All Things US Politics Related: Biden pardons Hunter

AbstractPoetic

Re: US Presidential Election 2016

Postby AbstractPoetic » November 11th, 2016, 12:45 pm

pete wrote:You're preaching about how import duties will reduce spending power to people in a country where import duties on almost everything is 20+%?

Know why it's like that here? To give local companies a competitive advantage and for the government to make a profit on things imported from other countries. If it's 20% more expensive to bring an iphone into the country then wouldn't apple see if it's feasible to move the plants back to the US and create jobs? Same plants would be able to remain in China to satisfy other markets maybe with lower production but they would not necessarily need to close completely. Same thing with vehicles and anything else they import.

The last I've heard, food prices in Trinidad has ballooned by 30+%, Imbert is considering another fuel hike, and poor Trinidadians are still crying out. Spending power has certainly reduced in Trinidad.

It appears that even with the import tariffs in place, local companies have not invested in locals to the extent that they should, and your government does not appear to have any type of regulation in place to guarantee such investments.

Coincidentally, my expat friend can still apply for a job in TT and make 5x the amount a local would be paid for doing the same job. Funny how that works.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 11th, 2016, 1:07 pm

I saw this girl online from Trinidad she real beating up over Trump winning then after a while she admitted she is there illegally.

Trump wants to make America great again, this will involve sending back people who break the immigration laws. Sorry but at the end of the day the law is the law, there are people waiting in line doing the right thing, what gives anybody else the right to cut in line? this is the point Trump was making, he indicated he wants to boost the H1B1 so they can get skilled immigrants people who can contribute to America.

What is wrong with that? Do the right thing, the law is the law. You break it you have committed a crime we have the same problem with this immigration issue right here in Trinidad.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 11th, 2016, 1:09 pm

MaxPower wrote:Lmfao @ AbstractPoetic still beating up. Trying so hard to get a point across....guess what?

Donald Trump is your President and you will honor and love him.

haha :lol:

You know whats funny all this beat up and Trump is the only President that actually gives a rats ass about fixing the H1B1 visa process which is so incredibly slow and backed up right now.

Trinis should be very happy about this.

daas

Postby daas » November 11th, 2016, 1:26 pm

All this talk and no one saying anything smh I bet that actual 'mericans not beating up like y'all pseudo americans.

Calma keyboard warriors

US Presidential Election 2016

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 11th, 2016, 1:31 pm

daas wrote:I bet that actual 'mericans not beating up like y'all pseudo americans
ummm http://edition.cnn.com/2016/11/11/us/or ... test-riot/

daas

Postby daas » November 11th, 2016, 1:33 pm

Ok ok you got me there but Duane bai they actually doing something not hiding behind a keyboard. Ent Hillary said come out of the secret groups(okay she was talking about something else) but 2nr included

Postby pete » November 11th, 2016, 1:44 pm

daas wrote:I bet that actual 'mericans not beating up like y'all pseudo americans

Sorry eh, but to me Liberal media fueled all the fears and caused all this. Who benefits the most from all this destruction and confusion? Probably the people who are doing a perfect job of reporting it.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » November 11th, 2016, 2:12 pm

Yep. Hillary 'supporters' at their finest.

baigan

Postby baigan » November 11th, 2016, 2:25 pm

Well they're upset so they'll protest, that's their right, it's in the first amendment...
Only problem is some of them here and there are getting violent. It's supposed to be Peaceful Assembly, not fighting, lighting fires etc. The others who are simply marching, holding their signs etc are completely fine though.

Postby MaxPower » November 11th, 2016, 2:32 pm

daas wrote:All this talk and no one saying anything smh I bet that actual 'mericans not beating up like y'all pseudo americans.

Calma keyboard warriors

Do you think Rahtid's visa will be approved?

Postby toyolink » November 11th, 2016, 2:54 pm

The characteristics of how brittle the social equilibrium has been in the USA has always been self evident.
What is going to be the impact of the new presidency on global stability hopefully isn't going to follow the sense of social uneasiness being observed today.
Really the new President Elect will have to speedily usher in a sense of calm and order quickly before momentum builds to unmanageable levels.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 11th, 2016, 2:56 pm

These are not protests these are riots its just like the case of the BLM in Charlotte not long ago

Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on November 11th, 2016, 2:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » November 11th, 2016, 2:58 pm

toyolink wrote:The characteristics of how brittle the social equilibrium has been in the USA has always been self evident.
What is going to be the impact of the new presidency on global stability hopefully isn't going to follow the sense of social uneasiness being observed today.
Really the new President Elect will have to speedily usher in a sense of calm and order quickly before momentum builds to unmanageable levels.

Yuh mean the president elect AND the current sitting president will have 2 restore order.

