Firearms User License HELP

Re: Firearms User License HELP

Postby MaxPower » June 11th, 2024, 11:31 pm

redmanjp wrote:^right so fix that instead of withholding FULs from responsible citizens.

ah mean- do we ban cars just because we have a few ppl that drive recklessly?

Na pug still.

Too much Trinis with FUL will be a problem.

Postby Chimera » June 12th, 2024, 5:18 am

redmanjp wrote:^right so fix that instead of withholding FULs from responsible citizens.

ah mean- do we ban cars just because we have a few ppl that drive recklessly?

Na pug still.

Too much Trinis with FUL will be a problem.
Yea a problem for the bandits

Postby pugboy » June 21st, 2024, 3:54 pm

erla giving ppl responses to legal requests on their applications now

https://www.instagram.com/p/C8dnyPUsaki ... oxbmR3bA==

round 2 will be interesting

Postby alfa » June 21st, 2024, 4:15 pm

pugboy wrote:erla giving ppl responses to legal requests on their applications now

They getting wood with being taken to court and having to pay back legal fees. At least this guy can go to the appeal board, granted or denied there he at least won't be waiting like a clown for years and getting a run around when he call.
I wonder what criteria he didn't meet to be denied, maybe habit can enlighten us

Postby pugboy » June 21st, 2024, 4:21 pm

it’s a cloak and dagger secrecy scenes
just like choosing a commissioner or awarding silk

who is the appeal board though?
another bunch of hand picked cronies?
they really don’t want them boys being killed as he said

alfa wrote:
pugboy wrote:erla giving ppl responses to legal requests on their applications now

They getting wood with being taken to court and having to pay back legal fees. At least this guy can go to the appeal board, granted or denied there he at least won't be waiting like a clown for years and getting a run around when he call.
I wonder what criteria he didn't meet to be denied, maybe habit can enlighten us

Postby Chimera » June 21st, 2024, 4:36 pm

Lol with no reason

Postby pugboy » June 21st, 2024, 5:24 pm

whilst legal games being played
safe to say issuance of ful for the regular folks is impossibility now unless you have friends inside govt or amalgamated

Postby Chimera » June 22nd, 2024, 9:58 am

pugboy wrote:whilst legal games being played
safe to say issuance of ful for the regular folks is impossibility now unless you have friends inside govt or amalgamated

it was always a impossibility for regular folks

the fellas who were paying 30 and 40 and 70k for FUL weren't regular folks

Postby MaxPower » June 22nd, 2024, 1:56 pm

Chimera wrote:

Chimz,

Many regular folks sold their cars and took loans for processing fees.

These regular folks are also still waiting and hoping.

Postby mero » June 22nd, 2024, 2:57 pm

Who take d money powers?

Postby pugboy » June 22nd, 2024, 2:58 pm

ppl wanted gun so bad for protection or to coase?

Postby 88sins » June 22nd, 2024, 3:02 pm

Chimera wrote:

Chimz,

Many regular folks sold their cars and took loans for processing fees

These regular folks are also still waiting and hoping.

lemme ask you this.
An average man earning average income, about $5000-$6000/month, want a strap.
In your mind, it makes some kinda cray-cray logic to you,
to think that said average man gonna sell he car and take out a loan he that will be paying for 5-7 years, to pay a "fee" aka bribe aka grease money to a crooked cop, when he can get an illegal firearm for $5000-$7000, just to flex and be able to say he has a legal firearm that can be taken from him.

Max, time to keep quiet awhile, yuh coming across as kinda lil allergic to reality and common sense

Postby MaxPower » June 22nd, 2024, 4:07 pm

If you personally don’t know more than 5 people who scrape up money to pay a processing fee because they that concerned about safety, then you hadda take a lil quiet down as well.

People desperate out there.

Postby Chimera » June 22nd, 2024, 5:57 pm

Max yuh mus stop liming with pipers.
And pipers who chaining yuh up even worse

Postby MaxPower » June 22nd, 2024, 8:25 pm

Chimera wrote:Max yuh mus stop liming with pipers.

Pipers know plenty ting.

