COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 5127 cases, 93 deaths, 1661 active, 3367 recovered in T&T

Postby redmanjp » October 14th, 2020, 3:57 pm

they should increase repatriation flights as far as quarantine capacity allows- more ppl from the low risk countries can come back as they don't need state quarantine. sanitize any place where a positive patient was then allow more to come in - no need for a 2 week 'airing out' when penniwise could open back d next day

Dohplaydat

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 5127 cases, 93 deaths, 1661 active, 3367 recovered in T&T

Postby Dohplaydat » October 14th, 2020, 4:53 pm

I know 3 persons who had to miss the funerals and spending time with parents before they died, and these 3 were in the last couple months.

We absolutely have no plan and no criteria on how returns or who doesn't. E.g.

Person A lives and works in Canada last 2 years, but was allowed to return in June or July (can't remember when but Gyms were open when he came down).
Person B who is studying in the US finished her BSc in May is stranded and unemployed, living on the couch of her best friend, her parents have sent her over 30K so far for basic living. She can't return despite making noise all over facebook, calling up embassies and immigration almost daily.
Person C had her work VISA expire in April, had flights booked to return in April as well. She can't return.
Person D goes to the US to volunteer at a Church for 3 months at a time, was due to come back in April as well. He can't return.
Person E, owns several businesses in Piarco (allyuh might know she now), has connections (but probably the wrong ones), she has a vested interest and ties to Trinidad including sick relatives, yet she can't return. Also, I think she's stopped trying after falling out with some government officials.

Again, NO COUNTRY IN THE WORLD has locked out their citizens. The only one that did was Ecuador and they closed their borders for a mere 21 days and gave their citizens aboard more notice than the TT gov did.

We can easily bring back citizens, look at Barbados's plan below. Why can't we do that? Why do we have to be so f*cking backward about everything?

Barbados: Open to U.S. visitors. Travelers must upload the results of a negative Covid PCR test taken within 72 hours of arrival and complete and upload the online Immigrations/Customs arrival form 72 hours prior to arrival at travel form.gov.bb. Visitors must quarantine at a designated hotel (120 are on the list) or approved villa (more than 100) at their own expense or free of charge at a government facility. Visitors will be retested 2 to 3 days after arrival and, if negative, are no longer restricted to the hotel or villa. Visitors must self-monitor with daily temperature checks and text or call public health officials with the information for seven days. For information, visit http://www.barbadostravelprotocols.com.

Postby MaxPower » October 14th, 2020, 5:18 pm

maj. tom wrote:The government can't put proper travel screening and plans in place like other governments have?

Hello maj.tom,

Unfortunately no.

Postby redmanjp » October 14th, 2020, 6:43 pm

^ that 3 day quarantine is based on science? what about the significant chance of a false negative before at least 5 days? while they are doing temp checks and telling themselves 'i'm ok' they could be asymptomatic or presymptomatic ans STILL SPREAD the virus.

Postby paid_influencer » October 14th, 2020, 6:50 pm

redmanjp wrote:^ that 3 day quarantine is based on science? what about the significant chance of a false negative before at least 5 days? while they are doing temp checks and telling themselves 'i'm ok' they could be asymptomatic or presymptomatic ans STILL SPREAD the virus.

them fully embracing 'learning to live with the virus.' Learning to live with decreased lung capacity, pericardial inflammation, death, depression, etc.

:drinking:

Postby paid_influencer » October 14th, 2020, 6:53 pm

on a good note, only 27 cases today and nobody dead

https://www.facebook.com/tttliveonline/ ... 6201930610

keith, plz reopen the beach

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » October 14th, 2020, 8:03 pm

redmanjp wrote:^ that 3 day quarantine is based on science? what about the significant chance of a false negative before at least 5 days? while they are doing temp checks and telling themselves 'i'm ok' they could be asymptomatic or presymptomatic ans STILL SPREAD the virus.

It's not just a 3 day quarantine.

They are required to show a negative test up to 48-72 hours before entering the country. Upon entering, they quarentine again for 3 days and they are then tested again.

