and game controllers for PS One gaming. Both the S1 and S2 are PlayStation Certified, support DLNA, and are WiFi and 3G/4G "compatible" according to Sony. See the Sony tablets codenamed "S1" and "S2" in action after the break on their way to a global release in the fall -- possibly sooner in the US.

P.S. While the company isn't ready to talk prices yet, our sources told us back in February that Sony was considering a $599 MSRP on the S1 while the S2 would likely come in at $699.

Engadget

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 27th, 2011, 8:42 am

Nielsen: Android overtakes iOS in desirability, sales in the US

Nielsen asked US consumers about smartphone OSes during the first quarter of this year and found out that Android has been the most popular with new buyers lately and the most desirable OS too. Interestingly, the number of people who answered “Not sure” also went up.

Last year, between July and September, a third of consumers answered iOS, when asked what OS they want next. But when asked the same question between January and March this year, more people answered Android instead of iOS. Actually, Android is the only OS whose desirability didn’t decline.

Six months have passed since September 2010 and now half of the people who buy new smartphones go for Android and only a quarter for iOS. The remaining quarter is dominated by new BlackBerries (15%, remember this is just for the US) with the occasional Windows Mobile/Phone 7 (7%) and WebOS and Symbian barely registering.

Which brings us to the final standings – the total smartphone market share in the US as registered by Nielsen in March 2011. Android is in the lead with 37%, with iOS (27%) and BlackBerry OS (22%) coming in second and third. That’s not bad at all, considering Android phones are manufactured by a multitude of companies while the other two are exclusively used in their respective companies.

It's a shame that Nielsen put Windows Mobile and Windows Phone 7 under the same category, we were curious to see how much of that 10% market share is due to Microsoft’s new OS.

GSM Arena

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 27th, 2011, 4:38 pm

Google Docs gets an Android app, lets you capture text with your phone's camera

Google's had a mobile-friendly version of Google Docs available for some time now, but it's now finally gone the extra step and released a dedicated Android app. That will of course let you access and edit your documents on your smartphone, but the real standout feature is the ability to capture text with your phone's camera and have it instantly made editable thanks to some optical character recognition. Google notes that won't work with handwriting or some fonts, but it promises it will get better over time. Hit up Android Market to try it out for yourself.

Engadget

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 27th, 2011, 4:39 pm

Google launches Chrome 11, flat icon is here to stay

Firefox 4? Too furry. Internet Explorer 9? Too blue. Google's Chrome? Just the right amount of shine -- or is it? The company introduced a flat new logo for the browser and now that logo is gracing the software's latest stable release. Chrome 11 is now available, the biggest changes being a number of security and bug fixes, some of which "may be kept private until a majority of our users are up to date with the fix." The new version also delivers speech-to-text and, perhaps more importantly, text-to-speech. There are other enhancements too, but really you've probably already left us to update. Are you still there? Hello?

Engadget

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » April 27th, 2011, 5:48 pm

hey anyone knows if the bmobile social plan will work on the android? and would it be the same speed as the data sim?

Postby M_2NR » April 27th, 2011, 6:01 pm

shaq090 wrote:hey anyone knows if the bmobile social plan will work on the android? and would it be the same speed as the data sim?

yudhistre wrote:thanks......

Summary..

apn: bconnected

Setup:

Okay guys the bconnected does work, but it does have to be activated, via the phone or web if u dont wanna go into a store like me! Just go on the bmobile website and go to help, chat with a agent, dey will ask for ur puk code and id number, which u gotta be the owner of the sim! Its actually fast and easy once u got all that info, if u dont got ur puk number just ask for that first, and when they ask u if there is anything else, just ask them about setting up the prepaid data plan for you!

same page :|

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » April 27th, 2011, 7:34 pm

well is it just as fast as the edge data sim?

achillies

Postby achillies » April 27th, 2011, 9:33 pm

This is looking good

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » April 28th, 2011, 8:22 am

So i ended up going Bmobile and joining our corporate plan.