Trump doesnt take office 4 another 10 weeks or so.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » November 11th, 2016, 2:59 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
pete wrote:You're preaching about how import duties will reduce spending power to people in a country where import duties on almost everything is 20+%?

Know why it's like that here? To give local companies a competitive advantage and for the government to make a profit on things imported from other countries. If it's 20% more expensive to bring an iphone into the country then wouldn't apple see if it's feasible to move the plants back to the US and create jobs? Same plants would be able to remain in China to satisfy other markets maybe with lower production but they would not necessarily need to close completely. Same thing with vehicles and anything else they import.

The last I've heard, food prices in Trinidad has ballooned by 30+%, Imbert is considering another fuel hike, and poor Trinidadians are still crying out. Spending power has certainly reduced in Trinidad.

It appears that even with the import tariffs in place, local companies have not invested in locals to the extent that they should, and your government does not appear to have any type of regulation in place to guarantee such investments.

Coincidentally, my expat friend can still apply for a job in TT and make 5x the amount a local would be paid for doing the same job. Funny how that works.

What on earth does this mean?

Postby Slartibartfast » November 11th, 2016, 3:13 pm

Miktay wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:Coincidentally, my expat friend can still apply for a job in TT and make 5x the amount a local would be paid for doing the same job. Funny how that works.

You forgot out the part where they can be less qualified and competent as well. In some cases they don't even need to speak English.

Postby hydroep » November 11th, 2016, 3:34 pm

Those harming people and property should be charged and prosecuted. The authorities are probably giving people some time to cool off before taking more drastic action - wise move.

To Trump's credit, he has tried to downplay their activities as acts of passion. http://www.bbc.com/news/election-us-2016-37953712.

What is troubling though is the the emotive rhetoric from the mouthpieces of the Democratic elite who are obviously fanning the flames of discontent.

On the lighter side, the funniest thing in the wake of Trump's victory has to be the cancelling of classes and tests at some of the so-called Ivy League schools. My God, these children nowadays...just now you will have to wipe the sh!^ from some of dem arse because something will make them too depressed to do it themselves.

cherrypopper

Re: RE: Re: US Presidential Election 2016

Postby cherrypopper » November 11th, 2016, 3:38 pm

daas wrote:All this talk and no one saying anything smh I bet that actual 'mericans not beating up like y'all pseudo americans.

Calma keyboard warriors

Do you think Rahtid's visa will be approved?

How you know rawtid got a visa

Y leave when people gyal nookie runnin in Trinidad

Postby Redman » November 11th, 2016, 3:56 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
Miktay wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:
Miktay wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:And now to the important changes at hand, many of which you choose to ignore:

The conservative American Action Forum calculated that Trump's deportation plan would cost $400 billion to $600 billion and, because there are not enough citizens and legal residents to fill the demand, the plan would shrink the labor force and reduce gross domestic product by $1.6 trillion.

As soon as Mr. Trump’s ascendancy became clear on Tuesday night, interest rates on Treasuries began to rise. Usually, an unexpected event causes a flight to the safety of government debt, pushing yields down. That the opposite occurred reflects fears that the deficit might balloon out of control.

http://mobile.nytimes.com/2016/11/11/op ... -harm.html

Educate yourselves, so that you can, at the very least, prepare. Your local economy will also suffer major consequences because of his presidency.

Moot point. Per the business cycle recessions occur every 7-10 years. Theyre a natural feeback mechanism in every western economy.

Even in the mighty USA; https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_r ... ted_States

Most astute people already know the probability of recession would be higher...based on history...no matter who became president.

BTW Sweet T&T iz already inna recession.

LOL @ you equating this as another haphazard disturbance as part of the cyclicality tendencies of economic disequilibrium.

Please stop talking in hi faluting gibberish.

The question iz: All economies have a historical business cycle. How does a Trump or Hillary president affect the business cycle's historical reversion to the mean?

Oh? It's gibberish because you don't comprehend?

Plain and simple: Capitalism cannot handle negative growth. If your consumers aren't spending, and your customer base is dying, you have an arithmetic problem. With Trump's brilliant economic policy, US government's deficit will balloon, inflation prices will go up, and there'll be no injection of new cash flows or investments into the economy. A recipe for disaster, especially if he wishes to enforce protectionism trade policy.

Recessions are temporary. Depressions are not.[/quote]

Clearly yours isnt.

Thankfully the markets are better informed and less emotive.
http://www.cnbc.com/2016/11/11/trump-ag ... ntary.html

trump wins and the market are not crashing......I guess other opinions matter.

Thank God.

Postby Redman » November 11th, 2016, 3:59 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:
Miktay wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:Coincidentally, my expat friend can still apply for a job in TT and make 5x the amount a local would be paid for doing the same job. Funny how that works.

