Energy Sector Thread - Operators, Engineers, Technicians Et Al

kavaninho

Re: Energy Sector Thread - Operators, Engineers, Technicians Et Al

Postby kavaninho » July 5th, 2017, 2:58 pm

Sent 40+ applications to various companies this year, all went unanswered.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » July 5th, 2017, 3:36 pm

It happens still waiting to hear about the operator position there petrotrin and desalcott

the only easy day was yesterday

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » July 5th, 2017, 5:39 pm

40+ For this year alone....damn that's tough.

I wonder if Ministry of Labour has any idea of working conditions out there or the state of the unemployed and unemployment in Trinidad and Tobago.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » July 5th, 2017, 5:43 pm

Serious question folks when was the last time you got a job posting from Caribbean Jobs?

Seems like its been a while.....well for me anyway.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » July 5th, 2017, 5:45 pm

No they don't and they don't care only looking out for their asses and party card holders

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » July 6th, 2017, 7:15 am

kavaninho wrote:Sent 40+ applications to various companies this year, all went unanswered.

word of advice.

Because you sent applications to a company once at a certain time doesn't mean its enough. Sometimes you may be qualified for a position but the time you sent your resume, the position wasn't vacant or HR was not considering applicants at that time ...and sorry to say some companies simply remove the staples from resumes and send to the shredder.....

So every so often send application to same company.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » July 6th, 2017, 7:27 am

Numb3r4 wrote:Serious question folks when was the last time you got a job posting from Caribbean Jobs?

I used to get a lot of calls up until 2015. Haven't received a call from an ad on that website again​.
I guess​ it's a combination of worker saturation and companies downsizing. Might be a while before anything gets better, if it does gets better that is.
Last edited by vaiostation on July 6th, 2017, 7:55 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby tr1ad » July 6th, 2017, 7:37 am

Numb3r4 wrote:Serious question folks when was the last time you got a job posting from Caribbean Jobs?

for the 8 months home, i probably applied to one position ever other week, ... 2 or 3 for the month in total.. out of that i would get at least one call.

the last one being tucker, which was about a month ago.... probably the field applying for is saturated

and as the monkey saying.... i believe it applies to PLNC, every month or so i see the same ad from them, but never a call... hasn't stopped me from sending the same paperwork to them

budget is a big thing these days, they might get the approval to go to the market, but then the budget may not allow for a position and they cancel.

another example is Kaizen, they came out with an ad on a tuesday morning and by 2pm they took it down - they decided to use someone internally instead of outside hire

gencon

Postby gencon » July 6th, 2017, 8:59 am

I about to go for an interview for office assistant.

Epic fail....what can I say I am desperate. I really gone to the dogs.

gencon

Postby gencon » July 6th, 2017, 9:01 am

I know a woman who has a degree in industrial engineering and works as an executive assistant.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » July 6th, 2017, 9:06 am

Good luck. At this point it's anything to keep the lights on. Look I doing the uber thing for that reason

Postby nervewrecker » July 6th, 2017, 10:16 am

Monkey Man wrote:
kavaninho wrote:Sent 40+ applications to various companies this year, all went unanswered.

word of advice.

Because you sent applications to a company once at a certain time doesn't mean its enough. Sometimes you may be qualified for a position but the time you sent your resume, the position wasn't vacant or HR was not considering applicants at that time ...and sorry to say some companies simply remove the staples from resumes and send to the shredder.....

So every so often send application to same company.

And dont give up hope.
I think I still have the letter from the company I now work for saying that they have no vacancies right now. At least they wrote, most others didnt.
I think about a week after getting the letter I get a call asking if I still interested in the position.

d12390123

Postby d12390123 » July 6th, 2017, 10:17 am

jusdoit wrote:
jcrew wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:Anyone in here get called about the refinery operator thingy? Hearing men sour they eh get called as they heard calling start.

Yeah I get call. Went for the interview. Say they will be in touch.

Hi, how long after you submitted your documents for verification did Petro call you to do the exam? And how many days after doing the exam did they call you for the interview? This info might help everyone who's waiting for a call have an idea as to when they can expect feedback (if any)!

Anybody got called after the interview for this yet??? I did the interview and they said they will be in touch.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » July 6th, 2017, 10:19 am

Dude it's the suspense that kills me

gencon

Postby gencon » July 6th, 2017, 10:30 am

trinidrift wrote:Good luck. At this point it's anything to keep the lights on. Look I doing the uber thing for that reason

How that working out? What's your daily earnings?

