PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Virus

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby Virus » November 2nd, 2010, 12:33 pm

M_2NR i was looking at that but still your didnt answer my question would you give up usb 3 sata etc for SLI on an older AMD board or just a newer board with single GPU solution i wanted views from different users here since we all have different stance on pc and gaming etc

But for the buck AMD is the way to go i fully agree

Postby M_2NR » November 2nd, 2010, 12:43 pm

I say u call out Chiney so i left that up to him :lol:

I dont really go with stuff that just release... well dont normally... Although i somehow end up with it in my hands (Re: 460GTX)

It's all about money though, for me, if he has it, and can get a sale or a use for his current parts... why not! and i always prefer single GPU over SLI/xfire

searchingone

Postby searchingone » November 2nd, 2010, 12:49 pm

M_2NR wrote:
searchingone wrote:where can i get a decent ATX mid tower? nothing fancy eh.....under $500

check circuit zone hoss :| there is a cool thermaltake for ~400 and the CM690 II for ~$520

nice! i'll check them saturday :D

Postby dougla_boy » November 2nd, 2010, 12:55 pm

dougla_boy wrote:i was wondering....any of you buy PCs or laptops to resell? i have a laptop and a desktop at home, sitting, taking up space, and moms want to throw it out, is anyone willing to take it off my hands? i just want to get rid of it.........here's a link to my ched with it for sale

http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=339762

any help?

Virus

Postby Virus » November 2nd, 2010, 1:13 pm

M_2NR wrote:I say u call out Chiney so i left that up to him :lol:

I dont really go with stuff that just release... well dont normally... Although i somehow end up with it in my hands (Re: 460GTX)

It's all about money though, for me, if he has it, and can get a sale or a use for his current parts... why not! and i always prefer single GPU over SLI/xfire

Same here on the single gpu he was looking at the 470sc which is a great card in my eyes and once u get the timings right its like u have a stock 480 match that with a 2.8 x6 and 4gb ram i say its a small lil power house waiting to take on ne new games out

searchingone

Postby searchingone » November 2nd, 2010, 1:27 pm

Last edited by searchingone on November 5th, 2010, 6:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Virus

Postby Virus » November 2nd, 2010, 1:38 pm

searchingone wrote:quick question....anyone here ever been to circuit zone in price plaza? are they well stocked or i should go san juan branch?

Well San juan supposed to be well stocked but PP just opened so i am guessing they will have much newer items on display because the store is bigger etc so try there 1st

searchingone

Postby searchingone » November 2nd, 2010, 2:01 pm

cool thanks

Postby M_2NR » November 2nd, 2010, 2:46 pm

searchingone wrote:quick question....anyone here ever been to circuit zone in price plaza? are they well stocked or i should go san juan branch?

i went the one in PP, it had the two cases i was talking about. Never went the one in San Juan but whichever is closer check em. The CM690 II is worth the price though! You can manage your cable really nicely in it.

Virus wrote:Same here on the single gpu he was looking at the 470sc which is a great card in my eyes and once u get the timings right its like u have a stock 480 match that with a 2.8 x6 and 4gb ram i say its a small lil power house waiting to take on ne new games out

Due to Moore's law, wait 18 months we will see the next revolution in lowering nm design. Now i think though is a sort of ify time to buy though... cuz APU's/Sandy on the Horizon. ( i kinda now remember this ), what the rest of u all think?

What amazes me is how my e8400 and Motherboard held it's price though... (not anymore as its not being made again)

searchingone

Postby searchingone » November 2nd, 2010, 3:06 pm

M_2NR wrote:i went the one in PP, it had the two cases i was talking about. Never went the one in San Juan but whichever is closer check em. The CM690 II is worth the price though! You can manage your cable really nicely in it.

thanks.... do these TT and CM cases come with any psu? or i hadda cough out another $500 for a psu :(

Postby M_2NR » November 2nd, 2010, 4:00 pm

nope. buy a proper PSU plz.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 2nd, 2010, 4:12 pm

Virus wrote:Question to my fellow tech heads, someone asked me a question one day and now am asking you all just for views eh no book, story or long chapter just facts and will you do it or not.

So it goes like this.... Hi sir am interested in a computer for myself I am familiar with the gaming world and i do play alot of new games on the market, i currently have a AMD cpu that i am happy with and a 9xxx series evga card i am looking at a upgrade but am stuck at the following point

Should i continue to go with AMD am looking at the x6 processors and for the price i think they are good -- I personally agree since compared to a 6 core Intel the bang for the buck is great.

