outlaw101

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby outlaw101 » April 17th, 2011, 3:54 am

zodiaque wrote:
achillies wrote:
^^^ Call bmobile and tell them u have a blackberry and you want to activate the bb social plan

that what i was using on mine

I already have a blackberry plan as I had a blackberry and it was stolen. So what you are saying is that if I put that sim in an android, I would get edge?

yeh, u should the apn is internet

TRIED THIS ALREADY BUT IT DIDNT WORK
anything i may be doing wrong?

Parvin

Postby Parvin » April 17th, 2011, 9:19 am

Switched from BB to an Aria.

Just entered 'internet' as the APN and that was all. Works without problems.

You checked to see if you enabled the mobile data option?

achillies

Postby achillies » April 17th, 2011, 7:08 pm

Parvin wrote:Switched from BB to an Aria.

Just entered 'internet' as the APN and that was all. Works without problems.

You checked to see if you enabled the mobile data option?

What @Parvin said

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 17th, 2011, 7:43 pm

Samsung's super slender Galaxy Tab 10.1 snacks on some Honeycomb (video)

Honestly, we were a little bit worried that Samsung's rail-thin Galaxy Tab 10.1 was a mockup -- you know, seeing as how Sammy never turned it on -- but fast-forward to today and there's a working model in Tinhte.vn's capable arms. Yes, the Vietnamese site that's been leaking delicious Apple prototypes -- not to mention the HP TouchPad's SIM slot -- found the 0.33-inch thin slate at an unnamed Samsung booth, powered it up, and proceeded to dive into the sticky-sweet mess of Android 3.0 and iPad 2 comparisons that such a discovery affords.

Engadget

achillies

Postby achillies » April 18th, 2011, 5:53 pm

Looks good

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 18th, 2011, 7:16 pm

Angry Birds Seasons updated for Easter

Angry Birds Seasons

Speedtest.net 2.0

Facebook has also been updated...

outlaw101

Postby outlaw101 » April 18th, 2011, 8:21 pm

gonna update them apps now....

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » April 19th, 2011, 8:55 am

Ok so i think i'm really gonna have to switch to Bmobile from Digicel to get a reasonably prices data plan.

Digicel's largest plan post paid is a 500MB data plan for $174 (VAT Excl) and then voice on top of that for $95.

Bmobile has unlimited EDGE for $100 :|

Sigh.

Postby M_2NR » April 19th, 2011, 1:47 pm

$100? serious? been hearing its 150$ even 200$. $100 wasnt the promotion price?

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » April 19th, 2011, 2:01 pm

M_2NR wrote:$100? serious? been hearing its 150$ even 200$. $100 wasnt the promotion price?

Colleague of mine signed up for it in Jan and is paying $100 :|

I guess the price raised to $150 then, but even self, thats much better than what Digicel is offering.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 19th, 2011, 4:13 pm

it was always $150 and they had a promotional price of $100 over the christmas period. but it's back to $150 now...

Postby M_2NR » April 19th, 2011, 5:58 pm

This is what i know. Thanks for confirming :)

If you all attend UWI, digicel Freeternity plan was epic, 99$ (plus tax) unlimited BB data (which boils down to normal data at least on the iPhone) and 500 free SMS. I walk in back UWI digicel ask about it, wanna guess the price?

$225 with 200 free text. :shock:
the lady watch me and was like... ulyuh was real lucky, that deal may never come back.

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » April 19th, 2011, 6:08 pm

M_2NR wrote:This is what i know. Thanks for confirming :)

If you all attend UWI, digicel Freeternity plan was epic, 99$ (plus tax) unlimited BB data (which boils down to normal data at least on the iPhone) and 500 free SMS. I walk in back UWI digicel ask about it, wanna guess the price?

the lady watch me and was like... ulyuh was real lucky, that deal may never come back.

Wheey, Digicel raping people with those data charges, i took a 1MB day pass just to test it (pre-paid) it was slow no ass :(

Wish i were back in Orlando, their 3G faster than my Wireless N at home right now :|

zer0xp

Postby zer0xp » April 19th, 2011, 6:36 pm

Captainzaak wrote:

Wheey, Digicel raping people with those data charges, i took a 1MB day pass just to test it (pre-paid) it was slow no ass :(

Wish i were back in Orlando, their 3G faster than my Wireless N at home right now :|

Yeah... Today I did a speed test on digi EDGE. After 4 time-outs, I got a result of 14 down, 53 up. kbps, not KB/sec.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » April 19th, 2011, 7:20 pm

thats gprs u on it go just show edge cuz thats what the cell reception for calls says....u hadda use the blackberry internet plan...dats y it ah lil more expensive....all u hadda do it get someone who doh use bb internet on their phone, swap the sim cards, take out the plan, reg it and then put it back in ut phone...u go see a bump in speed...speeds up to 473KBs which will be around 60kbps but average around 30 for normal day traffic

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » April 20th, 2011, 6:18 pm

Any futher settings? I put "internet" as the APN. The E comes up on top, showing it has connectivity I suppose, but no data is coming through.

