The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Re: The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Postby M_2NR » July 8th, 2015, 7:53 pm

Calor wrote:
fouljuice wrote:Tropical Express send out an email saying that they now charging by actual weight (no more volumetric)

Just brought in some rims with tropical...excellent customer service 8-)

what was the average cost?

Postby supercharged turbo » July 8th, 2015, 11:17 pm

Do you have a break down of the costs and weight?

9YDMS

Postby 9YDMS » July 9th, 2015, 1:28 am

supercharged turbo wrote:Do you have a break down of the costs and weight?

Weight of 4 rims=104lbs
Freight=$1693.12
Fuel=$253.97
Duty=$617.24
Vat=$401.20
Total=$2965.53

Time from miami(skybox) to trinidad=3days

They also have a seabox service which cost a lot cheaper..(0.95/lb)

Nightshield

Postby Nightshield » July 18th, 2015, 8:45 pm

I got my shipment from Laparkan (ocean) from the UK.
Package was 120lbs (Books- 7 boxes)
Laparkan's Total: Average $4500 TTD
Broker Fee to clear at customs: $1200 (delivery was $600 which I chose not to accept)

Laparkan were good with the updates, upon arrival. I wasn't able to get an average delivery date from the UK though. Overall I believe it took about 4 weeks. Customer service was excellent.

Testing out E Zone:
So far no trouble. Bought a pair of shoes from Amazon - they said it was 3lbs - when it reached TT they charged me $230. Shoes cost $50USD. I figured that was good...?

Books from Amazon - 1lb - $100+ slightly above
Books from Amazon UK - 1lb - Closer to $200 - They only receive shipments from the UK on a Friday.

They're pretty high in terms of price. But you get your packages quickly after delivery to your address and I can say I think they're on par with IBC/ZipX in terms of prices, in my experience.

Has anyone ever tried ordering from OldNavy? Shipping to a US address (not my skybox address, a relative), if purchasing with a local credit card, what do you put under the Billing Address?

Postby M_2NR » July 19th, 2015, 1:24 pm

^add your US Skybox Address as a secondary address on your CC and put in that in billing address section.

So in all, how much did you pay laparkan in the first eg.? $5700.00?

Nightshield

Postby Nightshield » July 19th, 2015, 4:05 pm

Thanks for the information.

Yes, total cost was $5700

konartis

Postby konartis » July 20th, 2015, 4:35 pm

I'm looking for a company that would do and package and pick up in Pennsylvania and ship,/clear in Trinidad. Larparken doesn't offer the service there anyone know who might?

Postby equipped2ripp » July 20th, 2015, 4:47 pm

^ UPS or FedEx would do the pickup...
better to send it via UPS or FedEx to a freight forwarder to send it to Trinidad.

Postby supercharged turbo » July 20th, 2015, 8:37 pm

GF wants to buy some stuff from Sammydress. Any one bought from there?

originalbling

Postby originalbling » July 21st, 2015, 11:42 am

might be the wrong thread but PayPal users take note of revised policies:

Currency Conversion Fee – LATAM countries

We are updating PayPal Currency Conversion fee set forth on Section 4 “Additional Fees” of “Exhibit A - Fees” from 3.5% to 4.5% on the following LATAM countries: Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Aruba, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Bolivia, Cayman Islands, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Falkland Islands, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Jamaica, Montserrat, Netherlands Antilles, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands, Uruguay, Venezuela, Virgin Islands. This fee is applicable when a payment requires a currency conversion.

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » July 21st, 2015, 3:55 pm

Simple....don't let PayPal do the currency conversion.

Postby M_2NR » July 21st, 2015, 10:57 pm

who uses that conversion anyway :?
USD transaction only FTW

ATTENTION ALL WEBSOURCE USERS....
http://www.shipwebsource.com/33192.php

Zip Code Update

Posted: July 21st 2015

A new Zip Code has been assigned to our Miami warehouse by the US Postal Service to better manage package delivery. Therefore we advise you to update your shipping address on all websites with the new zip code.

We are aware that some websites have not updated their shipping systems to recognize the new zip code.(e.g. Walmart.com) In such cases you can still use 33172 as the zip code. We also ask that you notify us of these websites so we too can keep abreast.

Please note that we have no control over packages sent to an incorrect zip code. Such issues can only be addressed with your supplier.