It's not foolproof, but it's reasonable that they'll eliminate 99% of cases from entering the country. The fact is :
1. They have over a dozen flights arriving daily including 2 from the US and 2 from the UK (sometimes more depending on the day)
2. Their testing rate is 4 times higher than ours
3. They have only 210 cases
4. Their borders have been opened 3 months now (since July 12th)

You have to ask how little Barbados getting it so right and we, with our draconian approach, getting it so wrong.

Postby paid_influencer » October 14th, 2020, 8:26 pm

seems relevant to the thread

In a statement issued today, the TTPS said the 34 Venezuelan migrants were intercepted by officers attached to the South Western Division (SWD) along with officers of the Trinidad and Tobago Coast Guard (TTCG) on Monday.

The TTPS said they will be repatriated to Venezuela sometime this week.

The TTPS said the group of 19 men, 11 women and four children were intercepted while aboard a 25-foot fishing pirogue by officers of the TTCG, who were on border patrol around 4:40 pm on Monday afternoon.

The TTPS said they were taken into custody and processed and are currently at the Cedros Coast Guard base.

http://www.looptt.com/content/ttps-34-m ... epatriated

The legal borders closed. The illegal borders only partially closed.

Postby pugboy » October 14th, 2020, 8:40 pm

More like mostly open

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 5127 cases, 93 deaths, 1661 active, 3367 recovered in T&T

Postby MaxPower » October 14th, 2020, 9:49 pm

paid_influencer wrote:on a good note, only 27 cases today and nobody dead

https://www.facebook.com/tttliveonline/ ... 6201930610

keith, plz reopen the beach

Hello paid_influencer,

Yes, that’s good news but we still need some consistency with low and decreasing numbers.

Rest assured, Keith is working.

Have patience and join me in prayer.

Postby paid_influencer » October 14th, 2020, 9:59 pm

let us pray by the beach, with powerful sea breeze for ventilation and miles of sand for social distancing

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 5194 cases, 93 deaths, 1599 active, 3502 recovered in T&T

Postby paid_influencer » October 15th, 2020, 9:18 pm

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-birmingham-54539328

Used coronavirus tests handed out by mistake in Birmingham

oops

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 5194 cases, 93 deaths, 1599 active, 3502 recovered in T&T

Postby maj. tom » October 15th, 2020, 10:36 pm

strangers does be licking your phone or something? Who else does use your phone when it not in your pocket?

Postby redmanjp » October 15th, 2020, 10:40 pm

maj. tom wrote:strangers does be licking your phone or something? Who else does use your phone when it not in your pocket?

ppl touch everything and then touch their phone, duh- then touch their face with their phone when they are on a call too

Postby maj. tom » October 15th, 2020, 10:43 pm

How if you're wearing a mask? So have you been disinfecting your phone every 20 mins bro? Have you? Did you get the virus yet?

What is life anymore if we have to stop licking other people's phones and bank notes? oh the lament of the hypochondriac!

Postby redmanjp » October 16th, 2020, 1:36 am

maj. tom wrote:How if you're wearing a mask? So have you been disinfecting your phone every 20 mins bro? Have you? Did you get the virus yet?

What is life anymore if we have to stop licking other people's phones and bank notes? oh the lament of the hypochondriac!

not every few mins but everyday when i come home- even if u wearing a mask the outside of that mask could be contaminated and u hold your phone up to it- then at HOME u take off the mask then u receive a call and guess what? it's on your bare face- or u touch it and touch your face

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 16th, 2020, 4:49 am

The Spanish flu, also known as the 1918 flu pandemic, was an unusually deadly influenza pandemic caused by the H1N1 influenza A virus. Lasting from February 1918 to April 1920, it infected 500 million people – about a third of the world's population at the time – in four successive waves. The death toll is typically estimated to have been somewhere between 17 million and 50 million, and possibly as high as 100 million, making it one of the deadliest pandemics in human history.

2 years
4 waves
100 million dead

we have 2 more waves to go.