You forgot out the part where they can be less qualified and competent as well. In some cases they don't even need to speak English.

Miktay- if yuh great white hope get beat by the white trash-one need to validate ones self in order to feel like one matters..

Postby sMASH » November 11th, 2016, 4:20 pm

Hillary bros need to democracy and chill.

The problem with taxing foreign imports to protect local producers is that what is imported is by a large proportion not produced here, but resold.
America is large enough that certain companies can afford to establish manufacturing facilities in America to be closer to a market.
Trinidad for manually of our imports, our market it too small to justify a manufacturing facility.

The only way I can see something like that working is establishing production facilities in Venezuela with a trade/work agreement to have Trinidad as part of its economic region. It would be as if Trinidad and Venezuela are economically one country.
But that would be for only once kind of product. The side range of imports, it makes no economic sense to have production facilities here for every company and every range of products.

So all that import tariffs we experience reduces the purchasing power of the citizen and increases government revenue in our case.
Because we are small, rescuing the purchasing power will Resound through the whole economy, as people "tighten their belts" small sellers would not be able to maintain their profitability and some may reduce staff or even close. That goes for food outlets, markets, hardware, etc...
The only businesses that would ride this save are those large enough to import enough to acquire economies of scale. Like bhagwansigh, Massey stores, etc.

Tl/dr: Donald trumps idea will work with a large market as America, but will. If work with a small one as Trinidad. The government needs to put more money in the hands of the middle upper looser class here. Give them encouragement to enjoy what they earn.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » November 11th, 2016, 4:24 pm

Miktay wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:

It means that your government isn't out to protect your economic interests and needs FIRST before that of a foreigner. And even where they did, they are paying you significantly less.

That won't fly in a place like the Caymans where preference is given to local Caymanians before that of UK or Canadian applicants.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » November 11th, 2016, 4:32 pm

Redman wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:
Miktay wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:
Miktay wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:And now to the important changes at hand, many of which you choose to ignore:

The conservative American Action Forum calculated that Trump's deportation plan would cost $400 billion to $600 billion and, because there are not enough citizens and legal residents to fill the demand, the plan would shrink the labor force and reduce gross domestic product by $1.6 trillion.

As soon as Mr. Trump’s ascendancy became clear on Tuesday night, interest rates on Treasuries began to rise. Usually, an unexpected event causes a flight to the safety of government debt, pushing yields down. That the opposite occurred reflects fears that the deficit might balloon out of control.

Educate yourselves, so that you can, at the very least, prepare. Your local economy will also suffer major consequences because of his presidency.

Moot point. Per the business cycle recessions occur every 7-10 years. Theyre a natural feeback mechanism in every western economy.

Most astute people already know the probability of recession would be higher...based on history...no matter who became president.

LOL @ you equating this as another haphazard disturbance as part of the cyclicality tendencies of economic disequilibrium.

The question iz: All economies have a historical business cycle. How does a Trump or Hillary president affect the business cycle's historical reversion to the mean?

Plain and simple: Capitalism cannot handle negative growth. If your consumers aren't spending, and your customer base is dying, you have an arithmetic problem. With Trump's brilliant economic policy, US government's deficit will balloon, inflation prices will go up, and there'll be no injection of new cash flows or investments into the economy. A recipe for disaster, especially if he wishes to enforce protectionism trade policy.

Clearly yours isnt.

Thank God.

Complete bamcees on this forum, yes. Let's see how the market reacts when Trump actually takes office, shall we? You know, that time of the season when he is sworn in and actually lays out his new fiscal policy and kicks it into gear. :roll:

Last I recall, President Obama can own that current market spike. We're still under his Presidency. Thank God, indeed. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

baigan

US Presidential Election 2016

Postby baigan » November 11th, 2016, 4:58 pm

I had so much laughter this election, it was such a sh*tfest. Comedy Gold.

The only thing that'll beat it will be Kanye 2020. Lmao imagine the debates !
'Ima let ya finish, but my platform is the greatest of alllllll time!!!! OF ALL TIME"

"Wrong! Loser, my platform is yugggeeeee, I know all the best platform people. People say all the time, Donald you have such beautiful platforms'

America is so f*cked that they'll actually vote for kanye too
Considering that they resorted to electing the shady turd sandwich and orange douche as their two hopes ...

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 11th, 2016, 5:05 pm

hydroep wrote:Those harming people and property should be charged and prosecuted. The authorities are probably giving people some time to cool off before taking more drastic action - wise move.

To Trump's credit, he has tried to downplay their activities as acts of passion. http://www.bbc.com/news/election-us-2016-37953712.