And what about motherboard i see theres USB 3.0 as well as SATA 6 should i look at a motherboard where i can utilizes there new features.

And what about my current gpu my 9xx card if i was to purchase a new motherboard can i still use back ----- Most certainly yes but what about SLI with a new card ? well no you cant because your looking at a 4 series card and besides even if you was to sell your 9xx card your mobo wouldnt be SLI capable.

Unless your looking to give up the newer features for an AMD SLI mobo

So in that convo i am sure most pc builders would have come accross the question should one give up newer technology for SLI since one good Gpu is all you may ever need

Chiney let me hear U

sorry i late on the draw

ok..first things first

i would of given us usb 3.0 and sata 6gb for gaming..why? no difference will be noticed..

on a pc enthusiast level, i would op for newer tech and high end hardware, but that is costly, be it AMD or INTEL.

but if someone came to me with that predicament. i would answer like this.

PIPE out ur 9series nvidia.
if he/she has ddr2 ram already, once it is a fair amount (2gb minimum) i would keep that.
op to look for the motherboard first, keeping in mind the DDR2.
then i would take the cash i sold the 9series for and look into an ATi card. single yet able to get the job done. ati hd 5850 comes to mind. even the 5830 is a good competitor!
then off to the CPU, watever cash has been left over, that decides ur processing power..or vice versa for the Videocard scenario.

you see..like always, your budget TOTALLY determines the pc u will end up with.. thats why i dont work with a budget really....but once things start to get out of hand..you stop somewhere. hence i only ended up with 2 480s and not 3 :(

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » November 2nd, 2010, 4:54 pm

M_2NR wrote:how to get a key sanjeev? easy or no?

EDIT: signed up for it... hopefully i remember to check mail lol

good luck i signed up months before would have given u the key but activated it already...game is awesomeeee

Postby Ronaldo95163 » November 2nd, 2010, 5:02 pm

CM bring out a new case

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cStcod9CaaU&feature=sub

buh it eh so hot though

Postby Ronaldo95163 » November 2nd, 2010, 5:07 pm

BTW COD peeps ive been playing this game for a while but not often these days not since i got COD4MP working lol, not sure if allyuh go like it though

http://crossfire.z8games.com/

Postby M_2NR » November 2nd, 2010, 5:43 pm

its ok.. looks similar to the micro atx one i have... cept bigger ofc

i have this

Postby bushwakka » November 2nd, 2010, 7:51 pm

ok guys, i come to you now in need of opinions, i have a slight predicament, the basic specs on my rig are as follows:
EVGA 750i SLI FTW mainboard
Intel E8400 @ 3.6 ghz - cooled by Coolermaster Hyper 212 Plus
4 GB Corsair ddr2 ram @ 960 Mhz 4-4-4-12
EVGA 9800 GTX+ Video card (stock speeds)
Corsair 750 W PSU (non-modular)
300 gb Velociraptor as Primary HDD
Antec 1200 Case

I did a very rough overclock the other day, haphazardly and it got me excited a bit lol

My birthday is coming up and i have 3 options it seems.....
1. Get a new gfx card; maybe one of the Nvidia 400 series
I've been hearing abt some issues with the 400 gfx cards from Nvidia, so it makes me uneasy abt buying one at the moment. Also, I predominantly play Starcraft 2 at the moment (i already cannot run SC2 on the highest settings), when Dota 2 comes out next year, my 9800 gtx+ may be dated by then, so not sure if to buy a new card now or buy one next year when it will be cheaper

2. Get/procure + build a liquid cooling setup
This will help me squeeze more out of my current rig (altho not gfx) and can also be used for future builds, and i can prob still buy a new gfx next year summer. Also, there's the fun factor involved in customising ur own LCS, or installing an already complete one

3. Third option is to do nothing at all, and save all the $ to do a complete upgrade to an i7 setup next year, but im confused as to what new technologies are coming out and when e.g. new SATA and PCI 3.0 and how it will impact on my decisions since i like to future-proof to an extent.....

I should mention that I do NOT want to pay the price premiums associated with hot-off-the shelf technology

share thoughts......

Postby Ronaldo95163 » November 2nd, 2010, 8:06 pm

All depends on what u wana do bushwakka but i think you should save the money for the i7 build

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 2nd, 2010, 8:16 pm

wat u hearing bout nvidia 400 series cards?

that they are super duper?