But under seriousness, there are those with small salaries that were able to make the processing fees.

I know a youth, a courier driver. Used all his savings to make the fee, gt and carrying around responsibly.

Postby 88sins » June 22nd, 2024, 8:53 pm

MaxPower wrote:88,

If you personally don’t know more than 5 people who scrape up money to pay a processing fee because they that concerned about safety, then you hadda take a lil quiet down as well.

People desperate out there.

Son, the people who paying that grease money, DON'T have to "scrape up money", and the people who have to "scrape up money", NOT doing that nonsense you talking :lol:

some people might be desperate, but them being desperate doesn't mean they dotish enough to commit an offense to get a legal weapon, and give a crooked cop all that money, when they can get an illegal firearm for much less. and if they were to be held with that illegal gun and charged and convicted, guess what? The cost of the gun and the fine combined still wouldn't amount to half of what "fee" they paying.

Yuh needs to hush occasionally boi
Ppl watching you and saying like either yuh mad or yuh lil slow or sumn. Is not a good look on you.

Postby 88sins » June 22nd, 2024, 9:02 pm

Chimera wrote:Max yuh mus stop liming with pipers.

Pipers know plenty ting.

But under seriousness, there are those with small salaries that were able to make the processing fees.

I know a youth, a courier driver. Used all his savings to make the fee, gt and carrying around responsibly.

I thought you say all trinis too irresponsible to be allowed to keep and carry personal firearms?
And how you know he used all his savings to do that, and not cash he may or may not have acquired from illegal activity? yuh real up in he business :lol:

Postby MaxPower » June 23rd, 2024, 12:31 am

Like a lil small processing fee trigger you?

Hush you was doing good and i sensing a lil rant rave breeding again. Let we dont go down that road na uncle.

Take win and let we leave it as that.

But, if ever you close with a dealer, which clearly ur not, ask them what type of people they have paying them fees. People of all salary brackets man, but yes, to side a little with you, it’s mostly people who don’t have to scrape up.

Anyways, everything shut down for now.

I apply for my pepper spray.

Postby alfa » June 23rd, 2024, 6:48 am

MaxPower wrote:8,

Hush you was doing good and i sensing a lil rant rave breeding again. Let we dont go down that road na uncle.

But, if ever you close with a dealer, which clearly ur not, ask them what type of people they have paying them fees. People of all salary brackets man, but yes, to side a little with you, it’s mostly people who don’t have to scrape up.

Max I feel you is the small man that gt. So you carrying a 19 or 17?

Postby 88sins » June 23rd, 2024, 8:16 am

alfa wrote:
MaxPower wrote:8,

Max I feel you is the small man that gt. So you carrying a 19 or 17?

Only thing mixed up Max shooting is a slingshot and he only has 3 marbles for it :lol:

So Max, now you of the mistaken impression that you know who I do and don't know? Silly goose, your knowledge is rather limited. But to educate you, I know a few local dealers on personal level, and some years ago one even make a mistake to send threats my way, via a man in khaki and had to ketch himself when he get my response, but that's irrelevant to the topic.

In any regard, let's try to stay on topic.

Max, did you know that licensed dealers are being made to pay exorbitant amounts in cash under the table for import permits, for a permit application to move from one desk to another, long before this present day slowdown? And when I say exorbitant, I am telling you, is as much as 6 digit numbers I'm talking about. Depending on how much you want to import. Basically the more you import, the more you sell, thus the more money you make, so the more you pay.

Also Max,
Did you know, that if you applied for an FUL in January 2024, and submitted all your required documents and your home is visited by ttps and you're interviewed and you do everything you are supposed to, and then you apply for a firearm dealers license in say June 2024, that you will see ttps officers A LOT more interested in you getting a dealers license over the FUL you applied for months prior? A person will call you, and tell you all that's required (CoC, ID, bank information, copy of company registration, copy of the lease/deed where the company operates, what kind of storage and security requirements are necessary, etc) Then that same said person will visit you and tell you "submit your application and documents, and then put $150K in a bag and call me, and someone will come and collect it, and you getting your dealers license in one month or less, and your under the table fee for your import permit will be so&so much when you ready to bring in products and you getting that in a week."

