***THE FARMERS CHED***

Re: ***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby *KRONIK* » January 21st, 2016, 9:03 pm

Very difficult actually

They require 20-25% protein but all the high protein feed is medicated, which in turn causes liver problems.

Compared to our layer hens and broilers...they require much more attention and special treatment.

Also, getting them to lay is another story....

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 24th, 2016, 2:38 pm

So I am about to buy the cauliflower seeds online, but wanted to know does the cauliflower grow much easier in our climate than broccoli? How do you guys get the broccoli to grow here?

What variety of cauliflower seeds do farmers use locally? from a research online cauliflower won't thrive in this heat. Atleast if the soil is too hot, we have some dread heat here, therefore our farmers must be using a certain variety of cauliflower?

I am thinking either going hydroponic for the cauliflower or using pro mix and soil in a 4 inch PVC pipe.

BTW anyone has luck growing strawberry?

http://strawberryplants.org/2012/01/gro ... -climates/

This guy eric in the comment says he grows strawberry in Trinidad and it produce fine. I find this kinda hard to believe as that is a known stubborn plant when it comes to heat.

GRIM

Postby GRIM » January 24th, 2016, 3:42 pm

caulifower does come good most times, the rain does give some problems.
broccoli idk, i've heard of men planting years ago but not recently, most likely give problems.

whiteisland flowers i plant a year or two ago

its either whiteshot or whiteisland seeds framers plant.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 24th, 2016, 9:13 pm

^ wow thanks man. Yeah the agri shop by me has white island cauliflower seeds. He want $100 for a pack of seed, but it expiring in 2 months time so I told him don't bother I go look elsewhere.

I read the information on the pack, it says the white island F1 Hybrid is designed for harsh and hot climates able to withstand extreme conditions. Sounds about right, I go have to check chaguanas for seed. I don't know how I feel about buying seeds produced in 2013 and is now 2 months from expiry date.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 25th, 2016, 4:34 pm

So Grim I went today and noticed this garden shop in St Helena had the white shot cauliflower so I bought it

The interesting thing is it has no expiry date, but I bought it anyways. The guy didn't have any 2 weeks ago so I know is new stock they get but the question is how long the supplier had it and why is there no expiry date?

Anyways GRIM, when you grew these cauliflower did you need to have it in partial shade? or did you plant it old school 3rd world farmer style, in hot sun 10 hours a day? These do indicate they are tough hybrids for tropics so I assume they can be planted anyhow?

GRIM

Postby GRIM » January 25th, 2016, 6:50 pm

level sun in it mc...but watering as needed
i dont really like the whiteshot but daiz me
i does buy seedlings not seeds, too much work to set seeds and it takes weeks to reach transplanting size, if i do buy seeds i does give it to people to grow it out for me.
but that is trouble in itself people does thief your seed and set some sheit or they say it ent germinate good or some bs along those lines.
how much seeds in the pack?
a crate of 200 seedlings is $33 to $35

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 25th, 2016, 7:17 pm

^ My guess is this pack must be have 500 seeds or more. Is plenty and they real small.

Man this shop here don't sell the seedlings for cauliflower and I don't know where does sell it. This man have seedlings for like cabbage etc he charge 50 cents for one and sweet pepper he want $1 for a seedling. Noway you getting 200 seedlings around here for $35 he would charge $1 for a cauliflower seedling I feel. LOL

And you right the seedlings is better because u sure it sprouted, a pack of seeds you have no idea how much would sprout. Well say what I go keep the seeds in the fridge, and I could always plant a good bit one time and see if I can sell some for a profit aswell.

When you say you don't like the white shot what you mean the taste? The white island is $100 while the white shot is $110. I am unsure of the difference.

GRIM

Postby GRIM » January 25th, 2016, 8:19 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:When you say you don't like the white shot what you mean the taste? The white island is $100 while the white shot is $110. I am unsure of the difference.

just personal preference.
i didnt have any luck planting whiteshot but i know people who does bring it bess
i find the 'head' (center of the plant where the flower will grow out from) is too low to the ground and and tends to melt if under the plant is too damp, any dirt that might be kicked up an settle in the head will also melt the plant.
so basically you will have to make 'bank' (elevated row) to keep the plant up and outta d way.
where with white island its a much taller plant and can be planted flat on tractored land, once there isnt excessive water to worry about.
white island also takes 7 to 10 days longer for harvest so if you plant plenty all wont have to cut at once which is real pressure.