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » April 20th, 2011, 6:22 pm

Oh, wait. got it, lol.
Did a reboot and it works now =D

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » April 20th, 2011, 6:36 pm

anybody using digicel prepaid unlimited bis on dey android? and if yes what settings u use

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » April 20th, 2011, 6:37 pm

anybody using digicel prepaid unlimited bis on dey android? and if yes what settings u use

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » April 20th, 2011, 7:09 pm

shaq090 wrote:anybody using digicel prepaid unlimited bis on dey android? and if yes what settings u use

Have you even tried searching??

Its in this thread...

viewtopic.php?p=4764230#p4764230

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » April 20th, 2011, 7:25 pm

doesnt work... :/

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 21st, 2011, 12:27 pm

Sony Ericsson announces its first Android Walkman phone, the W8

Sony Ericsson has just announced its first phone from the Walkman series to run Android (or the other way around). By the looks of it, the W8 is an XPERIA X8, but with a bit of fancy colors and a WALKMAN logo.

Just like its brother, the X8, the Sony Ericsson W8 sports a 3-inch capacitive touchscreen with a resolution of 320 x 480 pixels, a 3.5 mm headphone jack, and a 3.2MP camera. Under the hood there's a 600MHz single-core processor ticking, with 168MB of RAM.

The W8 will run Android 2.1, which is a bit unfortunate, as most Droids on the market are now running Froyo or even Gingerbread. Nevertheless, this is the first Walkman phone to run the Google mobile OS, which will be covered by the Timescape UI.

Being a Walkman, the phone will come with Sony Ericsson's stereo headset, the MH410.

The Sony Ericsson W8 will be available in China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, India, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand and Vietnam starting from Q2 2011 in a choice of colors - Azure Blue, Metallic Red, and Iconic Orange. Pricing is yet unknown, though.

GSM Arena

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 21st, 2011, 12:31 pm

Amazon to take on Apple this summer with Samsung-built tablet?

You really should pay attention when Engadget's founder, Peter Rojas speaks about the tech industry. Especially when he leads into a story like this:

It's something of an open secret that Amazon is working on an Android tablet and I am 99 percent certain they are having Samsung build one for them.

The GDGT piece goes on to present a very reasoned argument that paints Amazon, not Samsung or the rest of the traditional consumer electronics industry, as Apple's chief competition in the near-term tablet space. An idea that'll be tough to argue against if Amazon -- with its combined music (downloadable and streaming), video, book, and app ecosystem -- can actually launch a dirt-cheap, highly-customized, 7-inch Android tablet this summer as Pete predicts. Oh, and the fact that Amazon already has our credit card details will certainly make for easy adoption. Hit the source below for the full read or, better yet, stay tuned for the next Engadget Show where we'll be nerding-out with the son of the father of the father of Engadget.

Engadget

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 21st, 2011, 12:43 pm

ASUS Eee Pad Transformer hits US on April 26th for $399

We recently deemed the ASUS Eee Pad Transformer the "best Honeycomb tablet yet." Admittedly that was before we got our hands on the T-Mobile G-Slate, but it's still an awfully nice hunk of glass, and now we know just how much you're going to have to pay to get one -- and exactly when you can plunk down that credit card. The 10.1-inch Transformer with its 1280 x 800 IPS panel and 16GB of storage will cost you $399, while the 32GB version will set you back $499. That docking station, which kinda sorta turns it into a laptop? That costs $150. Units are expected to hit retail on Tuesday, April 26th, meaning you have just five days to scrounge together four or five Benjamins -- plus tax, of course.

Engadget

Postby M_2NR » April 21st, 2011, 12:46 pm

zer0xp wrote:
Captainzaak wrote:

Yeah... Today I did a speed test on digi EDGE. After 4 time-outs, I got a result of 14 down, 53 up. kbps, not KB/sec.

yup! and that is BS shaq, u cant get as high as 400kbps throughput. I got that as burst though.
Sorry we going so off topic in this thread ae.
ImageImage
those are my results same as what zer0xp saying...

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » April 21st, 2011, 4:05 pm

lol i ment in kilobits not bytes lmao

zer0xp

Postby zer0xp » April 21st, 2011, 5:45 pm

lol @ 0kbps down

Postby M_2NR » April 21st, 2011, 6:37 pm

dai rel speed fadda >_> worst yet is to call digicel and tell them "eh it moving slow" this is what they said [color=#FF00000]"sir that happens because if network congestion, my BB working fine here /attitude"[/color].

996vtwin
In Memory of George Aboud Jr.

Postby 996vtwin » April 22nd, 2011, 4:36 pm

So im currently monitoring tech stocks, what non apple phones and tablets you guys think gonna dominate the markets in 2011 and 2012 :)

yudhistre

Bmobile Prepaid Internet APN Settings??

Postby yudhistre » April 22nd, 2011, 9:25 pm

Yo 2ners,

Anyone went to the bmobile store and find out about the prepaid Internet and what the jail them hadda do to your phone to make it work. Is it some account?
If anyone has the Internet set up on their phone, please give the corresponding setting so I can try it out. Access point etc...

coming from an Android user.

Regards