My question to you sir, is why do you think they would be so interested and enthusiastic about you getting a dealers license over an FUL?

Postby alfa » June 23rd, 2024, 8:42 am

Good info there 88. I wasn't aware of all that taking place nah

Firearms User License HELP

Postby MaxPower » June 23rd, 2024, 11:10 am

alfa wrote:Good info there 88. I wasn't aware of all that taking place nah

Good info, but he went wey off topic with the dealer license scenarios.

8, i feel you get burn eh.

Dealers gunning for you?

What you do?

Postby 88sins » June 23rd, 2024, 12:04 pm

alfa wrote:Good info there 88. I wasn't aware of all that taking place nah

Good info, but he went wey off topic with the dealer license scenarios.

8, i feel you get burn eh.

Dealers gunning for you?

What you do?

1st off, the dealer information is very on topic, because you have to understand the animal you dealing with in its entirety, not in partiality.

Secondly, is not dealers son, one dealer. And let's just say, he thought I could be intimidated, until he get to figure out exactly what time it is.

He was VERY upset about 2 things.
One was the petition I started several years ago to remove the smoothbore restriction from the air weapons section of the firearms act.
Change would mean, people could import their own airguns, and he would NOT be able to price gouge the population.

The other thing that had him livid, is that I personally let people know that he selling airguns that are NOT legal to own without an FUL, and that if/when you get caught with it he will throw them under the bus, because he did exactly that with a customer of his once before.

Postby MaxPower » June 23rd, 2024, 12:42 pm

Well 8,

The man see you as interfering with his bread and butter. Only them must have the control.

Happy you standing up to these fellas.

Careful out there.

Postby 16 cycles » July 4th, 2024, 7:37 am

Erla agrees to decide on FUL application in 6 months

The order was considered and approved by Justice Frank Seepersad. According to his court filings, obtained by Guardian Media, the businessman first applied for an FUL in 2010.....

just one application made in 2010 though....
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/erla-ag ... 7b468c240f

Postby pugboy » July 4th, 2024, 7:48 am

she will just issue a negative response to him

Postby alfa » July 4th, 2024, 8:54 am

So the man was issued a provisional and she still need 6 months to decide on the ful? Steups

Postby pugboy » July 4th, 2024, 9:35 am

a lot of those provisionals were done hurriedly via certain dealers and usually from the paperwork or lack of you can guess if they paid a fee or not

he unlucky to get caught in the transition period after gg term expired

alfa wrote:So the man was issued a provisional and she still need 6 months to decide on the ful? Steups

Postby Habit7 » July 4th, 2024, 11:09 am

Major discrepancies in issuing FULs–audit
by Gail Alexander
12 hours ago

Gail Alexander
Senior Political Reporter

An audit done by the T&T Police Service (TTPS) from 2016 to 2021 revealed significant anomalies in Firearms Users Licence (FUL) procedures, licences granted for the purchase of high-powered sophisticated weapons, millions of rounds of ammunition permitted to dealers, and housewives with as many as ten weapons. In one household, there were 33 weapons, and FUL holders admitted they paid to fast-track applications.

Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley detailed the findings in a statement to Parliament yesterday ahead of the upcoming mid-year recess.

He said that from the information he had given Parliament, it was clear “that we do not only have a problem of illegal entry; that is bad enough, but we also have the legal entry of the various items contributing to our intractable situation.

Dr Rowley said sustained effort was being expended “to rectify this state of affairs and hold the relevant people accountable.”

Citing serious concerns, Dr Rowley said there were and remain tremendous misgivings, outrage, and concerns in the national community regarding allegations of rampant corruption and malpractices relating to the issuance of FULs variations and Firearm Import Permits.

Variations enable a FUL holder to purchase several firearms at the same time. The PM noted that when the matter came to the National Security Council’s attention, investigations were initiated by retired Assistant Commissioner of Police Arthur Barrington and retired Chief of Defence Staff Rear Admiral Hayden Pritchard.

Another was done by a team of retired and serving police officers assigned by then Commissioner of Police (CoP), Mc Donald Jacob.