What is troubling though is the the emotive rhetoric from the mouthpieces of the Democratic elite who are obviously fanning the flames of discontent.

On the lighter side, the funniest thing in the wake of Trump's victory has to be the cancelling of classes and tests at some of the so-called Ivy League schools. My God, these children nowadays...just now you will have to wipe the sh!^ from some of dem arse because something will make them too depressed to do it themselves.

The bad thing is even "Grown up" liberals are fanning this flame, a Prime Example Stephanie Krutsick a video game producer at Blizzard Entertainment is actively encouraging these riots.

So what are people to think? if these high class and educated college graduates/role models are actively encouraging these riots because they too are butt hurt that Trump won? even college professors are encouraging these riots because they are so far left up their own arsehole.

Nevertheless this is comical as hell, I have been laughing at these clowns since election night. These SJWs are all triggered its laughable.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 11th, 2016, 5:10 pm

baigan wrote:I had so much laughter this election, it was such a sh*tfest. Comedy Gold.

The only thing that'll beat it will be Kanye 2020. Lmao imagine the debates !
'Ima let ya finish, but my platform is the greatest of alllllll time!!!! OF ALL TIME"

"Wrong! Loser, my platform is yugggeeeee, I know all the best platform people. People say all the time, Donald you have such beautiful platforms'

America is so f*cked that they'll actually vote for kanye too
Considering that they resorted to electing the shady turd sandwich and orange douche as their two hopes ...

This is better than those old golden Larrie Joseph comedy shows. You should see the triggered UNC people on facebook aswell The UNC is suddenly in even more disarray over this Trump win.

Someone confused as to how Kamla 2.0 could have lost to Rowley 2.0

Miktay

Postby Miktay » November 11th, 2016, 5:14 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
Miktay wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:

It means that your government isn't out to protect your economic interests and needs FIRST before that of a foreigner. And even where they did, they are paying you significantly less.

That won't fly in a place like the Caymans where preference is given to local Caymanians before that of UK or Canadian applicants.

I dont know where u get ur information from AP. But it not correct.

Expats are highly qualified employees usually from the host company's country working in a foreign country branch office usually but not always on a visa.

The Expat remuneration structure iz different from local employees. Expats usually get a house...car...education...relocation...child care...private school tution for their children....& travel allowances...in addition to higher base salaries. Thiz inflates their total compensation compared to a local employee.

Thiz iza common practice all over the world. Not just in T&T. European companies expats are paid 3-10x of the local hire wages even in the United States.

There are even a few Trinis still working in the oil field as expats in Saudi...Norway...South America and China.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 11th, 2016, 5:15 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:Complete bamcees on this forum, yes. Let's see how the market reacts when Trump actually takes office, shall we? You know, that time of the season when he is sworn in and actually lays out his new fiscal policy and kicks it into gear. :roll:

Last I recall, President Obama can own that current market spike. We're still under his Presidency. Thank God, indeed. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Who cares? the point is Rowley 1.0 and Rowley 2.0 is now in Charge and the entitlement mentality is on decline and free thinking is on the rise after years of being beaten down by political correctness.

You were the one who voted for Kamla 2.0 so it isn't our fault, I told you not to do it so that one is on you.

Say whatever you want atleast RASC is a man of principle and doesn't jump on the latest bandwagon like the rest of the sheep

RASC stood with Rowley 1.0 and Rowley 2.0 from day one and he was right on each count. Hillary and Kamla will never see office again they represent absolutely NO change whatsoever and are part of a dying old fart generation.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on November 11th, 2016, 5:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » November 11th, 2016, 5:19 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
Redman wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:
Miktay wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:
Miktay wrote:

Clearly yours isnt.

Thank God.

Complete bamcees on this forum, yes. Let's see how the market reacts when Trump actually takes office, shall we? You know, that time of the season when he is sworn in and actually lays out his new fiscal policy and kicks it into gear. :roll:

That iz what I have been trying to tell u since you started posting all these gloom and doom pontifications of the Trump presidency.

It benefits none to cry wolf or chicken little at thiz juncture. In fact thiz iz counterproductive and a bit silly.

Patience. Lets wait and see what happens.

Trust but verify.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 11th, 2016, 5:26 pm

I am getting reports that the UNC is in turmoil from the Trump win.

The Cabal had hopes that Kamla 2.0 would win the US Presidency, now that the complete opposite has happened and Rowley 2.0 took the keys to the white house yet again, the morale of the UNC cabal has been diminished.

Could it mean the old farts like Kamla and the Cabal will finally leave the UNC and never return? I have my doubts. I am going with Basdeo Pandey on this, UNC will not see office for 20 years.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » November 11th, 2016, 6:21 pm

1478902898334.jpg