It works on Amazon, however Paypal and eBay is not accepting this zip code :| :wtf:

Postby pete » July 22nd, 2015, 5:41 am

I didn't get that mail from web source yet. We got one for caribbean express though.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » July 22nd, 2015, 3:42 pm

Saw this email today from Websource

Retraction - Zip Code Update
Dear XXXXXXX,
Yesterday we sent an email advising the immediate update of the zip code in your shipping address. This was based on a notification which we ourselves received from the US Postal Service just a couple days prior.
Despite USPS' confirmation that this zip code had been active for over a month thus far, we have since learned that there are quite a few websites / suppliers who have yet to update their own systems to accept the new zip code. This has resulted in several customers experiencing difficulties when attempting to check out.
As such we are now advising that you disregard the instructions in our previous email and that you leave your shipping address unchanged.

If you have already shipped items to the new zip code:

We ask that you send us the tracking number
If the supplier encounters any issue with delivery, you can advise them to revert to the "33172" zip code instead.

If you have updated your shipping address on any websites with the new zip code, we advise that you revert to using "33172" instead.

Your Address Remains
XXXXXXXX
10813, NW 30TH Street
BLDG 115, WEBXXXXX
Miami
Florida

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. Our initial advice was simply based on our belief that there were no issues and that you would in fact enjoy better service especially from USPS.
However given the information we have received in the last 24 hours, this retraction is absolutely necessary.
Please accept our apologies for the miscommunication. While the new zip code is still due to take effect in the future, we will only re-issue the update when we have confirmed that it has been fully accepted by suppliers.
If you have any questions or concerns, please let us know.
Regards
Web Source Operations Department
http://www.shipwebsource.com | 285-4WEB (4932)

Postby *KRONIK* » July 22nd, 2015, 5:02 pm

Wasting ppl flickin time...i went bank and changed the address to the new zipcode...
Then right after...i got this message!

Postby M_2NR » July 22nd, 2015, 7:16 pm

I spoiler'd the post now. Thankfully that was retracted yes..

Also, I hope you all know you can change your CC Address via phone calls eh... No need to stannup in a line :|

Postby *KRONIK* » July 22nd, 2015, 10:01 pm

Didnt have to stand in line...
But i had to go in to sign the form for change of secondary address

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » July 22nd, 2015, 11:00 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Didnt have to stand in line...

Which bank?

I know with RBL you can just fax a signed letter with the instructions along with a copy of your ID to get it done.

Postby pete » July 22nd, 2015, 11:45 pm

With Scotia I never even did a secondary address on my c.c.

Postby *KRONIK* » July 23rd, 2015, 6:53 am

dredman1 wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:Didnt have to stand in line...

Which bank?

I know with RBL you can just fax a signed letter with the instructions along with a copy of your ID to get it done.

RBL self....

Postby Morpheus » July 25th, 2015, 10:05 pm

Anyone else getting Credit Card problems on Amazon?

Postby M_2NR » July 25th, 2015, 10:19 pm

check if you have pending transactions that could have caused you to reach your credit limit.

Postby *KRONIK* » July 25th, 2015, 11:02 pm

I think that problem is related to the change in the last 4 digits from 33172-2191 to 33172-2147

If ur using that as ur miami credit card address then then that could be the reason....

Postby Morpheus » July 25th, 2015, 11:21 pm

I will have to check all that yes because about 2 weeks ago I had no problems at all....
Thanks for the input guys.

Postby Morpheus » July 30th, 2015, 10:12 am

Damn. Order placed Sunday 26th evening. Delivered Thursday 30th morning.

BTW folks my CC is working again. Not sure if it was because I changed the billing address or if the bank had a problem or something.
But all the blocked orders on Amazon eventually went through.

Thanks for the suggestions.

originalbling

Postby originalbling » July 31st, 2015, 10:05 am

RBC CC users in case allyuh getting problems when ordering online, I just found out that the bank updated their systems recently and no skybox addresses you may have had attached to your credit card got migrated.

They say they working on it but cant say when it will be fixed.

I placed orders on amazon this week and they went through though.

Postby M_2NR » August 10th, 2015, 11:16 pm

Thanks for the heads up! I expect nothing more from them wrt CC.

pmar88

Postby pmar88 » August 11th, 2015, 12:01 am

Guys who has the best rates when you want to bring in car amplifiers? Web source is too expensive. I'm currently with them. Any help?

Postby M_2NR » August 11th, 2015, 5:15 pm

nick639 wrote: Its just to look around

This is the case with a lot of things in this country.

Postby X_Factor » August 13th, 2015, 5:56 pm

So i tested the seabox company and brought a toy for my son....weight box says 9lbs but was charged for 8 and total cost 185.00
package arrived on 31st july and i received it yesterday which is just about 2 weeks....
1439502793607.jpg
1439502752641.jpg