A third enquiry was conducted by retired Justice of Appeal Stanley John. Dr Rowley said former CoP Gary Griffith sought court action blocking the presentation to Parliament and the public of the police team’s report.

Dr Rowley said, among other comments, that the court ordered that the contents of that report be investigated by the TTPS, and only thereafter could the report be made public.

He said current Police Commissioner Erla Harewood-Christopher initiated an investigation of the FULs regime for the period 2016–2021. The PM noted that currently there are 20 police officers before the courts for firearm-related offences.

In respect of FULs, certain anomalies were observed, Dr Rowley said.

Among them were the approximately 7,000 licences issued, given the relatively short period of August 2018 to September 2021.

“In that short period, he would have granted more FULs than several Police Commissioners combined over the years,” Rowley noted.

Several applications for provisional permits were unsigned by applicants but not yet approved. Licenced firearm dealers were dropping several incomplete applications to the Firearms Section on behalf of their clients. Evidence was seen where files in which divisional heads did not recommend the grant of a FUL, yet they were approved.

Several FULs approved were without the requisite Certificate of Character.

Dr Rowley noted that people who had to answer allegations involving domestic violence were granted FULs and variations, including some on rape charges.

He said a businessman who was a suspect in reports of a threat to kill in 2020 acquired variations and attained one carbine, one banshee, one 5.56 rifle, one shotgun, and one pistol in 2021.

Dr Rowley said the practice of CoPs exercising huge care and restraint in granting variations was dramatically changed.

During the period under review, 1,855 variations were granted. Some 625 people got variations for rifles and submachine guns.

“Licences were granted to people who purchased high-powered and sophisticated weapons. These weapons were converted to fully automatic weapons, which are prohibited under the act. These weapons include FN Scar 7.62 Rifle, the IWI Tavor 5.56 Rifle, CZ Scorpion, CMMG Banshee, M&P 15-22 and the Carbine,” he added.

“Those are the types of weapons, that the then commissioner of police authorised for entry into this country, ostensibly for personal protection.

“In some cases, entire families were granted variations. There are some families with 25 weapons; one particular case, 33 weapons in the household. There are housewives who acquired variations for eight and hold as many as ten weapons,” Dr Rowley added

Dr Rowley said that between August 2018 and September 2021, there was an enormous rise in the grant of import permits to certain preferred firearm dealers.

Dealer’s wife also importing guns, ammo...

Prime Minister Keith Rowley also said of all the firearm dealers in T&T only 15 were heavily active and seemed to be favoured.

The total amount of permits granted for the period 2016–2021 were 739, whereas the total granted from 18/08/2018–06/09/2021 was 574.

“A Firearm Import Permit was issued to the owner of a company in Port-of-Spain, who was granted permission to import 15,000 rounds of training ammunition, ‘on behalf of the TTPS’. Investigations later revealed this person is not a Licenced Firearm Dealer. One can only conclude the police either do not know or pretend not to know who the firearm dealers are in T&T,” he added.

Large amounts of firearms, ammunition and components/accessories were approved for importation during 2018-2021 period. The actual amounts could not be quantified since some Firearms Dealers were not submitting their returns to the COP, as required by law

One dealer indicated that he was not in possession of registers for three years and that his books had been stolen by a former employee. However, no report of this “theft” has ever been reported to the TTPS.

A serving police officer, owner of a security firm, obtained his dealers' licence in 2020. He was granted 21 Firearms Import Permits for the importation of some 21,533 firearms; 23,015,000 rounds of ammunition; and 1,648 component parts/accessories.

Two other dealers–one, his spouse–was granted licences to import in excess of ten million rounds of assorted ammunition

Another dealer was granted permission to import 9,000,000 rounds of assorted ammunition, during the same period.

“The excessive amounts of firearms, ammunition and components/accessories that was approved for importation begs the question whether the market of legal firearm owners in T&T was robust enough to support that level of arms and ammunition,” Dr Rowley added.