GRIM

Postby GRIM » January 25th, 2016, 8:28 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Man this shop here don't sell the seedlings for cauliflower and I don't know where does sell it. This man have seedlings for like cabbage etc he charge 50 cents for one and sweet pepper he want $1 for a seedling. Noway you getting 200 seedlings around here for $35 he would charge $1 for a cauliflower seedling I feel. LOL

yuh hadda go where men setting seeds as a business. nearly all garden shop just retailing 1 or 2 plants from a tray.
it have quite a few in aranguez like
assaco (i dont buy from dem)
hare krishna (i buy from dem but they lil pricey)
beharry (reasonable but known for sellin other people your plants and sell you smaller ones but the seedling does be good)

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 25th, 2016, 10:02 pm

^ ow ho ok cool I understand what you saying now. Well damn where I planting it my brother has this big ass load of sand fill, sand mix with dirt. So its possible sand may get on the head. Is kinda in my front yard I was gonna plant like 20 plants at a time.

Other than the possibility of the sand landing on the cauliflower there won't be any issues of dirt kicking up on the cauliflower or anything like that.

There also lies the possibility of me using PVC pipes, putting pro mix and dirt in the pipe and planting it there on a kinda triangle stand. Should be better than planting on the ground I can also cover the sand fill with a sheet of construction plastic if that will help along with PVC pipes off the ground and possibly washing out the top head of the cauliflower with a hose surely a hose can wash off any kind of dirt of sand from the head yeah?

As its dry season I should not have an issue right now with too much moisture and rain etc

GRIM

Postby GRIM » January 26th, 2016, 10:18 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ ow ho ok cool I understand what you saying now. Well damn where I planting it my brother has this big ass load of sand fill, sand mix with dirt. So its possible sand may get on the head. Is kinda in my front yard I was gonna plant like 20 plants at a time.

Other than the possibility of the sand landing on the cauliflower there won't be any issues of dirt kicking up on the cauliflower or anything like that.

There also lies the possibility of me using PVC pipes, putting pro mix and dirt in the pipe and planting it there on a kinda triangle stand. Should be better than planting on the ground I can also cover the sand fill with a sheet of construction plastic if that will help along with PVC pipes off the ground and possibly washing out the top head of the cauliflower with a hose surely a hose can wash off any kind of dirt of sand from the head yeah?

As its dry season I should not have an issue right now with too much moisture and rain etc

i say yuh going an plant all one time.
if is just a few, plant in jusso, just pay attention as the sand/dirt mix might get a bit hot, water accordingly.
here is some white island i plant bout 2 weeks now, all it get is the first drench and some rooting fertilizer.hadda give it ah next saltin this week

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 26th, 2016, 11:08 am

^ Oi looks good hoss. I set my seeds in the crate today, so they might be ready to transplant in 3 weeks I think.

Ow and I not planting it in sand fill eh, I planting it in dirt. But is just that in my front yard my brother order this big ass load of sand fill and he dump it in part of the yard nah cause he building a house. So i was wondering if the sand my fly on the cauliflower with the wind. But I doub't it will be an issue. Every 3 weeks I go be putting down like ah 30 seeds so I go have a constant supply of this thing myself.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 26th, 2016, 12:14 pm

Well Grim I went back and got a refund for the pack of seed, I going and buy the white island instead.

Because when rainy season start later down this year, there will be an issue with dampness in this front yard here and as you say, it go dead. So I going to find another shop and get the white island which as you say is much better because the head won't be affected by dust or too much rain since its so much taller. Trust me if you can't get it to grow then i sure as hell won't so ah might aswell buy the white island.

You know of any shops up north? between Sanjuan and Arouca that would have this?

here is the description for both cauliflower variety they appear to be about the same, but its a good thing you know from experience the difference with the height. Because from this description one would think white shot and white island is the exact same thing.

What you make of this description? My guess is the white shot would be great if I planting it on a PVC pipe elevation? as it won't be affected by the dampness?

http://www.alliedbotanical.com/?page_id=92

White Island F1

White Island is an extra early hybrid which can be harvested 50 days from transplanting. It has dome-shaped, firm and dense curds that are pure white, compact and smooth. White island is high-yielding; and is ideal for lowland and mid-elevation during the dry season. It is tolerant to heat, downy mildew and black rot.

And

White Shot F1

White Shot F1 a dependable cauliflower for off-season in the lowland and mid-elevation. It is easy to grow, good for early and late season planting. It is an early, quick maturing variety that produces large, heavy, creamy white heads with an average weight of 400 grams per head. Maturity is 45-50 days after transplanting.