Postby Chimera » October 16th, 2020, 7:51 am

maj. tom wrote:strangers does be licking your phone or something? Who else does use your phone when it not in your pocket?

your kids

Postby Ben_spanna » October 16th, 2020, 8:03 am

screwbash wrote:The Spanish flu, also known as the 1918 flu pandemic, was an unusually deadly influenza pandemic caused by the H1N1 influenza A virus. Lasting from February 1918 to April 1920, it infected 500 million people – about a third of the world's population at the time – in four successive waves. The death toll is typically estimated to have been somewhere between 17 million and 50 million, and possibly as high as 100 million, making it one of the deadliest pandemics in human history.

2 years
4 waves
100 million dead

Difference being technology today is far greater than in 1918, and with media the way it is , people "Should" understand better to stay home and avoid sick people. Our Super information highway today is much greater than back then, lets hope we use it to our advantage.

Postby MaxPower » October 16th, 2020, 8:13 am

Friends,

Let me reiterate the importance of basic hygiene and this is what we were supposed to be doing even before Covid.

It is extremely simple.

Wash your hands before touching your body, others and personal effects. It may mean doing this multiple times for the day.

Get in in your head Trinis, i still think it has not sunken in yet.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 16th, 2020, 9:19 pm

This thread real die down. Deaths went up by 2 bt yesterday and today.
FB_IMG_1602897491944.jpeg

Postby paid_influencer » October 16th, 2020, 9:24 pm

Kindly reminder to all Ministers of Government (especially in the Ministry of Education and the Ministry of Agriculture) that they also need to wear masks.
121641842_10164518629120472_7325311142293113134_n.jpg

Postby redmanjp » October 16th, 2020, 10:07 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:
screwbash wrote:The Spanish flu, also known as the 1918 flu pandemic, was an unusually deadly influenza pandemic caused by the H1N1 influenza A virus. Lasting from February 1918 to April 1920, it infected 500 million people – about a third of the world's population at the time – in four successive waves. The death toll is typically estimated to have been somewhere between 17 million and 50 million, and possibly as high as 100 million, making it one of the deadliest pandemics in human history.

2 years
4 waves
100 million dead

Difference being technology today is far greater than in 1918, and with media the way it is , people "Should" understand better to stay home and avoid sick people. Our Super information highway today is much greater than back then, lets hope we use it to our advantage.

but ppl travel more today- so once borders open u keep generating more waves

Postby redmanjp » October 16th, 2020, 10:08 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:This thread real die down. Deaths went up by 2 bt yesterday and today. FB_IMG_1602897491944.jpeg

we hitting 100 next week

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 17th, 2020, 4:08 am

redmanjp wrote:
Ben_spanna wrote:

2 years
4 waves
100 million dead

forget jesus and be thy neighbor keeper BS. dese days iman hadda see about iself and ifamily. the more people dead the better for the survivors long term. trump have them in he rally not wearing mask and spreading the covid. china deploy a not fully tested vaccine so expect the zombie apocalypse soon. so let the 1% have parties, let the covid parties happen, open back the beaches and bars and let chaos reign. if 1.5million can be reduced to 750 thousand jobs will be easier to get and no shortage of food and basic commodities.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » October 17th, 2020, 11:09 am

redmanjp wrote:
Ben_spanna wrote:

2 years
4 waves
100 million dead

Only if it was contained in the first place. With free open borders you'd only see a small increase.

The real reason we not doing what Barbados doing is that TTGOv can't effectively manage that right now..they are worfully stretched, understaffed and just don't want to extra work. Mind you these are all easily problems to fix but they prefer to keep it so by being lazy and turning the population against them.

firetruck this uncompassionate gov.

Postby bluefete » October 17th, 2020, 3:32 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:This thread real die down. Deaths went up by 2 bt yesterday and today. FB_IMG_1602897491944.jpeg

Government Mission Accomplished.

Postby adnj » October 17th, 2020, 7:04 pm

redmanjp wrote:

we hitting 100 next week
And 200 by year's end is projected.

Postby Kenjo » October 17th, 2020, 7:08 pm

No one really letting corona stop them anymore unless they are old people