Another dealer was granted approval to import 22,610 firearms, ten million, four hundred and seventy-seven thousand, five hundred rounds of ammunition and 26,900 component parts/accessories. Investigations revealed there is no file legitimising her role as a firearms dealer at the Firearms Section. The only documentation available is a letter from her husband, to the then commissioner of police requesting that his name be removed as an import dealer and replaced by hers.

Although he had surrendered his import licence, he subsequently applied to import firearms, ammunition and components/accessories and was granted further approval.

Gary responds

Former CoP Gary Griffith said that Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley has yet again used Parliament to fool the country based on his obsession with legal firearms.

In response to the Prime Minster's statement in the Lower House yesterday, Griffth said, Dr Rowley's "dangerous infatuation continues to overshadow the real issue of illegal firearms, which have been responsible for the vast majority of murders in Trinidad and Tobago, two of which reports suggest occurred just today in the same area of the Prime Minister's residence."

Griffith said, "He cannot name the people who broke the law. He cannot name the firearm dealers who broke the law. He cannot name the firearm holders who broke the law. Because, if all these allegations are true, why has one person been charged in four years for any such allegation, except for an individual who was arrested based on being virtually kidnapped in Barbados."

The former top cop has urged the Government to lead by example.

"If legal firearms are such an issue, then return the many FULs that your ministers and your friends acquired and it is still in their possession."

https://guardian.co.tt/news/major-discr ... 7678760e20

Postby zoom rader » July 4th, 2024, 11:24 am

Habit7 wrote:Major discrepancies in issuing FULs–audit
by Gail Alexander
12 hours ago

Gail Alexander
Senior Political Reporter

An audit done by the T&T Police Service (TTPS) from 2016 to 2021 revealed significant anomalies in Firearms Users Licence (FUL) procedures, licences granted for the purchase of high-powered sophisticated weapons, millions of rounds of ammunition permitted to dealers, and housewives with as many as ten weapons. In one household, there were 33 weapons, and FUL holders admitted they paid to fast-track applications.

Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley detailed the findings in a statement to Parliament yesterday ahead of the upcoming mid-year recess.

He said that from the information he had given Parliament, it was clear “that we do not only have a problem of illegal entry; that is bad enough, but we also have the legal entry of the various items contributing to our intractable situation.

Dr Rowley said sustained effort was being expended “to rectify this state of affairs and hold the relevant people accountable.”

Citing serious concerns, Dr Rowley said there were and remain tremendous misgivings, outrage, and concerns in the national community regarding allegations of rampant corruption and malpractices relating to the issuance of FULs variations and Firearm Import Permits.

Variations enable a FUL holder to purchase several firearms at the same time. The PM noted that when the matter came to the National Security Council’s attention, investigations were initiated by retired Assistant Commissioner of Police Arthur Barrington and retired Chief of Defence Staff Rear Admiral Hayden Pritchard.

Another was done by a team of retired and serving police officers assigned by then Commissioner of Police (CoP), Mc Donald Jacob.

A third enquiry was conducted by retired Justice of Appeal Stanley John. Dr Rowley said former CoP Gary Griffith sought court action blocking the presentation to Parliament and the public of the police team’s report.

Dr Rowley said, among other comments, that the court ordered that the contents of that report be investigated by the TTPS, and only thereafter could the report be made public.

He said current Police Commissioner Erla Harewood-Christopher initiated an investigation of the FULs regime for the period 2016–2021. The PM noted that currently there are 20 police officers before the courts for firearm-related offences.

In respect of FULs, certain anomalies were observed, Dr Rowley said.

Among them were the approximately 7,000 licences issued, given the relatively short period of August 2018 to September 2021.

“In that short period, he would have granted more FULs than several Police Commissioners combined over the years,” Rowley noted.

Several applications for provisional permits were unsigned by applicants but not yet approved. Licenced firearm dealers were dropping several incomplete applications to the Firearms Section on behalf of their clients. Evidence was seen where files in which divisional heads did not recommend the grant of a FUL, yet they were approved.

Several FULs approved were without the requisite Certificate of Character.

Dr Rowley noted that people who had to answer allegations involving domestic violence were granted FULs and variations, including some on rape charges.

He said a businessman who was a suspect in reports of a threat to kill in 2020 acquired variations and attained one carbine, one banshee, one 5.56 rifle, one shotgun, and one pistol in 2021.