Postby bushwakka » November 2nd, 2010, 8:21 pm

Chiney wrote:wat u hearing bout nvidia 400 series cards?

lots of issues on the EVGA forums with them.....screen going blank, pixeling up.....not being cured by updates yet....

of course tho, those cud just be red herrings, i remember there was a video corruption issue with the BIOS on my board when i bought it, it was cured later by BIOS updates

Postby Ronaldo95163 » November 2nd, 2010, 8:27 pm

I havin dat problem too with the 4650. When i try coming back on pc when it's on standby my screen stays black and i have to restart the pc if taking off and putting back on the monitor don't work

Postby bushwakka » November 2nd, 2010, 8:32 pm

gracen wrote:I havin dat problem too with the 4650. When i try coming back on pc when it's on standby my screen stays black and i have to restart the pc if taking off and putting back on the monitor don't work

yea, actually i having that problem right now wit my 9800 gtx+......sometimes a message comes up saying the kernel for the Video Driver has crashed (makes me think its a Windows 7 issue).........very strange for it to be happening to so many diff type of video cards and different builds

Postby M_2NR » November 2nd, 2010, 8:43 pm

Your gfx card may soon die ;)

sorry to be the bearer of bad news but if u gonna read bad reviews on cards (esp my latest love 4xxGTX), the 9800GTX+ is also a bad egg. :lol:
I'm not the only one with a dead 9800GTX+ btw...

Hearsay most of the time (even here too and from me :) ) is a killer..

BTW are you also getting random freezes? i was getting those too...

My advice to u, wait til next year. If you are happy about your current build, leave it and update when Dota drops (After! that is, NOT before). I had GTA IV in mind for my setup... even if the game was a sh!tty port, i wanted to run GTA IV max, i still cannot (i can sort of but the fps is lowish).

I have a close spec to yours (VERY close, nice build btw) and I'm quite happy with it. Even with the 9800GTX+ i was able to run games on high or near high at 1080p with frames over 30fps.

___

gracen, make sure you have a CLEAN installation of your drivers. You can google this... I think the app i used was DriverCleaner.NET you have to "get" it. I sure you know how to. And remove all the extra crapware drivers from before INCLUDING your ati ones.

I notice nvidia providing us with a Clean Install option... kudos

Postby Ronaldo95163 » November 2nd, 2010, 8:52 pm

Thanks for the advice M_2NR

Postby Ronaldo95163 » November 2nd, 2010, 8:54 pm

Im currently "Getting" it :P

Postby bushwakka » November 2nd, 2010, 9:04 pm

thanks M_2NR for the opinion

sometimes, it semi-freezes.....i.e. the mouse moves at framerates and nothing else responds
and then some other times, there is just no signal to screen

yea, if this card cud last, i don't see it being a problem with my running of SC2 as i dont absolutely see the need at the moment to maxx out all the settings there....btw i have 4x AA working well on that

if the card doesn't last however lol....thats a different story

ok, u know what, i don't think its gonna last....i had 2 restart twice just tonight.....fack me

which of the 400 series u recommend M_2NR?

Postby M_2NR » November 2nd, 2010, 9:20 pm

try and see if num-lock goes on/off, that should be a way to test out freezes. (only read up this recently).

Do a proper clean out of your system. You have any dust? that not sounding good eh.

Well, as it stands, this 460GTX throw my 3dmark06 up 2000 points if i remember right... i should have done futuremark :oops:

you wont see EXTREME performance (fps) increase in older games but dx11 games will look MUCH nicer.

I dunno if its just me but i getting some minor tearing now in videos :(

By next year the time you are ready i am sure we'd see a 6xx series nvidia /or/ APU's.

GL gracen.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » November 3rd, 2010, 3:47 pm

dis man iza rel COD4 addict rofl

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K1zUoK1f6ag&feature=channel

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vKO6rokBrgY&feature=fvhr

about the Num Lock thing sometimes mine doesn't come off if i move the mouse or press a key to come back from standby, i just have to click without moving it if i dont do this my keyboard don't work and i gota restart the PC

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 3rd, 2010, 4:00 pm

bushwakka wrote:
Chiney wrote:wat u hearing bout nvidia 400 series cards?

lots of issues on the EVGA forums with them.....screen going blank, pixeling up.....not being cured by updates yet....

of course tho, those cud just be red herrings, i remember there was a video corruption issue with the BIOS on my board when i bought it, it was cured later by BIOS updates

that why i dont buy EVGA cards

i stick with a brand that has consistancy and dont take GPUs and try to fit it on all sorts of different boards.. ( ie. superclock, super super clocked, FTW )

PNY

NEVER HAD A PROBLEM with MANYYYY of their cards!

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » November 3rd, 2010, 4:34 pm

aye xfx all d way me an meh lil 8500gt runnin f1 2010 rel nice