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » July 6th, 2017, 12:26 pm

Well petro said they would have called me in a week after the interview.
That was about three weeks ago. The apprenticeship program starting this month so I probably got blanked already...

car

Postby car » July 6th, 2017, 12:30 pm

vaiostation wrote:Well petro said they would have called me in a week after the interview.
That was about three weeks ago. The apprenticeship program starting this month so I probably got blanked already...

Everything is take long there. I ordered 3 coveralls since January and ah still aint get 1 yet. They only saying they will check the factory and call meh back.

Drea

Postby Drea » July 6th, 2017, 12:33 pm

tr1ad wrote:

for the 8 months home, i probably applied to one position ever other week, ... 2 or 3 for the month in total.. out of that i would get at least one call.

the last one being tucker, which was about a month ago.... probably the field applying for is saturated

and as the monkey saying.... i believe it applies to PLNC, every month or so i see the same ad from them, but never a call... hasn't stopped me from sending the same paperwork to them

budget is a big thing these days, they might get the approval to go to the market, but then the budget may not allow for a position and they cancel.

another example is Kaizen, they came out with an ad on a tuesday morning and by 2pm they took it down - they decided to use someone internally instead of outside hire

Noticed this from a few companies well, I usually check C-Jobs throughout the day and would note certain positions I'm interested in applying for, but quite a few time when I check back on some the same day it goes up the position is removed.

Postby nervewrecker » July 6th, 2017, 2:35 pm

d12390123 wrote:
jusdoit wrote:
jcrew wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:Anyone in here get called about the refinery operator thingy? Hearing men sour they eh get called as they heard calling start.

Yeah I get call. Went for the interview. Say they will be in touch.

Hi, how long after you submitted your documents for verification did Petro call you to do the exam? And how many days after doing the exam did they call you for the interview? This info might help everyone who's waiting for a call have an idea as to when they can expect feedback (if any)!

Anybody got called after the interview for this yet??? I did the interview and they said they will be in touch.

Ill ask around when I see the guys from petro.

But they usually take long in there. I know they do their HW on potential employees too.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » July 6th, 2017, 3:03 pm

Thanks bro. That would be a good thing to find out. I trying to find out myself but no answer

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » July 6th, 2017, 6:12 pm

instantfrugality wrote:I about to go for an interview for office assistant.

Bro, you could have put a gun to someone's back or a knife to someone's throat..that to me, is 'gone to the dogs'. Putting an honest dollar on the table, that's what makes a man, a man..unlike these cowards that are robbing people daily to buy another pair of J's..keep being a man. Talk done.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » July 6th, 2017, 6:14 pm

instantfrugality wrote:
trinidrift wrote:Good luck. At this point it's anything to keep the lights on. Look I doing the uber thing for that reason

So far it's paying the bills
Not really. I keep the hours during the day and I don't go anywhere idk. Plus I have a "lil added protection" with me always.
Last edited by trinidrift on July 6th, 2017, 6:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

gencon

Postby gencon » July 6th, 2017, 10:04 pm

trinidrift wrote:
instantfrugality wrote:

So far it's paying the bills

Does it pose great risk to yourself, do you feel that you are in danger at any time?

Postby nervewrecker » July 6th, 2017, 10:27 pm

Joshie23 wrote:

Bro, you could have put a gun to someone's back or a knife to someone's throat..that to me, is 'gone to the dogs'. Putting an honest dollar on the table, that's what makes a man, a man..unlike these cowards that are robbing people daily to buy another pair of J's..keep being a man. Talk done.

Damn right.

gencon

Postby gencon » July 7th, 2017, 12:15 pm

Joshie23 wrote:

Damn right.

I hear yuh breds

i didn't get the job though, the interviewer said I would be too much of a distraction for the young ladies there. lol. jk

say whah! small ting.

Postby nervewrecker » July 7th, 2017, 4:00 pm

Well no word on the apprenticeship programe.
Heard is only like 12 men for RO.

Again, not 100% sure. Is a newscarrier I hear it from

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » July 7th, 2017, 4:56 pm

^^^ when I went for the interview someone at hr told me that they were currently "reviewing", the amount of operator trainee's and apprentice's they were going to take in. Judging from the number you gave they basically cut it in half

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » July 7th, 2017, 7:43 pm

Yea that sounds like a drastic cut. So I got back my old job going back out in the morning. Not sure if it will be a regular thing but it is still something

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » July 7th, 2017, 8:17 pm

Congrats!!!

gencon

Postby gencon » July 7th, 2017, 8:39 pm

Good luck.