Dr Rowley said the practice of CoPs exercising huge care and restraint in granting variations was dramatically changed.

During the period under review, 1,855 variations were granted. Some 625 people got variations for rifles and submachine guns.

“Licences were granted to people who purchased high-powered and sophisticated weapons. These weapons were converted to fully automatic weapons, which are prohibited under the act. These weapons include FN Scar 7.62 Rifle, the IWI Tavor 5.56 Rifle, CZ Scorpion, CMMG Banshee, M&P 15-22 and the Carbine,” he added.

“Those are the types of weapons, that the then commissioner of police authorised for entry into this country, ostensibly for personal protection.

“In some cases, entire families were granted variations. There are some families with 25 weapons; one particular case, 33 weapons in the household. There are housewives who acquired variations for eight and hold as many as ten weapons,” Dr Rowley added

Dr Rowley said that between August 2018 and September 2021, there was an enormous rise in the grant of import permits to certain preferred firearm dealers.

Dealer’s wife also importing guns, ammo...

Prime Minister Keith Rowley also said of all the firearm dealers in T&T only 15 were heavily active and seemed to be favoured.

The total amount of permits granted for the period 2016–2021 were 739, whereas the total granted from 18/08/2018–06/09/2021 was 574.

“A Firearm Import Permit was issued to the owner of a company in Port-of-Spain, who was granted permission to import 15,000 rounds of training ammunition, ‘on behalf of the TTPS’. Investigations later revealed this person is not a Licenced Firearm Dealer. One can only conclude the police either do not know or pretend not to know who the firearm dealers are in T&T,” he added.

Large amounts of firearms, ammunition and components/accessories were approved for importation during 2018-2021 period. The actual amounts could not be quantified since some Firearms Dealers were not submitting their returns to the COP, as required by law

One dealer indicated that he was not in possession of registers for three years and that his books had been stolen by a former employee. However, no report of this “theft” has ever been reported to the TTPS.

A serving police officer, owner of a security firm, obtained his dealers' licence in 2020. He was granted 21 Firearms Import Permits for the importation of some 21,533 firearms; 23,015,000 rounds of ammunition; and 1,648 component parts/accessories.

Two other dealers–one, his spouse–was granted licences to import in excess of ten million rounds of assorted ammunition

Another dealer was granted permission to import 9,000,000 rounds of assorted ammunition, during the same period.

“The excessive amounts of firearms, ammunition and components/accessories that was approved for importation begs the question whether the market of legal firearm owners in T&T was robust enough to support that level of arms and ammunition,” Dr Rowley added.

Another dealer was granted approval to import 22,610 firearms, ten million, four hundred and seventy-seven thousand, five hundred rounds of ammunition and 26,900 component parts/accessories. Investigations revealed there is no file legitimising her role as a firearms dealer at the Firearms Section. The only documentation available is a letter from her husband, to the then commissioner of police requesting that his name be removed as an import dealer and replaced by hers.

Although he had surrendered his import licence, he subsequently applied to import firearms, ammunition and components/accessories and was granted further approval.

Gary responds

Former CoP Gary Griffith said that Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley has yet again used Parliament to fool the country based on his obsession with legal firearms.

In response to the Prime Minster's statement in the Lower House yesterday, Griffth said, Dr Rowley's "dangerous infatuation continues to overshadow the real issue of illegal firearms, which have been responsible for the vast majority of murders in Trinidad and Tobago, two of which reports suggest occurred just today in the same area of the Prime Minister's residence."

Griffith said, "He cannot name the people who broke the law. He cannot name the firearm dealers who broke the law. He cannot name the firearm holders who broke the law. Because, if all these allegations are true, why has one person been charged in four years for any such allegation, except for an individual who was arrested based on being virtually kidnapped in Barbados."

The former top cop has urged the Government to lead by example.

"If legal firearms are such an issue, then return the many FULs that your ministers and your friends acquired and it is still in their possession."

https://guardian.co.tt/news/major-discr ... 7678760e20
Only Rowlee can issue FULs as he said it himself