$120 Unlimited EDGE. $75 for 150mins, 25 free texts, free calls 10pm-6am.

Speed not bad, hotspot on the Desire HD works great IMO.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 28th, 2011, 8:32 am

Captainzaak wrote:So i ended up going Bmobile and joining our corporate plan.

have the same plan, but for some reason the bill be 69 dollars this month!!
edge has real dead spots though
cant get it to work good in the office at all

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » April 28th, 2011, 8:46 am

jhonnieblue wrote:
Captainzaak wrote:So i ended up going Bmobile and joining our corporate plan.

have the same plan, but for some reason the bill be 69 dollars this month!!
edge has real dead spots though
cant get it to work good in the office at all

Yeah i agree wrt the dead spots, every now and then google talk signs out and i have to sign back in. But service alright thus far, finally getting a good use out of the HD :mrgreen:

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » April 28th, 2011, 9:03 am

what speeds so do u get?

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » April 28th, 2011, 10:02 am

shaq090 wrote:what speeds so do u get?

Results of my last test:

Connection Type: Edge
Server: Port of Spain
Download: 107 kbps
Upload: 73 kbps
Ping: 4 ms

Last test i did yesterday yielded ping at 1456 :shock:

Download and upload were about the same.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » April 28th, 2011, 10:31 am

bits or bytes? and what time?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 28th, 2011, 12:58 pm

Engadget's Galaxy S II Review

For a handset with such a broad range of standout features and specs, the Galaxy S II is remarkably easy to summarize. It's the best Android smartphone yet, but more importantly, it might well be the best smartphone, period. Of course, a 4.3-inch screen size won't suit everyone, no matter how stupendously thin the device that carries it may be, and we also can't say for sure that the Galaxy S II would justify a long-term iOS user foresaking his investment into one ecosystem and making the leap to another. Nonetheless, if you're asking us what smartphone to buy today, unconstrained by such externalities, the Galaxy S II would be the clear choice. Sometimes it's just as simple as that.

can May come quickly please? :|

Postby M_2NR » April 28th, 2011, 2:24 pm

oh crap i thought i posted here already >_>

anyway... SGSII... meh :P

btw if you all looking for an android tablet i see the samsung tab is now $349 for the wifi only one. On amazon as well.

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » April 28th, 2011, 2:44 pm

mitch wrote:Engadget's Galaxy S II Review

For a handset with such a broad range of standout features and specs, the Galaxy S II is remarkably easy to summarize. It's the best Android smartphone yet, but more importantly, it might well be the best smartphone, period. Of course, a 4.3-inch screen size won't suit everyone, no matter how stupendously thin the device that carries it may be, and we also can't say for sure that the Galaxy S II would justify a long-term iOS user foresaking his investment into one ecosystem and making the leap to another. Nonetheless, if you're asking us what smartphone to buy today, unconstrained by such externalities, the Galaxy S II would be the clear choice. Sometimes it's just as simple as that.

Yes, they said III, it's not a typo :|

can May come quickly please? :|

Samsung Galaxy S III Tipped for Fall Launch

Despite the fact that the Samsung Galaxy S II is just starting to be rolled out, the Galaxy S III is said to arrive as soon as the fall, according to reviewer Eldar Murtazin. Murtazin has not been right with every single one of his predications, but he is so deadly accurate that we always listen closely whenever he passes along a piece of gossip. The man who correctly called Nokia's move to Windows Phone 7 now says via tweet that Samsung is ramping up its production cycles in order to compete with the iPhone 5, said by several sources to be arriving in September.

Murtazin speculates that nearly all aspects of the Galaxy S will be revamped for its third incarnation, although he's fairly vague when it comes to specific improvements. He does declare with some certainty that Samsung is looking to release a new flagship model every six to eight months, which is quick even for an industry known for rapid turnover. Does this news affect your decision to pick up a Galaxy S II, much to the chagrin of Samsung?

Source: Twitter