GRIM

Postby GRIM » January 26th, 2016, 1:21 pm

the description does make them seem like they are the same but look at the pics i posted an you can see how much leaves the white island have compared to the white shot making the plant taller.
in the description it say the white island resistant to downy mildew and black rot which are cause by either too much moisture or there being existing fungus/bactria.
i never try the PVC pipe ting, maybe small scale it would work.
if you looking for seeds i dunno where to get but seedlings you can get by assaco, hare krishna,
beharry or anyone who does set plant.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 26th, 2016, 1:31 pm

You right that white island is pretty tall already.

I go check around for the seeds, or might check out them places in arranguez for seedlings. Good thing we discussed this.

lipstick war

Postby lipstick war » January 26th, 2016, 10:38 pm

Grim where can I shop for decent cabbage and pakchoi seedlings?mi know u mention a few places

Where are these nurseries located?

And what u using for sucking insects?

Postby X_Factor » January 26th, 2016, 10:53 pm

most of those places are located off the aranguez main road...take almost any of those roads on the right side if ur coming from the highway

there is a place opposite coca cola on the highway, the road with the savannah (mary)

there is a branch of asasco somewhere before monroe rd chag

and when u say sucking insects which exactly u speak about?
aphids, thrips, mites etc since the insecticides vary depend on what u trying to control

hare krishna has good stuff, and pakchoi is quite cheap

Postby Chimera » January 27th, 2016, 4:14 am

Yea theres an asasco in bocal/bejucal road

lipstick war

Postby lipstick war » January 27th, 2016, 6:54 am

Where is hare Krishna? Aphids,white flies and trips I speak off

Postby X_Factor » January 27th, 2016, 7:30 am

aphids and trips--fastac, diazinon or caprid works well
but that thing called white flies....

Postby Chimera » January 27th, 2016, 8:08 am

my contract coming to an end soon so will have much more time for my hydroponic and land projects

10-01

Postby 10-01 » January 28th, 2016, 11:35 pm

thanks guys got tru ...
Last edited by 10-01 on January 29th, 2016, 10:37 am, edited 1 time in total.

lipstick war

Postby lipstick war » January 29th, 2016, 6:59 am

X_Factor wrote:most of those places are located off the aranguez main road...take almost any of those roads on the right side if ur coming from the highway

there is a place opposite coca cola on the highway, the road with the savannah (mary)

there is a branch of asasco somewhere before monroe rd chag

and when u say sucking insects which exactly u speak about?
aphids, thrips, mites etc since the insecticides vary depend on what u trying to control

hare krishna has good stuff, and pakchoi is quite cheap

Where is hare Krishna located?

Postby X_Factor » January 29th, 2016, 7:48 am

i dont know street names
but come off the highway, go to aranguez main road...take the street with the unpet gas station sign, drive all the way down, turn left, drive up and the place is on the left
there are also a few other plant shops
remember they sell by the crate

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » January 29th, 2016, 11:16 am

Any growing pumpkin?
I got one that was growing in a flowerpot by itself so I decided to plant it and let it grow in yard on the side of my house.
My one problem is that there is no easy way to cut the grass that grows around it without damaging the leaves.
What do you guys usually do?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 29th, 2016, 12:30 pm

^ you leave the grass, put the pumpkin on the grass itself and this will prevent it from rotting or worms from the soil to dig through it etc. You can just cut the top of the grass alone. Grass is actually good for pumpkin last I checked.

But I does plant squash instead, the butternut one.

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » February 2nd, 2016, 3:11 pm

When watering the pumpkin, do I just water at the main root where the vine started or does it need watering throughout the vine?

Also, is there any special chemical/fertiliser that I should use on it to help it produce a good quality product?

Postby X_Factor » February 2nd, 2016, 5:37 pm

water d main root
what stage of growth will determine d fertilizers to be used

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 2nd, 2016, 6:08 pm

How do you treat clay soil? this area only has clay soil really sticky, I heard if you put sand and gravel it turns rock solid like cement so this is a bad idea?

I am thinking of using sand fill and pro mix and mixing that with the clay dirt we have here. Or should I order a couple bags of soil from the mountains?

I did plant some okra trees last year they bearing now but catching they ass yes blue salt and urea can't help it. I plant it in the coconut field, and the ground crack up with this sun. If you see how them trees catching they ass eh doh talk about pak choi and cabbage. Them thing still same size 3 weeks later. lol

My mother plant pakchoi in a area we make with concrete blocks with nothing but sand fill and pro mix and manure, them thing grow like magic. Makes me think sand fill and pro mix better than clay dirt and pro mix?

Postby X_Factor » February 2nd, 2016, 6:32 pm

organic matter--manure...doh waste time with other stuff
bagasse would have been the ideal thing